Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) Sistine Chapel Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Sistine Chapel cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Step inside the Sistine Chapel and feast your eyes on the most famous frescoes ever painted. You'll soon understand why so many consider Michelangelo to be an artist without peer.
Member Image Peachi
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Day 9 Rome
We were downstairs on deck 4 at 6:20 am, trying to get the first bus off the boat. We were way too early, no one else came down to wait in line until 7:30 am. However, the sunrise in Rome was gorgeous and we got to watch while drinking coffee on the promenade. We took an excursion from Rick Steve's suggestion Cant Be Missed tours (65 euro per person) got to the port entrance and had to take a free mandatory 20 minute port shuttle to the end of the port, then get on another 5-10 min shuttle that gets to the train station for round trip .80 euro cents. Be sure to have euro handy for this port. After the first shuttle, the tour guide basically told us to get in line and head to the train station so don't bother checking in with CBM Tours at the shuttle stop but you will be checked in at the train station. We saw the Pantheon, Vatican (21euro each) Sistine chapel, St marks square, Spanish steps, Colosseum (inside costs 12 euro more and I thought well worth it) Trevi Fountain (under construction) - basically all of the majors in Rome in one day. You skip all lines and walk ALOT on this tour. Not many restrooms, don't drink a lot, and you won't have longer than a 10 minute break all day. Be sure to use breaks to your advantage If you want souvenirs. We were escorted the entire time by locals and it was a wonderful tour. We got back to the train station well before we needed to, or so I thought. But the train was 20 min late pushing us dangerously close to the 6pm last shuttle to the boat. The shuttle from the train station to the port bus shuttle was very full and we decided to walk- the local guide said it was a 15 min walk and easy to find. Big mistake, although we enjoyed the walk, we got lost in the dark, it's very difficult to navigate and we were 4min shy of missing the last shuttle.

Read Peachi's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Cant Be Missed
Member Image FLCRUISER007
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Small but impressive. If you like art you will be impressed by the detail. Plan on having your shoulders and knees covered to get in. No photography allowed and it's strictly guarded.

Read FLCRUISER007's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image UberShopper
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Amazing! Sure it's crowded and the guards are rude, but it's all worth it.

Read UberShopper's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions in Italy
Member Image marybethhuebner
1 review
May 2014

Way to crowded and noisy. Esp with the Guards yelling quiet and move to the center please.

Read marybethhuebner's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Dark Rome
Member Image k8ti
1 review
Sep 2013

A whole day just would not give you enough time to digest the art.

Read k8ti's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Tuney
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

The all day visit to the Vatican is an absolute must. Photos, and Video's cannot do justice to the scope and beauty of all these historic facilities. Similar to visiting sites like the Grand Canyon of the Colorado, there is no way to describe it unless you have been there in person.

we recommend booking the tour with the cruise line in order to see the most in the limited time available. The Vatican is very crowded (estimates are 30,000+ visitors per day). The tour operators are able to bypass most of the lines waiting to gain entrance to the various venues as well a providing a great deal of interesting information about all the artifacts that you are seeing.

One detail, in the literature this tour is rated as moderately strenuous but we feel that because of the amount of walking and the number of steps to be climbed as well as the length of the tour, it should be rated as strenuous. My wife was exausted and sore by the end of the day but, she would not have missed it for the world.

Read Tuney's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image lostg8rinva
1 review
Aug 2013

Incredible!!! Everyone who goes to Rome must experience this place!

Read lostg8rinva's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruise XYZ
4 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Wasn't as impressed as I thought I would be.

Read Cruise XYZ's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CARMAD65
1 review
Jun 2013

First time visit and was overawed, just a pity it was so crowded

Read CARMAD65's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image pathmeister
1 review
Nov 2012
Rome was not meant to be seen in a day, but the historic tour including Vatican City, Sistine Chapel, and St Peter's Basilica was outstanding. There is LOTS of walking, and of note, the lunch break is not until almost 2PM, so make sure you eat a hearty breakfast. The port is over an hour from Rome.
Read pathmeister's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image gatorbak
1 review
Oct 2012
Used Easy Italy. Very happy with the service. Rome is awesome, if not a little overwhelming. We saw the standard stuff. Visited Colosseum, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, drove by some other stuff. Then visited Vatican for a 3 hour guided tour. Highly recommend getting a guide for Vatican. You've spent all this money to get here, nice to know what you are looking at. Keep in mind I am writing this review as a first time visitor to Italy.
Read gatorbak's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Easy Italy
Member Image retired2012
1 review
Oct 2012
the disappointment with the Sistine chapel has nothing to do with our tour guide or tour operator. The disappointment is with the people who were in this church, talking out loud, taking pictures when both are clearly disallowed. Besides having this information - NO Talking, NO pictures allowed published in every language imaginable, they also played a recording. People continued to talk and take pictures the whole time. You could not sit and revel in the beauty and history with hundreds of people being so disrespectful. Even other tour guides going in with their crowd of 50 plus people and talking inside the chapel. Our tour guide explained everything to us outside the chapel and then met us outside the chapel when we were done.
Read retired2012's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: RomeInLimo
Member Image respotrichie
1 review
Oct 2012
The Sistine Chapel WOW just sums it up. Just fantastic,
Read respotrichie's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: PortPromotions.com
Member Image la bon
1 review
Sep 2012
Overwhelmingly beautiful, every inch, Michelangelo's ceiling was amazing. The city of Rome is mind boggling!!
Read la bon's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Neet New Jersey
1 review
Sep 2012
Way too crowded, not controls and no air conditioning. It was a letdown.
Read Neet New Jersey's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions.com
Member Image montys a cruiser
1 review
Sep 2012
Queue was huge, our guide said it would take 15 minutes to enter the chapel. she was right we started queuing and was in the chapel within the 15 minutes. do not miss this, its simply outstanding
Read montys a cruiser's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image FePerk
3 reviews
Sep 2012
Rome: We took the "Ultimate Rome" excursion. Again, pricey, but it was excellent and we saw a ton of Rome, in a small group of 6, with an outstanding guide. Great tour.
Read FePerk's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image L16GSY
1 review
Aug 2012
Its a 1.5 hour drive from the port into Rome, our guide told us all about the Colliseum, went with us to gain entry then promptly disappeared until it was time to meet up again. A complete waste of money without an explanation of the historical site which we had paid for! Same with the Vatican, took us inside to get our tickets then scarpered quicker than a rat going up a drain pipe!!!
Read L16GSY's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: cruisingexcursions
Member Image glpondo
1 review
Jun 2012
Too crowded but beautiful!
Read glpondo's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kathy Terry
1 review
May 2012
There is so much to see, this tour was the more expensive tour but well worth it! We bypassed the lines for everything. We didn't just do a drive by like some of the excursions do. I wish we had one more day to see more. It was crowded but beautiful!!!! loved it.
Read Kathy Terry's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image honeybee100
1 review
May 2012
A must see whether or not you're religious.
Read honeybee100's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lynn and John Plant
1 review
Apr 2012
As above, beautiful but too busy
Read Lynn and John Plant's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image marvick5520
2 reviews
Apr 2012
Civitavecchia is the gateway to Rome and is about an hour away. Traffic is good until you hit the ring road entering Rome. Our Rome tour started a city highlights of interest on the way to the Colosseum and the view of these sites are from the bus. Stopped at the Colosseum for 40 minutes just enough time for a few pictures as there must be thousands of tourists waiting in line to enter. Then off to an earlier lunch as the tour guide scheduled the Vatican tour at 1pm. The Vatican guide greeted us o/s of the Vatican Museum and this is one tour you need to do it with a tour company as there must be thousands waiting in line to get in. Walked thru the Museum, Sistine Chapel (it was packed), Basilica (at some point you need not move as the crowd will move you along), then off to the St Peter Square. This tour just get you a taste of Vacation and all the other historical sites of Rome. Then another 1 or so bus ride back to the ship.
Read marvick5520's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HRISGirl
1 review
Sep 2011
Not as impressive as I thought it would be. The guards do maintain order and quiet.
Read HRISGirl's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image VEGAS-CRUISER
1 review
Aug 2011
Combined tour but we were told to see chapel on our own but got lost. Guide for this was not part of advance tickets.
Read VEGAS-CRUISER's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Spitfire8
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2011
too spiritual, too beautiful for me to say with mere words. Go see it and take it in...
Read Spitfire8's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.