Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Petersburg City Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A city tour of St. Petersburg covers its main architectural and historical monuments, including Peter and Paul’s fortress and the retreats of the Tsars.
Member Image wnesbitt
1 review
Sep 2015
Very good guide. Stunning architecture and historically fascinating. Good time for shopping, including free coffee and shot of (very strong) vodka. We were taken to a marvellous souveneir shop for this - great stuff. Definitely want to see this city again.
Read wnesbitt's full Black Watch cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines
Member Image international
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Most tours included a stop at a souvenir shop, with items that were higher-priced than the items in the cruise ship terminal. On a half-day tour, it seemed too bad to spend 20 minutes in an overcrowded shop with higher prices. The double-decker tour was scheduled for 9:15am but the ticket said to meet at 8am, which was confusing and frustrating. I selected this tour because the ballet the evening before returned just before 11pm, and I did not understand why the bus tour was moved over an hour earlier. It was also less than 5 hours long, and stopped at a mandatory souvenir store. While many shops take credit cards, food vendors accepted only Rubles. This includes the ballet and the double-decker bus tour. Thankfully, the bus stopped for “lunch and shopping” across the square from the Russian Museum, which has nice artwork on display in magnificent rooms. It was well worth the $5.29 entrance fee, payable in Rubles or credit card (the amount quoted here was based on the exchange rate that day). I could have used an ATM to get cash for food, but we were close to returning to the ship, so I didn’t.
Read international's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Becca Lester
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Exhausting. Saw probably too much.
Read Becca Lester's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image sam49
1 review
Aug 2015
Ok tour with RC. Tour guide was russian and a bit bossy, told people to pay attention when they were tLking!
Read sam49's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rconce
1 review
Aug 2015
SPB tours did a beautiful job of coordinating the excursions for both days in St Petersburg. Our guide Julia was amazing- very knowledgeable and efficient and had a good sense of humor. She lead us to see Catherine's palace, hermitage museum, Neva river cruise, church of the savior of spilled blood,and other places throughout the city. I have to say our guide really did a wonderful job of helping us to see beauty of the city and imparting us with interesting historical facts about each site we saw. Would definitely recommend!
Read Rconce's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image drmerlin123
1 review
Aug 2015
Great tour of this beautiful city.
Read drmerlin123's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image alansouth1111
1 review
Jul 2015
would never book again with them. 1 person was disabled, so booked well in advance to make sure it was for a disabled person. When we arrived the coach had 6 steps. So not for disabled at all. They blamed the operator. well who do they work for and who makes the most money.
Read alansouth1111's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Geoff Nash
1 review
Jul 2015
St Petersburg is a fantastic city to visit with it wonderful palaces and churches and its very interesting 400 years of history, especially the Second World War.
Read Geoff Nash's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image BrazilianBabe
2 reviews
Jul 2015
It is a beautiful and big city. It was very good that we got a excursion. We did a hole first day excursion to get the best high lights of the city.
Read BrazilianBabe's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gromero
1 review
Jul 2015
This was a great overview of the city and they even gave us time to walk around and explore the city on our own.
Read gromero's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bhimbhuvanKY
1 review
Jul 2015
Interesting drive through city
Read bhimbhuvanKY's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image asteinmetz01
1 review
Jul 2015
We had no problem getting off the ship or through Russian immigration despite what Princess states in their literature; a passport and tour ticket was all we needed. The tour covered the same attractions as the Princess tour but at half the price. We moved right along but were never rushed. Vika was our guide; she retained her sense of calm even when our group was split up on the ferry to Peterhof by another tour group; Another SPB guide, Svetlana, took over temporarily until we were reunited. The sights we visited were outstanding. We were somewhat rushed going through the Hermitage trying to beat the mobs who didn't have early entrance like we did.
Read asteinmetz01's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image Moremajor
3 reviews
Jul 2015
So many contrasts here. Such an interesting city so rich in history.
Read Moremajor's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: TJ
Member Image Phxazzcruisers
2 reviews
Jul 2015
We have also been to St. Petersburg several times. Since we could not get off the ship without a Russian Visa or a tour, we purchased a tour from the ship each day so we could walk around the City. For those that have never been, there is a lot to see and I would highly recommend a tour to be able to see the various important sites of the City. The Palaces are incredible, and the Hermitage Museum, although is is pitiful to see how badly the artwork is taken care of, is a must to be seen. The Church of the Spilled Blood is also a stop that cannot be missed on any tour,
Read Phxazzcruisers's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image idahojoyce
1 review
Jul 2015
In addition to the above places, we took a great canal cruise, hydrofoil boat to the palaces, and subway ride that plunged 5 min. down the escalator to just get to the subway, and a nice lunch. Never rushed but saw everything w/Angie! Beautiful city (and my daughter has been there on business in the winter and though mind-numbing cold, still gorgeous).
Read idahojoyce's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image JeffPavlovich
1 review
Jun 2015
Got to see a lot of the sites around St. Petersburg, wish we could have gone into some of the churches
Read JeffPavlovich's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image LadyImpactOhio
1 review
Jun 2015
Great overall experience. Had several stops. Be prepared as all in Europe to pay for toilets but guide gave us money.
Read LadyImpactOhio's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image parmen123
1 review
Jun 2015
our guide was History major and shared a wealth of history on Romanov family and Russia
Read parmen123's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Tailored Tours of St. Petersburg
Member Image jfkbrit
1 review
Jun 2015
Excellent excursions, great tour guides and very impressive overviews.
Read jfkbrit's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Ron Catchpole
1 review
Jun 2015
Customs and Immigration extremely slow.
Read Ron Catchpole's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Saltwater1974
1 review
Jun 2015
STP was the showcase of entire cruise and worth every minute - absolutely loved it!
Read Saltwater1974's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Jamba54
1 review
Jun 2015
Brilliantly organised tailor-made private 2-day tour, which included the real White Nights river trip which starts at 1am, back to the ship at 3am.
Read Jamba54's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: MaxiBalt Tours
Member Image Rosethorn40
16 reviews
Jun 2015
Nice overview of city
Read Rosethorn40's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image mr. godfredo
3 reviews
Jun 2015
We did the two day standard tour through TJ tours! They were great.
Read mr. godfredo's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: TJ Tours
Member Image MargaretNC
6 reviews
Jun 2015
Fine driving around. Bus day one was nicer that bus day two. Driver day one excellent, driver day too not so great.
Read MargaretNC's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.