Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) Vatican Museums Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Vatican Museums cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the Vatican museums to see the world famous Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. Note: Go early in the morning to bypass the long lines.
Member Image mallysmith
1 review
Jul 2016
If you have never seen it then its very interesting and worth the effort
Read mallysmith's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image EuropeanWanderer
1 review
Jun 2016
Great English speaking guide. Skipped the lines, guide had portfolio of museum pictures to use as highlights to what we were going to see.
Read EuropeanWanderer's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image bazzaazzab
2 reviews
May 2016
This is a wow factor and worth the extra cost, we had time in the Vatican so visited the museum, an eye opener.
Read bazzaazzab's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tahoebabe23
1 review
May 2016
We met at the foot locker and were escorted by I love Rome through the line up into the museum where we were on our own to explore the museum at our own pace. Highly recommend. Jumping the line is a HUGE time saver.
Read Tahoebabe23's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Ciao Italy / I love Rome
Member Image Jwheel
1 review
May 2016
Too crowded to go in the afternoon. We were herded through like cattle and didn't have time to take good pictures, etc. It was REALLY crowded and I wish we could have done the tour in the morning. Might be better to do the coliseum in the afternoon and vatican only in the morning, but that wasn't available to us based on when we came in
Read Jwheel's full Sirena cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Miss Nomer
1 review
May 2016
Lots to see. Walked our feet off.
Read Miss Nomer's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image iana4417
4 reviews
May 2016
Excellent tours with a great guide
Read iana4417's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rogerdas
1 review
Apr 2016
Get there early and for heavens sake, buy the skip the line pass online before you go
Read rogerdas's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image PuryEnd
1 review
Jan 2016
Best of Rome with Vatican Booked via CC Forum with other fellow Epic travelers January is the time to visit Rome - low crowds you could even see the floor of the Vatican at this time of year. Felt unrushed or pushed by the lack of hordes, loved the map room even more than the Sistine Chapel but it is a wowing experience if totally exhausting day. In summer it must be complete hell.
Read PuryEnd's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: ItalyTours
Member Image lovetogobyebye
1 review
Nov 2015
3 hour tour with Isabella. Perfect guide, lovely woman with a clear voice. You can tell she loves her work and she is an artist as well. A very knowledgeable guide though the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel. I would highly recommend her.
Read lovetogobyebye's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Isabella Monari
Member Image IntelInside
2 reviews
Nov 2015
No words are good enough to describe the Vatican tour. It was breathtaking, comfortable and fun.
Read IntelInside's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image IntelInside
2 reviews
Nov 2015
This is one of the few Cruise excursions I did take to avoid long lines at the Vatican and it was a LOVELY all day trip. I made many good friends on the trip. The Vatican itself-well, no words are good enough to describe it. This is a VERY spiritual experience. Just avoid outside shops as you exist because they are NOT Vatican although they appear they are.
Read IntelInside's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ucanown2
1 review
Nov 2015
amazing
Read ucanown2's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image mklaiber
1 review
Oct 2015
Amazing!!!!!! Angelica and Alessandro were so enchanting and gracious. They made sure we were informed about every piece of statue , every rock and every building. We loved the experience, the Vatican was so beautiful and awe inspiring. The colosseum was massive and just out of this world. St. Peter's square was beautiful as well as Trevi Fountain.
Read mklaiber's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DebbieKr
1 review
Sep 2015
Roberto of www.tours-europe.com arranged a private 3 hour tour with Nadia who got us in quickly avoiding the crowds and giving us insights into all areas of the Vatican. GREAT tour!
Read DebbieKr's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cindycakes
1 review
Sep 2015
Booked "Skip The Line Tours" and while you do skip the normal line for purchasing, there are multiple lines inside you must still wait in. Tour guide was great at bringing historical information to life and telling the stories behind the art.
Read Cindycakes's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: When In Rome Tours
Member Image Tewai
1 review
Sep 2015
Fantastic our guide was the best
Read Tewai's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Skeeterbox
1 review
Sep 2015
Great to be allowed to take pictures using flash. Now we can enjoy the beautiful museum artifacts over and over again.
Read Skeeterbox's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lee/Cy
1 review
Sep 2015
This was a repeat visit for most of our party. Really disappointed by the tour arrangements. They were insensitive to many of the guests and a much larger group then I imagined. Gave us no help to make the best use of our time. Horrible long bus ride from the port.
Read Lee/Cy's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image hawkshoe
2 reviews
Sep 2015
We hired a guide to take us through the Vatican. I can honestly say that we would never had been able to do it without her. The crowds were huge and she was able to guide us past them and onto the many sights we wanted to see.
Read hawkshoe's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image carlosuru74
1 review
Aug 2015
Good
Read carlosuru74's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tm81663
1 review
Aug 2015
We were lucky enough to book a Vatican at Night event, using audio guides, booked directly through the Vatican. This place is amazing, and has SO much to see, its overwhelming. Going at night though, somethings may not be well lit, though most was.
Read tm81663's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Directly through Vatican Museum
Member Image canadasmiles
1 review
Jul 2015
Nothing special about it
Read canadasmiles's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image intraweb
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Horrible - rude tour guide left us in Vatican typical Italy rude rude rude and no air conditioning.
Read intraweb's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CNJMILTZ
2 reviews
Jun 2015
we took our son and did our own pre-booked tour with headphones. This was fine for what we paid for.i have done the vATICAN WITH A GUIDE BEFORE WITH mills tours and that was top draw!
Read CNJMILTZ's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.