Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Venice Murano Island Excursion Reviews

Venice Murano Island cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit Murano Island—known as the island of glassmakers—for special souvenirs and gifts made of delicate and colorful hand-blown glass.
Member Image PelicanNorth
1 review
Jun 2016
What an experience to see the creations of the master glass blowers. Fantastic
Read PelicanNorth's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image NigelRC
1 review
Jun 2016
Straight on to the excursion boat from the ship with the knowledgeable guide explaining where we were and what we could see. Murano for the glass factory followed by Burano and the multi coloured houses, then via a different route back to St Mark's Square for a couple of hours.
Read NigelRC's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Janet Colgrave
1 review
May 2016
Would have like a little more time here.
Read Janet Colgrave's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Suzez
1 review
Apr 2016
We wanted to visit Murano for a while, sadly no where near enough time to look at the glass in the huge shop. With only 1 hour there, with the 20 minute demo, we only had about 1/2 hours to looks at the glass, all rather rushed.
Read Suzez's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Lagunajames
1 review
Nov 2015
We transferred early to Murano Island by a vaporetto style boat with a nice commentary along the way from our guide. It was great to go early and beat the crowds even at the end of November. The presentation and tour was great and we ended up purchasing a nice plate and bowl set.
Read Lagunajames's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image squarevanman
1 review
Aug 2015
very nice island plenty of photo ops and time for people watching as well
Read squarevanman's full Michelangelo cruise review
Provider: CroisiEurope
Member Image Toucanman
1 review
Aug 2015
Saw a glass blowing demo and had time to see their store
Read Toucanman's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Expedia
Member Image ACSWILM
5 reviews
Jul 2015
Saw short glass-blowing demonstration and then visited their showroom (A/C!), but otherwise just walked around the alleys and window-shopped and ate a gelato. Returned to a different vaporetto stop than the one we'd started from and walked through town; easy to get lost and very hot, but an experience nonetheless
Read ACSWILM's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Ozzie02
2 reviews
Jul 2015
reluctant to go initially I enjoyed the Murano factory and its showroom with very impressive pieces for sale.
Read Ozzie02's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image KCKansas
1 review
Jun 2015
Enjoyed seeing these small island. Enjoyed see Murano glass being made. Went to Burano as well. Enjoyed this little town as well. Needed a little more time in Burano.
Read KCKansas's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tineloveshoward
1 review
May 2015
The Murano glass factory was amazing! We watched glass being made and tghen toured their show room. We didn't have enough time to shop. I felt pressured. I think I was rushed to purchase my necklace. I wish we had more time.
Read tineloveshoward's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image amvmonty
1 review
Jul 2014

Seen one cathedral in Venice you have seen them all.

Read amvmonty's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image sf49ers
1 review
Jun 2014

Venice day 1 – We did a ship shore excursion to Murano Island. It was okay, they gave about a 10-minute demo and then put you through their sales floor. We did take a gondola ride at the end of the tour, and if you have never done it before, it is worth doing, but we wouldn’t do it again.

Venice day 2 – We got off the ship early in the morning to beat the heat. We used the ship’s boat shuttle ($28 each), and walked around St. Mark’s square. It was easy to find our way around Venice, but we didn’t purchase tickets in advance and the lines to the main attractions were too long. We saw everything from the outside and had lunch in the square before returning to the ship by noon; due to the heat. The sail away was really beautiful.

Read sf49ers's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rhidavies42
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2013

AMAZING! Definitely do it!

Read rhidavies42's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image steve in avon
1 review
May 2013

Long boat ride to a forced salesroom followed by too little time to shop any other stores.

Read steve in avon's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sadied
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
fantastic boat trip commentary by an educated and interesting guide. However when we entered the glass factory there were too many people and many had to stand and could not see well. Factory was then too crowded. Shouldn't have happened.
Read sadied's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Ashman51
1 review
Oct 2012
Boat trip to Murano was great. Passed st. marks square on the way and got more photos. Got a great demo on glass making, similar to the one on the ship, and then bought some of the glass to take home. We wandered around for 15 mins and then it was off to Burano
Read Ashman51's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Aging Aquarian
1 review
Oct 2012
Wasn't overly impressed by this tour, it took a long time to get there by boat and was just a destination that was designed to sell you their glass. Venice other than this tour was easily our favourite location and we would return there in a heart beat. It is a city that is unequaled in it's history and beauty.
Read Aging Aquarian's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CruisinPashmina
1 review
Aug 2012
This tour included an interesting demonstration in the making of a vase and an art piece. Mostly we were lead into showrooms..no hard sell, but kind of a bore.
Read CruisinPashmina's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Emirate
1 review
Aug 2012
Having been to Venice twice before we opted for the Murano and Burano tour. In Murano we were treated to a brief explanation and demonstration of the production of Murano glass and then onto the inevitable gift shop. We did not have a great deal of time left to look around the town before we were off to Burano.
Read Emirate's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Crui$erCT
2 reviews
Jul 2012
We got roped into a "private" demo of glassmaking from the Courtyard Marriott, which was followed by a HARD sell by a salesman. The demo was only for about 15 minutes; the sell, felt like an eternity. However, we walked out purchasing nothing. The best part of this horrible experience was the private limo that picked us up from the hotel and the private boat ride over to Murano. So, if you are strong-willed like my husband, and can walk away from situations like this where you are in an enclosed space with a salesperson on your heels, then go for it! The glass was beautiful.
Read Crui$erCT's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Courtyard Marriott
Member Image Jasper50
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
Tour by private water taxi to Murano Island to the glass factory. Demonstration given and opportunity to purchase glass ware. Very expensive to buy. Same product is also avilable in Venice itself at similar cost.
Read Jasper50's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Jasper50
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
Tour by private water taxi to Murano Island to the glass factory. Demonstration given and opportunity to purchase glass ware. Very expensive to buy. Same product is also avilable in Venice itself at similar cost.
Read Jasper50's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image WichitaCruiser
1 review
Jun 2012
Caught a tour given by one of the glass houses - 15 Euro pp for round trip private water taxi ride, tour, glassblowing demo, and tour of their numerous showrooms.
Read WichitaCruiser's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image silversurfer
1 review
Jun 2012
Trip was disappointing. Nothing to get excited about if you have already seen a glass blower at work and the prices of items on sale beyond belief.
Read silversurfer's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.