Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Petersburg Private Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Private Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A private tour is the best way to see St. Petersburg, moving at your own speed with your own guide. Prepare to see it all, from the world famous Hermitage Museum to the impressive variety of palaces and cathedrals that bespeckle the former Russian Capital.
Member Image showme15
1 review
Aug 2015
Excellent tour! Our guide Natalia was so very informative and spoke beautiful English. She was a true delight for 2 days with sooo much information about Russia, St.Petersburg, the Cathedrals, the art, the sculptures, I can go on... We couldn't have asked for a better tour! We were a little apprehensive about the booking at first, a little known company- Red October but our fears were subsided when we were met by Natalia and our fabulous driver. They took us all over St Petersberg in traffic, which I must say was hectic- being August, and showed us a delightful artistic and enlightened tour. Loved it! We only wished our time was longer. 2 days were not enough. Tour was worth every bit of money spent, which by the way was less than the tour offered by the cruise ship. I would whole heartedly recommend it. We saw everything we wanted to see, all the palaces, the Fortress, the Hermitage...anything we wanted to see. The tour was at our discretion!
Read showme15's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Red October Tours
Member Image cmoinho
1 review
Aug 2015
necessary to book when in russia, places are overcrowded and tour companies know their way around. not speaking russian and having a toddler forced us into booking a 2 day private excursion. we saw the highlights but were not super impressed with their service. city is great and monuments are incredible, really worth visiting as much as possible.
Read cmoinho's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image Panorama_Sue
1 review
Aug 2015
This was an excellent two day tour and Maya was a wonderful guide. TJ Travel did an excellent job (small van - 16 people max) and is very reasonably priced.
Read Panorama_Sue's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image Cappycas1
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Wonderful St Petersburg. Our private tour guide spoilt the tour a bit with an overload of information. Apart from this the places we visited were wonderful. Lunch on out two days wasn't included so our guide took us to what she said was a typical Russian restaurant, This turned out to be a fast food pancake house in a shopping mall! Disappointed, you bet, and the pancakes were pretty average at best. The second day, again we were told we were eating in a Russian pie cafe where the various pies on offer were excellent. This cafe turned out to be a Russian version of 'Greggs' serving, to our taste very average dry pies. Not good.
Read Cappycas1's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image vennard
1 review
Jul 2015
We went with Denrus who were excellent. Our guide, Nadya was very knowledgeable and, as there were only 6 of us in a minibus we were able to move around easily, which was especially welcome in the Hermitage which was full of groups of about 50.
Read vennard's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Kakesim
1 review
Jul 2015
Our 2-day tour - for just the 2 of us - led by Elena of Red October was how all these shore excursions should be! The pace was perfect, with our guide AVOIDING the horrendous bus/cruise crowds as much as possible. Elena was extremely well-informed, answered our every question, and tailored the tour to our needs and interests. We saw all of the "must-sees" in St. Petersburg, and also a bit more of what was really important to my husband and myself (ie almost 4 hours in the Hermitage, Swan Lake, etc) Obviously Viking cannot do their included excursions individually, but all effort should be made to approach the excellence we experienced here - at least Viking excursions should not become part of the problem (of the obnoxious, pushy mega-groups)!
Read Kakesim's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Red October
Member Image Barbadosgold43
1 review
Jul 2015
I cannot thank T J Tours enough for making a most memorable experience for us on our two day tour of St Petersburg.Our tour guide Ellen was very knowledgable and spoke very good English.They also provided a wheelchair and a pusher for the two days which helped me enjoy the sights while they pushed my husband in the wheelchair.He has walking difficulty's so he would not have been able to enjoy the tour if it had not been for them.They made our holiday once again Thankyou Tatiania ,Ellen the driver and the two lovely guys who helped my husband.
Read Barbadosgold43's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: TJ Tours
Member Image Vorlina
1 review
Jul 2015
A terrific tour organised by Irina of White Nights Travel - strongly recommend. They were nothing but helpful and informative from start to finish, and it was lovely to feel so unrushed.
Read Vorlina's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: White nights travel
Member Image df2616
1 review
Jul 2015
Tour guide, Sergei, was extremely knowledgeable. Got us past the long lines at Peterhof palace. Really had a great visit.
Read df2616's full Silver Cloud cruise review
Provider: Esperance travel
Member Image Moremajor
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Great commentary by the guide.
Read Moremajor's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bigrobstar
1 review
Jul 2015
Brilliant 2 day private tour taking in pretty much everything on the to do checklist
Read Bigrobstar's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lennyzim
4 reviews
Jul 2015
Experience was very good. Traveling with smaller groups makes it more personal.
Read lennyzim's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image luv2travel63
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Overall very good but the guide's english wasn't great and the two lunches were very bad. Being that it was just my wife and I, we hoped we would go to a small place for lunch. Instead we were taken to large hall with other tours and given a table for two with terrible food.
Read luv2travel63's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: SBP
Member Image parmen123
1 review
Jun 2015
our guide was History major and shared a wealth of history on Romanov family and Russia
Read parmen123's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Tailored Tours of St. Petersburg
Member Image superb50
1 review
Jun 2015
We went on private tour with TJ Travel to visit all of the major sight seeing place in St. Petersburg. In addition, we also visit the Metro station.
Read superb50's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image sealegs13
1 review
Jun 2015
We had an excellent and informative 2 days. While it was exhausting, it was so interesting. I had no idea how beautiful St. Petersburg was!
Read sealegs13's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image Jamba54
1 review
Jun 2015
Simply the best. Personal, reliable, informative, friendly, cleverly organised tour. St. Petersburg is one of the most beautiful cities we've ever seen. Unforgettable.
Read Jamba54's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: MaxiBalt Tours
Member Image maggipie
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Saw all the famous highlights of St Petersburg in a private tour, which was nice, though our tour guide not very flexible and felt compelled to impart every historical detail she knew (it seemed). Visited the artillery museum, very likely the highlight of the entire cruise for my 11 yo son.
Read maggipie's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Anastasia Travel
Member Image grandmamoose17
1 review
Jun 2015
Mercedes with driver plus a tour guide. Money well spent.
Read grandmamoose17's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image DiLinedancer
2 reviews
Jun 2015
We booked the 2 day Grand tour with Alla Tours because they were a lot cheaper, had excellent reviews, and much smaller groups (max 16 people). We paid $300 & $45 tips for the 2 days which was worth every cent. We left later on the first day to avoid being held up in customs (only took 10 mins). We did an hour city tour with photo stops. Then went to Yusopov Palace where Rasputin was lured to and killed- beautiful inside. Next St Peter & Paul Fortress where the Romanov family is buried. Taken to a Russian restaurant for a 3 course lunch with wine or beer. In afternoon went on Hydrofoil to Peterhof and walked around the lower and upper gardens with their amazing fountains. Photos don't do this justice. Drove back and paid for tour at a souvenir shop. 2nd day started at 7.30 as straight through customs. Visited a subway then 1 hour canal trip. Went into Hermitage Museum at 9.40 before the public are allowed in at 10.30. Stunning and interesting. Visited Church of the Spilled Blood and St Isaacs Cathedral. Drove to Catherine's Palace and the famous Amber room - unbelievable building. Then back to ship. This was a full 2 days with Elena who was so knowledgable.
Read DiLinedancer's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image Hans Ondek
2 reviews
May 2015
A 2 day full on tour in a 16 seat minibus. Early entrance to avoid the crowds in the Hermitage, we virtually had the place to ourselves. Our guide Sergey was very knowledgeable and very proficient in English. This was 2 days full on, with an early 7:15am start on the second day.The tour was "Splendour of St Petersburg, and took in, Hermitage, St Isaacs Cathedral, Catherines Palace, Museaum of St Peter and Paul Fortess, Yusupovs Palace, the Amber Room, Peterhof, Alexanders Palace, a hydrofoil ride, visit to the St Petersburg Metro. The sights were breathtaking and the two days completely changed my perspective of the modern day Russian people. The ride on the Metro still had the Cold War era symbols and monuments, a sight of what Russia once was. An excellent experience, expensive, but worth every penny.
Read Hans Ondek's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image chicotam
3 reviews
May 2015
Before you book with the big operators, you may want to look at the Tours By Locals website. We had a fantastic guide - Irina K and she provided an intimate, personal tour in St P.
Read chicotam's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Tours By Locals - Irina K.
Member Image pchase1
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

TJ Tours EXCELLENT. The only way to go. They handle everything including visa, driver, English speaking guide, etc! Look no further.

Read pchase1's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Mum2boysx6
1 review
Aug 2014

We booked our 2 day Grand Tour with Alla Tours for two main reasons – 1) much cheaper than tours from the ships & they covered more places 2) much smaller groups.
The ship’s tours can have 50 people on them, whereas Alla has a maximum of 20 & we had 14 on our tour. It cost $300 each for 2 days +$45 for tips. Alla arranged it so that we didn’t leave until after the main rush so that it didn’t take us ages to go through immigration on the first day. The second day there isn’t that problem, so we started at 7.30am the second day. The first day we looked at St Isaacs church on the outside & then took a ride on the subway. Yusupov Palace, beautiful, travelled by hydrofoil to Peterhof & walked around the lower fountain gardens & Upper Gardens which were spectacular. Continued to The Tsars Village (Tsarskoe Selo) & Catherine’s Palace & the fabulous Amber room.
Day two we visited a little farmers market, stopped by Kazan cathedral, took an hour’s boat ride on the canals which was delightful, 2 hours in the Hermitage, lunch at the Metropole hotel, visited the Church of the Spilled Blood where the wall paintings were breath-taking & then St Isaac’s cathedral. The latter is huge in every way & the decoration is fantastic. Last stop was St Peter & Paul Fortress, cathedral & Mint. It was a very full 2 days, but so good. Excellent guide named Marina.
I did buy some attractive wooden Christmas tree decorations like onion dome churches.
Total spending per person for 2 days was $345 = £215 in August 14.

Read Mum2boysx6's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image bz
4 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

wonderful

Read bz's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: tj tours

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.