Rome (Civitavecchia) Vatican Museums Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Vatican Museums cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the Vatican museums to see the world famous Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. Note: Go early in the morning to bypass the long lines.
Member Image Pfeilm
1 review
Nov 2016
Same as Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica - Skip the Line Vatican Museum with St Peter's, Sistine Chapel and Small Group Upgrade. Tour guide Nina was phenomenal. Tour started as soon as all arrived and moved along well. We were inside by 9:00a and security was a breeze. Nina was informative and entertaining. For a small petite woman she could graciously part the crowd and keep things moving. Four hours flew by. Note: There is so much to see we lucked out with Nina, an obvious art subject matter expert. She centered the tour around more specific pieces vice the audio tour stops due to limited amount of time. Would recommend booking a particular art tour if truly interested in the wonderful art. Recommend: yes, both the tour and Nina... Particularly Nina.
Read Pfeilm's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Annettetony1
1 review
Oct 2016
The Vatican museum is always wonderful
Read Annettetony1's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cm1317
1 review
Oct 2016
Beautiful but very crowded in October. The "Skip the line" had a line
Read cm1317's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Jack1776
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Also we toured the Sistine Chapel. Also very crowded, but not the fault of the tour. This was the Jubilee year and thus higher than normal numbers of people coming to the Vatican.
Read Jack1776's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Boyrauch
1 review
Oct 2016
Overwhelming! There is so much to see it is easy to get overloaded. We were able to get into the Sistine Chapel when it wasn't so crowded and used the Rick Steves podcast to learn about the paintings.
Read Boyrauch's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BeachBoundGirl72
2 reviews
Oct 2016
We booked Inside Vatican, Colosseum & St. Peter's Basilica with Carnival. It was $181.99 per person and it included a visit to the Vatican and lunch. It was a very long day and I felt like we were cattle being herded through the entire tour. Our bus guide and tour guide were both very friendly and knowledgeable. Everything we saw was beautiful, and our meal was good. The bus was comfortable. It was just such a busy place with way too many people there to even think about getting a decent look at any of the amazing things there were to see. Unfortunately, on a cruise, you only have a few hours to see a port. I feel like Rome is somewhere that you need at least a week or two.
Read BeachBoundGirl72's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Party Patticake
2 reviews
Sep 2016
I wouldn't do this again. Crowds were awful. Imagine inching along, wall to wall people, hot, way to much to take in.
Read Party Patticake's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image chanlynng
1 review
Sep 2016
Beautiful, very crowded, was told September was the worst month to go.
Read chanlynng's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image pbrn55
1 review
Sep 2016
Hard to hear our guide but the museums are massive and impressive. They were very crowded the day we were there, I think it would be better to do on own and not feel rushed.
Read pbrn55's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Shore Tours (I think, booked by someone else)
Member Image Ivan Deering
1 review
Sep 2016
The history, painting, sculptures, what an experience. Don't let the LIMO part scare you away, you can afford them but you cannot afford to go with someone else.
Read Ivan Deering's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome-in-limo
Member Image Crazyoneser
1 review
Sep 2016
Unbelievable. This tour was spectacular.
Read Crazyoneser's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image TomBrem
1 review
Sep 2016
Great
Read TomBrem's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cruisefan182
1 review
Aug 2016
Absolutely packed! Must pre-book to beat the mile long queues!
Read cruisefan182's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image ValT28
1 review
Aug 2016
booked on line before we travelled. well worth the money as amazing.
Read ValT28's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Vatican city
Member Image scottrn7
1 review
Aug 2016
Excellent service and tour by Nick! Wife is disabled and he got us in close to where we needed to be. Knowledgeable and great kind service and speaks awesome English!
Read scottrn7's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image Mrmemor7
1 review
Aug 2016
historical place
Read Mrmemor7's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: myself
Member Image cheeks0274
1 review
Aug 2016
Well organised walking tour
Read cheeks0274's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image yummymummy11
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Sensory overload with all the art they have there
Read yummymummy11's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image picketfences101
1 review
Jul 2016
Through Driver-in-Rome (we asked them to book) front of the line passes and a guide to the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's.
Read picketfences101's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: DriverinRome
Member Image MNloonies
1 review
Jul 2016
I'm not a museum buff so could have missed this but it was part of the Eternal City Tour.
Read MNloonies's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image arkansas travelers
1 review
Jul 2016
part of tour above - excellent
Read arkansas travelers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: CBM Tours
Member Image mallysmith
1 review
Jul 2016
If you have never seen it then its very interesting and worth the effort
Read mallysmith's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image EuropeanWanderer
1 review
Jun 2016
Great English speaking guide. Skipped the lines, guide had portfolio of museum pictures to use as highlights to what we were going to see.
Read EuropeanWanderer's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image bazzaazzab
3 reviews
May 2016
This is a wow factor and worth the extra cost, we had time in the Vatican so visited the museum, an eye opener.
Read bazzaazzab's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tahoebabe23
1 review
May 2016
We met at the foot locker and were escorted by I love Rome through the line up into the museum where we were on our own to explore the museum at our own pace. Highly recommend. Jumping the line is a HUGE time saver.
Read Tahoebabe23's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Ciao Italy / I love Rome

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?