Rome (Civitavecchia) Vatican Museums Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Vatican Museums cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the Vatican museums to see the world famous Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. Note: Go early in the morning to bypass the long lines.
Member Image Espire
3 reviews
Jun 2017
Booked in advance for 7:30 pm Friday evening tour with English speaking guide. Instructions were to arrive 20 minutes early but evening tours only open the doors at 7pm and there were still huge queues at 7:15. They moved quickly however and our tour started on time with a smallish group. First 30 minutes was clustered around a TV screen and guide giving an explanation of history and content of museum. Very impressed with museum exhibits even if limited relationship with history. Many museums in the world are very proud of single undamaged Roman statues whereas this museum has hundreds. You walk on floors of perfect Roman mosaics two thousand years old as if they were nothing special
Read Espire's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Vatican direct online
Member Image Blueeyedcaper1
1 review
May 2017
Going to Rome to see the Vatican/ colosseum/ the Trevi fountain is a must! Once in a lifetime tour. Amazing guide in the museum. The driver/ guide was good. He was an excellent driver. Don't know if I could drive those streets.
Read Blueeyedcaper1's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Italytours EU
Member Image cruiserre
2 reviews
Mar 2017
This was another Viator tour sold by MSC, AND VERY POORLY PLANNED: we have been in Rome many times but knew another visit to the Vatican museums would be well worth it. The tour was billed as Rome and The Vatican museums: In the AM we were bused around and past the main sites, OK, considering our time was short, then into the Vatican. The tour of the VATICAN MUSEUMS however was very poorly planned- and did not give us a look at some of its treasures, like the Borgia Apartments: essentially the tour was a walk to the Sistine, though prior To entering the Chapel, there was a detailed lecture in front of reproduction of the paintings of the Sistine. From there there was a half hour trip through St Peter's,,where I thought the tour was well done. Big flaw was giving us two hours of free time designating a gift shop where bathrooms were available and from which our tour would depart for the port area. My suggestion to anyone on a one day visit, is first order your tickets to the museums, on line,for 10AM,so you can avoid the long, long lines: then sign up for the cruise ship bus that picks takes you to central Rome, get a taxi to the Vatican Museum and have a leisurely visit to the museum- because you are not part of a tour, no one will rush you in your visit to the Sistine: because there could be long lines to get into St Peter,s , do not leave the Vatican museum, you can enter St Peter's from the Sistine chapel- everyone exits the Sistine from the back- if you take the door at the right rear it will eventually get you into St Pater's without leaving thevMuseums.
Read cruiserre's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image LadyImpactOhio
3 reviews
Feb 2017
We didn't see it all, but what we did was impressive.Must boom with a group or there is a huge line just to get thru security. Because we booked with Viking we walked right up and had no wait.
Read LadyImpactOhio's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Lkclark
1 review
Dec 2016
We felt the overview of Rome sites tour was good. The Vatican tour at night with only our Viking bus loads was awesome.
Read Lkclark's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image g.steinfort
1 review
Dec 2016
Long day but is was exceptional and the crowds were small. Quick bus tour of the other important sights was nice. the 1.5-2hr bus ride to and from the port made the tour longer. wish we could of been in Rome for 2 days
Read g.steinfort's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image atbrouss
1 review
Dec 2016
We chose to focus on the Vatican during our short stop in Rome. We booked an MSC excursion that gave us an overview of Rome from the bus, then a guided tour of the Vatican Museum, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica. The tour was very well-organized, and it provided a great introductory visit to The Eternal City. We felt rushed in the Vatican City, but we saw all the highlights, and my husband and I were both very pleased with the excursion.
Read atbrouss's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Pfeilm
1 review
Nov 2016
Same as Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica - Skip the Line Vatican Museum with St Peter's, Sistine Chapel and Small Group Upgrade. Tour guide Nina was phenomenal. Tour started as soon as all arrived and moved along well. We were inside by 9:00a and security was a breeze. Nina was informative and entertaining. For a small petite woman she could graciously part the crowd and keep things moving. Four hours flew by. Note: There is so much to see we lucked out with Nina, an obvious art subject matter expert. She centered the tour around more specific pieces vice the audio tour stops due to limited amount of time. Would recommend booking a particular art tour if truly interested in the wonderful art. Recommend: yes, both the tour and Nina... Particularly Nina.
Read Pfeilm's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Annettetony1
1 review
Oct 2016
The Vatican museum is always wonderful
Read Annettetony1's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cm1317
1 review
Oct 2016
Beautiful but very crowded in October. The "Skip the line" had a line
Read cm1317's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Jack1776
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Also we toured the Sistine Chapel. Also very crowded, but not the fault of the tour. This was the Jubilee year and thus higher than normal numbers of people coming to the Vatican.
Read Jack1776's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Boyrauch
1 review
Oct 2016
Overwhelming! There is so much to see it is easy to get overloaded. We were able to get into the Sistine Chapel when it wasn't so crowded and used the Rick Steves podcast to learn about the paintings.
Read Boyrauch's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BeachBoundGirl72
2 reviews
Oct 2016
We booked Inside Vatican, Colosseum & St. Peter's Basilica with Carnival. It was $181.99 per person and it included a visit to the Vatican and lunch. It was a very long day and I felt like we were cattle being herded through the entire tour. Our bus guide and tour guide were both very friendly and knowledgeable. Everything we saw was beautiful, and our meal was good. The bus was comfortable. It was just such a busy place with way too many people there to even think about getting a decent look at any of the amazing things there were to see. Unfortunately, on a cruise, you only have a few hours to see a port. I feel like Rome is somewhere that you need at least a week or two.
Read BeachBoundGirl72's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Party Patticake
2 reviews
Sep 2016
I wouldn't do this again. Crowds were awful. Imagine inching along, wall to wall people, hot, way to much to take in.
Read Party Patticake's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image chanlynng
1 review
Sep 2016
Beautiful, very crowded, was told September was the worst month to go.
Read chanlynng's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image pbrn55
1 review
Sep 2016
Hard to hear our guide but the museums are massive and impressive. They were very crowded the day we were there, I think it would be better to do on own and not feel rushed.
Read pbrn55's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Shore Tours (I think, booked by someone else)
Member Image Ivan Deering
1 review
Sep 2016
The history, painting, sculptures, what an experience. Don't let the LIMO part scare you away, you can afford them but you cannot afford to go with someone else.
Read Ivan Deering's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome-in-limo
Member Image Crazyoneser
1 review
Sep 2016
Unbelievable. This tour was spectacular.
Read Crazyoneser's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image TomBrem
1 review
Sep 2016
Great
Read TomBrem's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cruisefan182
1 review
Aug 2016
Absolutely packed! Must pre-book to beat the mile long queues!
Read cruisefan182's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image ValT28
1 review
Aug 2016
booked on line before we travelled. well worth the money as amazing.
Read ValT28's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Vatican city
Member Image scottrn7
1 review
Aug 2016
Excellent service and tour by Nick! Wife is disabled and he got us in close to where we needed to be. Knowledgeable and great kind service and speaks awesome English!
Read scottrn7's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image Mrmemor7
1 review
Aug 2016
historical place
Read Mrmemor7's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: myself
Member Image cheeks0274
1 review
Aug 2016
Well organised walking tour
Read cheeks0274's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image yummymummy11
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Sensory overload with all the art they have there
Read yummymummy11's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?