Taormina (Messina) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Taormina (Messina) City Tour  cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The face of Sicily in The Godfather, there is a lot more to this beautiful and charming town than a few scenes in a popular movie. Past residents have included such noteworthy minds as D. H. Lawrence, Truman Capote, and Halldór Laxness.
Member Image yorky602
1 review
Jul 2016
The only poor tour of the trip, Taormina is a beatiful place to visit but tour guide spoilt it by never shutting up.
Read yorky602's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Keeto69
1 review
Jun 2016
We took the cruise transfer to taormina which cost 69 dollars each. The coach took us there and we had just under three hours to explore Taormina on our own before being driven back to the ship. Could probably have done with another hour or so there.
Read Keeto69's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Ashcroft100
1 review
Jun 2016
Well organised and plenty of time to see and visit what you want to see. The botanical gardens were beautiful with a stunning backdrop of the coast
Read Ashcroft100's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image condo1278
1 review
May 2016
Excellent, inexpensive tour
Read condo1278's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mullock
1 review
May 2016
guide was not optimal.
Read mullock's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image AJinOhio
1 review
May 2016
It was nice to walk around and explore and then have some free time to have a gelato in a cafe and shop.
Read AJinOhio's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image MPalermo
1 review
May 2016
Informative and the most beautiful view of the Mediterranean and Etna
Read MPalermo's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tfalsky2
1 review
May 2016
Must go to the Greek Theatre. A bit of a walk from the entrance of Taormina but worth it. Lots of shops and little cafes along the way..but not enough time. There was also a garden somewhere..but did not have time to visit. Another beautiful place to visit.
Read tfalsky2's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Angie1965
1 review
May 2016
Will be going back to this place on holiday: loved it
Read Angie1965's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image oldwo
2 reviews
May 2016
Well worth the trip to see this hill town with a fascinating history.
Read oldwo's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image Pamandcolin
1 review
May 2016
Tour guide was very repetitive
Read Pamandcolin's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rogerdas
1 review
Apr 2016
Awesome guide and plenty of incredible sights to see. We had a good time but not overly exhaustive
Read rogerdas's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Sicily Limousines
Member Image ucanown2
1 review
Nov 2015
beautiful
Read ucanown2's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image KAARON
1 review
Sep 2015
Beautiful town with old churches, narrow streets and amphitheater. High end stores for shopping. Stopped at a local restaurant for hors d'oeurves and wine. The only thing that took away from the tour was the rain that day. Nothing the guide could do about that.
Read KAARON's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image cjh1952
1 review
May 2015
Taormina on our own but with a transfer by guide and coach from the ship. Guide informative on the way. Worthwhile if you like doing your own thing.
Read cjh1952's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image newsbob
2 reviews
May 2015
The ship docked in Messina. We had been there once before and weren't impressed. But taking a tour to Taormina was well worth it. Essentially it was a bus ride to the town and then we were on our own. We bought souvenirs and then found a little restaurant down an alley and had a wonderful meal.
Read newsbob's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image postrain
1 review
Oct 2014

Messina is a beautiful city and the city center church and tower, complete with glockenspiel that runs for 10 or 15 minutes at noon is worth the trip. Highly recommend it.

Read postrain's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wannaberetired
3 reviews
Aug 2014

Takes you to the amphitheater with great views. Guide was great.

Read wannaberetired's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image adkirk25
1 review
May 2014

We took the celebrity transfer to Taormina where they drop you off for 3 hours and you tour it on your own. It was overpriced but we liked walking around the pedestrian area of Taormina and had lunch.

Read adkirk25's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CarolinaCruiser85
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Port stop was actually at Messina. Upon arrival, I booked this tour 10 minutes prior to its departure. We were put in large, air conditioned busses. After a half hour ride through some windy roads we arrived at Taormina. This city is amazing and beautiful. It is one of the nicest cities that I have visited on a cruise. The city is easily toured and could be done without the excursion if you knew you would be back on time. Messina and mountain traffic can be congested. Great food and snack. The city is basically a walled old city with one or two main cobble stone streets. Try the Brioche ice cream sandwiches and the arancini. Our guide was knowledgeable but the city is very straight forward.

Read CarolinaCruiser85's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image blue7870
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Taormina was one of my favorite places on this trip. The theater was a sight to behold, but the main streets were charming and the cannolis were sublime!

Read blue7870's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image HickoryShampoo
reviews
Nov 2012
Walking tour with lunch at a restaurant.
Read HickoryShampoo's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image HickoryShampoo
reviews
Nov 2012
Nice walking tour with lunch at a restaurant. Quaint, Italian seaside village.
Read HickoryShampoo's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image blustig77
2 reviews
Oct 2012
we actually docked in catania south of taormina. we had a private tour to siracusa which was excellent but it poured that day so we had to curtail it. did not go to downtown catania. many people went to taormina so see mt etna but it was covered by clouds because of the rain. need to go back in good weather but many excursions can be taken from these ports. the tour company was very good and i would recommend them, they procured the local guide who was excellent as well
Read blustig77's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: taxiinsiciily
Member Image Denvermarge
1 review
Oct 2012
We had a very nice tour of Taormina and the Greek theater which was very impressive. We were lucky to have great views of Mt. Etna. A worthwhile tour. After the tour we visited Messina, which isn't a very pretty town, but had a wonderful fresh pizza near the port.
Read Denvermarge's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?