Santorini Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Santorini Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Become acquainted with the ancient island of Santorini -- known to be the site of the lost city of Atlantis -- with a city tour of its charming villages and best sightseeing spots.
Member Image Jenni33
1 review
Jul 2016
Tour was good, but we felt too much time spent in winery and we would have enjoyed more time in Oia.
Read Jenni33's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PelicanNorth
1 review
Jun 2016
We booked a private tour with Kostas at Santorini-private-guide.com. Kostas gave us very clear directions on catching the cable car and our meeting point. He was born on the island and lives in his grandparents home with young family. Van was clean and Kostas took us from Fira to Oia to Akrotiri. He was great host and guide .
Read PelicanNorth's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Santorini private guide.com (Kostas)
Member Image kingoswing70
1 review
Jun 2016
Went to the historic ruins that was great but then we were dropped off in a Shopping precinct recommended by Celebity
Read kingoswing70's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Hteplitz
1 review
Jun 2016
Tour SO01 terrible experience. Spent most of the time on the bus or in a winery. Tour left at 11:15 which was too late to see what was promised.. We arrived in Fira with barely enough time to make the cable car. Tour was highly misrepresented by R C.
Read Hteplitz's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kitty24
1 review
May 2016
Wonderful sampling of Santorini - we will be back to see more.
Read Kitty24's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Fortun8
4 reviews
May 2016
Liked the transportation to parts of the island and independent parts to wander and shop and take photos.
Read Fortun8's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image The2J's
1 review
May 2016
Great Private Tour with Stan. Santorini was breath taking. Our tour lasted 5 hours. Started by taking the cable car up to Fira where we met our guide. Went to Oia first because it gets very crowded. Only spent one hour here. You may want to ask your guide for more time. At least 2 hours. Very nice shops and restaurants and the views are gorgeous. Red beach is very pretty.
Read The2J's's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Santorini Unique Experience Tour
Member Image oldwo
2 reviews
May 2016
The coach circumnavigated the island which has litthe to offer beyond the clifftop views at Fira and Oia.
Read oldwo's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image eileen108
1 review
Apr 2016
The ruins of Akrotiri were fascinating and the tour guide was one of the best. Then we drove to Oia and had a short guided walk, then free time for only 45 min before we had to return to the bus. Too little time there! Then we drove through Fira and went to Santo Wines to have unlimited wine samples and lots of Greek snacks, very tasty!Excellent excursion and well worth the high cost! The ruins of Akriti
Read eileen108's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Kgirl67
1 review
Apr 2016
I am rating this lower due to the tour guide (who talked non-stop and provided an amazing amount of useless information), however - the places we visited were great! Oia is as beautiful as one would expect. The drive thru the farmland and to the top of the island was impressive (lots of stops for photo ops). We visited a winery for a quick tour, tasting and a wonderful view of the caldera.
Read Kgirl67's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Olympia Tours
Member Image SaLabonte
1 review
Nov 2015
The ride on the tender was very comfortable and gave us a great view of the island before we caught our bus for our tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. Our walking tour and then our free time was just the right amount of time.
Read SaLabonte's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image CobraJet
1 review
Oct 2015
Probably the tour of our cruise. The ancient city archeological dig was unexpected and truly fascinating. The tours of the two cities were very informative. Our tour guide was exceptional. She was knowledgeable, spoke excellent English, provided much additional information and pictures via her note pad, and was very well organized.
Read CobraJet's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image WinterDolphin
1 review
Oct 2015
Santorini looked just like all of the photographs of this lovely place - lots of blue and white houses. Spectacular views. Tour was very well organized. Ship anchors out in the bay, so you take a shuttle boat to get to shore.
Read WinterDolphin's full Costa Deliziosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image philw1776
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Great tour guide. Lunch at Greek restaurant overlooking the caldera & ships was spectacular.
Read philw1776's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Two italy Fans
1 review
Sep 2015
Booked this tour as we wanted to make sure we did see Santorini. It is stunning and worth the visit, but could probably have done it ourselves, Buses having to do three point turns at the top of a very steep hill was quite scarey.
Read Two italy Fans's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tjd59
1 review
Sep 2015
The tour was enjoyable but we felt a bit rushed, especially when we arrived at Oia. I recommend that they start with Oia as it is the most beautiful area of the island.
Read tjd59's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: NST Santorini Travel
Member Image forfunseeker
1 review
Sep 2015
Beautiful!
Read forfunseeker's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Travelmad
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Saw island and heard history which was interesting. Dropped off in Fira for free time which was lovely.
Read Travelmad's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Dianne O.
1 review
Aug 2015
Expected more.
Read Dianne O.'s full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image florida vacation
1 review
Aug 2015
the cable car experience spoiled the day
Read florida vacation's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tdelpinal
1 review
Jul 2015
The island is beautiful and colorful. Caution: When 5 cruise ships are docked all at the same time, you will have more than 10,000 visitors. When getting back to the tender, we waited in a long, long line for 1.5 hours to go down the gondola which can only take about 36 people every 15 minutes. The alternative is to go down the stairs, over 450 of them but you can get down in 30 minutes.
Read tdelpinal's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TravelingActuary
1 review
Jul 2015
This is a beautiful place! You could stay in Fira, where the ship ports, and have a good time, however I highly recommend taking an excursion to Oia. Oia has breathtaking views, including several of the famous blue-domed churches. In Fira, the only way into and out of town is by either taking a cable car or a donkey up the cliff (or walking if you're in really good shape). We opted for the cable car - amazing views!
Read TravelingActuary's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rose108
1 review
Jun 2015
"Best of Santorini' was not our favourite tour.
Read Rose108's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image boxxr
1 review
May 2015
This excursion was an over view of the Island with stops at the Santos Winery where we received a little memento. We had a stop for bout 90 minutes in Oia and then we were dropped off in Fira where we ate lunch, shopped, and then had an option of a donkey ride or vehicular to get to the tender.
Read boxxr's full Star Pride cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Mandala
1 review
May 2015
We got on the bus and were driven up very precipitous slopes to a view point near an old monastery where we could take amazing photos of the island and surrounding seas. Then we drove to the prehistoric village of Akrotiri to tour the archaeological dig there. It was an amazing place -- very modern in its purpose and amenities, but all made of stone. This city had underground sewer and separate underground water delivery systems as far back as 1800BC!
Read Mandala's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.