Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Santorini Oia Village Excursion Reviews

Santorini Oia Village  cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit Oia, a pretty village of pastel-tinted houses set into the cliffside of Santorini’s highest peak. Look for paths in the village that will guide you to one of the two black-sand volcanic beaches.
Member Image Luciangirl
1 review
Jul 2016
We were led to believe the lines would be long for the Cable Cars and we may well miss our ship back so we took a shore excursion with the ship! So not worth it!! we were taken to the winery like everyone else, left to explore Oia on our own, brought back to Fira brought to a point, showed the way to the Cable Cars and left to explore Fira on our own again!!! Not worth the money!!!
Read Luciangirl's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JulieMorr
1 review
Jun 2016
Great views and wonderful shops!
Read JulieMorr's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image eileenand7@gmail.com
1 review
Jun 2016
Amazing place to visit, must go back.
Read eileenand7@gmail.com's full MSC Sinfonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image a123nt
1 review
Jun 2016
Loved Oia! Must see! Views are spectacular! Azamara excursion was basically over-priced transportation. Should have found the public bus.
Read a123nt's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image kwbts124
2 reviews
Jun 2016
BEST STOP ON THE CRUISE. DO NOT MISS.
Read kwbts124's full Harmony G cruise review
Provider: Variety Cruises
Member Image rashisingh
1 review
Jun 2016
Tour of the whole island.
Read rashisingh's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Rebecca cambridge
1 review
Jun 2016
Lovely island but crowded and waiting for the cable car spoils it.
Read Rebecca cambridge's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image purplesun
1 review
Jun 2016
Walking tour. Went through several cities by bus great view so you get to see a lot of the island but only walk around two cities. The last stop was basically a shopping area. The first was more residential. Because of the tour we chose, we did not ride cable cars but we did get to the sunset and awesome pictures. This is a tender stop and it was very rocky, you feel the waves as the boat loads up.
Read purplesun's full Celestyal Crystal cruise review
Provider: Celestyal Cruises
Member Image slederman
1 review
Jun 2016
The definition of a Greek Island village. Take lots of pictures!
Read slederman's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Do not remember
Member Image Two Jerrys
2 reviews
May 2016
We stopped at a winery first which offered stunning views over the bay. There were 3 cruise liners visiting Oia Village which made it very busy.
Read Two Jerrys's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image GillMG
1 review
May 2016
Gorgeous but crowded. Why let so many cruise liners come in at the same time!! and those poor donkeys...
Read GillMG's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Entos
1 review
May 2016
We could see the entire Caldera! Don't miss Atlantis Books.
Read Entos's full Celestyal Crystal cruise review
Provider: Celestyal Cruises
Member Image jobster
1 review
May 2016
Great chauffeur service with our private taxi who left is in Oia for the day and picked us up on time for return to cruise ship. 70 euros.
Read jobster's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Santorini Taxis
Member Image Fortun8
4 reviews
May 2016
The winery and the amount of people and buses was packed and crowded and unpleasant experience. The visits to the town was the best part with time to explore by ourselves.
Read Fortun8's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cghouston
7 reviews
May 2016
Beautiful village with all the White and Blue bldgs
Read cghouston's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bernalano
1 review
May 2016
Good but very expensive. Would have taken the cable cars or rode the donkeys instead of paying €92
Read bernalano's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image oldwo
2 reviews
May 2016
Outstanding View and nice expensive cafes.
Read oldwo's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image pip4brian
1 review
May 2016
It was very well organised with a good travel guide who handled a difficult situation with a bus breakdown very well.
Read pip4brian's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CorgiNole
1 review
Apr 2016
Very pretty village. For the most part this was a stop and explore (and shop). Did try to see some of what the guide told us in terms of the historical architecture, but feel like I may have missed some while window shopping.
Read CorgiNole's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Jantheman132
2 reviews
Apr 2016
Costa cancelled our visit to the archeological site and we had instead a glorified bus trip to two very crowded villages which were probably lovely when we all left them in peace again! Enjoyed approaching and leaving by tender and its a really beautiful island.
Read Jantheman132's full Costa neoRiviera cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image KevPat
1 review
Apr 2016
Loved Santorini, Oia was beautiful. The wine tasting was excellent. Didn't spend enough time in Fira, maybe next time.
Read KevPat's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image savoie.tx@gmail.com
1 review
Apr 2016
While near the shore and before getting on the cable car to go up to FIra (5 Euros each way) we boat / bus tour that I would highly recommend. For 15 Euros we took a boat ride to the port below Oia. A bus then took us from the boat to city of Oia. We spend 2 hours in Oia, then took the bus to Fira. Oia is a must. I think that most of the photos of the white buildings and churches with blue colored domes which represent the Greek Islands were taken in Oia. We took many photos. We found 2 photographers that were taking wedding photos so we followed them around a bit to see which great views they selected then did the same once they moved on. Once back in Fira, we found a small restaurant with an outstanding view. We opted to walk down instead of taking the cable car. We did have to dodge the large donkeys coming up the steps, but it was fun. Santorini is a must if you are going to cruise the greek islands. This is one of the prettiest islands on earth and we could like to go back and spend more time there.
Read savoie.tx@gmail.com's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image swsf99a
2 reviews
Apr 2016
Tendered off the ship and then on a bus that winded up the mountain ( We were not at the dock where you ride donkeys or take the tram). Road through Fiera, then to Oia. Shops and had to do a drink with the view. Nice day but had to leave before sunset...but would have been a hazy view by then. Many shops , had to pay to go to public bathrooms. Better to get a coffee at a café then go there. Bus ride back showed more of the island. Personally we liked Mykonos better.
Read swsf99a's full Celestyal Olympia cruise review
Provider: Celestyal Cruises
Member Image S Gaughan
1 review
Oct 2015
Good excursion with the cruise we disembarked on a tender at 7,30 a.m.. You need to get to Oia village early as it has tiny streets and gets very crowded with tourists. Very picturesque and a must see - if you leave the ship and just stay in Fira you will be disappointed. To get back to the ship we recommend walking the donkey trail in Fira to the harbour - it is 20 minutes (smelly) but worth avoiding the queues for the cable car which can take up to an hour.
Read S Gaughan's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image debbieg14
1 review
Sep 2015
Out of this world. A dream. I loved it.
Read debbieg14's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.