Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Tenerife Canadas del Teide Excursion Reviews

Tenerife Canadas del Teide cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A guided tour of Mt. Teide makes for a great and active excursion on Tenerife, but don't forget to bring a jacket! The Cañadas del Teide includes an enormous volcanic crater 30 miles in circumference with a staggering height of 12,200 feet, the highest in all of Spain. This is not a site to miss out on.
Member Image mammamia1
1 review
Jan 2013
trip was splendid, the only marking down of this was the ghastly biscuit and coffee we were given...The other tours had wine and cheese....very jealous
Read mammamia1's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HeinBloed
13 reviews
Jan 2013
Worth to see Mt. Teide. Only a little too far away for a 1/2 day tour. Pictures: http://boards.cruisecritic.com/showthread.php?t=1775054
Read HeinBloed's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Turisbeds
Member Image CraftyEC
1 review
Oct 2012
This tour was another casualty of the seasons - or our choice to book this late in the year. It was a fairly long coach trip up into the Las Canadas National Park and we did see some spectacular views from our side of the coach when we ascended, but all was lost in mist on the return journey. There was a photostop on the way up and a brief comfort stop / chance for a beverage even higher. At the highest point we reached the views were stunning - and would have been more so if it wasn't for the hill fog and rain which had set in! On fascinating aspect was the huge numbers of pickup trucks parked on the side of the roads, which I guide pointed out were for the men and their dogs hunting rabbits in the very short season! Even they were giving the day up as a bad job and heading home when the weather turned. The actual trip was well organised and reasonably good value. Once back on the ship we warmed up and relaxed rather than venturing out into Santa Cruz de Tenerife again.
Read CraftyEC's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image weatherguy
12 reviews
May 2012
A.) Tenerife, Canary Islands I chose going up the mountain side of Mt. Teide, on this dormant volcanic island, Canadas del Teide. The island drive wasn't as pretty as Ponta Delgada, Azores, in my opinion. The scenes near the end by the rock formation were more reminiscent of many scenes I've seen in Arizona in the canyon-like caldera. We did get a goodly number of pictures here. A few stops were made for photos and coffee, and some time to pick-up a souvenir. We sampled some local fare near the port after coming back from our tour at the Port of Tenerife. Unemployment on this island is 30%.
Read weatherguy's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jo and Rob
9 reviews
Apr 2012
Tenerife We opted for the Mount Teide National Park trip and were surprised just how far it was from the port. We certainly wouldn't have wanted to do the trip independently and were pleased that we had a proper guided tour organised via P&O. The weather was cloudy in Tenerife but we went above the cloud on Mount Teide and had fantastic weather. The temperature is definitely cooler on the mountain so you need to remember to wear layers.
Read Jo and Rob's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Alicekirby
1 review
Apr 2012
Guide was garrulous! Stop for coffee was quite unpleasant. Poor decor, poor coffee, very poor loos. Teide majestic, worth the trip just to see it.
Read Alicekirby's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image navyrotorhead
3 reviews
Apr 2012
Being interested in anything science related in general, and a big fan of geology in particular, this tour of the Island's volcanic park was a top priority. I thought the price was reasonable and was THOUROUGHLY satisfied.
Read navyrotorhead's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SoCalTraveler
6 reviews
Apr 2012
Nice tour halfway up Mt. Teide. Interesting rock formations; you are above the tree line and there is not much vegetation at the highest point the tour takes you. Not much to do in town; many of the same as in Caribbean ports.
Read SoCalTraveler's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Alba Dia
1 review
Feb 2012
Definitely need to take a jacket for this tour, even in summertime it is very cool above the sea of clouds. We did a full day tour which included a buffet lunch in a hotel at Santa Crux.
Read Alba Dia's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.