Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Petersburg Russian Ballet Show Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Russian Ballet Show cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Don't miss a chance to see Russian ballet performed live in St. Petersburg, home to some of the country’s finest dancers. Almost every line offers a ballet excursions in St. Petersburg.
Member Image bz
3 reviews
Jul 2014

our Azamazing evening, well organized, memorable. Lovely theatre, not so crazy about actual ballet, very heavily Russian, telling the story of the French Revolution. Would have preferred one of the classics.

Read bz's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image George Elliot
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Mariinsky ballet in the historic Mariinksy theater. Beautiful. Not too long. A bit stuff in our box. Worth every penny. Our driver picked us up promptly and was right there to return us to the ship when the ballet ended.

Read George Elliot's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image head4heights
1 review
Jul 2013

Mea culpa... this was my first ballet (Giselle) and I really enjoyed it - surprisingly moving too. The theatre was intimate but no crush for a drink during the interval. Most civilised. Actually, this ballet was in Moscow and not St.Petersburg. Sadly Moscow has fallen off the CruiseCritic map.

Read head4heights's full AmaKatarina cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image blethers
1 review
Oct 2012
Ballet was an interesting experience for a non-ballet-goer; I loved the young musicians playing in the foyer at the interval.
Read blethers's full AmaKatarina cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image Vivacious Van
1 review
Sep 2012
It was the first time we had seen a ballet and it was an obvious choice of trip to make. First time in Russia, first time to the ballet. It was Swan Lake. I had nothing to compare it with so I am unable to be critical. There were times when I thought one or two of the dancers were out of sync and I do wish they smiled occasionally (perhaps it is not the done thing). The building was of course old, tired and in dire need of refurbishment with a trip hazzard of a red stair carpet. Perhaps this is something for the future. I was disappointed by the fact that only a handful of people dressed up for the evening performance and they all seemed to be off the cruise ship along with ourselves. I had been advised (in this instance totally incorrect) that the Russians dressed up for the Ballet and that if you were to go in wearing flip flops and shorts and/or jeans and jumper you would be totally under dressed. Well, we wore the dinner jacket and the pretty dress with heels. Should have gone in jeans and jumper. It seemed to be a sell out performance which is good for them and provides a good atmosphere for everybody attending. Incidentally, although the seating was tired looking, it was comfortable with plenty of leg room. Well worth the trip.
Read Vivacious Van's full Black Watch cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines
Member Image kre8ive
1 review
Sep 2012
The ballet company that Viking took us to see was interesting but I would have gladly paid more to see one of the highly talented companies such as Marinsky or Alexandrinsky. The company we saw seemed semi-professional and the theatre was clearly in need of renovation, but the performance of "Sleeping Beauty" was entertaining
Read kre8ive's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image Lochani
1 review
Sep 2012
Fun evening for those who have been to a live ballet!
Read Lochani's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image Cruisin-Geezer
6 reviews
Aug 2012
A group of 8 had opted for this at the Hermitage Theatre. This accommodates an audience of only about 250, so everyone had an unhindered and close view of the excellent performance of Swan Lake (although it should be noted that in this rendering nobody died!). Eduard drove us to the theatre and he was waiting for us when the performance finished. We were back on board by 23:30 - oh so many superlatives in one very full day! One comment - TJ Travel informed us that the dress code for the ballet would be semi-formal, so we all dressed appropriately. However, the audience, mainly East Asians, had clearly not heard this message and you could say that either we were the smartest set in the theatre, or we were terribly over-dressed!
Read Cruisin-Geezer's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image johnl.szabo@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2012
Lovely. You should not be in Russia without going to a ballet.
Read johnl.szabo@gmail.com's full Viking Embla cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image muly
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
Even as an athlete I could never do what they do. A great experience and enjoyable evening. A bit warm in the theatre so dress accordingly.
Read muly's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image MerryFLLMom
1 review
Jul 2012
This was an evening event. The group was very talented and their costumes were gorgeous. The theater was too warm and the seats were literally wooden benches covered with fabric. Very hard to enjoy show after two hours.
Read MerryFLLMom's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bobby3334
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Russian Army was preforming folk show of singing, dancing and gymnastics. Great!
Read bobby3334's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image geekguy1
8 reviews
Jun 2012
The Alexandrinsky Theatre was almost worth the price of admission. The ballet company and orchestra were not top companies, but certainly decent, making this a very worthwhile experience.
Read geekguy1's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image TylerRose
8 reviews
Jun 2012
amazing!
Read TylerRose's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Marinsky
Member Image aaallison
1 review
Jun 2012
Unexpectedly great performance by young dancers -- notably, the conductor did so without a score.
Read aaallison's full Viking Helgi cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image financesec
1 review
Jun 2012
Great city to visit. Again, the advantage is we were able to park in town with a great view right outside our cabin. We booked a tour with Anastasia Travel with 3 other couples we met on Roll Call. Worked out great. We had a nice roomy van.
Read financesec's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Anastasia
Member Image gzerovti
2 reviews
May 2012
Taken into St.Petersburg to a small theatre where we saw the Russian Army singing and dance troupe. Champagne in the interval. What an evening and after driving back late at night though the city and it is still light at 11.30 pm. Well recommended.
Read gzerovti's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.