Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Petersburg Peterhof Palace Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Peterhof Palace cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Peterhof Palace, Peter the Great’s imperial palace near St. Petersburg, features an enormous park adorned with fountains and statues.
Member Image pchase1
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Worth the visit

Read pchase1's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image avidreaderatl
2 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Only toured the grounds, but that's what is important here. The fountains are great!

Read avidreaderatl's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image bz
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

stunning inside, unbelievable park-like grounds outside.

Read bz's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: tj tours
Member Image lagottogal
1 review
Jul 2014

Don't miss this one

Read lagottogal's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image max_power_000
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

There are no pictures allowed inside. We toured the gardens and fountain areas first. We had a short wait to get inside. No pictures are allowed. I bought a great St Petersburg overview book at the hermitage. Excellent guide who kept everyone together and made sure we had timely washroom breaks.

Read max_power_000's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image alanoconnor
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

A wonderful, if tiring experience, which swept away all preconceptions of Russia and her people. The Neva River was awash with every kind of river traffic, including boats preparing for a Regatta and wedding parties having pictures taken on the banks. The cruise liner quay and terminals are set in a landscaped area which can be reached by car and on foot, and which the locals call "Area 51" It was mutual- we thought we were in another world too! Absolutely unforgettable.

Read alanoconnor's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tipitina
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Less crowded on this day. Absolutely stunning.

Read tipitina's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image George Elliot
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

my favorite of the St. Petersburg palaces. Loved hearing the history from our TJ Travel guide.

Read George Elliot's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image nybumpkin
17 reviews
Jul 2013

Wow. This was my favorite part of the tour. The fountains are unbelievable.

Read nybumpkin's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image NantahalaCruiser
1 review
Jul 2013

tour of only the fountains - which were beautiful engineering feats

Read NantahalaCruiser's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPb-tours
Member Image head4heights
1 review
Jul 2013

The weather was fine and this, according to our guide, was most unusual. St.Petersburg is well known for its rain. We arrived via hydrofoil and left by bus (there's a bridge) to see a different perspective. Impressive determination of the Russians to rebuild their heritage after German WW2 occupation and wilful destruction of priceless heritage. I did spot the odd 18th century pozidrive screw head which suggests that perhaps all that glitters is not entirely gold... but you've got to look quite hard. Well worth visiting.

Read head4heights's full AmaKatarina cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image Free cruising
1 review
Jul 2013

It rained hard all morning but guide was very upbeat and knowledgeable. Hydrofoil ride had to be cancelled due to weather but all in all it was a good tour.

Read Free cruising's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image babouchka
1 review
Jul 2013

Worth checking out.

Read babouchka's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image wickers
1 review
Jun 2013

Saw the grounds but not allowed inside. No reason given.

Read wickers's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Den Rus
Member Image beachluver9
2 reviews
Jun 2013

Beautiful grounds. I would recommend this over Catherine's palace if your time is limited.

Read beachluver9's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image shirleyuk
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

We took the Hydrofoil to Peterhof and it was just a Wow factor The gardens and fountains are just magnificent,. We had lunch in the restaurant in Peterhof which, although a set meal, was very good.

Read shirleyuk's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image karbop1
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013
Had a private two day tour for three of us which allowed us to visit pretty much every main destination and a few others besides. i would recommend SPB Tours highly.
Read karbop1's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image lewisltd
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

great, but fast moving. good guide

Read lewisltd's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Expedia
Member Image blethers
1 review
Oct 2012
Amazing gardens - look for the trick fountains to the left of the main buildings in a strange little water-garden.
Read blethers's full AmaKatarina cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image Dodifra
1 review
Sep 2012
This was included in our 2 day tour but we didn't go inside, just visited the gardens and beautiful fountains.
Read Dodifra's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image Cactus77
1 review
Sep 2012
Fascinating. How the other half used to live.
Read Cactus77's full Boudicca cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines
Member Image Harrisontig31
1 review
Sep 2012
Peterhoff is just one of those places you have to visit if you are into Architecture, Culture and History. It is stunning. The interior is breathtaking and the gardens extensive and very pretty. I particularly like the canal from the main fountains down to the sea and the seaside "villa".
Read Harrisontig31's full Marco Polo cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image Lochani
1 review
Sep 2012
Wonderful place!
Read Lochani's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image Cruisin-Geezer
6 reviews
Aug 2012
We took the 30 mins hydrofoil from the city to the amazing Petergof Palace. We didn't have time to visit the palace, but immensely enjoyed the magical gardens. I have never seen such spectacular fountains with golden statues and features abounding. The palace from the outside gleams in yellow and white, with golden turrets, etc.
Read Cruisin-Geezer's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image PianoGirl00
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Incredibly beautiful. Reminds me of Versailles only better because all the fountains are working!!!
Read PianoGirl00's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image johnl.szabo@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2012
Everything was perfect, including the weather. The tour inside was wonderful, and watching the fountains being turned on was exciting.
Read johnl.szabo@gmail.com's full Viking Embla cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image Niall Fleming
3 reviews
Aug 2012

In the afternoon we moved on to the Peterhof and this is where things started to go wrong. The gardens are excellent but the guide allocated two thirds of the tour to walking round them, not particularly bright when it started raining. The palace itself therefore became a bit of a race and the Russian staff there are particularly unpleasant. As a result of the overruns we were very late back.

Read Niall Fleming's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Two 2 Tango
5 reviews
Jul 2012
The gardens, fountains and palace are spectacular, but you can't take photographs inside the Palace. there are a lot of market stalls outside on the carpark where you can get souvenirs at a fraction of the price on the ship, don't forget to bargain the price.
Read Two 2 Tango's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sailing1001
1 review
Jul 2012
Well worth a visit, we arrived by hydrofoil and departed by bus. The palace was built and framed on the Palace of Versailles in France and the fountains were lovely.
Read sailing1001's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image muly
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
A must see. Do not miss the photos of the WWII destruction at the beginning of the tour. The senselessness of war should trigger rage within the common man. The reconstruction is remarkable. The fountains and grounds are as magnificent as the palace.
Read muly's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image MlleMag
1 review
Jul 2012
Denrus gave us a very spirited Russian lady, Lana, who kept us moving for 11 hours the first day and 8 the second. This was the Royal St. Petersburg tour; there were 13 of us. We did not wait in any lines exc. briefly at Yusupov Palace. She spoke excellent English, had a dramatic flair and lots of smiles (concert pianist by training). We knew it was to be an "intense" tour, and it was, esp. w. temperatures close to 90 F. Walked miles. A little too much time at Peterhof gardens for us but, oh well. I recommend this company. This tour was $399 per person for the two days. There were 6 of us. She was good with the kids (12 and 14)
Read MlleMag's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Denrus
Member Image txtonc
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
Read txtonc's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image AgouraTraveler
3 reviews
Jul 2012
Our tour group was the first to enter on the 2nd day of our visit to St. Petersburg. Therefore, we got an excellent view of the ornate rooms although photos were not allowed. I purchased some postcards at the giftshop. The palace grounds are amazing with gardens, statues, fountains, aviaries, and views of the Gulf of Finland. Some of the fountains, all powered by gravity, are tricky--they only go on when one walks closeby, thereby getting soaked. The main fountain area went on at 11:00 to the sound of music.
Read AgouraTraveler's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kdub24
2 reviews
Jul 2012
Peterhof is beautiful, from the gardens to the famous fountains, to the Baroque palace itself. Going on an organized tour meant that we got in first, and avoided a bunch of the crowds later. That's the only way to do it.
Read kdub24's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image flcruiser3
1 review
Jul 2012
Peterhof fountains and gardens were spectacular. We did not go inside the Palace, our guide told us that it is very similar to Catherine Palace. The hydrofoil ride back to the city was very pleasant.
Read flcruiser3's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image rmgjg
1 review
Jul 2012
travelled by hydrofoil.Beautiful grounds,very opulent with lots of gilt. Poured rain-would be marvellous to see on a sunny day.
Read rmgjg's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image DawgVoyager
1 review
Jul 2012
This was part of our 2-day independently booked small group tour. Our car dropped us at the entrance and our guide led us through the gardens. We did not go inside the palace. Of course the palace, fountains and gardens were developed by Peter the Great to rival the Palace of Versailles and they are quite impressive. When we reached the Gulf of Finland after walking through the gardens, we took a hover craft to return to St Petersburg where our driver met us with the car.
Read DawgVoyager's full Marina cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image supersecdd
1 review
Jun 2012
We enjoyed walking through the Peterhof Palace and then walking outside in time for the fountain show in the gardens. It was better than Versailles!
Read supersecdd's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image ShaNayNay34
1 review
Jun 2012
There are 1000's of people touring through on a daily basis and the employees do a nice job of moving people along. There is a bit of a feeling of being pushed through like cattle but listen to your earpiece as the guide is describing each room and ignore the people that are bumping into you!
Read ShaNayNay34's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image bobby3334
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Outstanding
Read bobby3334's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image cathpiano
2 reviews
Jun 2012
St. Petersburg: It's all about the bathrooms, and traffic. Peterhof, St. Catherine's, the Hermitage are somewhat similar, all full of gilded treasures. But logistics, getting there, were awful. Both Peterhof and St. Catherine's are about 20 km from the city center. We were in a 2 hour traffic jam to both and I swear the guide never drew breath the whole time, never stopped telling us things. Logistically, the visit to Peterhof was very frustrating. Our coach left an hour late, and spent an hour in traffic. Once at Peterhof, there's the obligatory potty stop. There are 5 ladies stalls. There were 75 women in line. And our guide told us that he could not let us use pay potties, even though they were availble, no lines, and we were willing. Supposedly he would be reprimanded, since our fee "paid" for the potties. But we wasted 2 hours getting there, and 45 minutes waiting for 7 of our group to use the ladies' room, and of course, the group could never separate. So we never did see the gardens or walk to the sea as promised. The ship did make a concession and refunded 15% of the price back to us (I don't know if it did to others, but I made a friendly but pointed complaint about the mechanics of the trip to the shore excursion desk). I'm told that if you book with an independent group, and your group is small, you can cut to the front of the line, and probably have a little more flexibility. We used EP but if I were to do it again, I'd try something else. It's difficult to appreciate the sights when you're so frustrated by the iron control the Russians still exert over their guests. Check your other options.
Read cathpiano's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Philip Lowe
1 review
Jun 2012
A superb sight which we travelled to by hydrofoil.
Read Philip Lowe's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image iceclutz
1 review
Jun 2012
We walked through the gardens, which are impressive and beautiful. We arrived there by hydrofoil, which was included in our tour. We did not go inside since we were going to Catherine's Palace next.
Read iceclutz's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: SPb
Member Image geekguy1
8 reviews
Jun 2012
Actually, we had time on the FULL 2 day tour to only do the gardens, but they were worth every bit of the time spent there. Besides excellent landscaping and plantings, the statuary and Palace as a backdrop make this a Must See site.
Read geekguy1's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image aaallison
1 review
Jun 2012
Our personal favorite, don't miss it. Note that the famous fountains are turned on at 11am in the summer. The turning on ceremony is not worth the crowd scene. All the tours can be done independently, but having a knowledgable guide is a big plus.
Read aaallison's full Viking Helgi cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image KenCT
1 review
Jun 2012
I've been to St Petersburg before, but hadn't been to Peterhof. Without a visa I needed to take a organized tour and a ship-sponsored half-day trip excursion seemed to fit the bill. Although our guide was a lovely young woman, there were the lines. To enter the building, to use the restroom, the mandatory bag and coat check, the required plastic booties. Being herded from room to room by grim faced matrons. I was miserable throughout. Wish I had skipped it. Perhaps the private companies handle it better.
Read KenCT's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TheJoneses
1 review
Jun 2012
Tour was good. Unfortunately, it was Friday, so the traffic was hoorible getting through the city. This caused our tour at the Peterhof gardens and fountains to be rushed. I would have liked more time to take pictures. It was beautiful, however!
Read TheJoneses's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image financesec
1 review
Jun 2012
We took a hydrofoil to Peterhof. It was a gorgeous day. Then went to Catherine's Palace. We got box lunches from the ship so we could eat on the van between stops.
Read financesec's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Anastasia
Member Image ivanchemist
2 reviews
Jun 2012
We only saw the fountains and the grounds. Both were amazing, particularly the amount of water moving around and the use of gold. I'm used to copper and other base metals for fountains in American cities.
Read ivanchemist's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Misschad
1 review
May 2012
How the Russians could have done so much in such a short time is unbelievable, when you see the photographs from after the war.
Read Misschad's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image chileno first time cruise
1 review
May 2012
We did a really thorough tour of inside the palace and walk around the grounds. we were there from 9 to 11am so that we could see the cascading fountains turn on at 11. Truly magnificent!
Read chileno first time cruise's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image slix1
2 reviews
May 2012
Amazing
Read slix1's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image Bonica Rose
1 review
May 2012
I don't know why photos were not allowed inside. This palace was impressive but very similar decor to Catherine's Palace. The intricate wood in Peter the Great's study had been undamaged. It was interesting to see the bedrooms with the doors on either side of the bed. The fountains were nice and the trip back to St. Petersburg on a hydrofoil was interesting.
Read Bonica Rose's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image MNDutchGirl
5 reviews
May 2012
We did not go into the palace as this is more famous for the outdoor fountains. It's compared to Versailles and is beautiful, even in the rain.
Read MNDutchGirl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image jimlaneart
4 reviews
Apr 2012
Peterhof Palace is surprisingly different from Catherine's Palace. The grounds and fountains are spectacular, even in early spring (May 9th when we were there). Inside the decor is rich but more varied and maybe a little more restrained than Catherine's over-the-top tastes. No photos inside, please. What? No photos?
Read jimlaneart's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.