Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Petersburg St. Isaac's Cathedral Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg St. Isaac's Cathedral cruise excursion
Overall Rating
St. Isaac’s Church—the largest and most famous cathedral in St. Petersburg—is a magnificent architectural monument that served as the main Russian Orthodox Cathedral in the 19th century.
Member Image avidreaderatl
2 reviews
Aug 2014

Really enjoyed this. It reminded me a little of the Duomo in Florence.

Read avidreaderatl's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image bz
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

lovely.

Read bz's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: tj tours
Member Image lagottogal
1 review
Jul 2014

Lovely, especially from the outside but not as outstanding as other churches in the area

Read lagottogal's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Alex's Tour & Travel
Member Image max_power_000
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

We drove past St Isaac's on the City tour and were able to get a picture of the outside. We came back later for the inside tour. It is hard to know where to look as there is so much to see. It is one of 4 similar style cathedrals. Not to be missed! We had a short amount of time to shop or tour.

Read max_power_000's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image George Elliot
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

TJ Travel hosted our 2-day tour of St. Petersburg. We contacted them after reading reviews on Cruise Critic and were not disappointed. The first day was a private tour--just my husband and me and our guide. We got inside the Peterhof summer palace as well as lovely walk around the gardens and fountains--saw the turning on of the fountains ni the morning. Also saw Catherine's palace, had hydrofoil cruise up the Neva, city tour, great lunch, ballet in the evening. Second day was with four other people, so was a little less cost, but still a great group of just 6 plus our guide to do the Hermitage and the churches. Both guides spoke excellent english, answered all our questions, gave history as well as art facts. On second day, I would have liked amplification/speakers, but it was not really crucial.

Read George Elliot's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image sheree
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2013

beautiful, went with a private guide

Read sheree's full Silver Whisper cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image NantahalaCruiser
1 review
Jul 2013

Amazing art work in addition to the 4th largest dome in the world

Read NantahalaCruiser's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPb-tours
Member Image LGCRUISING
2 reviews
Jul 2013

This church had such a beautiful interior. It was well worth visiting.

Read LGCRUISING's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wickers
1 review
Jun 2013

Not memorable.

Read wickers's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Den Rus
Member Image ronnieb
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Historical...

Read ronnieb's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: spb
Member Image Brummie7207
2 reviews
May 2013

10 out of 10

Read Brummie7207's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kre8ive
1 review
Sep 2012
Beautiful cathedral and surrounding area equally interesting. On a previous tour we had to be content with a drive-by, and this time we were determined to tour the interior. Gorgeous!
Read kre8ive's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Dancing Bear Tours
Member Image andawaywego2
1 review
Aug 2012
Amazing experience. We are both unable to do much strenuous walking so we took a milder tour and missed some of the interesting places, but we were happy with what we saw. St. Petersburg has the most amazing buildings, palaces and museums. Beauty and quality we have not seen before. Don't miss Catherine's Palace for a show stopper.
Read andawaywego2's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruisin-Geezer
6 reviews
Aug 2012
We finished Day 1 of our exhaustive tour at the stunning St Isaac's Cathedral back in the city centre. Its golden dome can be seen as a major feature on the St Petersburg skyline, but the interior is where you really say WOW. Magnificent mosaics cover every inch of the walls and ceilings in the most glorious of colours. The iconoclastas is beautiful and the lofty grandeur of this cathedral leaves you awestruck.
Read Cruisin-Geezer's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image MlleMag
1 review
Jul 2012
Fabulous building, massive, huge domes, artwork, icons. Would like to have had at least an hour there, but only about 20 min. No place to sit and meditate.
Read MlleMag's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Denrus
Member Image AgouraTraveler
3 reviews
Jul 2012
This gold-domed church was a pleasure to visit. The ornate interior is spectacular and some of the exterior columns still bear the results of German shelling during WWII.
Read AgouraTraveler's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rmgjg
1 review
Jul 2012
photo op only
Read rmgjg's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image DawgVoyager
1 review
Jul 2012
This was part of our 2-day independently booked small group tour. The building was quite crowded with other tourists, but our guide kept us together and explained some of the history of the building and allowed us to take all the pictures we wanted. We did not spend a great deal of time here.
Read DawgVoyager's full Marina cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image ShaNayNay34
1 review
Jun 2012
A must see, beautiful cathedral.
Read ShaNayNay34's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image gohawks6
1 review
Jun 2012
Couldnt get entry so little disappointed but nice tour nonetheless.
Read gohawks6's full Ocean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bobby3334
3 reviews
Jun 2012
One of the most magnificent in the work; don't miss it under any circumstances.
Read bobby3334's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image cathpiano
2 reviews
Jun 2012
A lot like the mosques in Istanbul...huge, open, beautiful
Read cathpiano's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image oht
1 review
Jun 2012
Beautiful Cathedral. Tour guide not very knowledgeable.
Read oht's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: AnastasiaTravel
Member Image geekguy1
8 reviews
Jun 2012
Like so much of St. Petersburg, with all the amazing, ornate, beautiful palaces, churches, and museums, you think after a while it would get repetitious, but with sites like St. Isaac's it never does.
Read geekguy1's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image ivanchemist
2 reviews
Jun 2012
The size is amazing. My kids walked up to the walkway around the dome, and thought it was worth the effort for the view one got from this vantage point.
Read ivanchemist's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Misschad
1 review
May 2012
Just 4 words describe St Petersburg 'Out of this World'. The Palaces were outstanding and not enough time really to explore them or to look at all the treasures. Peterhof Palace you could have spent the whole day in the gardens alone and to see what it was after the war is an inspiration. Catherine's Palace and the Amber Room were absolutely stunning. The Peter and Paul Fortress again not enough time to explore or see all the things there. The Cathedrals were beautiful and words can't describe how wonderful they are.
Read Misschad's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image chileno first time cruise
1 review
May 2012
Another great cathedral, although I cant remeber what its main features were! I know I was impressed at the time!
Read chileno first time cruise's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image slix1
2 reviews
May 2012
Amazing
Read slix1's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image Bonica Rose
1 review
May 2012
Impressive architecture and ingenious engineering.
Read Bonica Rose's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image MNDutchGirl
5 reviews
May 2012
Beautiful mosaics
Read MNDutchGirl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image rgarick
1 review
May 2011
this was the highlight of our trip using spb tours for 2 days....they arranged everything (no visa needed)...prompt, courteous service and staff for the 2 days in our air conditioning luxury coach with a maximam of 16 persons....straight to the head of the lines at the heritage and yusupov palace. Our tour guide Andre was very good, along with the experienced bus driver. Andre kept us on a great schedule and we saw all of the most famous highlights within the 2 day time frame.... Don't miss seeing Peterhof Palace, Catherine's Palace, and Hermitage. Only thing disappointing was the missing Faberge collection at the Hermitage....it used to be housed here but it has been moved to Moscow
Read rgarick's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.