Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Petersburg City Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A city tour of St. Petersburg covers its main architectural and historical monuments, including Peter and Paul’s fortress and the retreats of the Tsars.
Member Image Larainerenee
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Fabulous guide. We managed to do everything but the hydrofoil ride - it was torrential rain both days.
Read Larainerenee's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image Sensualize
1 review
Jun 2016
We took the tour into central St Petersburg and enjoyed walking on our own once we arrived centrally.
Read Sensualize's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 408jillybean
1 review
Jun 2016
Architecture was amazing! Awesome bus driver!! Drivers in Russia are crazy in comparison to the US.
Read 408jillybean's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jjvillegas44@hotmail.com
1 review
Jun 2016
It was a two days tours and we saw lot of buildings and monuments with a very good explanations of them.
Read jjvillegas44@hotmail.com's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dianaclare
1 review
Jun 2016
Brilliant Experiance not to be missed!! One that will want you going back for more!! GUIDE GURU TOURS WERE AMAZING !! just us and driver and guide worth every single penny and in fact not that much more than other exclusions.
Read Dianaclare's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: GUIDE GURU TOURS
Member Image The Roys
1 review
Jun 2016
Took a 2 Day Deluxe Tour which included driving through the city and having lunch provided on both days. Must be able to walk and stand during this tour as the days are 8 and 9 hours long. Absolutely fabulous tour and would highly recommend to see the most of St. Petersburg.
Read The Roys's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image teamflames
1 review
Jun 2016
Highlight of trip
Read teamflames's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image Inkslinger52
1 review
Jun 2016
St. Petersburg exceeded my expectations in every way. Much bigger than I thought and the palaces and museums are extraordinary. Such opulence! Going to the ballet was perhaps my favorite part of our trip.
Read Inkslinger52's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image phc1683
1 review
Jun 2016
Saw many of the City highlights as yesterday, but from different perspectives and positions, so very enjoyable. The canal cruise was very interesting & lots of photo opportunities.
Read phc1683's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image marjandpete@talktalk.net
2 reviews
Jun 2016
This was a bonus tour with the Faberge Museum tour. This tour was NOT highlighted by shore excursions but is a must as you will see so many treasures of Faberge you will not believe your eyes.
Read marjandpete@talktalk.net's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image oskar1956
1 review
Jun 2016
Outstanding in every respect
Read oskar1956's full Azura cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image italiana 5
1 review
Jun 2016
It was extremely cold, raining, hail and wind.....Ate Russian restaurant, delicious food.
Read italiana 5's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Bill Jones
1 review
Jun 2016
Again, Alla tour guides know their respective cities and provide a personal touch in the manner in which they conduct their tours.
Read Bill Jones's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image racman54
2 reviews
Jun 2016
This was a part of the 2-day tour I booked with Viator-Travel advisor that includes an entry visa fro Russia. Great overall tour and uch much cheaper that the cruise line tours.
Read racman54's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Euni
1 review
Jun 2016
This gave us a close up overview of the city and although a lot of ground it covered, it was an enlightening experience.
Read Euni's full Viking Akun cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Rod McDermott
1 review
May 2016
Okay but no visit that day to the Blood church as it wasn't open - waste?
Read Rod McDermott's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image theskipper1953
1 review
May 2016
After evaluating the St. Petersburg tour options available from the cruise line, we searched to find alternatives. TJ Travel was mentioned favorably on travel websites, so we booked the two-day St. Petersburg tour, and crossed our fingers. Jackpot!!! Alexander a very knowledgeable tour guide with an impressive English vocabulary, charming, helpful, and conscientious. The first day, our group of 7 was with him and our van driver, Boris for almost 12 hours! Second day was around 7 hours, I think. The lunch spots that were chosen for us were not only charming themselves, but the traditional Russian dishes were great! One waws a stand-alone restaurant, and the other was the converted kitchen of one of the palaces on the itinerary. Very fun! Alexander knew how to maneuver us around and away from the crowded areas of the tours, giving us more "close-up" opportunities to view the palaces, relics, artwork, and grounds. I would enthusiastically recommend TJ Travel's 2-day St. Petersburg tour. They under-promised and over-delivered for me!
Read theskipper1953's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image truetreasureusa
3 reviews
May 2016
Booked with SPB Tours their 18 hour tour. Outstanding. Please read TripAdvisor review by Travlerfl posted June 6th.
Read truetreasureusa's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dcardy2@cogeco.ca
2 reviews
May 2016
Very historical city, interesting that any structure build during Soviet era is abandoned and falling down mixed with newer building. Our private tour guide gave us a bonus by taking us on the subway, the deepest in Europe and seeing the Soviet built stations decorated extensively
Read dcardy2@cogeco.ca's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Shanty Pete
1 review
May 2016
Fascinating city , brilliant tour guide Albina , who was obviously constrained in what she was allowed to say .
Read Shanty Pete's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Piece of Fruit
1 review
May 2016
St Petersburg was a very interesting, dirty and crowded city. Walked by the Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood, but the church was closed. Beautiful on the outside, however. Had a good lunch of beef stroganoff at a local restaurant. Went to The Hermitage along with another cruise ship so all we could do was shuffle along and hold on to our valuables. I cannot imagine how crowded this town would have been if 7 cruise ships had been in port. Headsets were wonderful for inside The Hermitage, but the bus needs a sound system and a guide who can instruct the tourists to be quiet. I could not believe how people just talked and laughed and did not listen to a word the guide was trying to tell us. She looked enthusiastic and seemed to be talking the whole time but who knows what she was saying? At $179.00 this tour seemed way overpriced since I could not hear above the talking and laughing of my fellow very discourteous passengers. A huge disappointment as I am always eager to learn about the country's history and its people. I just eventually gave up and tried to take a nap like my husband was doing. Royal Caribbean needs to hand out information sheets during the check in process called "Proper Etiquette for Cruising and Shore Excursions!"
Read Piece of Fruit's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image murraycr
1 review
May 2016
We were placed on a hop on hop off bus with missing windows on the top deck (operators said they were broken and couldn't be fitted). On a cold and squally day we froze.
Read murraycr's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Directrix
1 review
May 2016
Great 2-day tour with small group in an air-conditioned Mercedes Van with TJ Travel. Itinerary included Peter & Paul Fortress, Catherine Palace, Hermitage Museum, Peterhof, St. Isaac's Cathedral, Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood, the Faberge Museum, the subway and more. It was a strenuous first day, and the people who had booked a performance that same night were really tired. Tour included one lunch at a tourist taverna and the next day lunch on our own at a fabulous Russian fast-food chain with pasties, both savory and sweet.
Read Directrix's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel through Viator
Member Image Marisawrite
2 reviews
May 2016
We did a full two-day tour covering all the major sites. All the operators including Princess cover almost exactly the same itinerary. By the end of two days I was sick of being frogmarched through palaces and parks, often rushed past things I'd like to have spent more time on, and then standing around while the guide talked at length about items I wasn't interested in! I would thoroughly recommend joining your Roll Call on Cruise Critic and trying to organise a private tour with other members, planning to see less and have more time at each. Some of the sites listed as "must see" aren't really worthwhile - I can understand the Russians are proud of them but... If you are thinking of designing your own tour, it's worth knowing that the Peterhof Palace and St Catherine's Palace were totally destroyed during World War II, so if you visit you are just looking at a modern re-creation. The furniture and wall/ceiling paintings are either new, or taken from other palaces. Even the famous Amber Room is totally new, the original was lost (and as it's all in a millky coffee-coloured amber, it doesn't glow at all and is unimpressive). If you've seen palaces elsewhere in Europe, you've seen much better palaces and won't get much from visits to Peterhof or St Catherine's - which even in their heyday, were just copies of European palaces, and often done by second-rate or local artists and sculptors so the wall and ceiling paintings are quite amateurish. Yusupov was interesting due to its connection with Rasputin. The Peterhof Gardens are lovely and definitely worth a visit (perhaps a picnic lunch?). St Isaac's Cathedral is simply stunning, and the Church on the Spilled Blood was impressive. If you are interested in the Romanovs then visit the Peter & Paul Fortress to see their tombs - otherwise not, there isn't anything else there of interest. Obviously the Hermitage is a must-see but you need at least three hours and preferably some free time so you can wander and view the kinds of art that interests you, not just the pictures the guide thinks are "important". Hydrofoil and river cruises - the hydrofoil is closed-in so you don't see much. The river cruise boats also have a closed-in section and if the weather is bad, you won't be able to see anything through the fogged-up windows - so consider the time of year you're travelling.
Read Marisawrite's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image ArtkeyTech
1 review
May 2016
VERY congested traffic, so we had to skip 1 church at the end to get back to ship on time. We voted, n we wanted to be sure we make it back on time.
Read ArtkeyTech's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.