Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) Vatican Museums Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Vatican Museums cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the Vatican museums to see the world famous Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. Note: Go early in the morning to bypass the long lines.
Member Image PuryEnd
1 review
Jan 2016
Best of Rome with Vatican Booked via CC Forum with other fellow Epic travelers January is the time to visit Rome - low crowds you could even see the floor of the Vatican at this time of year. Felt unrushed or pushed by the lack of hordes, loved the map room even more than the Sistine Chapel but it is a wowing experience if totally exhausting day. In summer it must be complete hell.
Read PuryEnd's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: ItalyTours
Member Image lovetogobyebye
1 review
Nov 2015
3 hour tour with Isabella. Perfect guide, lovely woman with a clear voice. You can tell she loves her work and she is an artist as well. A very knowledgeable guide though the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel. I would highly recommend her.
Read lovetogobyebye's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Isabella Monari
Member Image IntelInside
2 reviews
Nov 2015
No words are good enough to describe the Vatican tour. It was breathtaking, comfortable and fun.
Read IntelInside's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image IntelInside
2 reviews
Nov 2015
This is one of the few Cruise excursions I did take to avoid long lines at the Vatican and it was a LOVELY all day trip. I made many good friends on the trip. The Vatican itself-well, no words are good enough to describe it. This is a VERY spiritual experience. Just avoid outside shops as you exist because they are NOT Vatican although they appear they are.
Read IntelInside's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mklaiber
1 review
Oct 2015
Amazing!!!!!! Angelica and Alessandro were so enchanting and gracious. They made sure we were informed about every piece of statue , every rock and every building. We loved the experience, the Vatican was so beautiful and awe inspiring. The colosseum was massive and just out of this world. St. Peter's square was beautiful as well as Trevi Fountain.
Read mklaiber's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DebbieKr
1 review
Sep 2015
Roberto of www.tours-europe.com arranged a private 3 hour tour with Nadia who got us in quickly avoiding the crowds and giving us insights into all areas of the Vatican. GREAT tour!
Read DebbieKr's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cindycakes
1 review
Sep 2015
Booked "Skip The Line Tours" and while you do skip the normal line for purchasing, there are multiple lines inside you must still wait in. Tour guide was great at bringing historical information to life and telling the stories behind the art.
Read Cindycakes's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: When In Rome Tours
Member Image Tewai
1 review
Sep 2015
Fantastic our guide was the best
Read Tewai's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Skeeterbox
1 review
Sep 2015
Great to be allowed to take pictures using flash. Now we can enjoy the beautiful museum artifacts over and over again.
Read Skeeterbox's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lee/Cy
1 review
Sep 2015
This was a repeat visit for most of our party. Really disappointed by the tour arrangements. They were insensitive to many of the guests and a much larger group then I imagined. Gave us no help to make the best use of our time. Horrible long bus ride from the port.
Read Lee/Cy's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image hawkshoe
2 reviews
Sep 2015
We hired a guide to take us through the Vatican. I can honestly say that we would never had been able to do it without her. The crowds were huge and she was able to guide us past them and onto the many sights we wanted to see.
Read hawkshoe's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image carlosuru74
1 review
Aug 2015
Good
Read carlosuru74's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tm81663
1 review
Aug 2015
We were lucky enough to book a Vatican at Night event, using audio guides, booked directly through the Vatican. This place is amazing, and has SO much to see, its overwhelming. Going at night though, somethings may not be well lit, though most was.
Read tm81663's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Directly through Vatican Museum
Member Image canadasmiles
1 review
Jul 2015
Nothing special about it
Read canadasmiles's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image intraweb
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Horrible - rude tour guide left us in Vatican typical Italy rude rude rude and no air conditioning.
Read intraweb's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CNJMILTZ
2 reviews
Jun 2015
we took our son and did our own pre-booked tour with headphones. This was fine for what we paid for.i have done the vATICAN WITH A GUIDE BEFORE WITH mills tours and that was top draw!
Read CNJMILTZ's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Myfanwy3
1 review
Jun 2015
Excellent guide. Glad not to do the tour with a 2 hour lunch stop
Read Myfanwy3's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cruise Excursions
Member Image Michael Dodd
1 review
Jun 2015
Simply awesome! Pay the extra money for a smaller group excursion.
Read Michael Dodd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Chief88
1 review
Jun 2015
Excursion included the Colosseum (external only), driving tour of Rome, lunch, and walks through the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. The tour was good but Rome needs much more time to be seen and appreciated.
Read Chief88's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image christyl
1 review
Jun 2015
glad we had the skip the line passes, otherwise plan on standing in line for 2+ hours. Next time we will book a private guide. We didn't really know what to look at, so it was more like a trip to IKEA, where you just keep walking and looking and stop every so often.
Read christyl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: shoretrips
Member Image hoopmd
1 review
May 2015
We were picked up at the dock by Philipo and brought to Laura who took us all over Rome and the Vatican. This is a walking tour with a driver to bring us to and from the port.
Read hoopmd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Laura with Private Tours of Rome
Member Image Mermaid2013
2 reviews
May 2015
Fabulous guide!
Read Mermaid2013's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Debs57
1 review
May 2015
Again amazing and booked with the other trips as one.
Read Debs57's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image justluv2cruisewithhubby
6 reviews
May 2015
We booked the Vatican breakfast tour where there is only two small groups of 15 people that eat in the pine cone courtyard at 7am then have a quite tour of the Vatican; Sistine Chapel and museum .
Read justluv2cruisewithhubby's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: City Wonders
Member Image Cruise-vacation2015
1 review
May 2015
10 hour excursion was long enough. Colosseum was pretty cool but you almost expect more! Still nice to see. The Vatican and cistine chapel were the best thing to see in Rome. The ceiling was great. You can't talk very loud, take videos or any photos of the ceiling due to Japanese copy right laws... Long story! Anyways good shore excursion :)
Read Cruise-vacation2015's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.