Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Santorini Oia Village Excursion Reviews

Santorini Oia Village  cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit Oia, a pretty village of pastel-tinted houses set into the cliffside of Santorini’s highest peak. Look for paths in the village that will guide you to one of the two black-sand volcanic beaches.
Member Image GottaTravel55
1 review
Oct 2014

Beautiful village..so glad we saw it. Would have loved to have more time spent here.

Read GottaTravel55's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image harleybean
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Excellent way to see the entire island of Santorini....with the stop in Oia the icing on the cake! Absolutely breathtaking beauty all around.
My advice....when coming back into Fira.... the cable car line was extremely long...there was an approx 45 minute to one hour wait online. We chose to walk down! Not bad.....husband clocked our footsteps at 2099...taking roughly 1/2 hour sharing the path with about 100 other walkers and 50 donkeys!! Just be careful where you step!
But being bussed to Oia was well worth the cost of the excursion!

Read harleybean's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image adkirk25
1 review
May 2014

Took the Oia speed boat transfer (booked on Facebook SantoriniPlanet) to Oia to avoid cable-car and donkeys on the way up the mountain. Oia is beautiful and must see! Walked around Oia, took pictures, shopped and had lunch. Transfer includes bus ride back. Boarding buses was chaotic, crowded and people were cutting. We made it on the bus and then got stuck in a traffic jam for 45 minutes because the roadway back to Santorini is not big enough for 2 tour buses to pass each other at the same time. Back in Santorini walked around the beautiful small town, shopped and then stood in line for 30 minutes waiting on the cable car back to the dock around 2pm. When we got back down to the dock, storm was starting to blow in and we jumped on the first tender we saw and we are lucky we did. The shut down tendering after ours for 2.5 hours after due to gusting 70 mph winds. Cable car was also shutdown. Folks were required to be back on board by 5PM and that was extended because people were stuck at the pier. Tons of people had to walk down the long path way that is shared with the donkeys and many elderly or disabled people were injured on the way down. The ship waited for all crew and guests to make their way back onboard after the storm died down around 5PM.

Read adkirk25's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Santorini Planet
Member Image TRUEBLUE66
3 reviews
Sep 2013

One of the most beautiful places we have ever seen!!!
Took the excursion early to village of Oia, perched on the cliff edge, with the white houses and blue roofed churches.Quiet time of day. The photo's don't do it justice. Incredible! Just walked around and basked in the atmosphere and views. Wine tour on way back waste of time apart for toilet stop as Greek wine not to most people's liking.Dropped in main village of Fira for own explore and more incredible views and walks along the coastal path.One of the last to go down on the cable car to port for tender ride back to ship. Didn't want to leave!

Read TRUEBLUE66's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mrs.JSparrow
1 review
Sep 2013

More then enough time to walk around, unless you want to do some real shopping. narrow streets wear comfortable shoes as the roads are not flat.

Read Mrs.JSparrow's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image pedrocampa
1 review
Aug 2013

Excellent if bried tour - loved the views.

Read pedrocampa's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image KentuckyBelle
1 review
Jul 2013
Took time to visit Oia - absolutely spectacular this is a 100% must do if visiting Santorini.
Read KentuckyBelle's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tmt3698
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Again would have liked more time in Oia, the winery was just ok. I mainly took this short excursion because I read the folks who take the shore excursion get to leave the ship first(to get on the tender) I guess we did I don't know and also read how hard it was to take the cable car down. It wasn't that big of a deal we stood in line about 30 mins. but we were running out of time the last tender was at 7pm so we probably should have allowed more time to stand in line for the cable car. Oia was gorgeous the pictures you see online don't do it justice. Unbelievable place!

Read tmt3698's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CARMAD65
1 review
Jun 2013

Lovely picturesque village

Read CARMAD65's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image TonV
1 review
Nov 2012
Very short, guide was talking very loud and in Spanish and English. Was a way to see the island but I did not like it very much. Little time ,all rather hectic.
Read TonV's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image HickoryShampoo
1 review
Nov 2012
Part of the private car we hired. She dropped us off and we met later. Just what we wanted.
Read HickoryShampoo's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Santorini24
Member Image Darshan1
10 reviews
Oct 2012
Great. Santorini is beautiful as its reputation. Do believe your excursion personnel when they tell you to think twice about walking down to the pier instead of the gondola. The gondola looks scary from outside, but is not at all. Meanwhile, the path doesn't look that bad from a distance, but apparently it's rather difficult to avoid "donkey business" and you end up needing a shower the moment you're back on board. The owner of a great art and souvenir shop, Delphini, in Oia Village helped us find our way to some great views of the classic blue domes. Our guide Joy (I think with Navigator tours) was friendly and informative. Santorini was great!
Read Darshan1's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image winniebago
1 review
Oct 2012
Fantastic views,nice coach trip,lovely little quaint villages,long walk down with the donkeys if the cable cars are busy,great tour guide.
Read winniebago's full Costa Fascinosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image sammygoose
1 review
Oct 2012
A must see.
Read sammygoose's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image cognos18
1 review
Sep 2012
Santorini is beautiful and our excursion consisted of a bus ride to Oia. We were left to wander at our leisure. Not worth the money Costa Cruises charged and most likely cheaper if we hired a taxi.
Read cognos18's full Costa Atlantica cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image Blighty770
1 review
Aug 2012
Informative tour, with a wine tasting stop en route to Oia. Too little time in Oia, but it was far too hot to really think about it too much. Great to be the first to disembark. Ship tendered us directly to where the coaches were waiting, so we weren't in the scorching heat for very long. Had a terrific lunch in Fira on our own, and enjoyed the fast cable car journey back to the port.
Read Blighty770's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Heilanman
3 reviews
Jul 2012
A very pretty little village, where we had about 1.5 hours of free time to wander and take photos, probably one of the most photographed villages in the Greek isles. We then drove to Fira where the tour ended and we had to make our own way back to the cable car station.
Read Heilanman's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wismergirl
4 reviews
Jul 2012
We drove from the winery to the town and went past lots of beautiful sights. After dropping us off at a parking lot, we were allowed to explore on our own in the Village of Oia and had ample time to take pictures and walk around. It's unfortunate that we had to leave the village before sunset, as I heard that Oia has the most beautiful sunset in the world!
Read wismergirl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image RobTexas
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Oia and Fira Santorini was my favorite stop of all. It is both interesting and charming. The tour we took included: Bus to Oia Walk around Oia Bus around the island to Fira Walk around Fira Cable car down to the ship We were lucky that we were the only cruise ship in the day we went. There have been as many as 11 ships in at the same time.
Read RobTexas's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image amydelaware
1 review
Jun 2012
Amazing. This stop is the highlight- do not miss a thing here. Island is easy to get around and you need to see all the sights.
Read amydelaware's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Summerpls
1 review
Jun 2012
Such a beautiful city sitting on top of the mountain. The only way up and down is either in cable cars or up the steps and they do have donkeys if you want to rent one. It's well worth the trip up. The scenery from our boat as we were anchored off shore was so beautiful. The water so blue and flat ... so many other boats, yachts and beautiful sail boats.
Read Summerpls's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mmeachm
4 reviews
Jun 2012
Lousy guide, so-so tour.
Read mmeachm's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image EATPRAYTRAVEL
1 review
May 2012
Oia Village is a very quaint, chic village with lots of alleys and unbelievable views and photo opportunity. Truly a photographer's heaven. Plenty of shops and nice tavernas, and one could spend all day and still not cover the whole area. Scenery is breathtaking, walks are uneven, so it can be challenging to those with impaired mobility. Would love to stay a few days here just to explore the area more and take in the glorious sunset.
Read EATPRAYTRAVEL's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image mokopuna2
2 reviews
May 2012

Had a great time walking around this beautiful village. Loved the little shops and restaurants, would have loved more time there

Read mokopuna2's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: OceanWave Tours
Member Image esb7
1 review
May 2012
This tour was amazing! We walked through the village stopping at a restaurant to get baklava, crepes and cappuccinos. The views were so beautiful. The tour guide was very informative. The last stop was at a winery for wine tasting which was really fun. The views from the winery were also breath taking.
Read esb7's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image DonRobertoSanJuan
2 reviews
May 2012
Best part was walking around Oia and Fira by ourselves. Took the tour to get on an early tender off the ship.
Read DonRobertoSanJuan's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image msupovitz
1 review
Not Rated
May 2012

a

Read msupovitz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Peter Wise
1 review
Apr 2012
This was a "highlights" tour through beautiful villages and scenery and finishing in Thira. If you like expensive jewellery this is the tour for you.
Read Peter Wise's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image LaughCali
1 review
Apr 2012
Loved the tour and we stopped at a restaurant and sampled the local food and wines and locals performed the traditional dances.
Read LaughCali's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image PegasusGM
4 reviews
Apr 2012
Sunsets were beautiful as promised, along with the beautiful blue domed buildings.
Read PegasusGM's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image VEGAS-CRUISER
1 review
Aug 2011
On return from Oia we got off the bus in the capital - everything OK - walk to and rode the tram down to landing rather than walk which would have been OK and mule ride maybe more exciting. Path very wide. Walking to tram quite picturesque - most beautiful island of Greece - would visit there by itself in the future
Read VEGAS-CRUISER's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.