Rome (Civitavecchia) Sistine Chapel Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Sistine Chapel cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Step inside the Sistine Chapel and feast your eyes on the most famous frescoes ever painted. You'll soon understand why so many consider Michelangelo to be an artist without peer.
Member Image TomBrem
1 review
Sep 2016
Great excursion. Have to take an excrusion since Rome is about 15 miles away fro the port.
Read TomBrem's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image gayechristiansen
1 review
Sep 2016
Loved the Sistine Chapel. Did not like our tour guide. We were in a bus with 40 elderly people and she walked so fast I was worried that we would lose half of our group. She would tell us that she had something to tell us and then just yell at the people to gather and not tell us anything. Luckily we had our "Rick Steve" downloads that we listened to before going into the Sistine Chapel. It truly is a "Must See" place.
Read gayechristiansen's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ValT28
1 review
Aug 2016
amazing
Read ValT28's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Vatican city
Member Image pete19808
1 review
Aug 2016
Best tour of the cruise. The Sistine Chapel is indescibable. The interesting tidbits from the tour guide made this a must-see.
Read pete19808's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Islaverde
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Did Vatican/ tour with Joe Bananas
Read Islaverde's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Joe Bananas
Member Image Novicefranz
1 review
Aug 2016
Guide Ingrid was quite good but would have preferred an Italian and a bit more political commentary.
Read Novicefranz's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Share-a shore
Member Image Chars3011
1 review
Aug 2016
Good
Read Chars3011's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image yummymummy11
2 reviews
Aug 2016
The guide rushed us through so quickly I hardly had time to see it
Read yummymummy11's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image picketfences101
1 review
Jul 2016
Through Driver-in-Rome (we asked them to book) front of the line passes and a guide to the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's.
Read picketfences101's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: DriverinRome
Member Image MNloonies
1 review
Jul 2016
Magnificent!
Read MNloonies's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cheyshecruiser
1 review
Jul 2016
Our guide Fredrica was awesome. She gave us just the right amount of information before our trek through the crowd. She was not one bit boring even for our 4 teens. She moved at a perfect pace for us. We loved her. The Sistine Chapel is a must see.
Read Cheyshecruiser's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Miles and Miles
Member Image vk3307
1 review
Jul 2016
Our guide was an art history teacher who does tours in the summer. She was outstanding, knowledgeable and patient with my family. She was able to get us thru the shortcut and we had more time in the Chapel and in the Basilica. The chapel is beautiful, not exactly what I expected, but I was awestruck by the work that was done by the great Michaelangelo.
Read vk3307's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo, Romina
Member Image mallysmith
1 review
Jul 2016
The artwork is outstanding and a must see.
Read mallysmith's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jlonomore
1 review
Jul 2016
Booked fast track ticket at St Peter's. Walk to Vatican City is about 20-30 mins. Queuing time was only about 15 mins but once inside we were herded through the museums for around 1.5 hrs before finally reaching the Sictine Chapel. The Chapel itself wasn't impressive and our time inside was spent being herded around and shouted at to be silent. Had I known I wouldn't have bothered.
Read Jlonomore's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: N/A
Member Image yogini06
1 review
Jun 2016
Great early morning tour before they opened for the day. I highly recommend this tour!
Read yogini06's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: City Wonders
Member Image EuropeanWanderer
1 review
Jun 2016
Great English speaking guide. Skipped the lines, guide had portfolio of museum pictures to use as highlights to what we were going to see.
Read EuropeanWanderer's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image tkarpinski
1 review
Jun 2016
Museum very crowded and we lost our tour guide after one hour (out of a three hour tour)
Read tkarpinski's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image bazzaazzab
3 reviews
May 2016
Worth visiting.
Read bazzaazzab's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tahoebabe23
1 review
May 2016
Sistine Chapel was part of our Vatican Museums tour. The tour afforded us to jump the line.
Read Tahoebabe23's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Ciao Italy/ I love Rome
Member Image Miss Nomer
1 review
May 2016
Noise levels too high, crowded. Not a good experience.
Read Miss Nomer's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Kmptamale72
1 review
May 2016
Way to crowded. We couldn't enjoy looking at anything because we had to keep the tour guide in sight so we wouldn't lose her. Glad I can say I saw it but WAY too many people for me. It was deifinitely a benefit having the tour si ce we bypassed the line.
Read Kmptamale72's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image maryewoods1@gmail.com
1 review
May 2016
Fantastic, but very crowded. City guide was great and worked well with the guide on the bus to keep the group together and help those who needed special assistance.
Read maryewoods1@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image rogerdas
1 review
Apr 2016
No pictures allowed unfortunately as they had guards to check.
Read rogerdas's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ucanown2
1 review
Nov 2015
interesting
Read ucanown2's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Thane1010
1 review
Oct 2015
We did a new excursion that included the Pope's Summer Residence Gardens, the Vatican Museum and the Sistene Chapel. It was a full day and felt like it. We went on a Wednesday and the Pope had given an address in St Peters Sq that morning so it was particularly busy. I was also told later that 800 coaches from cruise ships had gone to Rome that day. The Vatican and the Sistene Chapel were unbelievably crowded, they do not run on a timed ticket basis and basically let everyone in who has paid, there were places were you could barely move your arms you were so tightly packed in. The Sistene Chapel is meant to be the most holy place as it is the Pope's private chapel but they packed so many people in that is was almost unbearable. I would recommend this excursion but be careful about choosing when you go.
Read Thane1010's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?