Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Santorini Volcano Hiking Excursion Reviews

Santorini Volcano Hiking cruise excursion
Overall Rating
While in Santorini, hike up some of Greece's large, active volcanos as you explore craters, springs and the breathtaking views from above.
Member Image harrisonwcr
1 review
Jun 2015
Brilliant views from the volcano although a big hike. Guide was really knowledgeable and the swimming in the hot springs was brilliant. Don't wear new swimwear though, the mud stays on your skin for days!
Read harrisonwcr's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image martinLG
1 review
Jun 2015
well run trip, lovely boat that took us to the volcanic island and guide was excellent and explained everything in detail was an excellent adventure but little bit rushed getting up to the crater but swimming etc afterwards was great
Read martinLG's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ejincali
2 reviews
Jun 2015
The excursion itself was fantastic, nice hike, awesome views at the top followed by the chance to swim by hot springs. You are taken over on a small ship, that ride is also very nice. But, we left late from the ship (ships issue) and then had less time than expected after the excursion. That really soured me on cruise line excursions--we could have gotten off earlier without an excursion and done things on our own. So, our time in Oia (a place not to be missed) was limited.
Read ejincali's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tosca1958
1 review
Jun 2015
The excursion itself was very good. The problem was we had a very late start from the ship and did not have enough time to enjoy Santorini the rest of the day.
Read tosca1958's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lakeshore Cruiser
1 review
Jun 2015
We really enjoyed this excursion! The hike up the volcano was fascinating as well as fun - our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable (hint: wear sturdy shoes/tennis shoes and not sandals - it's very rocky). The swim to the "grotto' where the water was warmed by the volcano was also fun - you should be a somewhat confident swimmer as the open water swim off the boat was choppy. Overall a great excursion!
Read Lakeshore Cruiser's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image durham78
2 reviews
May 2015
One more thing you need to know before signing on for the Santorini Excursion "Volcano and Hot springs". First of all you do not need to purchase this excursion through the cruise ship. The ship tenders in Santorini and as soon as you get off the tendering boat you will see signs advertising the EXACT same tour you have already paid for but it's half the price. The tour starts with getting on an old fashioned "pirate ship" type boat with loads of black smoke billowing from the engines and you are packed in like sardines with literally a couple hundred people. The boat takes you to the black volcanic island that has some very unusual rock structures. There are not trees or shade so put on loads of sunblock and wear a hat. It takes about 30 minutes to climb to the top and it is quite difficult, many people did not go all the way up. Also, don't be a silly and wear sandals or flip-flops because the ground you are climbing is made up of loose small volcanic rocks that are slippery and can easily get in your open shoes. Getting to the top is quite nice and you can see some smoking ground and feel the heat if you put your hand down a hole. I took a nasty fall on my way down because of the steep and loose rocks, and I was wearing my walking shoes. If it's a really hot day be warned it's bloody hot as Hades sauna on that hill because its pitch black and there is no shade besides the fact that the hill is producing its own heat. If you make it through this you will be happy to get back on the pirate ship. There is a nice boat ride to the other side of the volcanic mountain where the boat is anchored and you are told to jump off the edge of the deck. Many brave souls did so immediately but I could see by the expressions on their faces that it was like a polar dive. The water was quite choppy and so cold that a few minutes after jumping in three people started to drown in separate incidents. The crew quickly threw out life-savers and other swimmers helped the poor (slightly embarrassed individuals) get back on the boat. The distance to the hot springs was quite far because of the rough seas and the fact there was nothing to grab onto for a breather. The hot springs looked like dirty mucky water and I was told that because of the cold temperature of the sea the hot springs were more like "tepid" springs. The swimmers came back to the boat looking exhausted and freezing. A couple more people had to be "saved" as they had developed cramps in their legs. My husband a medical doctor said this was not surprising because of the intense physical strain of the climb followed by difficult swimming conditions in such cold water. Overall this wasn't a terrible excursion, except for the fact that we paid the ship twice the cost for no benefit to us. The craziness of the hot springs swimming party was kind of exciting albeit at some other travelers expense. No one would have drowned, there were highly capable Greek crew members ready to dive in and save the day.
Read durham78's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tineloveshoward
1 review
May 2015
Great tour! The boat ride was great and we loved hearing the history of the volcano. We enjoyed the hike and the amazing views. The thermal springs were not so thermal. Everyone said the water was freezing. We chose not to go in.
Read tineloveshoward's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Marchcruise
1 review
Mar 2015
Very good tour visiting volcanic area and. The hills above where the ship was docked. The welcome from the people here was lovely. The tour was managed well.
Read Marchcruise's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image HeinBloed
13 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

My friend loves vulcanos and I love shipspotting. So we had the perfect tour: vulacano crusie. While I tried to rest on the boat while all other were on the vulcano, many boats came after us but left earlie. So they were very lucky with our tour operator Dakoutros as they provided a really good guide who took time how a vulcano works etc. - the hot springs are totally different to Blue Lagoon in Iceland. You need to jump from the boat and to swim over and return by swimming. So start exercises! Lunch break on the Island of Thirassia. So we had no time to see Oia or Fira. Saved for the next time. Santorini is worth to return.


Read HeinBloed's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: Dakoutros
Member Image rhidavies42
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2013

Amazing!! Go on the donkeys! So much fun. Beautiful place. Highlight of the trip!

Read rhidavies42's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image dthomas5787
1 review
Sep 2012
Our guide was excellent and extremely informative. Wear good comfortable shoes that you don't mind getting dirty for this excursion. Also make sure to take a water that they offer for the hike. It is quite a bit of exercise getting to the top. The swim in the hot springs was really neat, but kind of a let down as the water was not all that hot and the seas were very cold at that time. Our guide did give us some great advice about Fira though and we found the Sphinx restaurant as a result. Excellent food, decent price, and an absolutely breathtaking sunset view over the caldera.
Read dthomas5787's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image slewis7
1 review
Jul 2012
We had already been to Santorini, so this hiking and swimming tour was a perfect way to spend a half day. This was good for a ship's tour.
Read slewis7's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image explore4ever
9 reviews
Apr 2012
We enjoyed the hike very much. The view was fantastic. The hike is not for those with any mobility challenge. I recommend hiking only in the morning because there is no shade at all. Wear footwear with solid grip and support. The loose gravel is tricky. Bring lots of water, and a hat.
Read explore4ever's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.