Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Santorini Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Santorini Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Become acquainted with the ancient island of Santorini -- known to be the site of the lost city of Atlantis -- with a city tour of its charming villages and best sightseeing spots.
Member Image CobraJet
1 review
Oct 2015
Probably the tour of our cruise. The ancient city archeological dig was unexpected and truly fascinating. The tours of the two cities were very informative. Our tour guide was exceptional. She was knowledgeable, spoke excellent English, provided much additional information and pictures via her note pad, and was very well organized.
Read CobraJet's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image WinterDolphin
1 review
Oct 2015
Santorini looked just like all of the photographs of this lovely place - lots of blue and white houses. Spectacular views. Tour was very well organized. Ship anchors out in the bay, so you take a shuttle boat to get to shore.
Read WinterDolphin's full Costa Deliziosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image philw1776
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Great tour guide. Lunch at Greek restaurant overlooking the caldera & ships was spectacular.
Read philw1776's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Two italy Fans
1 review
Sep 2015
Booked this tour as we wanted to make sure we did see Santorini. It is stunning and worth the visit, but could probably have done it ourselves, Buses having to do three point turns at the top of a very steep hill was quite scarey.
Read Two italy Fans's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tjd59
1 review
Sep 2015
The tour was enjoyable but we felt a bit rushed, especially when we arrived at Oia. I recommend that they start with Oia as it is the most beautiful area of the island.
Read tjd59's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: NST Santorini Travel
Member Image forfunseeker
1 review
Sep 2015
Beautiful!
Read forfunseeker's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Travelmad
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Saw island and heard history which was interesting. Dropped off in Fira for free time which was lovely.
Read Travelmad's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Dianne O.
1 review
Aug 2015
Expected more.
Read Dianne O.'s full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image florida vacation
1 review
Aug 2015
the cable car experience spoiled the day
Read florida vacation's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tdelpinal
1 review
Jul 2015
The island is beautiful and colorful. Caution: When 5 cruise ships are docked all at the same time, you will have more than 10,000 visitors. When getting back to the tender, we waited in a long, long line for 1.5 hours to go down the gondola which can only take about 36 people every 15 minutes. The alternative is to go down the stairs, over 450 of them but you can get down in 30 minutes.
Read tdelpinal's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TravelingActuary
1 review
Jul 2015
This is a beautiful place! You could stay in Fira, where the ship ports, and have a good time, however I highly recommend taking an excursion to Oia. Oia has breathtaking views, including several of the famous blue-domed churches. In Fira, the only way into and out of town is by either taking a cable car or a donkey up the cliff (or walking if you're in really good shape). We opted for the cable car - amazing views!
Read TravelingActuary's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image boxxr
1 review
May 2015
This excursion was an over view of the Island with stops at the Santos Winery where we received a little memento. We had a stop for bout 90 minutes in Oia and then we were dropped off in Fira where we ate lunch, shopped, and then had an option of a donkey ride or vehicular to get to the tender.
Read boxxr's full Star Pride cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Mandala
1 review
May 2015
We got on the bus and were driven up very precipitous slopes to a view point near an old monastery where we could take amazing photos of the island and surrounding seas. Then we drove to the prehistoric village of Akrotiri to tour the archaeological dig there. It was an amazing place -- very modern in its purpose and amenities, but all made of stone. This city had underground sewer and separate underground water delivery systems as far back as 1800BC!
Read Mandala's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jimnhil
2 reviews
Mar 2015
Whatever you've heard about Santorini, the reality is even better. It is the rim of a caldera, so the buildings are mostly on the cliff tops. Stunningly beautiful, the highlight being the village of Oia - walking around gives numerous photo opportunities. Fun to walk down the zig zag path to the front at Fira, rather than take the cable car, though beware of horses and donkeys taking the full width! The archaeological site at Akrotiri is worth a visit.
Read jimnhil's full Aegean Odyssey cruise review
Provider: Voyages to Antiquity
Member Image GottaTravel55
2 reviews
Oct 2014

Great way to see more of the island...taking a bus up the cliff instead of fighting donkeys, people and lines for cable cars...well worth it!

Read GottaTravel55's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image fabnfortysomething
10 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2014

fantastic tour with Santorini taxi tours with Kostas-very good overview of island

Read fabnfortysomething's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Santorini taxi tours with Kosta
Member Image bjrivers
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

FANTASTIC high light of tour. So good beautiful place. BUT the cable car going up is not for the faint hearted and coming back we queued in midday heat no shade for over an hour. There were near riots with people trying to push in. Older people fainting. Only way to get there apart from walking a high that is practically perpendicular or going on an aged donkey that is not so sure footed and with no guide to help them only at beginning and end. My son walked down and found that it was next to impossible with the amount of donkey poo everywhere. We then waited another hour again in the heat for the tender. If the cruise liners want to keep stopping here they need to sort this out somebody will die if not 100%fit.

Read bjrivers's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Dimitrius Nickoladis
Member Image FLSuep
2 reviews
Apr 2014

Great place to visit, must take a tour and see as much as you can. Had been here before so did the Island tour. Guide was good.

Read FLSuep's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image canuck1669
1 review
Apr 2014

Island is beautiful and the sunset reflecting on the mountain and roof tops was amazing.
Suggest riding the Gondola to the top. Donkeys may be fun for those under 40 but definitely slower and smellier.This was one of the independent tours we took. It was smaller 10 people and more intimate than the larger Cruise Tours (40+). Better opportunity as well to ask questions and our bus driver was able to stay one step ahead of the regular Cruise tours.

Read canuck1669's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image Pugdom@verizon.net
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

Entitled "Santorini: Akrotiri - The Lost City of Atlantis", this was a scenic drive of this beautiful island and stop to tour Akrotiri, a Minoan city that is still undergoing excavation. This is the highest point on the island and offered terrific views and photo ops. Everything about this excursion was wonderful!

Read Pugdom@verizon.net's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image trexdex
1 review
Nov 2012
Highlight was getting off the Bus and touring Fira on our own. Bus tour doesn't want you to take the cable car back down as they save money on cable car tickets on unused tickets which are paid for on this tour.
Read trexdex's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HickoryShampoo
reviews
Nov 2012
Part of the private car we hired. Took us everywhere we wanted to go.
Read HickoryShampoo's full cruise review
Provider: Santorini24
Member Image HickoryShampoo
reviews
Nov 2012
Hired a private car, because all the cruise tours involved wine and none involved the beaches. Took us to red sand beach near Akrotiri and black sand beach at Perissa. Also took us to Oia, then back to Fira. Booked via internet, but can't remember the site.
Read HickoryShampoo's full cruise review
Provider: Santorini24
Member Image Kellie Poodle
6 reviews
Oct 2012
Santorini is one gigantic photo op. It's gorgeous. We had a fantastic tour guide who gave us so much insight into the history, politics and culture of the island. We visited all the most photogenic sites as well as a few off-the-beaten-path places that tourists don't usually go.
Read Kellie Poodle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Santorini Private Tours
Member Image ozeannie
1 review
Oct 2012
We went on this tour as a "blind date" with 8 other people from Cruise Critic. We had basically the same group again for 2 other tours and despite the misgivings of whether it would work or not, on this occasion everyone got along really well and it was definitely the better option over a ship's tour. We were to meet Dimitri at 3pm, however we got a very early tender and were able to get to the top at 2.30 - our group leader rang ahead and Dimitri was there not too long after us. We had a good overview tour of the whole island which included Santos winery, Ana's homemade stall, the Black sand beach and of course Oia. We didn't see too much of Fira at the start as we took off more or less straight away. One of our group was an older lady not as sure on her feet and there was a bit of a steep walk down stairs to where the van was parked, but she managed with help. Be aware that all the streets are uneven and there are many stairs everywhere. Dimitri was very affable and gave good local inside information on the workings of the island. The van was very new, air-conditioned and extremely comfortable. We felt though that we probably spent a bit too much time in getting to Oia which is after all the highlight of the trip. It was already getting dark when we got there and whilst we were wanting to see the sunset, it would have been good to have arrived a little earlier to get some brighter pictures as well. The only thing we would change would be to request more time in Oia. We then returned to Fira but not really with any time to see it or do any shopping before going back to the ship. Would like to have spent more time in both places. If you are coming via cruise ship, try your best to get one of the early tenders. Dimitri's wife had another group and they didn't start their tour until a couple of hours after us as they got a much later tender off the ship. They basically went straight to Oia as there was no time for anything else, at least I assume so as they were already there when we arrived.
Read ozeannie's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.