Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) Sistine Chapel Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Sistine Chapel cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Step inside the Sistine Chapel and feast your eyes on the most famous frescoes ever painted. You'll soon understand why so many consider Michelangelo to be an artist without peer.
Member Image Thane1010
1 review
Oct 2015
We did a new excursion that included the Pope's Summer Residence Gardens, the Vatican Museum and the Sistene Chapel. It was a full day and felt like it. We went on a Wednesday and the Pope had given an address in St Peters Sq that morning so it was particularly busy. I was also told later that 800 coaches from cruise ships had gone to Rome that day. The Vatican and the Sistene Chapel were unbelievably crowded, they do not run on a timed ticket basis and basically let everyone in who has paid, there were places were you could barely move your arms you were so tightly packed in. The Sistene Chapel is meant to be the most holy place as it is the Pope's private chapel but they packed so many people in that is was almost unbearable. I would recommend this excursion but be careful about choosing when you go.
Read Thane1010's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Dallas411
1 review
Sep 2015
Very glad to have been part of the tour. The Vatican was insanely crowded and the line to buy tickets to the Museum was wrapped around the building. Our tour guide, Paolo, was knowledgeable and we had a lovely 3 course lunch at a local restaurant
Read Dallas411's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cindycakes
1 review
Sep 2015
Loved seeing the Sistine Chapel, but the Vatican only allows a short stay in the room, so you don't really feel like you can look and enjoy it. Very rushed through the room, through no fault of the tour operators.
Read Cindycakes's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: When In Rome Tours
Member Image Skeeterbox
1 review
Sep 2015
Very well organised from the ship to shore and back. The bus had two guides, who talked and took us through ancient Rome. Our official guide spoke excellent english and was very knowledgable about every sight we visitited. He guided us via non-busy routes and we were never trapped in any crowds. People who got lost had just not listened to his instructions. This was an excellent excursion and worth the money. We had a lovely Italian lunch including wine. It was a perfect day!
Read Skeeterbox's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hawkshoe
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Amazing. Very crowded. No photos allowed.
Read hawkshoe's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carlosuru74
1 review
Aug 2015
Good
Read carlosuru74's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tm81663
1 review
Aug 2015
LOVED this experience. I took my Rick Steve's audio guide, waited for spot to open up to sit down, and just listened and stared at the ceiling in amazement. My neck was sore at the end, but it was a great time seeing what achievements Michelangelo accomplished.
Read tm81663's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image canadasmiles
1 review
Jul 2015
Cheated us for $600
Read canadasmiles's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image GrandmotherCruiser
1 review
Jul 2015
Cool and MAGNIFICENT !!!!
Read GrandmotherCruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image Cruisin50th65
1 review
Jun 2015
Smaller than you think it is
Read Cruisin50th65's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Amalfi Coast Destinations
Member Image christyl
1 review
Jun 2015
no cameras. very packed. beautiful.
Read christyl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: shoretrips
Member Image hoopmd
1 review
May 2015
You Must prebook this
Read hoopmd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Laura with Private Tours of Rome
Member Image Mermaid2013
2 reviews
May 2015
Loved it
Read Mermaid2013's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sciare
1 review
May 2015
Gorgeous
Read Sciare's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Through Eternity
Member Image Debs57
1 review
May 2015
Fantastic city and excellent tour. Very expensive but worth it. I spent most of the day with my head looking skywards at all the amazing buildings and artwork. Not to be missed. Exhausting 10 hour trip though.
Read Debs57's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image arlengarrison
1 review
May 2015
Very good tour. Excellent and knowledgeable tour guide. Loved the Vatican. Rome is so much grander in person. We will go back to Rome again another time. One day is not enough!
Read arlengarrison's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image justluv2cruisewithhubby
6 reviews
May 2015
We booked the Vatican breakfast tour where there is only two small groups of 15 people that eat in the pine cone courtyard at 7am then have a quite tour of the Vatican; Sistine Chapel and museum .
Read justluv2cruisewithhubby's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: City Wonders
Member Image LCJones629
1 review
May 2015
We had a private, early tour and were so glad we did. When we came out of the building after our tour, the line was wrapped around the city block. No kidding. It was also on Wednesday, so Vatican Square was especially crowded, because the Pope speaks.
Read LCJones629's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Travel Bound
Member Image SailorRich
1 review
May 2015
Wow what more can you say. One of the Worlds greatest Art Works in the centre of the Vatican steeped in history. This was incredibly busy and I would have wished that some of the other visitors had shown a little more respect as requested before entering!
Read SailorRich's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image MSunshine
1 review
Apr 2015
Michelangelo's art is just amazing! It wasn't very quiet for a noise free area. Some people just have no respect. Proper respectful attire was enforced.
Read MSunshine's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Willemien
1 review
Apr 2015
Beautifull, but too crowded! Wonderful walking tour with 15 people. Excellent, well organised, cheaper than most tours, using public transfers. Capable guide. Will use CBM again! Well done!
Read Willemien's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Can't be missed tours
Member Image Peachi
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Day 9 Rome
We were downstairs on deck 4 at 6:20 am, trying to get the first bus off the boat. We were way too early, no one else came down to wait in line until 7:30 am. However, the sunrise in Rome was gorgeous and we got to watch while drinking coffee on the promenade. We took an excursion from Rick Steve's suggestion Cant Be Missed tours (65 euro per person) got to the port entrance and had to take a free mandatory 20 minute port shuttle to the end of the port, then get on another 5-10 min shuttle that gets to the train station for round trip .80 euro cents. Be sure to have euro handy for this port. After the first shuttle, the tour guide basically told us to get in line and head to the train station so don't bother checking in with CBM Tours at the shuttle stop but you will be checked in at the train station. We saw the Pantheon, Vatican (21euro each) Sistine chapel, St marks square, Spanish steps, Colosseum (inside costs 12 euro more and I thought well worth it) Trevi Fountain (under construction) - basically all of the majors in Rome in one day. You skip all lines and walk ALOT on this tour. Not many restrooms, don't drink a lot, and you won't have longer than a 10 minute break all day. Be sure to use breaks to your advantage If you want souvenirs. We were escorted the entire time by locals and it was a wonderful tour. We got back to the train station well before we needed to, or so I thought. But the train was 20 min late pushing us dangerously close to the 6pm last shuttle to the boat. The shuttle from the train station to the port bus shuttle was very full and we decided to walk- the local guide said it was a 15 min walk and easy to find. Big mistake, although we enjoyed the walk, we got lost in the dark, it's very difficult to navigate and we were 4min shy of missing the last shuttle.

Read Peachi's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Cant Be Missed
Member Image redbrickbarbie
3 reviews
Aug 2014
Really beautiful but difficult to share this with 700 others. Theres a buzz of noise & should be silent, but I still enjoyed it. The ceiling is very high, but amazing. If I went back to Rome I would definitely splash out on a small tour of maybe 5 people. There are some early morning tours before the place opens properly, but its pricey. Go in the afternoons as it tends to be a little quieter.
Read redbrickbarbie's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image FLCRUISER007
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Small but impressive. If you like art you will be impressed by the detail. Plan on having your shoulders and knees covered to get in. No photography allowed and it's strictly guarded.

Read FLCRUISER007's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image UberShopper
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Amazing! Sure it's crowded and the guards are rude, but it's all worth it.

Read UberShopper's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions in Italy

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.