Rome (Civitavecchia) Sistine Chapel Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Sistine Chapel cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Step inside the Sistine Chapel and feast your eyes on the most famous frescoes ever painted. You'll soon understand why so many consider Michelangelo to be an artist without peer.
Member Image Pfeilm
1 review
Nov 2016
Skip the Line Vatican Museum with St Peter's, Sistine Chapel and Small Group Upgrade. Tour guide Nina was phenomenal. Tour started as soon as all arrived and moved along well. We were inside by 9:00a and security was a breeze. Nina was informative and entertaining. For a small petite woman she could graciously part the crowd and keep things moving. Four hours flew by. Note: Sistine Chapel is magnificent but would recommend trying to get an after hour tour if you can afford it. Way too many people, no place to sit and enjoy unless lucky, and noisy. Recommend: yes, both the tour and Nina... Particularly Nina.
Read Pfeilm's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Annettetony1
1 review
Oct 2016
Whilst in the sistene chapel we were fortunate to receive a blessing.
Read Annettetony1's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cm1317
1 review
Oct 2016
Beautiful but VERY crowded in October
Read cm1317's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Party Patticake
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Mobs and mobs of people. I got claustrophobic and overheated in the Vatican Museum and couldn't find an exit. Was on the verge of panicking. Tour quite was handsome but couldn't speak English well. Missed most of what he said.
Read Party Patticake's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Bogie2016
1 review
Sep 2016
Beautiful but extremely crowed shoulder to shoulder. Had to wait 45 minutes while the tour guide went to find tour members who wnet shopping.
Read Bogie2016's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image chanlynng
1 review
Sep 2016
Definitely not what I expected- although beautiful, it was so crowded and people were so rude- it really took away from the beauty of it all- nothing like being angry while walking thru here. MUCH smaller than I expected it to be- but still beautiful.
Read chanlynng's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image pbrn55
1 review
Sep 2016
Not as big as I'd imagine and very crowded. Hard to hear/understand the tour guide as the head pieces kept going in and out.
Read pbrn55's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image TomBrem
1 review
Sep 2016
Great excursion. Have to take an excrusion since Rome is about 15 miles away fro the port.
Read TomBrem's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image gayechristiansen
1 review
Sep 2016
Loved the Sistine Chapel. Did not like our tour guide. We were in a bus with 40 elderly people and she walked so fast I was worried that we would lose half of our group. She would tell us that she had something to tell us and then just yell at the people to gather and not tell us anything. Luckily we had our "Rick Steve" downloads that we listened to before going into the Sistine Chapel. It truly is a "Must See" place.
Read gayechristiansen's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ValT28
1 review
Aug 2016
amazing
Read ValT28's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Vatican city
Member Image pete19808
1 review
Aug 2016
Best tour of the cruise. The Sistine Chapel is indescibable. The interesting tidbits from the tour guide made this a must-see.
Read pete19808's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Islaverde
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Did Vatican/ tour with Joe Bananas
Read Islaverde's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Joe Bananas
Member Image Novicefranz
1 review
Aug 2016
Guide Ingrid was quite good but would have preferred an Italian and a bit more political commentary.
Read Novicefranz's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Share-a shore
Member Image Chars3011
1 review
Aug 2016
Good
Read Chars3011's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image yummymummy11
2 reviews
Aug 2016
The guide rushed us through so quickly I hardly had time to see it
Read yummymummy11's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image picketfences101
1 review
Jul 2016
Through Driver-in-Rome (we asked them to book) front of the line passes and a guide to the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's.
Read picketfences101's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: DriverinRome
Member Image MNloonies
1 review
Jul 2016
Magnificent!
Read MNloonies's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cheyshecruiser
1 review
Jul 2016
Our guide Fredrica was awesome. She gave us just the right amount of information before our trek through the crowd. She was not one bit boring even for our 4 teens. She moved at a perfect pace for us. We loved her. The Sistine Chapel is a must see.
Read Cheyshecruiser's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Miles and Miles
Member Image vk3307
1 review
Jul 2016
Our guide was an art history teacher who does tours in the summer. She was outstanding, knowledgeable and patient with my family. She was able to get us thru the shortcut and we had more time in the Chapel and in the Basilica. The chapel is beautiful, not exactly what I expected, but I was awestruck by the work that was done by the great Michaelangelo.
Read vk3307's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo, Romina
Member Image mallysmith
1 review
Jul 2016
The artwork is outstanding and a must see.
Read mallysmith's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jlonomore
1 review
Jul 2016
Booked fast track ticket at St Peter's. Walk to Vatican City is about 20-30 mins. Queuing time was only about 15 mins but once inside we were herded through the museums for around 1.5 hrs before finally reaching the Sictine Chapel. The Chapel itself wasn't impressive and our time inside was spent being herded around and shouted at to be silent. Had I known I wouldn't have bothered.
Read Jlonomore's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: N/A
Member Image yogini06
1 review
Jun 2016
Great early morning tour before they opened for the day. I highly recommend this tour!
Read yogini06's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: City Wonders
Member Image EuropeanWanderer
1 review
Jun 2016
Great English speaking guide. Skipped the lines, guide had portfolio of museum pictures to use as highlights to what we were going to see.
Read EuropeanWanderer's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image tkarpinski
1 review
Jun 2016
Museum very crowded and we lost our tour guide after one hour (out of a three hour tour)
Read tkarpinski's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image bazzaazzab
3 reviews
May 2016
Worth visiting.
Read bazzaazzab's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?