Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Venice Gondola Ride Excursion Reviews

Venice Gondola Ride cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A gondola ride, the quintessential activity for visitors to Venice, offers a different perspective of the city from the water along its narrow canals.
Member Image Pomlady
1 review
Jul 2015
Very hot and crowded and had to wait a long time for the gondola ride. Quite a way to walk for anyone with difficulties.
Read Pomlady's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image mgoudoras
1 review
Jun 2015
Arrived in the afternoon and had an excursion for the gondola ride. Only good thing about booking it this way was you didn't have to wait in line. Wish I had arrived the day before and been able to see more of the city. The ship was leaving port that night.
Read mgoudoras's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: ShoreExcursions.com
Member Image Bootle Buck
1 review
Jun 2015
Friends did this independently for 80euros between them with only 2 of them in a boat including being serenaded. We did the RCI trip and had six of us squashed in a small gondola with no entertainment for 80euros per person! Total ripoff! Don't fall for it! This was High Season and our friends had no problem finding a gondola.
Read Bootle Buck's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MonaLisa:)
1 review
May 2015
St Mark's Basilica at Night portion was cancelled due to religious reasons but I was satisfied with $49.01 refund and very much enjoyed the tour by guide Andrea. His colorful descriptions made Venice history come alive. I thoroughly enjoyed the Gondola ride with full moon rising on beautiful Venice evening. Couldn't convince any of the Gondoliers to sing, so we did our best to serenade ourselves. As a solo traveler and this was the day I boarded ship, was happy to meet some people from ship. Met Helena on this tour and ended up teaming up with her for several ports! :)
Read MonaLisa:)'s full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image macw
1 review
May 2015
Great port and the journey in was accompained by a commentary from Paul Lau the host. The Gondola trip was ok, the local guide was terrible and the journey once on land was about 30 mins, wish we had done this independently.
Read macw's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image tineloveshoward
1 review
May 2015
I didn't expect to be jam packed in the gondola with other people. We were serenated but they bunched many boats together to listen to the music. Our gondala driver was distant. I noticed them smoking, texting, not interacting with us. Maybe that's how it is? I was expecting more interaction from them.
Read tineloveshoward's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image amvmonty
1 review
Jul 2014

Good trip relaxing, peaceful and away from the crowds.

Read amvmonty's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image helencomrie
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Good value for money.No 'faffing' straight from ship to launch,trip in its self,swiftly shown to gondola.Half hour ride through back waterways & Grand Canal.Well worth booking with Thomsons beforehand.

Read helencomrie's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image swaggar
1 review
Jun 2014

Gondola was a rip off but fun. I wouldnt do it again though because of price.

Read swaggar's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image cruisin63
4 reviews
Sep 2013

We sailed with a flotilla of 5 gondola's with a singer and an accompanying accordian player in one of the boats. Great fun! And absolutely beautiful at ni night.

Read cruisin63's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image steve in avon
1 review
May 2013

Poor planning by captain of small tour boat. Couldn't get a parking place, then we had to walk 25 minutes to gondolas cause we were in wrong parking place. Didn't get the right gondolas because we were late. 2nd class instead.

Read steve in avon's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Ashman51
1 review
Oct 2012
We took a Gondola ride at the Rialto Bridge - Andrea said we had to do it as it was part of the experience. i'd say its way over rated, and over priced , we paid €100, but we got nice photos.
Read Ashman51's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Princessa22
1 review
Sep 2012
best thing we did. Sunset gondola ride through the canals. Don't miss doing it. It was very reasonable in price plus we had the singer in our gondola.
Read Princessa22's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Travel bound
Member Image Crui$erCT
2 reviews
Jul 2012
Yes, OK. Overprices obscenely, but you GOTTA do it once. So, we did. Our boatman was somewhat entertaining, snapped a few photos of us, sang after I prompted him, but just so-so. Some people looked like they had a more animated pilot. An emergency boat sped by us in the Grand Canal, which had us rocking quite a bit, but we were fine.
Read Crui$erCT's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image World Gallery
12 reviews
Jun 2012
Our kids loved this! We booked on the spot at the Gondola stand.
Read World Gallery's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tvirgil1012
2 reviews
Jun 2012
We also did a Gondola Ride here that was just by Hard Rock Cafe. This was an excellent ride, prices go up after 7pm---so either catch it before or if you don't care it is only 20 Euros more. We had an EXCELLENT time. It took us by Rialto bridge as the sun was setting. It was very romantic. I do recommend them at this location compared to the ones by St. Mark's---they def charge way more.
Read tvirgil1012's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image silversurfer
1 review
Jun 2012
Wonderful early morning approach into Venice with champagne coctails on the Lawn Club! The boat ride on the lagoon was memorable as was the gondola ride. It was a little busy on the canals, like traffic on the M25 on a Friday afternoon. Restaurant prices very steep and the service appauling.
Read silversurfer's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ivori
1 review
May 2012
This was fun and saved us alot of walking one night. Bargain with operators and take a ride away from main square.
Read ivori's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.