Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Petersburg Neva River Cruise Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Neva River Cruise cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Appreciate the architecture and history of St. Petersburg—often called the Venice of the North—on a cruise down the Neva River.
Member Image bz
3 reviews
Jul 2014

Could not hear the guide over the static

Read bz's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: tj tours
Member Image lagottogal
1 review
Jul 2014

A great perspective of the city from the river. a very enjoyable hour

Read lagottogal's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Alex's Tour and Travel
Member Image George Elliot
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

comfortable, efficient, fun.

Read George Elliot's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image nybumpkin
17 reviews
Jul 2013

The river cruise gives a really good overview of St. Petersburg.

Read nybumpkin's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image NantahalaCruiser
1 review
Jul 2013

Great photo ops - especially of the riverside of the Hermitage/Winter Palace

Read NantahalaCruiser's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPb-tours
Member Image wickers
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Constant information which was difficult to take everything in but a very well informed tour leader. Beautiful day and so everything was shining, very beautiful to see.

Read wickers's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Den Rus
Member Image shirleyuk
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

It was a very nice boat ride and very interesting to see parts of St. Petersburg from a different aspect. Very enjoyable experience.

Read shirleyuk's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image lwcarter31503@yahoo.com
1 review
May 2013

It was a small boat with limited seating on top deck and if you seat in the interior of the boat it was very hot and no way to open windows. And no snack available.

Read lwcarter31503@yahoo.com's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jilbymitch
2 reviews
May 2013

Traffic was ghastly from onset as some Summit in town. St Catherines Palace beautiful and would have liked to spend more time in gardens but rushed back to coach to get to lunch. Lunch was obviously at Restaurant run to feed cruise ship crowds. Very dubious "Russian" food and watered down Vodka but Russian folk dancers were entertaining.

Back to ship via Church od Spilled blood but not enough time to go in. Very touristy markets for some souvenirs then back to ship just in time.

River Neva cruise ok. Buildings very drab from river. Commentary ok. Young guy ran along beside boat for most of trip then appeared back at dock for 'his reward', new angle on making tips!

Read jilbymitch's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Harrisontig31
1 review
Sep 2012
Despite cold and earlier rain the sun came out and makes the whole place look totally different. Good information provided on the boat along with blankets!! Nice variety of things to see on the Neva and the side canals. Very pleasant tour to take.
Read Harrisontig31's full Marco Polo cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image Cruisin-Geezer
6 reviews
Aug 2012
Day 2 of our excursion commenced with a 'champagne' cruise along several canals and into the Never River. This trip afforded lovely views of many of St Petersburg's iconic sites including the Church on Spilled Blood, The Hermitage & Winter Palace, and the Peter & Paul Fortress. I took some great photos from the boat. Being early in the morning it was quite cold on the river, but blankets were supplied for those that wanted them.
Read Cruisin-Geezer's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image kingfish45
1 review
Aug 2012
Loved it. It rained on us but so what. They do have inside seats for that. Got to see the city from the Neva. Also included an inside tour of the Church on spilled blood. This building was my favorite in St. Petersburg. I would recommend it the river cruise. Took our picture in front of the Church on spilled blood.
Read kingfish45's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Niall Fleming
3 reviews
Aug 2012

The canal cruise was good, boat a bit basic but plenty to drink so who cares.

Read Niall Fleming's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image muly
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
This was a disappointment. I anticipated more time on the canals, when in fact the majority of time was on the river. Not a good use of time as the significant views were few. I believed we would get a good look at the Church of the Spilled Blood, when in fact there was only a quick glimpse between the trees. We left the boat not two blocks away from the cathedral, yet could not see but the tips of the onion domes. I asked the guide if we could do a drive-by for photos and she declined being more anxious to get us to the souvenir shop where she would get a cut no doubt.
Read muly's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image AgouraTraveler
3 reviews
Jul 2012
The relaxing river and canal cruise passed many significant buildings and sites, some we would later visit. One was a bridge built by the same designer who built the Eiffel Tower, and you could see the similarities. We also saw a couple of 3-masted ships.
Read AgouraTraveler's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Niagara11
1 review
Jul 2012
Great trip. One sees the city from a totally different perspective. We saw many of the palaces once owned by the many grand Dukes of the time. If you have breathing difficulties you may want to go in the cabin as the diesel fumes are sucked back to the open end of the stern. These cruises sometimes offer glasses of champagne or shots of vodka the Russians refer to as "medicine"
Read Niagara11's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image flcruiser3
1 review
Jul 2012
As I mentioned in my Alla review we did not enjoy the city tour by boat. However if the seats were tolerable and we could hear the guide I am sure that it would have been enjoyable.
Read flcruiser3's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image TravelSmith24
2 reviews
Jul 2012
This was our second visit to St. Petersburg. During our first trip we had done a day-long visit to The Hermitage Museum and Peterhof Palace. If this is your first visit to the area, you should probably see at least those to sites. We opted for a Neva River Cruise which also takes you through some of the city's smaller canals, which Peter the Great had built after he visited Venice. There are many similarities. This was a very nice way to see many of the sites of the city in a relaxing cruise. Before boarding the boat you also get a chance to visit the Church of the Spilled Blood and have about 30 minutes for photos and souvenir shopping if you wish. This church was something we had driven by before, but I appreciated the stop to be able to shoot decent photos. We visited on a Friday but there were tons on brides and grooms getting married there and many flower-covered limousines picking up the young couples. Our guide explained that due to the harsh winters in St. Petersburg, hardly anyone gets married in the colder months. So in the summer there are weddings happening every day, not just on Saturdays as we are used to in the U.S. I would recommend this tour for anyone who has already seen the major sites of St. Petersburg, or for those who are exhausted from their first day of touring and want to take it easier the second day. I know many people are fascinated by Russia, but even on our first trip we would have preferred spending one day in St. Pete and having a second day to spend in Stockholm or Helsinki. Two days in St. Petersberg is too much.
Read TravelSmith24's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Porky55
3 reviews
Jul 2012
Very enjoyable - had a local folk singing group on board who were great.
Read Porky55's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image glen121
1 review
Jul 2012
great, bit chilly but i sat on the outside and took loads of pictures
Read glen121's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image rmgjg
1 review
Jul 2012
different view of the city. Good commentary. Unfortunately if was raining & we stayed below deck.
Read rmgjg's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image DawgVoyager
1 review
Jul 2012
This was all part of our independently booked SPB tour. It was a pleasant 45-60 minute tour and allowed us to see some sights from one side that we had seen only from the other side during the driving tour. However, the guide for the river cruise was a different SPB guide and not the one for our small group tour. She was not as good nor as easy to hear and understand when explaining the sights we were passing.
Read DawgVoyager's full Marina cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image Christine Kallend
1 review
Jun 2012
Cruise was lovely, unfortunately our guide choose not to use the headsets we had been issued with so we couldn't hear what he was saying so just looked at the palaces etc. floating by.
Read Christine Kallend's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image gohawks6
1 review
Jun 2012
Well organised and very enjoyable.
Read gohawks6's full Ocean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bobby3334
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Great views especially of the bridges
Read bobby3334's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: alla
Member Image Philip Lowe
1 review
Jun 2012
A poor quality cruiser but the sights were great!
Read Philip Lowe's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image Steve Williams
3 reviews
Jun 2012
St Petersburg was interesting but the hassle of the queues and the traffic spoilt the experience. The river trip was the best excursion, it was great for views and photography away from the queues of people and traffic.. I am glad we have seen it but is is not a place I would yearn to return to.
Read Steve Williams's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ivanchemist
2 reviews
Jun 2012
We did both an hour cruise in the evening and the hydrofoil to Peterhof. Both nice, particularly the hydrofoil which was a pleasant change from our van.
Read ivanchemist's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image chileno first time cruise
1 review
May 2012
It was a sunny day...this is the best way to see all the fabulous palaces. escape the traffic and glide along the canals at a relaxing pace. Fabulous photo opportunity
Read chileno first time cruise's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image slix1
2 reviews
May 2012
The river cruise gives another side of the city. So many attractive buildings, churches, spires, domes, boats, iron work bridges to see.
Read slix1's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image MNDutchGirl
5 reviews
May 2012
On a sunny day, this is a fantastic way to see the city from the river
Read MNDutchGirl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image jimlaneart
4 reviews
Apr 2012
St. Petersburg in two or three hours. No crowded bus, no traffic lights, open air and sunshine. Who could ask for more?
Read jimlaneart's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vanvleckeren
5 reviews
Jul 2011
It was wonderful to see St. Petersburg again. This time, I opted for a trip to Catherine's Palace and Neva River cruise. The previous year, I had seen the Hermitage Museum and Peter & Paul fortress. The river cruise was beautiful and relaxing, and we saw a lot of the major sites from the water, got a great feel for the city, and heard a lot of the history.
Read vanvleckeren's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.