Tenerife Pyramids of Guimar Excursion Reviews

Tenerife Pyramids of Guimar cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Ponder the fascinating but puzzling Pyramids of Guimar, a pleasant day trip for any who visit Tenerife.
Member Image wpgk
1 review
Oct 2016
Tour starts with ride up thought the mountains and rain forest. The moderate walking tour through the pyramids. Excellent tour, even if the science is a bit questionable. Fun afternoon
Read wpgk's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Just love 2 cruise
1 review
Oct 2016
Interesting Shore Excursion, I was not expecting to see pyramids.
Read Just love 2 cruise's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image AvgMom2
17 reviews
Oct 2016
We booked a tour to visit Pyramids of Guimar. This compound was interesting with small auditorium to hear the history of the place and the museum to see the possible connection to the other step pyramids around the world. But this place is not that old (dating only to 19th century.) You can walk around the well-kept compound. We also visited the aloe vera facility. They have a small shop. If you want to buy something, ignore the lecture on aloe vera plant and just go to their shop. This place only has one cash register, so the line will be long.
Read AvgMom2's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image oldrunner
1 review
Oct 2016
Very good guide. Pyramids and movie were interesting
Read oldrunner's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image coxsparrow
1 review
Oct 2016
Interesting tour but limited access to actual pyramids the visit to the botanical garden of deadly plants was unusal.
Read coxsparrow's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image khkate
1 review
Jan 2013
This tour was combined with a trip to Esperanza which provided a viewpoint over Mount Teide and the National Park which was spectacular. The trip to the Pyramids was very disappointing. The guide was petite and her voice did not carry, so the commentary was almost impossible to follow. The pyramids were quite interesting but there was no time to actually explore them and the various exhibits seemed to bear no relation to the pyramids - all something to do with Thor Heyerdahl. There was an AV show which was interesting - once one worked out how to get the right language through the headphones.
Read khkate's full Saga Sapphire cruise review
Provider: Saga Holidays
Member Image escape12
1 review
Apr 2012
This tour was okay. The guides were great, both on the bus and at the pyramids. I liked that we had some time to shop after the tour.
Read escape12's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rafinmd
14 reviews
Apr 2012
My tour was "Pyramids of Guimar". we visited a group of 6 small step pyramids. They averaged probably 25 feet tall and the sides ranged from perhaps 30 feet to 350 feet. The smallest is above a small cave (there are many natural caves on the volcanic island, many providing shelter to local farm animals. I'm not sure if he really discovered them but Thor Hyerdal brought them to popular attention in one of his voyages. He believed they are ancient and were part of temple to the sun gods. An exhibit in the museum details a wide variety of pyramids worldwide which Hyerdal believed was a universal form of human expression. The pyramids all have steps to the top along the West wall which align with the setting sun on the winter solstice. Another vantage point aligns with the sun setting on the summer solstice and a mountain creates a double sunset where the sun setting on an angle goes behind a mountain and briefly reappears in a "notch" at the base before it finally sets. The local university thinks they date from the 19th century as agricultural structures. Nobody knows, but it seems at least reasonable to me that they are ancient but were adapted later to an agricultural use. We toured the museum with a guide and then had about a half hour to walk among the pyramids.
Read rafinmd's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?