Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Petersburg Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This spectacular Russian-style church was built at the location of Emperor Alexander II’s 1881 assassination and is a must-see St. Petersburg attraction.
Member Image pchase1
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Worth the visit

Read pchase1's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image avidreaderatl
2 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2014

One of our favorite things about the entire cruise. Something you would go to Russia to specifically see. Very unique.

Read avidreaderatl's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image bz
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

very knowlegable guide, great explanation.

Read bz's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: tj tours
Member Image lagottogal
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

WOW!

Read lagottogal's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image George Elliot
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Overwhelmingly beautiful

Read George Elliot's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image Purdue71
1 review
Aug 2013

BEST you can do. TJ Travel highlights tour is worth every penny. Sofia was the best guide possible.

Read Purdue71's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: TJ Trael
Member Image sheree
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2013

went with private guide-beautiful

Read sheree's full Silver Whisper cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image nybumpkin
17 reviews
Jul 2013

This church is what you expect to see in Russia.

Read nybumpkin's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image NantahalaCruiser
1 review
Jul 2013

Magnificent architecture

Surrounds the protected small remainder of the cobblestoned road where the assassination of Alexander II occured

Beautiful mosaics

Read NantahalaCruiser's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPb-tours
Member Image wickers
1 review
Jun 2013

Interesting to see a place for the tsars, it shows the past reverence for these rulers.

Read wickers's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Den Rus
Member Image beachluver9
2 reviews
Jun 2013

A beautiful church. It was only built in the last century, so no great history here. Still worth a visit.

Read beachluver9's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image shirleyuk
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

This had easy mobility access which enabled me to go inside this magnificent Church. It was an incredible sight to see all the mosaic pictures which were in themselves works of art.

Read shirleyuk's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image karbop1
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013
Had a private two day tour for three of us which allowed us to visit pretty much every main destination and a few others besides. i would recommend SPB Tours highly.
Read karbop1's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image lewisltd
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Great

Read lewisltd's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Expedia
Member Image ronnieb
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Great

Read ronnieb's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: spb
Member Image Dodifra
1 review
Sep 2012
Spectacular interior containing huge mosaic murals. Another venue not to be missed.
Read Dodifra's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Vivacious Van
1 review
Sep 2012
The Building itself well worth the visit, if only we had been allowed more time to study. There was so much to see and admire. We were not impressed by the guide in this instance as we were literally whipped around the church itself and before we knew it, we were outside and making our way crocodile style to the souvenir shop, which was a very long interior with thousands of items for sale. We should have insisted on staying where we were and continue to enjoy the beauty and history of the building and marvel at the external facade instead of being bundled along for an unwanted shopping spree. The trip was advertised with shopping time, but I thought we would have more time allocated to the Cathedral and just 30 minutes to the shopping. I think the actual trip to the Cathedral could be incorporated easily within the Panoramic City Tour with extra time allowed. Do go and see the Cathedral it is well worth it.
Read Vivacious Van's full Black Watch cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines
Member Image kre8ive
1 review
Sep 2012
Our friends on the Viking Cruise said that only got to visit the outside of the Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood. What a shame when the interior is so magnificent. I can't imagine traveling thousands of miles and then feeling the frustration of someone telling you that the group didn't have time to go inside. I am soooooo glad we had a private guide who took us inside, secured photo permits, and then also gave us a guided tour of the interior, including the spot where Alexander II was killed, which served as the inspiration for the structure.
Read kre8ive's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Dancing Bear Tours
Member Image andawaywego2
1 review
Aug 2012
The most beautiful mosiacs. The architecture is captivating.
Read andawaywego2's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruisin-Geezer
6 reviews
Aug 2012
The glorious Church of the Saviour on Spilled Blood has to be the most magnificent church I have ever seen. From a distance you can see the golden and coloured many onion domed turrets - perhaps the most delightful of St Petersburg's many iconic buildings and monuments. Both the exterior and interior are simply WOW - adorned throughout with mosaics and gilt-work in the richest of colours. The restoration work to transform this church (used in Soviet times as a potato warehouse!) must have been immense.
Read Cruisin-Geezer's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image PianoGirl00
2 reviews
Aug 2012
This was our favorite of the cathedrals we saw there. It is the one you always see in postcards of St. Petersburg, and is even more beautiful in person.
Read PianoGirl00's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image sailing1001
1 review
Jul 2012
An interesting palace where Emperor Alexander!! was assassinated in 1907.
Read sailing1001's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image MlleMag
1 review
Jul 2012
Didn't go inside. Fairy tale appearance, colorful, impressive.
Read MlleMag's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Denrus
Member Image Ellen in State College PA
2 reviews
Jul 2012
Gorgeous exterior
Read Ellen in State College PA's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MerryFLLMom
1 review
Jul 2012
Gorgeous Russian Orthodox Church. You do not go inside.
Read MerryFLLMom's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image txtonc
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
Read txtonc's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image AgouraTraveler
3 reviews
Jul 2012
An extremely colorful interior and exterior at at this traditional onion-domed church made it a favorite to visit. Photos are amazing, but to see it in person is best.
Read AgouraTraveler's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image flcruiser3
1 review
Jul 2012
The Church of the Spilled Blood is gorgeous both inside and out.
Read flcruiser3's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image MostlyLegal
2 reviews
Jul 2012
Not to be missed!
Read MostlyLegal's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rmgjg
1 review
Jul 2012
very beautiful & ornate with baroque marble floors, and mosaic panels on all the walls. A very interesting history.
Read rmgjg's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image DawgVoyager
1 review
Jul 2012
This was part of our 2-day independently booked small group tour. The church is quite impressive, particularly the mosaics. Our guide provided a history of what we were seeing and gave us plenty of time to take photos.
Read DawgVoyager's full Marina cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image supersecdd
1 review
Jun 2012
I encouraged my friends to see this site and they were glad they did. It is very beautiful and amazing due to the minute pieces of mosaics making up each picture on each wall.
Read supersecdd's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image Christine Kallend
1 review
Jun 2012
This time he used the headset so we could hear what the guide was saying, a fantastic building that luckily has been saved for us to visit.
Read Christine Kallend's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image bobby3334
3 reviews
Jun 2012
An outstanding Church not to be missed on any tour to St. Petersburg. The most beautiful by far.
Read bobby3334's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image Philip Lowe
1 review
Jun 2012
Mozaics not to be missed!
Read Philip Lowe's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image iceclutz
1 review
Jun 2012
Beautiful church, great history.
Read iceclutz's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: SPb
Member Image movingarchitect
1 review
Jun 2012
We did not have time to go in when on the coach tour but did have time on the walking tour. Of the 4 hours supposed to be walking, only achieved approx. half that with the rest on the coach.
Read movingarchitect's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image geekguy1
8 reviews
Jun 2012
Like the other churches, definitely worth a visit.
Read geekguy1's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image TheJoneses
1 review
Jun 2012
Canal cruise was awesome and informative! Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood was awesome! If you like mosaics, this is a must see! WOW!
Read TheJoneses's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ivanchemist
2 reviews
Jun 2012
I can't imagine the manhours required to make all the mosaics that cover this church, inside and out.
Read ivanchemist's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Misschad
1 review
May 2012
Although we did not have time to take a tour round the Cathedral it was worth standing outside as I would imagine it was as stunning inside as out.
Read Misschad's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image chileno first time cruise
1 review
May 2012
My absolute favourite St P experience. An amazing building both inside and out. the mosaics are to die for.
Read chileno first time cruise's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image slix1
2 reviews
May 2012
As good as the pictures. Gorgeous onion domes and amazing tile work inside. Look closely at all of the craft it took to make these scenes out of tiny tiles.
Read slix1's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image MNDutchGirl
5 reviews
May 2012
This is unbelievably beautiful, but be aware that the cathedrals and churches are closed on certain days of the week. Also, many do not allow flashes to ensure you know how to use your camera.
Read MNDutchGirl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image Charmed86
1 review
Aug 2011
You have to take a 2-day tour! Took the cruise line excursion and shouldn't have. Very nice port. Customs: it is exactly like you imagine it. Got to see a lot of places. If you want to see a maximum of things, don't book with the cruise line. Friends of us didn't and got to do a canal cruise, take the metro, see a market. Instead, we had 2 very long lunches with sparkling wine, vodka and typical meal. Was nice but personally, we would have preferred to skip the big meal and see more of St-Petersburg.
Read Charmed86's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rgarick
1 review
May 2011
Beautiful church with fabulous tile icons everywhere---don't miss it!
Read rgarick's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: spb tours

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.