Rome (Civitavecchia) Vatican Museums Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Vatican Museums cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the Vatican museums to see the world famous Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. Note: Go early in the morning to bypass the long lines.
Member Image chanlynng
1 review
Sep 2016
Beautiful, very crowded, was told September was the worst month to go.
Read chanlynng's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Ivan Deering
1 review
Sep 2016
The history, painting, sculptures, what an experience. Don't let the LIMO part scare you away, you can afford them but you cannot afford to go with someone else.
Read Ivan Deering's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome-in-limo
Member Image TomBrem
1 review
Sep 2016
Great
Read TomBrem's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cruisefan182
1 review
Aug 2016
Absolutely packed! Must pre-book to beat the mile long queues!
Read cruisefan182's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image ValT28
1 review
Aug 2016
booked on line before we travelled. well worth the money as amazing.
Read ValT28's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Vatican city
Member Image Mrmemor7
1 review
Aug 2016
historical place
Read Mrmemor7's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: myself
Member Image cheeks0274
1 review
Aug 2016
Well organised walking tour
Read cheeks0274's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image yummymummy11
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Sensory overload with all the art they have there
Read yummymummy11's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image picketfences101
1 review
Jul 2016
Through Driver-in-Rome (we asked them to book) front of the line passes and a guide to the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's.
Read picketfences101's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: DriverinRome
Member Image MNloonies
1 review
Jul 2016
I'm not a museum buff so could have missed this but it was part of the Eternal City Tour.
Read MNloonies's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image arkansas travelers
1 review
Jul 2016
part of tour above - excellent
Read arkansas travelers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: CBM Tours
Member Image mallysmith
1 review
Jul 2016
If you have never seen it then its very interesting and worth the effort
Read mallysmith's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image EuropeanWanderer
1 review
Jun 2016
Great English speaking guide. Skipped the lines, guide had portfolio of museum pictures to use as highlights to what we were going to see.
Read EuropeanWanderer's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image bazzaazzab
3 reviews
May 2016
This is a wow factor and worth the extra cost, we had time in the Vatican so visited the museum, an eye opener.
Read bazzaazzab's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tahoebabe23
1 review
May 2016
We met at the foot locker and were escorted by I love Rome through the line up into the museum where we were on our own to explore the museum at our own pace. Highly recommend. Jumping the line is a HUGE time saver.
Read Tahoebabe23's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Ciao Italy / I love Rome
Member Image Jwheel
1 review
May 2016
Too crowded to go in the afternoon. We were herded through like cattle and didn't have time to take good pictures, etc. It was REALLY crowded and I wish we could have done the tour in the morning. Might be better to do the coliseum in the afternoon and vatican only in the morning, but that wasn't available to us based on when we came in
Read Jwheel's full Sirena cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Miss Nomer
1 review
May 2016
Lots to see. Walked our feet off.
Read Miss Nomer's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image iana4417
4 reviews
May 2016
Excellent tours with a great guide
Read iana4417's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rogerdas
1 review
Apr 2016
Get there early and for heavens sake, buy the skip the line pass online before you go
Read rogerdas's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image PuryEnd
1 review
Jan 2016
Best of Rome with Vatican Booked via CC Forum with other fellow Epic travelers January is the time to visit Rome - low crowds you could even see the floor of the Vatican at this time of year. Felt unrushed or pushed by the lack of hordes, loved the map room even more than the Sistine Chapel but it is a wowing experience if totally exhausting day. In summer it must be complete hell.
Read PuryEnd's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: ItalyTours
Member Image lovetogobyebye
1 review
Nov 2015
3 hour tour with Isabella. Perfect guide, lovely woman with a clear voice. You can tell she loves her work and she is an artist as well. A very knowledgeable guide though the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel. I would highly recommend her.
Read lovetogobyebye's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Isabella Monari
Member Image IntelInside
2 reviews
Nov 2015
No words are good enough to describe the Vatican tour. It was breathtaking, comfortable and fun.
Read IntelInside's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image IntelInside
2 reviews
Nov 2015
This is one of the few Cruise excursions I did take to avoid long lines at the Vatican and it was a LOVELY all day trip. I made many good friends on the trip. The Vatican itself-well, no words are good enough to describe it. This is a VERY spiritual experience. Just avoid outside shops as you exist because they are NOT Vatican although they appear they are.
Read IntelInside's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ucanown2
1 review
Nov 2015
amazing
Read ucanown2's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image mklaiber
1 review
Oct 2015
Amazing!!!!!! Angelica and Alessandro were so enchanting and gracious. They made sure we were informed about every piece of statue , every rock and every building. We loved the experience, the Vatican was so beautiful and awe inspiring. The colosseum was massive and just out of this world. St. Peter's square was beautiful as well as Trevi Fountain.
Read mklaiber's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?