Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Petersburg Catherine Palace Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Catherine Palace cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Catherine Palace, in the small town of Pushkin outside St. Petersburg, is a breathtaking example of baroque design. The bright blue exterior is gilded with more than 200 pounds of gold.
Member Image avidreaderatl
2 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Fabulous.

Read avidreaderatl's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image opilo
1 review
Aug 2014

On the one hand, Catherine's Palace is quite extraordinary. On the other hand, it is a complete fabrication of a burned out shell left to them by the occupying army. Everything is a re-creation, very well done and quite extraordinary considering much of what they had to work with were photos.

Read opilo's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image bz
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Took us right thru, no waiting

Read bz's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: tj tours
Member Image marymat
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Gardens were particularly lovely. Palace outshines Versailles

Read marymat's full Silver Cloud cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image lagottogal
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Absolutely unbelievable! Gorgeous!

Read lagottogal's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image max_power_000
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

We toured the palace and could take pictures. Gold is very where and it is very very beautiful. We then had a tour of the garden and outer buildings and lake. We had about l/2 hr for souvenirs and then had lunch at restaurant at Catherines Palace. Wonderful lunch - water, sparkling wine, vodka, bread, salad, cabbage soup, chicken stroganoff and vanilla ice cream with cherry ribbon, and tea/coffee. Russian singers entertained us.

Read max_power_000's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image alanoconnor
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

This was the first stop of the day, so not too crowded, the sun shone, the palace and the grounds were beautiful. For us it was the highlight of the tour. It was incredible to compare the palace to photographs of what the German army had done to it.

Read alanoconnor's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tipitina
3 reviews
Jun 2014

Beautiful, but wall to wall people.

Read tipitina's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image George Elliot
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Amazing.

Read George Elliot's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image Davelen
1 review
Aug 2013

Very knowledgeable and friendly tour guide, Olga. Being just the six of us on tour was fantastic, we went at our own pace.
The palaces were beautiful to see. Every bit as awe inspiring as any photo. Also the gardens and the railway station underground. The boat trip was also great, just the six of us again at our own pace. I would highly recommend booking individual tours instead of traipsing along with a buss load during which you spend most time at a souvenir shop or sitting down to lunch.

Read Davelen's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Fair911
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2013

A must visit. Very crowded very rushed. Heard from other passengers that Independent Tours was the way to go. Better arrangements and better value. Cunard very expensive.

Read Fair911's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image nybumpkin
17 reviews
Jul 2013

Definitely a must see, especially the Amber Room. It's amazing to look at the photos of how this palace was so badly damaged during WWII and the restoration.

Read nybumpkin's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image NantahalaCruiser
1 review
Jul 2013

Outstanding restoration - wonderful parquet floors

Read NantahalaCruiser's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPb-tours
Member Image head4heights
1 review
Jul 2013

The wealth of these early despots was staggering... little wonder the Bolsheviks got fed-up with seeing horses drinking from solid silver buckets whilst all they had was indigestion from not eating properly. Here was a woman who knew what she wanted and was utterly ruthless in going about getting it. Mostly money and power of course - nothing new then or since. A must see.

Read head4heights's full AmaKatarina cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image babouchka
1 review
Jul 2013

Absolutely beautiful, worth seeing as long as you can do it quickly!

Read babouchka's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image wickers
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

A beautiful rebuilt palace and a real mystery about the amber room. It still seems extravagant to rebuild all these palaces when the people of Russia still have such needs.

Read wickers's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Den Rus
Member Image beachluver9
2 reviews
Jun 2013

A disappointment. The palace was so damaged in WWII that most of what you see if fairly new. The "gold leaf" is just paint and most all furnishings were reproductions or purchased/donated fairly recently.

Read beachluver9's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image shirleyuk
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Another Wow factor. The interior was amazing to see. Again I was given lift access.

Read shirleyuk's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image karbop1
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013
Had a private two day tour for three of us which allowed us to visit pretty much every main destination and a few others besides. i would recommend SPB Tours highly.
Read karbop1's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image lewisltd
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Magnificent

Read lewisltd's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Expedia
Member Image ronnieb
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Opulant

Read ronnieb's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: spb
Member Image murrayrosie
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Amazing

Read murrayrosie's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jilbymitch
2 reviews
May 2013

Very ornate and well organised. Lovely gardens.

Read jilbymitch's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image blethers
1 review
Oct 2012
Wonderful building, fascinating history (and the Scottish architect who designed the pavilion to one side of the palace) - grounds especially magical on a sunny autumn day.
Read blethers's full AmaKatarina cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image Dodifra
1 review
Sep 2012
Catherine's Palace has to be seen to appreciate how over the top it is. Not only huge and lavished with gold leaf (11 kg in one room) but to think it was built for one woman you can easily see why they had a revolution!
Read Dodifra's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image Harrisontig31
1 review
Sep 2012
Beautiful interior. But an exhibition really only of architecture and interior design, little to show how the Palace was used unlike in the Peterhoff which has staged rooms.
Read Harrisontig31's full Marco Polo cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image andawaywego2
1 review
Aug 2012
I took a picture of our tour group's feet when they were wearing the booties. I told them to be sure and smile. The Amber Room is something I had read about and to actually see it gave me shivers.
Read andawaywego2's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruisin-Geezer
6 reviews
Aug 2012
The Catherine Palace is in Pushkin (aka The Tzars' Village) in the south-west suburbs of St Petersburg. From the lovely gardens the blue and white facade with golden turrets and details is just sublime. And inside, as you enter room after room of rooms lavishly adorned with mirrors and gold and chandeliers you just keep saying WOW and WOW and WOW. Gradually the rooms change from simple gold and mirrors to walls with crimson or green, etc. About halfway through the tour of the palace we entered the Amber Room, the one room where it is not permitted to take photos. The walls are completely decorated in amber with the most intricate designs.
Read Cruisin-Geezer's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image Amsterdam 352
1 review
Aug 2012
I did the palaces at Tsarskoye selo, the guide was the complete opposite of the previous one and showed us what we wanted to see, including time for gifts. This is where the second problem with the advice from the ship was not reflected on the ground. The advice from the ship was Rubles are not needed - true if you went to the recommended Celebrity shops but no good for a coffee or carriage ride. Overall though would recommend the last Romanov tour.
Read Amsterdam 352's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image PianoGirl00
2 reviews
Aug 2012
An unbelievable experience thanks to the great excursion arranged by the ship!! The palace (like all three that we saw) was so beautiful and so unbelievably detailed (even the floors and ceilings were as detailed as the walls and furnishings), plus we were treated to almost a private tour, with multiple types of entertainment and dinner. This was the highlight of our entire cruise!!!
Read PianoGirl00's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image kingfish45
1 review
Aug 2012
More exotic than Hermitage. Another must see. Do not be confused. Catherine's palace,Pushkin, and Summer palace are the same place.Note-they charge you $4 to take photos. Your guide collects it. However, no one seems to be enforcing it. I just took all that I wanted to and no one said a thing. Tip-the best way to get inside pictures of both Catherine's and Hermitage to to google it when you get home.--Much better and the crowds are not in them.
Read kingfish45's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image johnl.szabo@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2012
Magnificent. Not to be missed.
Read johnl.szabo@gmail.com's full Viking Embla cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image Niall Fleming
3 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2012

On the first day we did the morning tour of Tsarkoe Selo with lunch included. This is a must and the restoration work is magnificent.

Read Niall Fleming's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Two 2 Tango
5 reviews
Jul 2012
Great palace and gardens, with the bonus of being able to take photographs inside the rooms.
Read Two 2 Tango's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sailing1001
1 review
Jul 2012
This is another palace where the ornate mosaic tiles cover the roof and walls.
Read sailing1001's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image muly
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
The history and architecture should not be missed.
Read muly's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image MlleMag
1 review
Jul 2012
Impressive, rich, had to keep moving which was ok. Crowded but we didn't wait in lines. One recurrent thought for all of the St. P sites: the royalty had all the money, the peasants had next to nothing, and the royalty didn't seem to care. That's just the way it was. Reading later about the wives of the tsars and the Romanovs it appears that some of them did make an effort to encourage women's education and welfare. But prob. only for their class.
Read MlleMag's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Denrus
Member Image Ellen in State College PA
2 reviews
Jul 2012
In need of maintenance, but great tour.
Read Ellen in State College PA's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image txtonc
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
Read txtonc's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Niagara11
1 review
Jul 2012
My wife and I found the Catharine Palace to be the jewel in our trip. We highly recommend it. The ability to get around is quite good even with the many stairs. Guide usually pause at landings to explain features allowing one to rest while climbing. My wife walks with a cane and with her difficulties had little problems. The stairs were the only obstacle and after that it was normal walking. We were not rushed.
Read Niagara11's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image flcruiser3
1 review
Jul 2012
Catherine Palace was stunning. It was very interesting to see the photos and drawing of the Palace after the Nazi devastation on the way out. I am so glad that they were able to return he Palace to such a place of beauty. *While we waited for our tickets to the Palace, our driver took us to his family church, Feodorovsky Cathedral also in Pushkin. It was Saturday morning so the Orthodox service was in session. We put our scarfs on our heads and went inside. It was a beautiful and special experience.
Read flcruiser3's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image MostlyLegal
2 reviews
Jul 2012
Glad I saw it; don't need to see it again.
Read MostlyLegal's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rmgjg
1 review
Jul 2012
Beautiful peaceful grounds. Gradually being restored. Very opulent, with a lot of gilt. Rooms are decorated as they were originally.
Read rmgjg's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image DawgVoyager
1 review
Jul 2012
This was part of our 2-day independently booked small group tour. The palace was very impressive to see and a definite "don't miss". However, it took a lot of patience to get through it. Our private tour did not have any privilege of fast or early entrance and the site was quite crowded. Guards at the gates to the grounds were limiting entrance in order to control crowd size within the palace. Several Chinese tour groups managed to push their way to the front and gain entrance ahead of other groups waiting in line. This generated much dissatisfaction and shouting amongst the crowd. Even with the gate restrictions, followed by restrictions at the palace doors, the crowd inside was still rather large, even for such a large building. It sometimes made it difficult for our guide to find a spot where we could see and she could explain what we were seeing.
Read DawgVoyager's full Marina cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image bobby3334
3 reviews
Jun 2012
About an hour and saw much; great
Read bobby3334's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image cathpiano
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Aside from the 2 hour traffic jam getting there, we had the palace to ourselves, about 50 in our group. We were greeted by a band, there was a harpsichordist, a flutist, and a string quartet playing. We had champagne and were visited by Queen Catherine herself. There was dancing, a carriage, a tour of the amber room (I think it's there....I know we saw it), a tour of the carriage house, and then we had dinner walking distance away. More than made up for the frustrations of Peterhof earlier in the day.
Read cathpiano's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: AAA
Member Image Philip Lowe
1 review
Jun 2012
Another mind boggling experience.
Read Philip Lowe's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image iceclutz
1 review
Jun 2012
Magnificent palace, but due to the recent popularity, was horribly overcrowded. Our private group of 16 had to literally push through the crowd that was waiting on line. The tour guide said that it was becoming so unmanageable, they were thinking of dropping it from their itinerary. But, it was truly beautiful, especially the Amber Room, and I am glad we got to see it, even with the crowds.
Read iceclutz's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: SPb
Member Image movingarchitect
1 review
Jun 2012
Well worth a visit and our guide was excellent. She got us there early, took us through the main rooms before the rush and into the gardens. All the time explaining the histroy and building.
Read movingarchitect's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image geekguy1
8 reviews
Jun 2012
Beautiful, ornate, priceless.
Read geekguy1's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image ivanchemist
2 reviews
Jun 2012
It just floors me that people, even royalty, could live in such style. There's more gold on the wall than in many country's national treasury. Again, miles (literally) of art, particularly art related to Russian history.
Read ivanchemist's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image gzerovti
2 reviews
May 2012
A superb palace with unbelievable gold decorations and paintings. Quite a spectacular ride out to the palace which is some way due south of the city. You pay 5 Euro to take photos here. We also had lunch on this tour. Salad, cream soup, beef Stroganov, raspberry tart and coffee. A choice of Vodka, Champagne or water with the meal. Well recommended.
Read gzerovti's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Misschad
1 review
May 2012
How this has been restored since the war is unbelievable. How they have recreated some of the treasures and restored the interior is beyond belief.
Read Misschad's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image chileno first time cruise
1 review
May 2012
I missed the evening at Catherine Palace due to sickness but my husband came back raving about the experience. He saw the main rooms, Amber room, coach collection and experienced classical music, traditinal Russian and dramatic presentations plus a formal dinner.
Read chileno first time cruise's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image slix1
2 reviews
May 2012
Truly amazing. I thought it was better than Versailles.
Read slix1's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image Bonica Rose
1 review
May 2012
Very long line-up again. Lots of gold and Baroque decor. It's too bad that no photos were allowed in the amber room.
Read Bonica Rose's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image MNDutchGirl
5 reviews
May 2012
Beautiful!!!
Read MNDutchGirl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image jimlaneart
4 reviews
Apr 2012
Catherine the Great was no great beauty, but she certainly had an eye for beauty as she decorated (over-decorated") her magnificent palace. From WW II ruins to eye-popping extravagance, this alone is worth a trip to Russia. Photos? No problem. Got three bucks for a camera sticker? Check it out on YouTube: http://youtu.be/jPckUiVeIA4
Read jimlaneart's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Duyo
1 review
Apr 2012
Good day since the museum was closed to the public. The guide pointed out the area is called "Push" kin for a reason. Can be very busy in the summer suggest spring tour. We where there in April so flowers were not yet out. About 3 weeks later would have been good. Still very good.
Read Duyo's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vanvleckeren
5 reviews
Jul 2011
Beautiful and overwhelming palace. Great to see how it was rebuilt from near-total destruction by the Germans in World War II. I was very surprised to be serenaded with "America" when we got off the bus. Imagine that, right in the heart of Russia. Russian singers serenaded us in several places during this tour. It was a really nice touch and made us feel welcome.
Read vanvleckeren's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rgarick
1 review
May 2011
loved Catherine's magnificant Palace---outside is so impressive and very opulent inside---inlaid wooden floors are gorgeous and the palace is quite ostentatious---not to be missed if you want to see a palace!! One of the best
Read rgarick's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: spb tours

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.