Santorini Oia Village Excursion Reviews

Santorini Oia Village  cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit Oia, a pretty village of pastel-tinted houses set into the cliffside of Santorini’s highest peak. Look for paths in the village that will guide you to one of the two black-sand volcanic beaches.
Member Image romanno1949
1 review
Oct 2016
Amazing that life exists on this crater wall. Beautiful white village but no water.
Read romanno1949's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image carolinemcglone
1 review
Oct 2016
Picturesque village, didnt spend much time there as the bus brought us back to the main town Fira
Read carolinemcglone's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Vegans rule
5 reviews
Oct 2016
Beautiful village. All whitewashed houses and spectacular views. Take the cable car down. Don't take the steps or the donkeys, too dangerous,
Read Vegans rule's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JanBerlin
3 reviews
Oct 2016
"Speed boat" ride to Oia was scenic, but not speedy at all. In general, Santorini was a "been there, done that" port: far too touristy (even in low season with only three ships in port) and highly overpriced. The views of the caldera are breathtaking, but the island itself is rough and boring.
Read JanBerlin's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Petrosey
4 reviews
Oct 2016
Good amount of time to explore. Very scenic.
Read Petrosey's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lady99
2 reviews
Oct 2016
We took an excursion that had our bus climb the curving and winding cliffs up to the beautiful village of Oia known for their blue domed churches. We scampered around the cobblestone paths taking photos and taking it all in. I only wish
Read lady99's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Serious cruiser
1 review
Sep 2016
Have made this trip before Oia is a very pretty part of the island
Read Serious cruiser's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Biscuit59
1 review
Sep 2016
A bit dull, could have done better independently
Read Biscuit59's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Cruise excursions
Member Image Huntingdon1701
1 review
Sep 2016
I actually did Oia on my own by taking a bus there. It was easy to do, albeit a little hair-raising going round the bends. Oia is very pretty so I am glad I made it. Be aware that the buses returning to Fira get very full and you are unlikely to get on the first one.
Read Huntingdon1701's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AmazingAsheville
3 reviews
Sep 2016
Oia village of course is beautiful, with its whitewashed houses and churches with sea blue roofs. We would have liked to have more time here. This tour was combined with a walking tour/free time in Fira.
Read AmazingAsheville's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Uribvl
1 review
Sep 2016
The guide was unable to speak properly the lenguage promised. We spent 1 your and 40 minutes in a bus around non interesting sites, not included in the trip, and only 30 to 40 minutes in the place we paid to visit.
Read Uribvl's full Celestyal Olympia cruise review
Provider: Celestyal Cruises
Member Image Oldrusty070
1 review
Sep 2016
You have to go to Oia as it is many times nicer than Fira and far more picture ops. We took a fast ferry with bus link back to Fira. Choose the one on the right called Fast Line to Oia. He lied to me about departure time twice. The other one was a better boat (transfer to Oia - reddish sign and on the left) left well before his did. His line uses the tenders and they were all in use ferrying people back and forth while the other one (one the left) has a dedicated boat with two levels and leaves on time. Make sure you are back at the gondola to return to your ship by 12:30 or be prepared for long waits. Try to get the first ferry at 8:30 at least that was when it left - the one on the left not ours.
Read Oldrusty070's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Transfer to Oia
Member Image One eyed
1 review
Sep 2016
Beautiful scenery , but prepare to wait for cable car 4 cruise ships in town . Most of tour walking on your own
Read One eyed's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image lucypatrick
2 reviews
Sep 2016
It's difficult to choose a rating for this one as it had good points and bad. Firstly, we had to wait in the coach for half hour as 12 people hadn't made it onto our tender on time. By this time a lot of coaches had gone ahead of us which is annoying when it's a small island and fills with tourists quickly. The first stop on the tour was a winery (it was 9am!) We then went onto Oia, the most gorgeous village ever! We felt like we'd stepped into a painting or postcard, it's truly breathtaking and even the kids were in awe of the beauty. The worst part about this trip is if you are a scaredy-cat like me. First on this tour you take a bus up a cliff side, zigzagging all the way as it is so steep, horrible haha, couldn't look out the window! Then the guide told us we don't go back down that way (thank goodness) but she gave us tickets for the cable car instead, yikes! It really wasn't so bad, only 3 mins but drops very steep a couple of times on the way, nothing to worry about though but just so you know.
Read lucypatrick's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Ninjatt
1 review
Sep 2016
On a tender service, we went on boat to the shore. Very well guided, we had a wine tasting session then to Oia and Fira. Beautiful architecture and bought lots of souvenirs. Hilly roads may not work well with those with motion sickness so do take your pills.
Read Ninjatt's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Rosethorn40
17 reviews
Sep 2016
Oia is interesting, but very crowded. A lot of walking, seemingly all uphill in a hot humid climate.
Read Rosethorn40's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Aus123
1 review
Sep 2016
Went up by cable car ,Took private cab to Oia Village, Loved it could of stayed longer 5 ships in port that day so very busy to get back down by cable car 2 hour wait time so walked down Donkey track hard work but an experience ...
Read Aus123's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Oldies on tour
1 review
Sep 2016
Just one critic, the wine tasting was first at 9a.m., this was too early, otherwise it was very good.
Read Oldies on tour's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image photos4U
1 review
Sep 2016
Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. We could have skipped the winery tour.
Read photos4U's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 3Aussies
1 review
Sep 2016
Breathtaking
Read 3Aussies's full Star Pride cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Hislop7
1 review
Sep 2016
Very enjoyable.
Read Hislop7's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JudyTraveller
1 review
Aug 2016
Informative guide and well organised.
Read JudyTraveller's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Travelingsherry
1 review
Aug 2016
Enjoyed
Read Travelingsherry's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ange1957
1 review
Aug 2016
15 euros for a boat trip to Oia harbour, transport to the village and time to wander and take photos then bus back to Fira and an additional 5 euros for cable car to the cruise ship or you can walk for free down the steps.
Read ange1957's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Harbour Cruise
Member Image J.E.C
4 reviews
Aug 2016
Once we had tendered we took the local boat to Oia, which for 20 euro's included a coach back to Fira and the cable car back to the tender station. We were early and the water was really choppy so made for an interesting ride but well worth it! the views in Oia are simply stunning. There was very little queuing for the cable car
Read J.E.C's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?