Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Petersburg Catherine Palace Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Catherine Palace cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Catherine Palace, in the small town of Pushkin outside St. Petersburg, is a breathtaking example of baroque design. The bright blue exterior is gilded with more than 200 pounds of gold.
Member Image Kwikkid
1 review
Jul 2016
food was fit for Gulag prisoners
Read Kwikkid's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Murcia30590
1 review
Jul 2016
Great guide very knowledgable and small group of 14
Read Murcia30590's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image Crash1346
1 review
Jul 2016
Smaller group and the Ship offered and much more reasonable prices.
Read Crash1346's full Marina cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image george@suttonrv.com
1 review
Jun 2016
We loved hearing about the history.
Read george@suttonrv.com's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Lisbeth3
1 review
Jun 2016
Excellent, fascinating, tour with SBP through opulence and wealth of Czarist Russia.
Read Lisbeth3's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SBP
Member Image kaydeeoh
1 review
Jun 2016
Elenya our guide knew so much about the history of the palace and shared it with us. In before the general public, no line up, no crowds inside. A must see for any history buffs.
Read kaydeeoh's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image neetsr
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Absolutely loved Catherine Palace and it's interesting history. Had a lovely walk around the gardens and enjoyed a traditional russian lunch and folklore show on site.
Read neetsr's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image phc1683
1 review
Jun 2016
Beautiful palace. Tour guide was very knowledgeable about Russian history and the tour inside the Palace was very interesting. During the City Tour, bus broke down, but the efficiency of driver and tour guide got us a replacement bus within 45 min so we were able to have our complete tour of many beautiful sites in St Petersburg.
Read phc1683's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Molly7300
1 review
Jun 2016
We liked this. The palace is located in Pushkin. The drive there was nice. I was interested in how the palace fared during WWII.
Read Molly7300's full Viking Akun cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image cogs51
1 review
Jun 2016
Impossible to do St.Petersburg justice in 2 1/2 days buy everything we saw and everywhere we visited was fascinating.The guides spoke very good english and ensured there were enough "comfort breaks"as the day long trips were quite tiring.
Read cogs51's full Silver Whisper cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Martypen
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Beautiful palace
Read Martypen's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image marjandpete@talktalk.net
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Excellent tour, 10 hours was long, but stop for lunch (mediocre at best) took quite a time. Palace and Amber room were a delight. Due to wet weather we did not get so much time in the gardens.
Read marjandpete@talktalk.net's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Margaret Keane
2 reviews
Jun 2016
St Catherine's Palace was great and not busy and our guide was good. Definitely worth a visit.
Read Margaret Keane's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image oskar1956
1 review
Jun 2016
Excellent in every detail
Read oskar1956's full Azura cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image italiana 5
1 review
Jun 2016
It was very beautiful, Catherine the Great kept adding bldgs. to accommodate her paintings which she loved.
Read italiana 5's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image racman54
2 reviews
Jun 2016
This was a part of the 2-day tour I booked with Viator-Travel advisor that includes an entry visa fro Russia. Great overall tour and uch much cheaper that the cruise line tours.
Read racman54's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Peter CAP
3 reviews
May 2016
Satisfactory experience
Read Peter CAP's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Talent312
3 reviews
May 2016
We did an 11-hour see-it-all tours with SPB. It was all excellent. We went from the Hermitage to Peterhof Gardens, Lunch and then to Catherine Palace (and Amber Room) to Church of Savior on Spilled Blood. It was rushed, but our guide was exceptional and we were entranced. Only wish our ship gave us more time.
Read Talent312's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image dcardy2@cogeco.ca
2 reviews
May 2016
Wow!!!!!! Well worth the experience. Go early as there are huge crowds making it tough to see everything. Palace needs repairs and is only a façade created after WWII
Read dcardy2@cogeco.ca's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Arvy
1 review
May 2016
This was probably my favourite site we visited - well restored.
Read Arvy's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image Ellagogal
1 review
May 2016
We enjoyed the gardens after the palace.
Read Ellagogal's full Viking Truvor cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image em ar
3 reviews
May 2016
Love it- the staff, collection at Catherine Palace were great!
Read em ar's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image superwife
1 review
Oct 2015
This was a long day, but it got us to the palace in the late afternoon. The whole palace is rebuilt from the Nazi's total destruction. But the rebuilding is so exquisite that it is probably better than the first one by Empress Catherine.
Read superwife's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Irene Dogmatic
1 review
Sep 2015
Incredibly beautiful place, rich with cultural heritage and a fascinating history. Shows the love of the Russian people for their culture, and also how well they have taken care of it, given wars and difficulties.
Read Irene Dogmatic's full Viking Truvor cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Herbs Mom
3 reviews
Aug 2015
We had been to Peterhof before but this was our first time at Catherine Palace. A beautiful palace!
Read Herbs Mom's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: SPB-Tours

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.