Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Venice Murano Island Excursion Reviews

Venice Murano Island cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit Murano Island—known as the island of glassmakers—for special souvenirs and gifts made of delicate and colorful hand-blown glass.
Member Image amvmonty
1 review
Jul 2014

Seen one cathedral in Venice you have seen them all.

Read amvmonty's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image sf49ers
1 review
Jun 2014

Venice day 1 – We did a ship shore excursion to Murano Island. It was okay, they gave about a 10-minute demo and then put you through their sales floor. We did take a gondola ride at the end of the tour, and if you have never done it before, it is worth doing, but we wouldn’t do it again.

Venice day 2 – We got off the ship early in the morning to beat the heat. We used the ship’s boat shuttle ($28 each), and walked around St. Mark’s square. It was easy to find our way around Venice, but we didn’t purchase tickets in advance and the lines to the main attractions were too long. We saw everything from the outside and had lunch in the square before returning to the ship by noon; due to the heat. The sail away was really beautiful.

Read sf49ers's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rhidavies42
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2013

AMAZING! Definitely do it!

Read rhidavies42's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image steve in avon
1 review
May 2013

Long boat ride to a forced salesroom followed by too little time to shop any other stores.

Read steve in avon's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image sadied
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
fantastic boat trip commentary by an educated and interesting guide. However when we entered the glass factory there were too many people and many had to stand and could not see well. Factory was then too crowded. Shouldn't have happened.
Read sadied's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Ashman51
1 review
Oct 2012
Boat trip to Murano was great. Passed st. marks square on the way and got more photos. Got a great demo on glass making, similar to the one on the ship, and then bought some of the glass to take home. We wandered around for 15 mins and then it was off to Burano
Read Ashman51's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Aging Aquarian
1 review
Oct 2012
Wasn't overly impressed by this tour, it took a long time to get there by boat and was just a destination that was designed to sell you their glass. Venice other than this tour was easily our favourite location and we would return there in a heart beat. It is a city that is unequaled in it's history and beauty.
Read Aging Aquarian's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CruisinPashmina
1 review
Aug 2012
This tour included an interesting demonstration in the making of a vase and an art piece. Mostly we were lead into showrooms..no hard sell, but kind of a bore.
Read CruisinPashmina's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Emirate
1 review
Aug 2012
Having been to Venice twice before we opted for the Murano and Burano tour. In Murano we were treated to a brief explanation and demonstration of the production of Murano glass and then onto the inevitable gift shop. We did not have a great deal of time left to look around the town before we were off to Burano.
Read Emirate's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Crui$erCT
2 reviews
Jul 2012
We got roped into a "private" demo of glassmaking from the Courtyard Marriott, which was followed by a HARD sell by a salesman. The demo was only for about 15 minutes; the sell, felt like an eternity. However, we walked out purchasing nothing. The best part of this horrible experience was the private limo that picked us up from the hotel and the private boat ride over to Murano. So, if you are strong-willed like my husband, and can walk away from situations like this where you are in an enclosed space with a salesperson on your heels, then go for it! The glass was beautiful.
Read Crui$erCT's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Courtyard Marriott
Member Image Jasper50
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
Tour by private water taxi to Murano Island to the glass factory. Demonstration given and opportunity to purchase glass ware. Very expensive to buy. Same product is also avilable in Venice itself at similar cost.
Read Jasper50's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Jasper50
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
Tour by private water taxi to Murano Island to the glass factory. Demonstration given and opportunity to purchase glass ware. Very expensive to buy. Same product is also avilable in Venice itself at similar cost.
Read Jasper50's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image WichitaCruiser
1 review
Jun 2012
Caught a tour given by one of the glass houses - 15 Euro pp for round trip private water taxi ride, tour, glassblowing demo, and tour of their numerous showrooms.
Read WichitaCruiser's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image silversurfer
1 review
Jun 2012
Trip was disappointing. Nothing to get excited about if you have already seen a glass blower at work and the prices of items on sale beyond belief.
Read silversurfer's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image TJblueeyes
1 review
Jun 2012
Day 1 in Venice: took the Carnival shuttle and return. This did not go very smoothly and it was so hot and massively crowded, we had a hard time enjoying our 2.5 hours in Venice with a very expensive transport. Day 2 in Venice: took the Murano-Burano island tour with Carnival. Bought a scarf in one of the villages for 2 Euro more than the same scarf in Venice. Did not return to the ship with the Carnival transportation but stayed in Venice several more hours and returned on our own. Still hot and massively crowded but this was a better day than day #1. I did not love Venice - there, I said it. Rome was much more interesting.
Read TJblueeyes's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ivori
1 review
May 2012
Just ok. Don't buy from factory, they overcharge.
Read ivori's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image imheidi
7 reviews
May 2012
Comfortable small boat took us to the island of Murano while the tour guide pointed out interesting sights we passed and gave an extensive history of Venice. Glass factory demonstration was amazing and then given time to shop in their store. Many, many unusual pieces.
Read imheidi's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Superior-Shores
2 reviews
May 2012
Venice, Italy, built solely on water...or is it? Venice is actually a series of 116 small islands connected by a series of over 400 bridges. These small marshy islands were incapable of supporting any sort of infrastructure and so that the "lagoon dwellers" as they were called deforested a forest of old-growth trees and sunk them deep into the marshy lagoon in order to form a stable platform. All of this was done in the early 3rd and 4th century. How they accomplished that feat remains a mystery. The reason why they did it was to stave off the constant attacks coming multiple invaders on the mainland. While Venice was built as a defense, the Venetian navy at one point became the strongest naval force on the planet. Often this was done by siding with a variety of enemies from the Ottoman forces to the south and east to the Roman Empire which at one point completely dominated the land encompassing the entire Mediterranean. Today, Venice is considered to be the most romantic city in the world. For many tourists however it is the opportunity to see a unique history "built on water". May 29, 30 & 31, 2012 -- The first "tremor" as the locals are calling it occurred at 9:35 AM, May 29th, about 25 minutes before we touched down at VCE, Venice's international airport. We knew nothing of the 5.3 "tremor" until we saw a smashed statue laying on the ground. Other than plaster falling off of walls, we saw no other damage. At 1:25PM the second "tremor", 4.2 on the Richter scale occurred while we were on a vaparetto (water bus) and so once again, we felt nothing. We also saw no additional damage the remainder of time we were in Venice. Arriving at Piazalle, Roma on the airport bus, we lugged our four suitcases and backpack a few hundred feet, up and down two bridges with about 20 steps each, and finally into the Hotel Olimpia lobby. The hotel is three-stars by European standards and very acceptable although the elevator could only fit two of our bags at a time and no people! The room was pleasant but nothing to write home about. Without unpacking anything but a change of clothes we were off and on our way to explore the City of Water. We initially did what all tourist guide books recommended and that was to get lost in Venice. We had no trouble doing that within 5 minutes. There is no logic in the street system which bars motorized traffic of any sort. Even bikes are few and far between. Around every corner however there is a photo opportunity and by the time we had left Venice, we had shot over 500 photos! The language barrier worked against us initially but once we got a trainee at the vaparetto station, we were in great shape. Our pre-purchased tickets did little to benefit us and that was my fault more than anything. Once we got our three day vaparetto pass and WC cards we were in great shape and learning the system by the time of our first gathering of friends from the Cruise Critic board. About 25 of us gathered at Al Prosecco, (Processco is the name given for Italian champagne), a tapas bar near the center of the city. It was good to finally meet folks we had met only on line. On the 30th with instilled confidence in maneuvering the vaparetto system we started the early morning with a hop on the vaparetto to St. Mark's Square. En route, it just didn't feel right and for once I was right...sort of. I got us on the wrong vaparetto and we were headed to St. Mark's only via the major ship's canal and not the Grand Canal. Despite the blunder, we saw sights we normally would never see. It turned out to be such a blessing! We stood in line for about 50 minutes before the doors opened to St. Mark's Basilica and then only for a 15-minute, self guided tour where photos were not allowed. (Want to see some photos?) Once headed back to the vaparetto stop we came across an artist displaying his wares. With little convincing, we purchased some art work from this amazing city. With getting on the correct vaparetto this time we cruised on down the Grand Canal seeing all of the sites we would never see again. As I said earlier, there is a photo opportunity around every corner and every bend. Still in the morning we checked out of the hotel and lugged our bags back over the same bridges and the same steps to Piazalle Roma and to the "People Mover" to the ship. I think the people mover took as at least ½ mile to our exit point where we had to walk another half mile to the luggage dropoff and ultimately to check-in which went incredibly fast. By the time we were on the ship our cabins were not ready so they housed the masses in the buffet cafeteria where we were force-fed more food! This is going to be a good cruise. The Celebrity Silhouette, heretofore referred to as "CS", is a magnificent ship. The design is excellent save for the lack of stairs or elevators aft. Our cabin, 7309, is a cabin that far exceeded our expectations. It is larger than expected and the wrap-around deck makes vistas even better from almost any angle. Our "butler", Sebastian is very attentive and has also already exceeded our expectations. It's interesting because we haven't quite left port yet. Getting the layout of the ship, we headed to the Cruise Critic group social hours up at the sunset bar in which, Ancel, the local bar server saw me as an easy mark. After two of his drinks I knew I'd never be able to assist the captain if he asked for my help. Afterwards we made the mistake of walking past the new "Lawn Club Grill". Again, being noted as an easy mark, we were escorted inside for one of the most fun evenings we have ever had on a cruise ship. Once we decided we would dine with the folks, they started off teaching us how to make flat bread from scratch, including the hand tossing process. We then selected toppings for our creations and sat down to enjoy until it came time to prepare our main course consisting of two cuts of steak, shrimp, and scallops. We left after nearly three hours, stuffed, happy, and with a grilling apron for Pete. Needing to walk off some of the weight we gained from one incredible meal....and maybe a few drinks, we walked the ship from stem to stern and top to bottom. It remains a very well designed and created ship. Sore from all of the walking and eating, we retired to the cabin around 10:30PM. We were exhausted. The morning of the 31st rattled our cages with another thunderstorm! The lightning flashes were incredible and the rain very intense. By the time breakfast was delivered to the cabin, the skies had parted and blue skies became the dominant feature, just in time for our tour to Murano and Burano, two of the islands away from the main cluster. Those two islands are famous world-wide for glass manufacturing and lace works, respectively. While it may seem a perfect tourist trap, both tours provided a rare glimpse into lost and sometimes forgotten talents.
Read Superior-Shores's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image explore4ever
8 reviews
Apr 2012
Venice needed no introduction or selling. One day does not do it justice. Many passengers stayed a few more nights after disembarkation.
Read explore4ever's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.