Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Taormina (Messina) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Taormina (Messina) City Tour  cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The face of Sicily in The Godfather, there is a lot more to this beautiful and charming town than a few scenes in a popular movie. Past residents have included such noteworthy minds as D. H. Lawrence, Truman Capote, and Halldór Laxness.
Member Image postrain
1 review
Oct 2014

Messina is a beautiful city and the city center church and tower, complete with glockenspiel that runs for 10 or 15 minutes at noon is worth the trip. Highly recommend it.

Read postrain's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wannaberetired
2 reviews
Aug 2014

Takes you to the amphitheater with great views. Guide was great.

Read wannaberetired's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image adkirk25
1 review
May 2014

We took the celebrity transfer to Taormina where they drop you off for 3 hours and you tour it on your own. It was overpriced but we liked walking around the pedestrian area of Taormina and had lunch.

Read adkirk25's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CarolinaCruiser85
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Port stop was actually at Messina. Upon arrival, I booked this tour 10 minutes prior to its departure. We were put in large, air conditioned busses. After a half hour ride through some windy roads we arrived at Taormina. This city is amazing and beautiful. It is one of the nicest cities that I have visited on a cruise. The city is easily toured and could be done without the excursion if you knew you would be back on time. Messina and mountain traffic can be congested. Great food and snack. The city is basically a walled old city with one or two main cobble stone streets. Try the Brioche ice cream sandwiches and the arancini. Our guide was knowledgeable but the city is very straight forward.

Read CarolinaCruiser85's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image blue7870
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Taormina was one of my favorite places on this trip. The theater was a sight to behold, but the main streets were charming and the cannolis were sublime!

Read blue7870's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image HickoryShampoo
1 review
Nov 2012
Walking tour with lunch at a restaurant.
Read HickoryShampoo's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image HickoryShampoo
1 review
Nov 2012
Nice walking tour with lunch at a restaurant. Quaint, Italian seaside village.
Read HickoryShampoo's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image blustig77
1 review
Oct 2012
we actually docked in catania south of taormina. we had a private tour to siracusa which was excellent but it poured that day so we had to curtail it. did not go to downtown catania. many people went to taormina so see mt etna but it was covered by clouds because of the rain. need to go back in good weather but many excursions can be taken from these ports. the tour company was very good and i would recommend them, they procured the local guide who was excellent as well
Read blustig77's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: taxiinsiciily
Member Image Denvermarge
1 review
Oct 2012
We had a very nice tour of Taormina and the Greek theater which was very impressive. We were lucky to have great views of Mt. Etna. A worthwhile tour. After the tour we visited Messina, which isn't a very pretty town, but had a wonderful fresh pizza near the port.
Read Denvermarge's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Piroshik
1 review
Oct 2012
Skipped out halfway and enjoyed a lunch at a piazza. Bought tangerines on the sidewalk, yum
Read Piroshik's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image travelnnana
4 reviews
Oct 2012
Our driver gave us a map and we did the city on our own and met the driver at the end - you do not need a guded tour of the city -easy to do on your own - we found a great restaurant and had a good lunch with fellow cruisers
Read travelnnana's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image vs8864
4 reviews
Sep 2012
Lovely place with nice shops and restaurant. Italian atmsophere mixed with a very csompolitan feel.
Read vs8864's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image deecafecruiser
1 review
Aug 2012
This tour took us to the little hilltop town of Savoca. This was the town featured in The Godfather movies. Our guide was well versed in its history. We enjoyed the town, and the bus drive through the Town of Taromina as well.
Read deecafecruiser's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image discerningedinburgh
2 reviews
Jul 2012
We docked in Catania & took the excursion to Taormina which has to be one of the most beautiful little towns in Italy/Scicily. Very upmarket, individual boutiques, lots of local oil, honey, wine, salt - great gifts. Fantastic cafes. Views of Mt. Etna. Truly spectacular.
Read discerningedinburgh's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Jasper50
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
Drive through the countryside up to the villages that the film the Godfather was filmed in. Tasted a traditional Sicilian breakfast of lemon ice and hard biscuit which you dip into the lemon ice before you eat.
Read Jasper50's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image ArrrEnnn
1 review
Jul 2012
Taormina was nice.. cute little town. Ate pizza at a small place at the bottom of the hill when you enter the town on the right. Good food, mamma and papa smoking in the kitchen, then putting tomatoes on the pizza by hand... haha. Had to laugh, but it tasted good!
Read ArrrEnnn's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bugsdad
1 review
Jun 2012
Private tour of Taormina and Castille Mola with lunch at a pretty outdoor cafe looking out at Mt Etna. plenty of time for walking around and shopping.
Read bugsdad's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Mario of Sicily
Member Image WichitaCruiser
1 review
Jun 2012
Great day, seeing Mt Etna, the beautiful town of Taormina, and ending the day swimming at a private beach in the Med, with 3 other CC couples.
Read WichitaCruiser's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Sicily in Limo
Member Image TJblueeyes
1 review
Jun 2012
We did the "Taormina on your own" Carnival tour and again if I had to do it over, I would have gotten to Taormina some other way to allow more time and done something more interesting than walk the touristy shops for 4 hours in the extreme heat. There are good sights in the area and it would have been fun to have had more time. For instance, The Greek Theater might have been a good sight to see but we didn't have time for it.
Read TJblueeyes's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image EATPRAYTRAVEL
1 review
May 2012
We booked a van for 8 with Sicily Life Coop and were met at the pier by our driver, Luka. First we headed to Savoca, a very quaint village where Godfather was filmed. It was a very beautiful serene area, and at the time of our visit, we were the only group there, so it was very pleasant. We visited a church, walked uphill to explore the village and more churches, then finally returning to our starting point, a bar called "Viteli" where a scene from Godfather was filmed and is famous for its lemon granita. After a leisurely walk around another village, we visited the Church of St. Lucy, where the wedding scene was filmed. Afterwards, we headed to Castelmola for lunch. Again, this is a very beautiful area, with lots of restaurants and shops, plus a castle in ruins on the top of the mountain. From there, you get a bird's eyeview of the surrounding area. Lots of steps, slopes, cobblestone walkways, not very suitable for the mobility impaired. We had lunch, at the driver's suggestion, at a very interesting bar, called Cafe Bar Turisti. Not for the faint of heart, nor shy, as there are on display erotic paintings, male genital organs etc. etc. According to our driver, the bar, which is still in use, is 200 years old. Food was good, selection adequate, price okay. An experience not to be missed, I think. The last stop was the town of Taormina, a medieval walled village. Again, shops abound. It is a nice area to explore, with a Greek Theatre, which we didn't have enough time to visit, plus a view Baroque churches and palazzi.
Read EATPRAYTRAVEL's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Kiheisands
1 review
Apr 2012
Take the Taormina day tour ... you will not be disappointed. Wonderful town full of old world charm and beauty.
Read Kiheisands's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image oldcajun
1 review
Apr 2012
This was a self guided visit to a charming little town.
Read oldcajun's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.