Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Petersburg Hermitage Museum Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Hermitage Museum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Five historic buildings (one of which was the former residence of Russian Tsars) today make up the Hermitage Museum, housing one of the finest art collections in the world.
Member Image superwife
1 review
Oct 2015
Be sure to pay for the early private tour. You get to be in the museum before the crowds. We were the first group in all of the rooms. Also includes the annex...well worth the money. Book as soon as you can on board.
Read superwife's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image grantju42
1 review
Sep 2015
The night visit to the Hermitage was the experience of a lifetime for me. We had a wonderful young woman as a guide who was so passionate and enthusiastic, as well as knowledgeable, about the paintings. Not having to experience all the people pushing and shoving was such a blessing. One could really appreciate the Palace as the home for the paintings.
Read grantju42's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Herbs Mom
3 reviews
Aug 2015
Our guide from SPB-Tours for our 2 days in St. Petersburg was Alexander. His English was flawless, and he knew how to get our small group of 16 ahead of the large groups, making good use of our time. We saw so much because of his knowledge of the "ins and outs".
Read Herbs Mom's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: SPB-Tours
Member Image Grand Voilier
1 review
Aug 2015
Beautiful but no time to enjoy the art. So many people!
Read Grand Voilier's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Skneip
1 review
Aug 2015
Beautiful museum, but unfortunately it was so crowded you coukd not appreciate it. We were literally herded through, stopping briefly at selected pieces of art. Most of my photos are of the ceiling (which was lovely), but I was glad to get out of there. There were 3 cruise ships docked, which may have accounted for the crowds - but I would recommend a private tour. Tour guide was very knowledgeable, and ear phones were a must.
Read Skneip's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jkalderman
2 reviews
Aug 2015
This was a part of our all day tour. We only spent about two hours here but well worth it.
Read jkalderman's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hockeyken
1 review
Aug 2015
Beyond description, a must see, BUT, horrible crowds, and you will be herded quickly from room to room without much time to appreciate the wonders you are seeing. All tour operators claim "early" admittance : don't believe it. You WILL be in the middle of a vast crowd.
Read hockeyken's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image SausalitoLady
2 reviews
Aug 2015
The Hermitage Annex St. Petersburg - We purchased tickets to The Hermitage Museum in St. Petersburg 7:PM NOT the Hermitage Annex We were sold the Hermitage Museum but received the “Hermitage Annex” tour we did not even see the actual Hermitage. Selling passengers tickets for walking tours that had extreme difficulty walking was uncomfortable for everyone else on the tour. At the end of the tour we had to walk down at least four flights of stairs (each flight was at least 15 stairs) in a completely dark hallway – no lights at all – we all took out our cell phones to light our way.
Read SausalitoLady's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cliffsiders
2 reviews
Aug 2015
One of the three highlights of the entire trip. A fabulous guide who navigated the crowds to show us many of the best highlights. Memorable.
Read cliffsiders's full Silver Cloud cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Fiona Perry
1 review
Aug 2015
Hermitage was unbelievable, had a fantastic guide Irina if I recall correctly, spent perfect amount of time on the more important paintings giving us time to admire the palace rooms opulence. Time on our own in the afternoon, 3 hours, really nice to explore Nevsky Prospect.
Read Fiona Perry's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Troski
2 reviews
Aug 2015
The Hermitage was disappointing as the lighting was terrible. Thus, the paintings were difficult to see with the light coming in from the windows. Also time was too limited to see what we wanted to see & we would have appreciated some time on your own at the end of the tour.
Read Troski's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image drmerlin123
1 review
Aug 2015
Crowded out. Could not really view the paintings properly. No choice about where we went or what we saw.
Read drmerlin123's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image EB71
1 review
Aug 2015
First day it was a combination of Hermitage + St.Petersberg On your Own. We were Lucky that we went early to the Hermitages as at the end it becomes very crowded. If you think you will have time to really see the paintings. You will finish very disappointed. As it's a very quick walk through the Hermitage. This also because it's really huge. Tourguide was very nice and good, Spoke very well English and had a lots of background information to tell. To me, if you really want to have a good look at the paintings, this is not the right spot.The light insight isn't good enough to see all details. You rather must see it as a whole picture very nice/special architected palace with a wonderful art collection. Insight it's really impressive. St. Petersberg on your own was really GREAT. So much to see and so very nice people. We had plenty of time to see all important highlights. Nice Shops, parks etc. Tickets for visitors are really cheap.
Read EB71's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image FLliving
1 review
Jul 2015
A mob seen.
Read FLliving's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image Grihaws
1 review
Jul 2015
Very interesting!
Read Grihaws's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BrazilianBabe
2 reviews
Jul 2015
We enjoyed the art and history at the Hermitage Museum. It was a Sunday and it was very full, but worth it anyway.
Read BrazilianBabe's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HappyHubbyHelper
1 review
Jul 2015
I stood 12 inches away from a DiVinci painting and was able to photograph it. Yes, you can use your camera in the Hermitage.
Read HappyHubbyHelper's full Viking Truvor cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Sandyhgardner
1 review
Jul 2015
Including gold room. Excellent guide, very informative and efficient organisation. Treasures in gold room are amazing and exhibits shown in hermitage very interesting.
Read Sandyhgardner's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bhimbhuvanKY
1 review
Jul 2015
Too crowded but worth seeing the halls and the collection especially of stone urns
Read bhimbhuvanKY's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image meriberi
1 review
Jul 2015
So overwhelming, but luckily our tour guide kept it manageable, sticking to the highlights.
Read meriberi's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image draesq
1 review
Jul 2015
hermitage is beautiful and so is church of the spilled blood. just very, very crowded!
Read draesq's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Gatorsgochomp8
1 review
Jul 2015
Cool museum but tour was extremely long. It is best to go here at night, otherwise it is WAY too crowded and you cannot see much
Read Gatorsgochomp8's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Moremajor
3 reviews
Jul 2015
We were in the Hermitage before it was officially open to the public. That was just one of the many perks booking with an independent tour operator.
Read Moremajor's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Damkooy@hotmail.com
1 review
Member Image idahojoyce
1 review

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.