Rome (Civitavecchia) St. Peter's Square Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) St. Peter's Square cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience the wondrous scenery and history in St. Peter's Square, located directly in front of St. Peter's Basilica in the Vatican City.
Member Image Kate S
1 review
Jul 2016
It was expensive, but worth it. We saw the Colosseum, St. Peter’s, Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. The Colosseum tour included the underground and it was excellent. We didn’t wait in line and had access to areas that general admission guests did not have. It is a 10-hour day as Rome is about 1.5 hours from the pier. Wear comfortable shoes! It was very, very, hot. Be sure to read all tour requirements. There are clothing requirements for St. Peter’s and there are no exceptions. I forgot to bring a scarf, but thankfully another tour guest had a scarf I could use (to cover my shoulders). There was some free time to wander and shop but you MUST be back at the meeting point on time – the tour continues with or without you. One guest on another tour in Rome got separated from his group and lost the emergency number everyone gets…just in case. It cost him $200 Euro to get back to the ship via taxi as he did not know how to access the public transportation (train) system that was much cheaper. We did not find this excursion overly taxing in terms of physical exertion (we are both 50 and in relatively good shape). We had plenty of time at all locations to take photos.
Read Kate S's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image picketfences101
1 review
Jul 2016
We booked DriverinRome on 2 days (both Rome port days) to take us from the ship to Pantheon, Colosseum, Circus Maximus, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Roman Forum. The second port day, we toured the Vatican, St. Peter's Basilica and Sistine Chapel.
Read picketfences101's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: DriverinRome
Member Image MNloonies
1 review
Jul 2016
Also part of the Eternal City tour. St Peter's Square was much larger than I thought it would be. Saw the chimney where the smoke comes out when a pope is picked. Very interesting and great photo stop.
Read MNloonies's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cheyshecruiser
1 review
Jul 2016
Our driver Marco was the best guide we had the whole cruise and we had a guide in every port. He took us to a fantastic restaurant for lunch and was genuinely interested in what we wanted to see. He gave us as much time as we needed and was very friendly and funny. All 4 teenagers loved him. Very laid back and accommodating. We saw St Peter's Square from different vantage points. It was gorgeous.
Read Cheyshecruiser's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Miles and Miles
Member Image Viva Las VegasBruiser1
1 review
Jul 2016
great
Read Viva Las VegasBruiser1's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mchelle2470
1 review
Jul 2016
Beautiful !!!! And hot in July!!! It's all open so plan to bring a hat or small umbrella for shade.
Read Mchelle2470's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mallysmith
1 review
Jul 2016
Grand with great views of the Vatican as you stand back
Read mallysmith's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sunny Kochhar
1 review
May 2016
It is part of the trip to St Peters Basilica. The square is nice with the imposing figures of 140 saints all around it
Read Sunny Kochhar's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bazzaazzab
2 reviews
May 2016
Another wow factor, a must visit.
Read bazzaazzab's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Miss Nomer
1 review
May 2016
Great Views
Read Miss Nomer's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Juffer
1 review
May 2016
Was fantastic seeing Vatican huge queues so as our time was short didn't go in also didn't realise when a new pope is celebrated the chimney is only put up temporarily.very interesting city next time would go with cruise excursions as they seemingly saw more.
Read Juffer's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ucanown2
1 review
Nov 2015
serene
Read ucanown2's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Beh Soo seng
1 review
Nov 2015
Long queue to go into St. Peter's Basilica. Had been inside before, so give it a pass!
Read Beh Soo seng's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sharonfensome
1 review
Nov 2015
Very emotional experience
Read sharonfensome's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mklaiber
1 review
Oct 2015
Amazing!!!!!! Angelica and Alessandro were so enchanting and gracious. They made sure we were informed about every piece of statue , every rock and every building. We loved the experience, the Vatican was so beautiful and awe inspiring. The colosseum was massive and just out of this world. St. Peter's square was beautiful as well as Trevi Fountain.
Read mklaiber's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cindycakes
1 review
Sep 2015
Walked all around the area, saw the Vatican Guards, building architecture, and great place for people watching. There is a Vatican Post Office to purchase stamps and mail postcards/letters from. Bathrooms scarce.
Read Cindycakes's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: When In Rome Tours
Member Image Tewai
1 review
Sep 2015
Great guide
Read Tewai's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Skeeterbox
1 review
Sep 2015
Although we only got to see the outside, it was a magnificent sight to see.
Read Skeeterbox's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image carlosuru74
1 review
Aug 2015
No enough time
Read carlosuru74's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GrandmotherCruiser
1 review
Jul 2015
Hot but beautiful.
Read GrandmotherCruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image crosby09
1 review
Jun 2015
Too short of time
Read crosby09's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AlabamaBeachCat
1 review
Jun 2015
We booked tickets online for St. Peter's Basillica, after inquiring whether this was wheelchair accessible. We were assured it was, but when we arrived, we were turned away as there is no elevator and many, many steps down to the tombs. We were finally given a refund for one ticket as I chose not to go since she couldn't go. Very disappointing experience.
Read AlabamaBeachCat's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cruisin50th65
1 review
Jun 2015
Amazing, very large, wasnt to crowded when we went after lunch. Allow 2-2 1/2hrs. At least. For Vatican,st. Peters , Sistine chapel.
Read Cruisin50th65's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Myfanwy3
1 review
Jun 2015
Fabulous and impressive
Read Myfanwy3's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cruise Excursions
Member Image hoopmd
1 review
May 2015
Laura took us everywhere on foot and she had an excellent knowledge base plus was fun to spend the day with
Read hoopmd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Laura with Private Tours of Rome

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?