Taormina (Messina) Mount Etna Excursion Reviews

Taormina (Messina) Mount Etna cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mount Etna is Europe's largest active volcano, and was once said to hold the forges of Hephaestus himself.
Member Image Lee K
1 review
Aug 2016
We took the 'easier' of the Mt. Etna tours. We enjoyed the view from 2/3 rds of the way up, shopped at a nice little shop that seemed to have everything you could imagine.
Read Lee K's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image piceman
1 review
Aug 2016
A long bus ride, but Mt. Etna is spectacular
Read piceman's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image javajunkie91
1 review
Aug 2016
I would probably have foregone the Mount Etna tour. Although it was cool to see the craters it was a long drive. I felt we were rushed through the rest of our day because of the time it took to get there.
Read javajunkie91's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Sicily with Mario
Member Image Cranfieldvilla
1 review
Aug 2016
Amazing experience with a very experienced guide who really made this excursion
Read Cranfieldvilla's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image richmal123
1 review
Aug 2016
Mount Etna is about 2 hours away so be aware of that - Amazing drive though - beautiful sights and we called in at a jewellery factory on return - amazing villa, with no obligation to buy, also given snacks there! Mount Etna was crowded but amazing we didn't visit the bar they recommended as too busy - we went another one, and it was easier to use the facilities and cheaper
Read richmal123's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jacxio
1 review
Aug 2016
We did the Mt Etna bus trip and had about 1 hour at crater. It wasn't long enough and with active family could have spent more time there. It was mostly older folks and less mobile. So I"d choose a different excursion next time. Noticed lots of folks had booked private tours with 4 people in vehicle which would have been MUCH faster than bus and kids would have enjoyed more. So if want to spend more time walking around craters (which I reco with kids) then suggest look independent
Read jacxio's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Togaflex
1 review
Jul 2016
Well worth the money - really fascinating and very well organised.
Read Togaflex's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Lbuchan
1 review
Jul 2016
I never imagined a volcano could be so beautiful
Read Lbuchan's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Aquarius115
3 reviews
Jul 2016
ok. was thinking it was going to be more to it. alittle bit disappointed.
Read Aquarius115's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image KikiKruiser
1 review
Jun 2016
Fantastic touring Taormina first, then having lunch on the side of Mt. Etna, surrounded by craters.
Read KikiKruiser's full Star Pride cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image jmcohen
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Great excursion that also went to a nearby botanical gardens with a gorge trail.
Read jmcohen's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cheftom1
1 review
Jun 2016
Was neat to be on mount etna but the hike was a very short and steep one up a silt bank to get to the only crater we had time to hike to. Overall not worth the long bus ride.
Read cheftom1's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image cruisecriticfan2
3 reviews
Jun 2016
We strolled the lovely town of Taromina and went to Mt. Etna. Unfortunately there were very low clouds and the visibility was poor. Even with the poor weather at Mt. Etna, I would highly recommend this tour.
Read cruisecriticfan2's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Dougthewolf
1 review
Apr 2016
This was an expensive private tour (for two, but not so bad if there were six max.) but the weather beat us. Our transport was a 7 seater Land Rover Discovery with leather seating - posh! Our guide (Alfio) did his level best to provide a full day for us. His knowledge of the geology and history of Etna was impressive and he was an enthusiastic guide. We managed to get to 2500m. but strong winds, sleet and cloud prevented us from getting to 2900m. As an alternative, Alfio took us to the town of Taormina and showed us the most picturesque views. Overall, a positive experience but with limitations beyond our control.
Read Dougthewolf's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: etnalcantara
Member Image Debfuncruiser
1 review
Apr 2016
Good trip especially enjoyed our time walking round taormina
Read Debfuncruiser's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gtorrellas
1 review
Oct 2015
2 hours of transport for one hour of tour
Read gtorrellas's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Pegggers
1 review
Oct 2015
Rode in a clean tour bus up the mountain and walked around for about 30 minutes with the tour. Had a delicious glass of wine and a cannoli...then off to free time in Taormina. I can't imagine the town during peak season...because it was pretty crowded the day we were there which was off season but a Saturday.
Read Pegggers's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image TravelingActuary
1 review
Jul 2015
We took a tour to Mt Etna, followed by a stop in the town of Taormina. Mt Etna was a great experience. Our tour guide was excellent - very funny. The drive is about 90 minutes from the port, but it really gives a good chance to see Sicily. While at Mt Etna we had cannoli, which was fabulous. When we returned to Taormina, we had a chance to eat pizza and gelato. The town is a cute place with a clock tower and church, and many little shops. Our day in Sicily was wonderful!
Read TravelingActuary's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image David Shaw
1 review
Jun 2015
Very informative and interesting thanks to a good tour guide
Read David Shaw's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Jean Lawson
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Coach journey 2 hrs for a 45 minute stop before returning
Read Jean Lawson's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Neal Dunn
1 review
Mar 2015
A long bus journey along the coast taking in the scenery before heading inland through narrow streets of the villages at the foot of Mount Etna. The bus took us up to the visitors centre on Mt Etna where it was possible to walk up onto the side of a crater. Snow drifts still visible and a cold wind to boot. Nice hot drinks and food available before souvenir hunting in the shop. A wonderful experience.
Read Neal Dunn's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image The_Sea_Batt
1 review
Mar 2015
A long drive from the port through the Sicilian countryside. We were able to teach the children about volcanoes, have a snow ball fight (in April!) and had a guide that pointed out all of the highlights en-route. Well worth it.
Read The_Sea_Batt's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image redbrickbarbie
3 reviews
Aug 2014
Long-ish drive to Etna (about 2 hours). YOu can see the volcano smoking. We had about an hour there. You can walk around the spent craters. If more time, you can hike up or take a jeep safari.
Read redbrickbarbie's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wannaberetired
3 reviews
Aug 2014

Worth the price to see - very other-worldly. You can walk around a crater!

Read wannaberetired's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image groryjm
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Catania The actual port in which we docked was Catania, Sicily

We took a 4x4 tour up mount Etna. In all there were 12 of us in 3 vehicles with one guide in the lead vehicle linked by radio to the others. It was fascinating to see the lava flows, both the ancient ones and more modern. It was very windy and the surface underfoot full of cinder. Definitely a trip for walking shoes and a hat. We hiked to and from parking places, including to the lip of a caldera and a spot of rappelling down a lava tube. Nothing too heavy - should be easy if you are averagely fit.

The stop of lunch at a family run tavern was spectacular. Even with the sudden surprise that one of the party was vegetarian the kitchen coped brilliantly. The food was rustic Sicilian and a massive hit with everyone.

This isn't a cheap excursion - but it is great value for money and we would highly recommend it.

Read groryjm's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?