Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Taormina (Messina) Mount Etna Excursion Reviews

Taormina (Messina) Mount Etna cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mount Etna is Europe's largest active volcano, and was once said to hold the forges of Hephaestus himself.
Member Image wannaberetired
2 reviews
Aug 2014

Worth the price to see - very other-worldly. You can walk around a crater!

Read wannaberetired's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image groryjm
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Catania The actual port in which we docked was Catania, Sicily

We took a 4x4 tour up mount Etna. In all there were 12 of us in 3 vehicles with one guide in the lead vehicle linked by radio to the others. It was fascinating to see the lava flows, both the ancient ones and more modern. It was very windy and the surface underfoot full of cinder. Definitely a trip for walking shoes and a hat. We hiked to and from parking places, including to the lip of a caldera and a spot of rappelling down a lava tube. Nothing too heavy - should be easy if you are averagely fit.

The stop of lunch at a family run tavern was spectacular. Even with the sudden surprise that one of the party was vegetarian the kitchen coped brilliantly. The food was rustic Sicilian and a massive hit with everyone.

This isn't a cheap excursion - but it is great value for money and we would highly recommend it.

Read groryjm's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ajb1605
2 reviews
May 2014

More stunning scenery, a fascinating ride through the locality to a point higher anywhere in Britain but still nowhere near the top. really interesting tour, with a delicious local delicacy, We ended with an authentic pizza, and a bottle of my favourite, Nero D'Avola, on the island it comes from!

Read ajb1605's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image sunshinefl221
2 reviews
Jul 2013

My son and I did the Mt Etna and Winery tour from Carnival. The rest of our group took a taxi to Taormina. They walked around town, shopped a bit and then came back to the ship. We went out to Mt Etna which is an active volcano, erupting approximately every two months. Thebus stopped at an overview where we got some nice pictures of the smoke coming from the volcano and then we went to an area of "dead craters" where we had time to walk around.

Read sunshinefl221's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image blue7870
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Well worth the expense- a great lunch was included and the volcano was amazing.

Read blue7870's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image DrJamba
2 reviews
Jun 2013

Our tour was arranged through a private company. Our driver was very personable and enjoyable to listen to. We were picked up in Messina where our ship doced and we started with Mt. Etna and ended up having lunch in Taormina. Wonderful little beach resort town.

Read DrJamba's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image blue_butterfly2012
1 review
May 2013
Not much to see, tour guide was not good. She put me to sleep.
Read blue_butterfly2012's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image HickoryShampoo
1 review
Nov 2012
Loved it! Geology geeks rejoice! A bit of a long drive if combined with a city tour in Taormina and if docked in Messina.
Read HickoryShampoo's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CommuterBob
1 review
Oct 2012
The trip up to Mt. Etna included a stop in Zafferana for lunch, which was wonderful. Then we went up to the Silvestri Craters and had a great guide who was a vulcanologist and gave a thorough history of the mountain's eruptions and what we were looking at.
Read CommuterBob's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image optiman32
3 reviews
Sep 2012
Mt. Etna was amazing and taorimna is a wonderful hill town
Read optiman32's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Sicily With Mario
Member Image euroman1995
1 review
Jul 2012
What a unique experience to be able to see an active volcano. The drive from the dock is between 1-1/2 to 2 hours long. This drive allows for a thorough history of the area and Mt. Etna to be narrated by the tour guide. The MSC tour does not include the cable car ride to higher heights, which other cruise companies do offer. Free time allowed was approximately 1 hour & 15 minutes. This gave you enough time to explore the two craters near the restaurant, along with having a snack & time to buy souvenirs. Though it does not allow you the time to explore any further then the area you are dropped off at, due to distances & time constraints.
Read euroman1995's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image ArrrEnnn
1 review
Jul 2012
Naples, Sicily/Messina (not listed in the rating below).. amazing. You must, I repeat, must do the Mt. Etna trip. We booked this one through the cruise line and it wasn't terribly expensive. It's a little far from port, so I'm glad we did it on something that was certified to get us back to our original place of departure. Messina/Taormina/Mt. Etna: Wear comfy shoes. Wear absolutely nothing white! You WILL get covered in ash/dirt. Expect to hike up a very steep hill, and back down.. but the sites of the crater are unbelievable! You will not regret it. Taormina was ok.. it was hot (it was hot the whole trip.. like 115 degrees hot) and I would have preferred to do with out the shopping part in the town.
Read ArrrEnnn's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image WichitaCruiser
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2012
Must do from Catania.
Read WichitaCruiser's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Sicily in Limo

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.