St. Petersburg Private Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Private Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A private tour is the best way to see St. Petersburg, moving at your own speed with your own guide. Prepare to see it all, from the world famous Hermitage Museum to the impressive variety of palaces and cathedrals that bespeckle the former Russian Capital.
Member Image Szia
1 review
Aug 2016
Tour was based on the specific interest of our group. City highlights panormaic tour with inside visit to Peter & Paul Fortress and Cathedral, Church on Spilled Blood. The museum of Soviet Aracade Machines, Maket Russia Museum (HO gauge trains), Hermitage, shopping department store and local grocery stores, Vodka museum and lunch along with lunch on day one at local restaurant (supurb food).
Read Szia's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Tailored Tours of St.Petersburg
Member Image WB Kelso
1 review
Aug 2016
We had the extreme privilege of being guided on our tour by a young man named Mikhail whose day job is actually as an art historian at the Hermitage. It was a 2 day tour jam-packed each day with 8 hours of information from this brilliant man on all the antiquities and history of Peterhof, St. Nicholas Cathedral, Fountain Park, Tsars Village, Catherine Palace, the Hermitage Museum WOW!, and Church of the Spilt Blood. Outstanding tour. How we lucked out getting Mikhail as our guide I'll never know.
Read WB Kelso's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: TJ tours (SHORE TRIPS)
Member Image Jill Alice
1 review
Aug 2016
The highlight of the entire cruise. We booked a 2 day St Petersburg grand tour. $285 + tips. We booked on line and emailed them our passport information. They were waiting at the pier with a 16 passenger Mercedes bus. We took a ride on the subway and then visited Yusupovs palace traveled by bus to Catherine palace including the amber room and the park. We then went to Peterhof with its amazing fountains and gardens. We took a hydrofoil ride back to the city where our driver met us. On the second day we took a boat ride in the city then an early entry into the Hermitage. Lunch at an amazing restaurant then Church on the blood, St. Peter and Paul fortress, St Isaac cathedral. And many more stops. Our guide and driver were amazing at avoiding the crowds.
Read Jill Alice's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Alla tours
Member Image pillperson@hotmail.com
1 review
Aug 2016
Toured all the great spots with Anna P. , learned about living in St. Petersburg and saw the induction and blessing of the new class at the Naval Academy
Read pillperson@hotmail.com's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Tours by Local
Member Image Mike in Shawnigan
1 review
Aug 2016
I did a private culinary tour with a company I found online and while pricey, it was worth every penny. Had a great guide in Ilya. I joked to folks that he didn't shut up the entire time but he was a weath of knowledge and had a great personality. He'd spent a couple years in CO and spoke perfect English. We saw a ton of stuff and I thoroughly enjoyed his company and choice of restaurants and dishes. I'd do it again in a heartbeat. St-Petersburg-Essentialguide.com
Read Mike in Shawnigan's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: St-Petersburg-Essentialguide.com
Member Image drubil
1 review
Aug 2016
great two day tour with small group) only way to see St. Petersburg
Read drubil's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: DenRus
Member Image luv2cruise31
1 review
Jul 2016
Guide and driver provided for 12 people. We saw everything that was possible. Guide spoke good english and was extremely knowledgable regarding the art in all the museums.
Read luv2cruise31's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Alla 2 Day Grand Tours
Member Image highmaintence
2 reviews
Jul 2016
We booked with MaxiBalt tours who were exxcellent. We did a two day tour with 11 people with ages ranging from 11-67. We all loved it. We saw The Amber room, Neva River Cruise, Peter and Paul Fortress, Catherines Palace, Church of the spilled blood, Hermitage Palace and Peterfof Palace. I would recommend MaxiBalt tours as they picked us up on time and got us back to the ship on time. Did everything we wanted to do and the lines in most of the places were enormous and if we hadnt been in a private group we would have been waiting hours and hours and hardly seen anything. Anna our guide was out of this world. Her knowledge was beyond belief. Alexi the owner was very fast communicating and getting the tour organised.
Read highmaintence's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: MaxiBalt Tours
Member Image T&T
1 review
Jul 2016
Great two day tour with wonderful 12 person group from the ship. Tour guide was so friendly and it was great to get her views on the world. The pace was perfect and we would highly recommend. St. Petersburg is absolutely beautiful!
Read T&T's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image happyp5
1 review
Jul 2016
A+++ Our second time to St. Petersburg and second time with TJ Travel. they are simply the best and worth every penny!
Read happyp5's full Silver Wind cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image Jaxredhd
1 review
Jul 2016
Our tour guide Marina did an excellent job. I could highly recommend her and Alla Tours. She was so knowledgeable about all things Russia it was impressive. We did the 3 day St Petersburg tour. She kept the group on track and moving through all the "must be seen" high points of each place visited Hermitage, Peterhov, Church of the Spilled Blood. We also had a nice boat ride around the city and rode on the subway. We had lunch each day at really nice restaurants.
Read Jaxredhd's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image busby
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Value for money,only six in our group so very easy to get around places,able to hear guide without having to use earpiece which I hate .also good communication as to what we wanted to see
Read busby's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: DENRUS
Member Image agathasmum
10 reviews
Jul 2016
We took the 3 day deluxe tour as a private tour for 2. We spent a fabulous 3 days in St Petersburg with our guide Olga B and driver Max. We saw everything on SPBs small group tour plus had early access to places, skipped to the front of the line at others and saw everything without the crowds. Saw churches and other sights that the larger groups can't go into. Great lunches. Loved this tour!
Read agathasmum's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image gma lalo
1 review
Jul 2016
would have liked to include the Metro but stopping for meals used up a lot of time. One of our party was ill so we moved a little slow
Read gma lalo's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Letina
Member Image Keltarz1
1 review
Jul 2016
Excellent tour- limited to 16 persons per tour- excellent guide
Read Keltarz1's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPS Tours
Member Image alifarr
1 review
Jul 2016
Our guide Ivan was excellent. They managed to fit the Hermitage, the Fabrege and multiple churches and a boat tour into one jam packed day that hit all the high points, missed the crowds, avoided the traffic and made the day memorable.
Read alifarr's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Timofey Tours
Member Image DidiJ
1 review
Jul 2016
Unfortunately missed our first day in port due to poor weather but SPB were brilliant and ensured we made the most of the time we had there. We were a small group of 14 and so they could be flexible and adapt the day to suit. We managed to do river trip, Hermitage, Church of the spilled Blood, St Isaac's, Hydrofoil, Peterhof gardens. subway ride and farmers market plus good lunch. We were out from 8am to 7pm so very long tiring day in the pouring rain but still the highlight of the cruise.
Read DidiJ's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image jhyman10
1 review
Jun 2016
Everything was set-up perfectly. The guide was waiting for us when we exited Russian Customs and escorted us to our nice Mercedes with a driver. The guide was awesome (as was the driver) and we had a great time learning about Russia. The restaurants we were taken to were great. When we finished each stop, the driver was waiting for us so we made the most of our trip.
Read jhyman10's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: White Night Tours
Member Image hawkesbaynz
1 review
Jun 2016
Booked with a discount via cruise critic (thanks Maisiecat). Tiring but great 2 day tour. Great guide - Daniel. Amazing city.
Read hawkesbaynz's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image honeylaw
1 review
Jun 2016
Anna was excellent and made sure we say a lot! comfortable van with wifi.
Read honeylaw's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: TJ Tours
Member Image kaydeeoh
1 review
Jun 2016
TJ Travel handled everything, including trip to Fabrege Museum to see eggs and mansion. Wait until end of tour @ TJ Travel site to buy souvenirs. They have Russian made quality momentos sold by informed staff.
Read kaydeeoh's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image mmwilson
1 review
Jun 2016
Fabulous private 3-day deluxe tour with SPB. Worth every penny, saw 9 museums, avoided the long lines during popular tourist season because we were a small private group, very reasonable price, fantastic tour guide!
Read mmwilson's full Silver Whisper cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image ojainel
3 reviews
Jun 2016
Incredible 3-day tour. Would highly recommend.
Read ojainel's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image Lel27
1 review
Jun 2016
We had pre-booked with a company recommended by friends (Denrus). This covered 2 of the days in port. This was an excellent excursion it covered all of the key palaces, gardens, churches & museums. It included a canal trip & a ride on the metro. Lunch, bottled water & water-proofs were provided. Two full on long days but felt we missed nothing. The third day in port we booked a Celebrity excursion to be dropped off on main shopping street.
Read Lel27's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Denrus
Member Image malrob
1 review
Jun 2016
only 11 in coach great guide very knowledgable
Read malrob's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: cruise excursions

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?