St. Petersburg Hermitage Museum Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Hermitage Museum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Five historic buildings (one of which was the former residence of Russian Tsars) today make up the Hermitage Museum, housing one of the finest art collections in the world.
Member Image Mimi1947%
1 review
Sep 2016
I only gave this 4 stars because our 3 hours there weren't enough. Even we hurried through, we were only able to see a few of the over 2 million paintings, sculptures, etc. Phenomenal museum with some of the most famous paintings in the world.
Read Mimi1947%'s full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Insider Tours
Member Image CVL
1 review
Sep 2016
One of the major parts of the two day package. Be prepared to queue and the place is absolutely packed so there is no hanging around to admire things. Think of it as a taster rather than "seeing" the Hermitage.
Read CVL's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image taxhelpmi
1 review
Sep 2016
Not enough time, impressionists moved out of museum to another museum not included in tour, what we did see was rushed due to the need for tour to get to souvenir shop. We spent more time in souvenir shop than in museum.
Read taxhelpmi's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image VictorianVoyager
1 review
Sep 2016
A 'must' for any visitor to St. Petersburg. I marvelled at the palace itself but found the tour slightly disappointing because we didn't have enough time in the galleries with so many other tour groups there. Most disappointing of all was the absence of the collection of Impressionists which has now been moved to another building.
Read VictorianVoyager's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image briansau
1 review
Sep 2016
Ginormous, but our excellent tour guide knew the museum very well.
Read briansau's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Bella Roma
1 review
Aug 2016
Incredible!
Read Bella Roma's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ec6393
2 reviews
Aug 2016
This museum housed mainly in the "winter Palace" is unbelievable. The artifacts, paintings, memorabilia, sculptures, etc. has to make for one of the most extensive collections in the world.The Grand Staircase is very "grand" to say the least. Our guide said it would take 7 years (yes, years) to go through the whole collection of everything contained there giving each article more than just a walk by. There is lots in the "basement or wherever things not on display are kept.
Read ec6393's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image James Gang
1 review
Aug 2016
THe Hermitage opened at night just for the cruise passengers on the Sat. we were in port. What a wonderful perspective of the art work and palace with all of those candelabaras and chandeliers glowing!
Read James Gang's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image marksalkin
1 review
Aug 2016
Rushed through so fast, of a nine hour day we only spent one hour inside, walking here to there the entire time. Guide was good. Both days we stopped to shop for tourist crap instead of real local goods. Cost was outrageous, $495 per person which, if booked locally, ran less than half that.
Read marksalkin's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sbalax
8 reviews
Aug 2016
We were admitted one hour before the general public. It made a huge difference!
Read sbalax's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image tmikelove
1 review
Aug 2016
Truly one of the world's great museums. We loved it. One of our ship guides led us through the Hermitage. Much more than expected.
Read tmikelove's full Viking Akun cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image jollyrhino
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Very nice tours of the Hermitage and churches. St. Pete is a very interesting city. Lots of history. Tour guides were good, spoke really good English and were knowledgable. The Hermitage gets extremely busy! Be prepared. Lots of walking and stairs.
Read jollyrhino's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image psdietcoke
1 review
Aug 2016
Fantastic ! Glad we were with a guide or we would probably still be there. Too much to see in two hours but overall great.
Read psdietcoke's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ellay864
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Massive place that you can only touch on in a short visit. Our guide had selected certain rooms to be of interest and as she was good it worked fine for us. As you'd expect in a place this size there are some parts that are amazing, others of less interest to an individual. Our guide made sure we saw things well and weren't too rushed
Read ellay864's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Alla tours
Member Image sam2051
1 review
Aug 2016
Best guide ever, Val
Read sam2051's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image nj cruisin
4 reviews
Aug 2016
You will be able to see some of the greatest works of art by virtually all of the greats.
Read nj cruisin's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: TJ Tours
Member Image MDavisRNBSN
1 review
Aug 2016
BRILLIANT AFTER HOURS PRIVATE TOUR! Highly recommend!
Read MDavisRNBSN's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image FFFLIP
1 review
Aug 2016
Great history here! Again, our tour guide Alexi made everything interesting and got us into all places wit out being crowded.
Read FFFLIP's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: CB Tours
Member Image Crptraveler
1 review
Aug 2016
What a museum!
Read Crptraveler's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image patgz
1 review
Aug 2016
We had an hour there before museum was officially opened and then three more hours. Our guide was exceptionally well informed and pleasant.
Read patgz's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image cuttingedgeglassworks
5 reviews
Aug 2016
Guide was very good, but the Hermitage was way too crowded. Did enjoy the Treasure Room.
Read cuttingedgeglassworks's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image lisammc
1 review
Aug 2016
Incredibly crowded, hot. Just chaos, but glad I went! Would love to go again with a private tour guide so I can see what I want.
Read lisammc's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Manay1
1 review
Jul 2016
Full of history and amazing paintings and magnificent creations.
Read Manay1's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Orbitz
Member Image jsknapps2
2 reviews
Jul 2016
interesting place to visit but way overcrowded with tourists. hermitage was the worst for the crowds. Gold room was worth the time. Great guide.
Read jsknapps2's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image BarryWilkinson
1 review
Jul 2016
Wonderful collection of fine arts
Read BarryWilkinson's full Scenic Tsar cruise review
Provider: Scenic

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?