Santorini Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Santorini Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Become acquainted with the ancient island of Santorini -- known to be the site of the lost city of Atlantis -- with a city tour of its charming villages and best sightseeing spots.
Member Image lilpepdog
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Great 3 hours stopping for breathtaking views.
Read lilpepdog's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image liam.dasey
1 review
Sep 2016
Knowledgeable and entertaining driver. it was a full 16 seater minibus, so a little cramped, but we had a great day seeing the island including Oia (Ia), Venetsianos Winery and a stop at the black sand beach for lunch.
Read liam.dasey's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Ocean Wave tours
Member Image littlelulu01
2 reviews
Sep 2016
with all the other ships in port this day we booked Alex private boat tours. Found another couple to split the cost with. He picked us up at the tender drop off thus avoiding the 3 hour cable car or long hot donkey trail. Was the best day of the vacation. Panos and Demitiris were excellent. Went snorkeling, swimming in the volcanic area, had lunch, good music and great hosts.
Read littlelulu01's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Panos
Member Image computerqwerty
3 reviews
Sep 2016
were taken through Santorini with a good Englis speaking guide finishing off at a winery with no hard sell.
Read computerqwerty's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions
Member Image sunwalker
1 review
Sep 2016
Beautiful place! Tiny cobblestone streets. Best to go early before the crowds. Another "steer" to a winery. If you fear heights don't look when you get in cable car! Long lines for it but it moves quickly
Read sunwalker's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 2ws
1 review
Sep 2016
Went to Akrotiri, had lunch, visited a winery, and went to both towns, ending with the cable car down to the port. Outstanding
Read 2ws's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image One Smart Kitty
1 review
Sep 2016
The Alrontiri village part was great. I give it a 4.5 out of 5. The crowds in Ola were terrible and things got dangerous in narrow streets we had to pass through. Things got worse when we had to return to the ship from Fira by cable car. We were taken to Santorini by launch from the ship to the port of Santorini where we met the bus. But we were not returned to the port. We had to wait 90 minutes in the hot sun for our turn to take the cable car down from Fira to the catch a launch to the ship. This spoiled the entire day for us and others. F- to Celebrity for this.
Read One Smart Kitty's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Springfieldguy
1 review
Aug 2016
Bus ride to Oia; walking tour of Oia; lunch on our own; browsing shops in Fira; treacherous & tiring walk down the medieval stairs to dock due to 1-2 hour wait to use cable car.
Read Springfieldguy's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image chrika@hotmail.nl
1 review
Aug 2016
Not very interesting things to see except where we ended in Thira
Read chrika@hotmail.nl's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Delboy123
1 review
Aug 2016
A fab day with super views, wine tasting and a cable car ride.
Read Delboy123's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image MiamiCruiser1214
1 review
Aug 2016
Booking with the cruise line allows you disembark first and help beat the crowds, especially with other cruise ships arriving at the same time.
Read MiamiCruiser1214's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jackaberlin
1 review
Jul 2016
Bus tour with very knowledgable guide and plenty of time to explore.
Read jackaberlin's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image davidtee Hampshire
1 review
Jul 2016
Beautiful place and we even walked down the many many steps passing the donkeys and horses.We did not walk up we got the cable car.
Read davidtee Hampshire's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Jackglobaltraveler
1 review
Jul 2016
Beyond the excavation site, Santorini was not that interesting. We could have done it on our own.
Read Jackglobaltraveler's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Jenni33
1 review
Jul 2016
Tour was good, but we felt too much time spent in winery and we would have enjoyed more time in Oia.
Read Jenni33's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PelicanNorth
1 review
Jun 2016
We booked a private tour with Kostas at Santorini-private-guide.com. Kostas gave us very clear directions on catching the cable car and our meeting point. He was born on the island and lives in his grandparents home with young family. Van was clean and Kostas took us from Fira to Oia to Akrotiri. He was great host and guide .
Read PelicanNorth's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Santorini private guide.com (Kostas)
Member Image Hansfrau
1 review
Jun 2016
In theory it sounded good - a tour of the island including Oia, a winery, and Fira. It was too much to do and not enough time at any one place. Although Oia is beautiful (home of the blue-domed churches), 2 negative experiences left me with a bad taste - one was an attempt by a pickpocket to lift a fellow passenger's wallet while he was taking pictures (which I witnessed and then started screaming telling him to back away). Upon reflection, I don't believe I ever saw 1 police office in Oia. Also in Oia, there were so many tour buses that the parking lot became jammed up and it took our bus almost 20 minutes to depart. Finally be aware that if your tour includes a cable car ticket back down to the dock, you need to give yourself AT LEAST an hour to get on the cable car. Our tour guide did give us this advise and I was very appreciative as it was clear others had not. Also, make sure you have water while you wait. The sun was blazing hot and there was no shade to be found. Imagine passengers from 2-3 ships trying to get back at the same time and the cable cars only hold 36 passengers on a trip. An alternative would be the walk down the donkey trail, which takes about 20 minutes.
Read Hansfrau's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image kingoswing70
1 review
Jun 2016
Went to the historic ruins that was great but then we were dropped off in a Shopping precinct recommended by Celebity
Read kingoswing70's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Hteplitz
1 review
Jun 2016
Tour SO01 terrible experience. Spent most of the time on the bus or in a winery. Tour left at 11:15 which was too late to see what was promised.. We arrived in Fira with barely enough time to make the cable car. Tour was highly misrepresented by R C.
Read Hteplitz's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kitty24
1 review
May 2016
Wonderful sampling of Santorini - we will be back to see more.
Read Kitty24's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Fortun8
4 reviews
May 2016
Liked the transportation to parts of the island and independent parts to wander and shop and take photos.
Read Fortun8's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image The2J's
1 review
May 2016
Great Private Tour with Stan. Santorini was breath taking. Our tour lasted 5 hours. Started by taking the cable car up to Fira where we met our guide. Went to Oia first because it gets very crowded. Only spent one hour here. You may want to ask your guide for more time. At least 2 hours. Very nice shops and restaurants and the views are gorgeous. Red beach is very pretty.
Read The2J's's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Santorini Unique Experience Tour
Member Image oldwo
2 reviews
May 2016
The coach circumnavigated the island which has litthe to offer beyond the clifftop views at Fira and Oia.
Read oldwo's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image eileen108
1 review
Apr 2016
The ruins of Akrotiri were fascinating and the tour guide was one of the best. Then we drove to Oia and had a short guided walk, then free time for only 45 min before we had to return to the bus. Too little time there! Then we drove through Fira and went to Santo Wines to have unlimited wine samples and lots of Greek snacks, very tasty!Excellent excursion and well worth the high cost! The ruins of Akriti
Read eileen108's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Kgirl67
1 review
Apr 2016
I am rating this lower due to the tour guide (who talked non-stop and provided an amazing amount of useless information), however - the places we visited were great! Oia is as beautiful as one would expect. The drive thru the farmland and to the top of the island was impressive (lots of stops for photo ops). We visited a winery for a quick tour, tasting and a wonderful view of the caldera.
Read Kgirl67's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Olympia Tours

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?