Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) Vatican Museums Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Vatican Museums cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the Vatican museums to see the world famous Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. Note: Go early in the morning to bypass the long lines.
Member Image bhturtle
1 review
Sep 2014

We went hurriedly through one floor and were basically pushed along so it seemed almost meaningless. I would only return in the winter when hopefully the crowds would be less.

Read bhturtle's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image FLCRUISER007
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Too much to see but well worth seeing what you can while you are there. Again, the attention to detail is really incredible. The amount of art is overwhelming. They have a nice gift shop. They sell "The Peace Cross" and special Rosaries. The Peace Cross makes a very nice gift and you can only buy them at the Vatican.

Read FLCRUISER007's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jonasaa
2 reviews
Jun 2014

Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, St Peter's Basilica and Colosseum (Adult Only Departure)

The Vatican museum is huge, but you are just part of a big conveyor belt pushing you through it. You barely get time to take in the marvels that surround you, but it's worth to get it over with to have the "been there, done that". Once in a lifetime and so on. Probably better to go in a slower season.

Read jonasaa's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image UberShopper
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

This was so wonderful to see, especially as a Catholic. Very enjoyable experience.

Read UberShopper's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions in Italy
Member Image sonvoltken6
6 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

This was the other one we booked independently. The operator and driver we had were awesome. He got us right up to the various sites for the morning visit to Rome, then gave us some great tips for the Vatican Museum. Doing the bus with only 7 of us was great. Probably my second favorite port day.

Read sonvoltken6's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Driver in Rome
Member Image marybethhuebner
1 review
May 2014

This was so packed it is really hard to enjoy it. I even went on a Thursday do not go on a Wed.

Read marybethhuebner's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Dark Rome
Member Image riza22
3 reviews
Sep 2013
A very disappointing excursion, which advertised a quick bus tour round ancient sites, a tour of the wonders of the Vatican museum, Sistine chapel, st Peters basilica and St Peters square. We got the tour of ancient sites, with a good explanation of places seen. The tour of the Vatican museum, consisted of one corridor, so this was a big disappointment. The Sistine chapel and St Peters basilica were stunning, but the guide didn't take us to St Peters square. This excursion was in dual language, Italian and English, and because of the time lost in translating everything, the time in each place was restricted. An expensive mistake!
Read riza22's full MSC Lirica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image k8ti
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Rushed through by the guards.

Read k8ti's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image dado
5 reviews
Sep 2013

a really interesting day out

Read dado's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image krazymoi
1 review
Sep 2013

Rome/Vatican tour - this was an expensive tour and I'm glad I saw it even though I consider it "Drive by Vatican" tour. It was extremely crowded as the Pope speaks on Wednesday am and there were thousands of people crammed into the spaces. We barely had time to stop during the tour to take pictures and we walked elbow to elbow through the entire tour with many, many other groups. The Sistine Chapel was something I'm glad I saw but I would never do this tour again. An hour and 45 minutes just to get to Rome from port and then 5 hours running through everything. Do not do this tour if you aren't comfortable in a really crowded situation and aren't able to walk for 5 hours without a break. Skip it and go to on a Thursday in January when you can actually enjoy it

Read krazymoi's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tuney
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

The all day visit to the Vatican is an absolute must. Photos, and Video's cannot do justice to the scope and beauty of all these historic facilities. Similar to visiting sites like the Grand Canyon of the Colorado, there is no way to describe it unless you have been there in person.

we recommend booking the tour with the cruise line in order to see the most in the limited time available. The Vatican is very crowded (estimates are 30,000+ visitors per day). The tour operators are able to bypass most of the lines waiting to gain entrance to the various venues as well a providing a great deal of interesting information about all the artifacts that you are seeing.

One detail, in the literature this tour is rated as moderately strenuous but we feel that because of the amount of walking and the number of steps to be climbed as well as the length of the tour, it should be rated as strenuous. My wife was exausted and sore by the end of the day but, she would not have missed it for the world.

Read Tuney's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Henners
2 reviews
Aug 2013

The same tour as offered with Royal Caribbean, I love Rome been both of the last two years, recommend everyone to go

Read Henners's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Crise Excursions
Member Image lostg8rinva
1 review
Aug 2013

The Vatican is a beautiful and stunning place.

Read lostg8rinva's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruise XYZ
4 reviews
Jul 2013

Beautiful

Read Cruise XYZ's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CARMAD65
1 review
Jun 2013

Just too much to see in too short a time but well worth the visit. Very crowded.

Read CARMAD65's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image blue7870
1 review
Jun 2013

Knowledgeable guide, very organized... though supremely crowded and HOT.

Read blue7870's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Quem_Fala
3 reviews
Jun 2013

Wonderful experience, learned a lot. This where our English-speaking guide really shined. Pointing out little known facts and helping us through by selecting only the best highlights in our limited time. Would go again.

Read Quem_Fala's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Exclusively Italy - L Ali Sul Mondo
Member Image retired2012
1 review
Oct 2012
Vatican museums are priceless. So, so much to see. Our tour guide, Lisa, was excellent.
Read retired2012's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: RomeInLimo
Member Image respotrichie
1 review
Oct 2012
Our guided tour of Rome including the Sistine Chapel and the Vatican Museums was the high point of our tour. We ordered our tickets ahead of time so that we did not have to wait in the long lines for tickets and had more time to see the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel. The Trevi Fountain was also on our tour and we had a scheduled stop there also and the Colosseum was fantastic.
Read respotrichie's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Port Promotions.com
Member Image sammygoose
1 review
Oct 2012
It's a lot, too much for one day but for the time we had A++++ to the tour guide and the lunch. Excellent.
Read sammygoose's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image la bon
1 review
Sep 2012
there was so much to see in two hours that we spent at Vatican that we couldn't possibly take it all in. our guide Max was very knowledgeable and we covered much. One day we'd like to return for a much longer stay.
Read la bon's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Neet New Jersey
1 review
Sep 2012
Way too crowded, no controls and no air conditioning but spectacular sights.
Read Neet New Jersey's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions.com
Member Image ruby0512
1 review
Sep 2012
Saw lots but way too long on our feet in the heat without a break. I suggesst factoring in a morning tea break as we didnt have lunch until 1 and i was nearly collapsing by then. The tour guide knew her stuff but i am sure the majority of people would rather have had a shortened version and had some time to shop
Read ruby0512's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image montys a cruiser
1 review
Sep 2012
Long queues and a bit rushed through the areas, place is a bit of a maze to find the exit, every where you went there was shop counters to part you from your money. place to visit when there are less crowds. wonderful place though
Read montys a cruiser's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mini Urga
1 review
Aug 2012
Rudy used an associated to take us around the Vatican Museums. (Massimo) my 10 yr old son found it very interesting. Massimo took his ipad and explained lots of info about the mosaics and paintings in detail. He kept our attention and showed us lots of interesting things.
Read Mini Urga's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rudy At Rome Cars
Member Image deecafecruiser
1 review
Aug 2012
We paid extra to have a private tour guide. The group was small with about 10 people. Our guide was a walking historian. This is a tour one could take 25 times and not see everything. I think that we had a great overview. It was well organized and well conducted.
Read deecafecruiser's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image euroman1995
1 review
Jul 2012
Excellent tour, guide did a great job describing all the sites we drove by(included stopping, so pictures could be taken). This tour included a drive by all the major attractions within Rome. Due to the high heat when we where in Rome, it was a godsend to be in an air conditioned bus. The tour of the Vatican Museum was a pleasure to see. The Sistine Chapel is a marvel to see(though many ignorant people do not obey the rules of NO VIDEO OR PICTURES, guards constantly yelling at people to stop taking pictures. Luckily they do not carry guns or tasers or it could get messy in there). Tour of the Basilica is amazing, pictures do no justice then actually being inside this marvelous Basilica. Tour ended in St. Peter's Square, with free time after the guided tour finished. We where only given 1-1/2 hours of free time to shop & take in a light lunch. This was due to problems which occurred with the speaker system on the bus being corrected prior to the start of the Rome Tour(lost about 40 minutes fixing, before tour started).
Read euroman1995's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Tail Gunner
1 review
Jun 2012
Go at night to beat the heat and crowds
Read Tail Gunner's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image barcafan
1 review
Jun 2012
Mauro was our very knowledgeable guide to the Vatican- outstanding.
Read barcafan's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: RomeInLimo
Member Image glpondo
1 review
Jun 2012
Too crowded but beautiful! Rushed thru!
Read glpondo's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image J&J PDX Cruisers
2 reviews
May 2012
Picked the worst possible day to go. There was a religious holiday that day (not the fault of the cruise line, obviously), however, we were not told in advance that this was the case. St. Peter's was an absolute zoo and the crowds were simply stifling. The "skip the line" tour really provided little advantage and because of the number of people in the area, we had little choice but to skip going into St. Peter's itself. We would have at least appreciated a heads up by the operator (Viator) so we would have had the option of picking a different tour.
Read J&J PDX Cruisers's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image HRISGirl
1 review
Sep 2011
Rome is very crowded which took away some of the pleasure of the excursion. The Vatican museum was disappointing. There were tens of thousands of people taking a tour and you had to keep moving. You really didn't get the opportunity to stop and really look around.
Read HRISGirl's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.