Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) St. Peter's Square Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) St. Peter's Square cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience the wondrous scenery and history in St. Peter's Square, located directly in front of St. Peter's Basilica in the Vatican City.
Member Image CATHERINECLYNES
1 review
Nov 2014


Breathtaking

Read CATHERINECLYNES's full Costa Favolosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image bhturtle
1 review
Sep 2014

I would have skipped the Vatican if I had to do it over. So crowded. The guards just kept pushing us along so any viewing was for a very brief time. The art is exquisite of course, but the riches seemed to me excessive and left me uncomfortable.

Read bhturtle's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Stroppymare
1 review
Aug 2014

Panoramic Rome.
Excellent guide. This tour took in Colosseum, Forum, St Peters, V E monument, Borghese Gardens, Castel St Angelo, Circo Maximo to name just a few.
Only 45 mins in St Peters Square so not long to do much more than take a few photos and absorb the atmosphere.
Visit to leather factory en route - in my opinion the time could have been better spent. All the items were very expensive. Would have preferred a few photo stops instead.

Read Stroppymare's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image harveyanger
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

The guided tour was great we saw lots of the sights of Rome in one day. This was a very active day with lots of walking but plenty to see - i would love to do it all again to capture the sights a second time.

Read harveyanger's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image JemIB66
5 reviews
Oct 2013

Following the panoramic tour of the city, we had one hour of free time to roam around St Peter's Square

Read JemIB66's full Costa Mediterranea cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image Cardiff Owl
1 review
Sep 2013

Before we arrived here our guide explained the route over the Bridge of Angels and the history of Vaticans establishment + points along the way that would afford good photo opportunities. Having the build up was useful and avllowed the talking to be spaced out and not be continuous.

Read Cardiff Owl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Tuney
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

The all day visit to the Vatican is an absolute must. Photos, and Video's cannot do justice to the scope and beauty of all these historic facilities. Similar to visiting sites like the Grand Canyon of the Colorado, there is no way to describe it unless you have been there in person.

we recommend booking the tour with the cruise line in order to see the most in the limited time available. The Vatican is very crowded (estimates are 30,000+ visitors per day). The tour operators are able to bypass most of the lines waiting to gain entrance to the various venues as well a providing a great deal of interesting information about all the artifacts that you are seeing.

One detail, in the literature this tour is rated as moderately strenuous but we feel that because of the amount of walking and the number of steps to be climbed as well as the length of the tour, it should be rated as strenuous. My wife was exausted and sore by the end of the day but, she would not have missed it for the world.

Read Tuney's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Daretodream
2 reviews
Jul 2013

i didnt go inside and heard that everyone was husseled through.

Read Daretodream's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image hoytlakes
1 review
Mar 2013
Best tour we had on entire trip. Best tour guide we had on entire trip. She was wonderful.
Read hoytlakes's full Costa Pacifica cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image canehdn
3 reviews
Feb 2013
Exceptional tour. Our guide had such passion and enthusiasm and taught us all so much history about the Vatican tour we took. Was booked as a 3-hour tour and she stretched it to 4 hours and we were all grateful for the extra time.
Read canehdn's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: When in Rome Tours
Member Image Supplyman
5 reviews
Oct 2012
This tour was a walking tour with many stops. Guide did a great job. Lunch inclued.
Read Supplyman's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image retired2012
1 review
Oct 2012
Our driver/tour guide met us at the ship. Maurizio, gave us a good explanation of what we would be seeing and set up our day so it would have a good flow. He arranged lunch for us at a local eatery and the food was fantastic. Unfortunately our ship docked late due to some issue at the Rome port so this really cut into our time in Rome. There is soooooo much to see in Rome that 8 hours does not do it justice. Our driver/tour guide showed us as much as he could with the time allowed we were rushed but he brought us to all the highlights of the city and returned us to the port in time - even accommodating us with a request to stop for gelato.
Read retired2012's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: RomeInLimo
Member Image spikedshoe
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
Massive crowds for the weekly (Wednesday) appearance of the Pope which we had to pass on in order to see round the city.
Read spikedshoe's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CommuterBob
1 review
Oct 2012
While the square is impressive, the guide only gave us an hour to see it and the St. Peter's Basilica. There was a 2-hour wait to get into the basilica so there was no way we could get in to see it. Plus the fact that we were in Rome on a Sunday when the Vatican museum is closed made it pretty disappointing.
Read CommuterBob's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image la bon
1 review
Sep 2012
Just as it looks on television, it was great to just stand there and imagine!
Read la bon's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image montys a cruiser
1 review
Sep 2012
Bit disappointed expected it to be much bigger, be warned do not eat anywhere by the square. we had 4 coffee's slice of pizza, and a ham role 55 euros. you have been warned.
Read montys a cruiser's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Princessa22
1 review
Sep 2012
Beautiful to see. We were not able to get into the Sistine chapel as it was Sunday. Be prepared for lots of people there. Stay with your guide.
Read Princessa22's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image nicky63
1 review
Aug 2012
Coach transfer and parking very close to all sites. Minimal walking. guide very instructive though ear pieces needed upgrading. Glad not go into colosseum as long queues and couldnt take bags in. Could leave things on coach so not need to carry lots.
Read nicky63's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Stephen James
1 review
Jun 2012
This was a very good tour well worth the visit
Read Stephen James's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image CyberTag
2 reviews
Jun 2012
St. Peter's Square was wonderful.
Read CyberTag's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image glpondo
1 review
Jun 2012
Didn't see too much! Rushed thru!
Read glpondo's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Nanagoes
1 review
Jun 2012
Because it was Sunday afternoon, this was not crowded and very enjoyable, albeit hot. Entered St. Peter's without a wait and enjoyed it very much.
Read Nanagoes's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Stephen Tompkins
1 review
May 2012
Too many people selling fake designer goods, too many beggars.
Read Stephen Tompkins's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image 2212tillman
1 review
May 2012
Too long to get to Rome from Port, left just a short time, less than an hour of free time. Views from the coach of the sites was good but no opportunity to stop and take photos. We will go solo next time
Read 2212tillman's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Linda Swanson
1 review
May 2012
Our tour guide was phenomenal. Her knowledge was amazing. Everything about Rome was fantastic, can't wait to go back.
Read Linda Swanson's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image honeybee100
1 review
May 2012
No time to take pictures in the square or time to wander.
Read honeybee100's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Californiasure
1 review
May 2012
Visiting the Vatican means lots of waiting in line. It is worth every minute though. A once in a life time thrill.
Read Californiasure's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HRISGirl
1 review
Sep 2011
St. Peter's Square was also disappointing. The pope made an appearance in the morning so most of the square was blocked off and there were huge white screens everywhere so people could get a better view of the pope. Unfortunately, the view of the Vatican and the square was obstructed.
Read HRISGirl's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.