Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Petersburg Amber Room Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Amber Room cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The Amber Room, a gift from the King of Prussia to Czar Peter the Great, is one of the most famous, mysterious, and majestic rooms of Catherine’s Palace in St. Petersburg.
Member Image Herbs Mom
3 reviews
Aug 2015
The Amber Room was part of our 2-Day Tour with SPB-Tours.
Read Herbs Mom's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: SPB-Tours
Member Image FLliving
1 review
Jul 2015
Sixteen people on this tour, we were able to move quickly and get closer to the venues. Vladimir (our driver) and Lena (our guide) were absolutely wonderful and gave us incredible service and information.
Read FLliving's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image meriberi
1 review
Jul 2015
I just don't think amber is very attractive.
Read meriberi's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image Moremajor
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Wow! The tour we booked through TJ was outstanding. It was incredible. St. Petersburg was the best upset of the cruise.
Read Moremajor's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: TJ Tours
Member Image Damkooy@hotmail.com
1 review
Jul 2015
Again Wonderfull ,consisted of 14 plus guide . Great lunch
Read Damkooy@hotmail.com's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image dk542
1 review
Jun 2015
Very impressive. No photos allowed though.
Read dk542's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image parmen123
1 review
Jun 2015
our guide was History major and shared a wealth of history on Romanov family and Russia
Read parmen123's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Tailored Tours of St. Petersburg
Member Image maynas
1 review
Jun 2015
part of the exclusive Regent tour, well wort the extra
Read maynas's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image superb50
1 review
Jun 2015
Magnificent room. It's covered with amber all around.
Read superb50's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image Rosethorn40
16 reviews
Jun 2015
Breathtaking! Cannot take photos
Read Rosethorn40's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image crikeyal
1 review
Jun 2015
Our guide was just fantastic and the history of St Petersburg was related to us with tours highlighting the absolute grandeur and opulence of the Tsars.
Read crikeyal's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: SBP tours
Member Image MerlinC
2 reviews
May 2015
Simply jaw droppingly beautiful
Read MerlinC's full Scenic Tsar cruise review
Provider: Scenic
Member Image Always at Sea
1 review
May 2015
Perfect size 12 people Better than excellent
Read Always at Sea's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: TJ
Member Image abbers
1 review
May 2015
Great tour and guide
Read abbers's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image ptcandy
1 review
May 2015
Beautiful but you have to remember it was reconstructed after WW2 along with most of St Catherine's Palace and all of Peterhof because the Germans set them on fire when they evacuated St Petersburg after the siege. Nice.
Read ptcandy's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: TJ TOURS
Member Image TaborPDX
1 review
May 2015
This is in Catherine's Palace and is gorgeous. No photos allowed, but postcards are available. Unfortunately with the crowds there is constant moving of people so there is little time to stay in the room and see everything.
Read TaborPDX's full Viking Truvor cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Steve Dixon
1 review
May 2015
Much hype surrounds the use and value of Amber, but I for one am not overly in awe of the material, and the exclusive use of Amber in this room did not do much for me - sort of looks a bit artificial
Read Steve Dixon's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image blaw49
2 reviews
May 2015
beautiful but smaller than I anticipated
Read blaw49's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image avidreaderatl
2 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2014

We truly loved St. Petersburg. It was the main reason we booked the cruise. Everyone we know who has been said is is really difficult for Americans who don't know any Russian to go there alone, and the cruise provided the perfect opportunity for us to visit. We booked a full 2-day tour through TJ Travel. This was the absolute best decision we could have made about this port. Our guide, Alla, was fantastic. She was pleasant, funny, spoke great English, and was extremely knowledgeable about all of the places we visited. It was the Standard St. Petersburg Tour - Celebrity offers similar excursions BUT they cost at least $150/person more and didn't visit all the places we did. In addition to all of the great sites like Catherine Palace, Peterhof, the Hermitage, St. Issacs Cathedral and Church of the Spilled Blood, we had 2 great lunches, went to a Russian market and got to ride the subway. (The latter may sound odd, but the subways in St. Petersburg are really special.) Unlike the cruise tours (which had about 40-50 people in a big bus on each), we rode around in a Mercedes van with a group of only 10 people, with a designated driver who stayed with the van at all times. The only thing we would change about this is to spend more time in the Hermitage - 2.5 hours is just a drop in the bucket at that place.

Read avidreaderatl's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image bz
4 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

wonderful to have a tour guide, no waiting in line

Read bz's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: tj tours
Member Image marymat
1 review
Jul 2014

Fabulous. Incredible decor in the palace

Read marymat's full Silver Cloud cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image lagottogal
1 review
Jul 2014

Amazing

Read lagottogal's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image max_power_000
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

The amber room is part of Catherines palace. It is impressive..no pictures in this area.

Read max_power_000's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image alanoconnor
1 review
Jun 2014

Very busy, but absolutely stunning. They've banned all photography, which was a disappointment, but so many people couldn't find the "flash off" button, or just didn't listen, that it led to a blanket ban, as the flash degrades the amber.

Read alanoconnor's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image George Elliot
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Beautiful! TJ Travel guide got us in quickly before the crowds.

Read George Elliot's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.