Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Petersburg Amber Room Excursion Reviews

St. Petersburg Amber Room cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The Amber Room, a gift from the King of Prussia to Czar Peter the Great, is one of the most famous, mysterious, and majestic rooms of Catherine’s Palace in St. Petersburg.
Member Image avidreaderatl
2 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2014

We truly loved St. Petersburg. It was the main reason we booked the cruise. Everyone we know who has been said is is really difficult for Americans who don't know any Russian to go there alone, and the cruise provided the perfect opportunity for us to visit. We booked a full 2-day tour through TJ Travel. This was the absolute best decision we could have made about this port. Our guide, Alla, was fantastic. She was pleasant, funny, spoke great English, and was extremely knowledgeable about all of the places we visited. It was the Standard St. Petersburg Tour - Celebrity offers similar excursions BUT they cost at least $150/person more and didn't visit all the places we did. In addition to all of the great sites like Catherine Palace, Peterhof, the Hermitage, St. Issacs Cathedral and Church of the Spilled Blood, we had 2 great lunches, went to a Russian market and got to ride the subway. (The latter may sound odd, but the subways in St. Petersburg are really special.) Unlike the cruise tours (which had about 40-50 people in a big bus on each), we rode around in a Mercedes van with a group of only 10 people, with a designated driver who stayed with the van at all times. The only thing we would change about this is to spend more time in the Hermitage - 2.5 hours is just a drop in the bucket at that place.

Read avidreaderatl's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image bz
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

wonderful to have a tour guide, no waiting in line

Read bz's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: tj tours
Member Image marymat
1 review
Jul 2014

Fabulous. Incredible decor in the palace

Read marymat's full Silver Cloud cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image lagottogal
1 review
Jul 2014

Amazing

Read lagottogal's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image max_power_000
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

The amber room is part of Catherines palace. It is impressive..no pictures in this area.

Read max_power_000's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image alanoconnor
1 review
Jun 2014

Very busy, but absolutely stunning. They've banned all photography, which was a disappointment, but so many people couldn't find the "flash off" button, or just didn't listen, that it led to a blanket ban, as the flash degrades the amber.

Read alanoconnor's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image George Elliot
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Beautiful! TJ Travel guide got us in quickly before the crowds.

Read George Elliot's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image Navsteve
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

see above, main review

Read Navsteve's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: Allah Tours
Member Image Purdue71
1 review
Member Image NantahalaCruiser
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Amazing restoration - well worth the visit to Catherine's Palace just to see this room

Read NantahalaCruiser's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPb-tours
Member Image head4heights
1 review
Jul 2013

A marmite room. Opinions were were rarely indifferent. I loved it, but sadly the palace 'stasi' forbade photographs in this one room. I can understand not wanting flash photography - few art museums do - so I assume the difficulty in getting ignorant and wilful tourists to understand the difference means its just easier to say "Niet". The workmanship that went into the place is just mind blowing.

Read head4heights's full AmaKatarina cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image babouchka
1 review
Jul 2013

Not enough time to look around.

Read babouchka's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image wickers
1 review
Jun 2013

Still such a mystery surrounding this room but a great recreation.

Read wickers's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Den Rus
Member Image beachluver9
2 reviews
Jun 2013

The room is a reproduction of the original. All amber was removed/destroyed in WWII. You you are a history buff and want to see original items, head to the Hermitage.

Read beachluver9's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image shirleyuk
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Wow again. It was just a fabulous experience to see this room.

Read shirleyuk's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image karbop1
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013
Had a private two day tour for three of us which allowed us to visit pretty much every main destination and a few others besides. i would recommend SPB Tours highly.
Read karbop1's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image lewisltd
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Too bad not allowed pictures

Read lewisltd's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Expedia
Member Image ronnieb
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Impressive

Read ronnieb's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: spb
Member Image blethers
1 review
Oct 2012
Had to keep reminding myself that it *was* amber!
Read blethers's full AmaKatarina cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image Dodifra
1 review
Sep 2012
Interesting but a replica of the original which was dismantled and lost in the war.
Read Dodifra's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image Lochani
1 review
Sep 2012
Interesting place!
Read Lochani's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image Cruisin-Geezer
6 reviews
Aug 2012
About halfway through oure tour of the Catherine Palace we entered the Amber Room, the one room where it is not permitted to take photos. The walls are completely decorated in amber with the most intricate designs. The Catherine Palace was on the front line and occupied by the Nazis in WW2. Apparently, after the war all the amber had been plundered and the restoration has been painstakingly replaced using photos and documents to guide an authentic replacement.
Read Cruisin-Geezer's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image johnl.szabo@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2012
One of the real treasures of the trip, a place I dreamed of visiting.
Read johnl.szabo@gmail.com's full Viking Embla cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image muly
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
A must see. The WWII mystery is intriguing as well as the beauty. How did they do that?
Read muly's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image MlleMag
1 review
Jul 2012
If I had known more about amber's history I would have been more awed. A replica bec. original was taken by the Nazis and never recovered.
Read MlleMag's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Denrus
Member Image nomadlin@comcast.net
1 review
Jul 2012
Beautiful, though we knew it wasn't the original.
Read nomadlin@comcast.net's full Viking Ingvar cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image txtonc
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2012
Read txtonc's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image rmgjg
1 review
Jul 2012
Very beautiful, but not original as all the amber was removed by the Germans during the 2nd world war, and it was never recovered
Read rmgjg's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image DawgVoyager
1 review
Jul 2012
This was part of our 2-day independently booked small group tour. We did not have any reserved time in the Amber Room at Catharine Palace. We only were able to get a glimpse as it was quite crowded with many tourists. We were able to stop long enough for our guide to give us some history about the room.
Read DawgVoyager's full Marina cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image supersecdd
1 review
Jun 2012
It is truly amazing to see this room covered in different colored pieces of amber. Don't leave without seeing this room.
Read supersecdd's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image bobby3334
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Terrific,but so was the whole palace. I wouldn't go there just to see this.
Read bobby3334's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: alla
Member Image cathpiano
2 reviews
Jun 2012
It's all amber, and if you love amber it's wonderful, but it's just a room.
Read cathpiano's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: AAA
Member Image geekguy1
8 reviews
Jun 2012
Truly one-of-a-kind, even in St. Petersburg, but there is MUCH that it competes with.
Read geekguy1's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image ivanchemist
2 reviews
Jun 2012
A very interesting room, part of Catherine's palace.
Read ivanchemist's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image gzerovti
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2012
We were lucky that we were allowed in that day. No photographs allowed in here. Absolutely spectacular room that has been reconstructed after war damage.
Read gzerovti's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Misschad
1 review
May 2012
One word describes this 'Stunning' although disappointed that we could not take photos but bought a book with the Amber room in it.
Read Misschad's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image chileno first time cruise
1 review
May 2012
Magnificent...beautiful. has to be seen to be believed. Stunning photos
Read chileno first time cruise's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image slix1
2 reviews
May 2012
Very attractive room that is an exact replacement for the stolen amber. Pictures were not allowed which doesn't seem to have any basis for hurting the amber.
Read slix1's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image Bonica Rose
1 review
May 2012
Lovely room seen briefly as part of the Catherine Palace excursion. I would have preferred to have been allowed to take photos, which I had paid for as part of the Catherine Palace excursion.
Read Bonica Rose's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image MNDutchGirl
5 reviews
May 2012
This room will only be meaningful to you if you've spent some time learning about Amber and understanding it's meaning and history. Absolutely incredible!
Read MNDutchGirl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image jimlaneart
4 reviews
Apr 2012
I guess if you like amber you'll love this place. It was impressive if not exactly spectacular.
Read jimlaneart's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vanvleckeren
5 reviews
Jul 2011
This was part of Catherine's Palace. A stunningly beautiful room, different than what I had expected for some reason. My only regret is that they didn't allow us to take pictures.
Read vanvleckeren's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rgarick
1 review
May 2011
Could have bypassed this Amber Room - not our favorite stop but part of history so it is included
Read rgarick's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: spg tours

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.