Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Petersburg Russian Ballet Show Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Russian Ballet Show cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Don't miss a chance to see Russian ballet performed live in St. Petersburg, home to some of the country’s finest dancers. Almost every line offers a ballet excursions in St. Petersburg.
Member Image tamfoxy 8
2 reviews
May 2016
First ever visit to the ballet wish we had done it earlier. The theatre was lovely if somewhat crowded and the dancers and orchestra were wonderful
Read tamfoxy 8's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Irene Dogmatic
1 review
Sep 2015
Great production, happy ending....fun costumes. Knew the music of Swan Lake but didn't know the folktale behind the story---the prince who falls in love with a bewitched dancer in the guise of a swan. Misha made the folk tale entertaining by treating it in a comic way....It was also interesting to me that the ballet can be done with a variety of endings, depending on who the ballet director is. IE it does NOT always have a happy ending. Made me think of the American Film, Black Swan, about a tortured ballet dancer whose mother ruins her life while she is striving to be a good dancer.
Read Irene Dogmatic's full Viking Truvor cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image international
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Great performance in a nice venue. Please be aware that the snack bars only accept Rubles to purchase food/beverage. The souvenir vendor accepted Euros.
Read international's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nanakbl
1 review
Aug 2015
Very, very nice "Swan Lake."
Read nanakbl's full Viking Truvor cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image HappyHubbyHelper
1 review
Jul 2015
Excellent dancers and music.
Read HappyHubbyHelper's full Viking Truvor cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Sandyhgardner
1 review
Jul 2015
Well worth going. Old imperial theatre and excellent performance.
Read Sandyhgardner's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Yorkshire-Pudding
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Attended a performance at the Mariinsky. It was an amazing performance. This was a treat for my son and my niece but it was amazing. The theatre was an art piece in its own right. We had seats in the stalls which were extremely comfortable and our driver came to the port to pick us and brought us back. Performance was worth every penny.
Read Yorkshire-Pudding's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Best Guides Group
Member Image meriberi
1 review
Jul 2015
We saw a "White Nights Festival" performance of the Nutcracker at the Mariinskiy ballet. While it made for a very long day after all the sightseeing, it was worth it - the theater itself is beautiful, and the dancing, costumes, and sets were amazing! We booked the tickets directly through the Mariinskiy (much cheaper than third-party sites we saw; we picked up our tickets at the Will Call booth that night) and got a transfer from SPB Tours.
Read meriberi's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image dk542
1 review
Jun 2015
The dancing was beautiful but the venue was odd. It was an 80's looking building, not very pretty. The theater had wooden seats, no cushions.
Read dk542's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LadyImpactOhio
1 review
Jun 2015
Not the Bolshoi, but still excellent. Was Swan Lake.
Read LadyImpactOhio's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image maynas
1 review
Jun 2015
Swan lake + champanski, great evening
Read maynas's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image jfkbrit
1 review
Jun 2015
Excellent, intimate theatre within the Hermitage, highly recommended
Read jfkbrit's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image sandralawes@msn.com
1 review
Jun 2015
not quite as good as I hoped. They were not the Russian Ballet, obviously not first line performers.
Read sandralawes@msn.com's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image ciduval
1 review
Jun 2015
An intimate theatre with a very good ballet troupe.
Read ciduval's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Cats Pyjamas
2 reviews
Jun 2015
The real St Petersburg ballet was on tour - this was the "backup" corps. They were hopeless. Total waste of money.
Read Cats Pyjamas's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image superb50
1 review
Jun 2015
We went to Alexandrinsky Theater. It was a really beautiful place.
Read superb50's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image MerlinC
2 reviews
May 2015
Beautiful
Read MerlinC's full Scenic Tsar cruise review
Provider: Scenic
Member Image EmmyLaBlonde
3 reviews
May 2015
Loved everything about it, from being allowed I'm Catherine's private theatre to the quailty of the prima ballerina dancing. She literally floated on air.
Read EmmyLaBlonde's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image blaw49
2 reviews
May 2015
First time to a ballet; saw Swan Lake
Read blaw49's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image HNB41
1 review
Apr 2015
Had a little difficulty finding our seats but were surprised to find we had front row seats for an excellent performance. We were not in the least disappointed with the theater or the dancers or the orchestra.
Read HNB41's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image bz
4 reviews
Jul 2014

our Azamazing evening, well organized, memorable. Lovely theatre, not so crazy about actual ballet, very heavily Russian, telling the story of the French Revolution. Would have preferred one of the classics.

Read bz's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image George Elliot
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Mariinsky ballet in the historic Mariinksy theater. Beautiful. Not too long. A bit stuff in our box. Worth every penny. Our driver picked us up promptly and was right there to return us to the ship when the ballet ended.

Read George Elliot's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image head4heights
1 review
Jul 2013

Mea culpa... this was my first ballet (Giselle) and I really enjoyed it - surprisingly moving too. The theatre was intimate but no crush for a drink during the interval. Most civilised. Actually, this ballet was in Moscow and not St.Petersburg. Sadly Moscow has fallen off the CruiseCritic map.

Read head4heights's full AmaKatarina cruise review
Provider:
Member Image blethers
1 review
Oct 2012
Ballet was an interesting experience for a non-ballet-goer; I loved the young musicians playing in the foyer at the interval.
Read blethers's full AmaKatarina cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Vivacious Van
1 review
Sep 2012
It was the first time we had seen a ballet and it was an obvious choice of trip to make. First time in Russia, first time to the ballet. It was Swan Lake. I had nothing to compare it with so I am unable to be critical. There were times when I thought one or two of the dancers were out of sync and I do wish they smiled occasionally (perhaps it is not the done thing). The building was of course old, tired and in dire need of refurbishment with a trip hazzard of a red stair carpet. Perhaps this is something for the future. I was disappointed by the fact that only a handful of people dressed up for the evening performance and they all seemed to be off the cruise ship along with ourselves. I had been advised (in this instance totally incorrect) that the Russians dressed up for the Ballet and that if you were to go in wearing flip flops and shorts and/or jeans and jumper you would be totally under dressed. Well, we wore the dinner jacket and the pretty dress with heels. Should have gone in jeans and jumper. It seemed to be a sell out performance which is good for them and provides a good atmosphere for everybody attending. Incidentally, although the seating was tired looking, it was comfortable with plenty of leg room. Well worth the trip.
Read Vivacious Van's full Black Watch cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.