Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) St. Peter's Square Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) St. Peter's Square cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience the wondrous scenery and history in St. Peter's Square, located directly in front of St. Peter's Basilica in the Vatican City.
Member Image Beh Soo seng
1 review
Nov 2015
Long queue to go into St. Peter's Basilica. Had been inside before, so give it a pass!
Read Beh Soo seng's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sharonfensome
1 review
Nov 2015
Very emotional experience
Read sharonfensome's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mklaiber
1 review
Oct 2015
Amazing!!!!!! Angelica and Alessandro were so enchanting and gracious. They made sure we were informed about every piece of statue , every rock and every building. We loved the experience, the Vatican was so beautiful and awe inspiring. The colosseum was massive and just out of this world. St. Peter's square was beautiful as well as Trevi Fountain.
Read mklaiber's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cindycakes
1 review
Sep 2015
Walked all around the area, saw the Vatican Guards, building architecture, and great place for people watching. There is a Vatican Post Office to purchase stamps and mail postcards/letters from. Bathrooms scarce.
Read Cindycakes's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: When In Rome Tours
Member Image Tewai
1 review
Sep 2015
Great guide
Read Tewai's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Skeeterbox
1 review
Sep 2015
Although we only got to see the outside, it was a magnificent sight to see.
Read Skeeterbox's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image carlosuru74
1 review
Aug 2015
No enough time
Read carlosuru74's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GrandmotherCruiser
1 review
Jul 2015
Hot but beautiful.
Read GrandmotherCruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image crosby09
1 review
Jun 2015
Too short of time
Read crosby09's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AlabamaBeachCat
1 review
Jun 2015
We booked tickets online for St. Peter's Basillica, after inquiring whether this was wheelchair accessible. We were assured it was, but when we arrived, we were turned away as there is no elevator and many, many steps down to the tombs. We were finally given a refund for one ticket as I chose not to go since she couldn't go. Very disappointing experience.
Read AlabamaBeachCat's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cruisin50th65
1 review
Jun 2015
Amazing, very large, wasnt to crowded when we went after lunch. Allow 2-2 1/2hrs. At least. For Vatican,st. Peters , Sistine chapel.
Read Cruisin50th65's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Myfanwy3
1 review
Jun 2015
Fabulous and impressive
Read Myfanwy3's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cruise Excursions
Member Image hoopmd
1 review
May 2015
Laura took us everywhere on foot and she had an excellent knowledge base plus was fun to spend the day with
Read hoopmd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Laura with Private Tours of Rome
Member Image Sciare
1 review
May 2015
Interesting
Read Sciare's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Through Eternity
Member Image Debs57
1 review
May 2015
Excellent to actually be there and see the size of everything. Even the Swiss guards.
Read Debs57's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image justluv2cruisewithhubby
6 reviews
May 2015
We booked the Vatican breakfast tour where there is only two small groups of 15 people that eat in the pine cone courtyard at 7am then have a quite tour of the Vatican; Sistine Chapel and museum .
Read justluv2cruisewithhubby's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: City Wonders
Member Image MDDermanelian
2 reviews
May 2015
Wish we would of had more time, but there is so much to see that one day is just not enough. We would need a week for Rome all by itself to see everything we wanted.
Read MDDermanelian's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lagapeach
2 reviews
May 2015
Drive by
Read lagapeach's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MSunshine
1 review
Apr 2015
We arrived at 3 pm on Wednesday but were not there for the Pope's appearance at 10:30 am. Amazing to see where thousands of people wait for the presence of the Pope.
Read MSunshine's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Willemien
1 review
Apr 2015
For free, but lots of people! Wonderful walking tour with 15 people. Excellent, well organised, cheaper than most tours, using public transfers. Capable guide. Will use CBM again! Well done!
Read Willemien's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Can't be missed tours
Member Image CATHERINECLYNES
1 review
Nov 2014


Breathtaking

Read CATHERINECLYNES's full Costa Favolosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image bhturtle
1 review
Sep 2014

I would have skipped the Vatican if I had to do it over. So crowded. The guards just kept pushing us along so any viewing was for a very brief time. The art is exquisite of course, but the riches seemed to me excessive and left me uncomfortable.

Read bhturtle's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Stroppymare
1 review
Aug 2014

Panoramic Rome.
Excellent guide. This tour took in Colosseum, Forum, St Peters, V E monument, Borghese Gardens, Castel St Angelo, Circo Maximo to name just a few.
Only 45 mins in St Peters Square so not long to do much more than take a few photos and absorb the atmosphere.
Visit to leather factory en route - in my opinion the time could have been better spent. All the items were very expensive. Would have preferred a few photo stops instead.

Read Stroppymare's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image harveyanger
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

The guided tour was great we saw lots of the sights of Rome in one day. This was a very active day with lots of walking but plenty to see - i would love to do it all again to capture the sights a second time.

Read harveyanger's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image JemIB66
5 reviews
Oct 2013

Following the panoramic tour of the city, we had one hour of free time to roam around St Peter's Square

Read JemIB66's full Costa Mediterranea cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.