Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Petersburg Peter & Paul Fortress Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Peter & Paul Fortress cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The Peter and Paul Fortress is one of St. Petersburg's oldest structures; visitors learn about how the fort was once used to protect the area from being attacked by the Swedish army.
Member Image bz
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

quick look at the highlights

Read bz's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: tj tours
Member Image lagottogal
1 review
Jul 2014

A must see

Read lagottogal's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image alanoconnor
1 review
Jun 2014

Very impressive indeed, and quite compact as regards walking.

Read alanoconnor's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image nybumpkin
17 reviews
Jul 2013

Only complaint here is that it was crowded. It was hard to get a good view of the interior. However, we had an exellent concert from an a capella group in a chapel.

Read nybumpkin's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image NantahalaCruiser
1 review
Jul 2013

you can see the golden spire of the cathedral as you look down many of the larger avenues

Read NantahalaCruiser's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPb-tours
Member Image wickers
1 review
Jun 2013

A bit of a blur.

Read wickers's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Den Rus
Member Image beachluver9
2 reviews
Jun 2013

We only visited the outside due to lack of time. Incredible history here, read up on the location prior to visiting to get max benefit from the stop

Read beachluver9's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image karbop1
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013
Had a private two day tour for three of us which allowed us to visit pretty much every main destination and a few others besides. i would recommend SPB Tours highly.
Read karbop1's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image lewisltd
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Stunning

Read lewisltd's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Expedia
Member Image ronnieb
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

amazing....

Read ronnieb's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: spb
Member Image blethers
1 review
Oct 2012
Very impressive. Lovely light inside the cathedral.
Read blethers's full AmaKatarina cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image Dodifra
1 review
Sep 2012
The Peter & Paul cathedral is beautiful and a must see.
Read Dodifra's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image Harrisontig31
1 review
Sep 2012
Interesting. Strange in its layout. Again, one of the places you have to visit if only to see the resting place of all the Tsars. I felt the tour here was a bit disjointed but this was primarily because of numbers visiting the church and then a wait for our onward river cruise boat to arrive.
Read Harrisontig31's full Marco Polo cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image Lochani
1 review
Sep 2012
Lots of walking ! Interesting history!
Read Lochani's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image andawaywego2
1 review
Aug 2012
I was overcome when I saw the crypt of Czar Nicholas II and his murdered family. I had heard and read so much about them
Read andawaywego2's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruisin-Geezer
6 reviews
Aug 2012
Following a good lunch we proceeded to the Peter & Paul Island and its fortress and cathedral, where the Romanov Tzars are entombed. The golden spire of the cathedral dominates the St Petersburg skyline. Not as spectacular within as St Isaacs or the Church on Spilled Blood, the cathedral is still undergoing some rennovation, but is still very much worth a visit. I would have liked time to explore the fortress and walk around its wall, but . . . alas . . . time!
Read Cruisin-Geezer's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image johnl.szabo@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2012
Exceptional site. I was touched by seeing the tomb with the remains of the last Czar and his family.
Read johnl.szabo@gmail.com's full Viking Embla cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image sailing1001
1 review
Jul 2012
An exciting building to visit where the tombs of Romanov rulers and their family lie. The decor was exquisite.
Read sailing1001's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image MerryFLLMom
1 review
Jul 2012
Very disappointed we did not go inside the church where the Czars are suppose to be buried. We walked around outside and then went to the Church of Spilled Blood then to a souvenir shop. The tour guide did point out other points of interest and she was very knowledgeable.
Read MerryFLLMom's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mileeny
1 review
Jul 2012
We had wanted to take a private excursion as when we were here before we did ships tours and they were very slow moving and more about shopping than touring.However we were only in port for one day and it was a monday and the Hermitage is closed to all except very large tour operators on a monday.I e mailed several beforehand and those that said they could get us in were very expensive so reluctantly i booked a full day ships tour that included The Hermitage.it turned out to be the highlight of our trip.The guide spoke excellent English.There were 40 people on our bus all of whom were fit and able bodied.We never lost anyone or had to wait anywhere for anyone.Lunch was included and was a salad followed by veg soup,then a chicken in cream sauce with potatoes followed by apple streudel.There was caviar on bread and sparkling wine and vodka shots and bottled water and coffee or tea included.This was in the Literary Cafe on Nevsky Prospeckt.
Read Mileeny's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image flcruiser3
1 review
Jul 2012
The Cathedral at the Peter and Paul Fortress was interesting as it had the tombs of many of the Russian Tzars including Peter the Great. *Make sure you use a restroom before arriving at the Fortress the bus that contained the toilets had the smallest and dirtiest bathrooms I have ever seem in my life! I am quite small and I could hardly fit in the stall and the stall walls were only shoulder height. Ironically you had to pay to use these facilities. We did have a good laugh the rest of the trip talking about the "pi** bus" and how it "pi**ed us off"!
Read flcruiser3's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image Porky55
3 reviews
Jul 2012
Enjoyed this excursion - the tour guide was very fluent, funny, helpful.
Read Porky55's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rmgjg
1 review
Jul 2012
The founding site of St.Petersburg. Full of marble sarcophaghi of all the Russian Tsars,emperors,empresses and their families & staff. Very interesting
Read rmgjg's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image DawgVoyager
1 review
Jul 2012
This was part of our 2-day independently booked small group tour. The area was quite crowded and perhaps extra-so because it was Navy week and many locals were there celebrating and sightseeing in addition to foreign tourists. Our guide was able to keep us together and provide explanations of what we were seeing, making sure we didn't miss the tomb of Peter the Great as well as the chapel with the remains of the last Romanovs.
Read DawgVoyager's full Marina cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image bobby3334
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Plenty of time to see inside and out; very interesting!
Read bobby3334's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image Philip Lowe
1 review
Jun 2012
Saw this from our river cruise and were pleased to see inside later when we visited in our tour mini-bus.
Read Philip Lowe's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image geekguy1
8 reviews
Jun 2012
Like all of the cities major attractions, this is a jaw-dropping stop.
Read geekguy1's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image gzerovti
2 reviews
May 2012
Truly memorable as here you see the graves of the Tzars including the last Tzar and some of his family.
Read gzerovti's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Misschad
1 review
May 2012
Again not enough time to take in all the sights and explore, but hopefully we can visit again.
Read Misschad's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image chileno first time cruise
1 review
May 2012
Didnt go inside just a photo opportunity in the rain so this site didnt make much of an impact. The cathedral next door where all the Romanovs are buried was great though
Read chileno first time cruise's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image slix1
2 reviews
May 2012
Interesting
Read slix1's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image MNDutchGirl
5 reviews
May 2012
This is where the Romanovs are buried and was not on the top of my highlight list, although it didn't take much time to walk through.
Read MNDutchGirl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.