Rome (Civitavecchia) Sistine Chapel Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Sistine Chapel cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Step inside the Sistine Chapel and feast your eyes on the most famous frescoes ever painted. You'll soon understand why so many consider Michelangelo to be an artist without peer.
Member Image Novicefranz
1 review
Aug 2016
Guide Ingrid was quite good but would have preferred an Italian and a bit more political commentary.
Read Novicefranz's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Share-a shore
Member Image Chars3011
1 review
Aug 2016
Good
Read Chars3011's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image picketfences101
1 review
Jul 2016
Through Driver-in-Rome (we asked them to book) front of the line passes and a guide to the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's.
Read picketfences101's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: DriverinRome
Member Image MNloonies
1 review
Jul 2016
Magnificent!
Read MNloonies's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cheyshecruiser
1 review
Jul 2016
Our guide Fredrica was awesome. She gave us just the right amount of information before our trek through the crowd. She was not one bit boring even for our 4 teens. She moved at a perfect pace for us. We loved her. The Sistine Chapel is a must see.
Read Cheyshecruiser's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Miles and Miles
Member Image vk3307
1 review
Jul 2016
Our guide was an art history teacher who does tours in the summer. She was outstanding, knowledgeable and patient with my family. She was able to get us thru the shortcut and we had more time in the Chapel and in the Basilica. The chapel is beautiful, not exactly what I expected, but I was awestruck by the work that was done by the great Michaelangelo.
Read vk3307's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo, Romina
Member Image mallysmith
1 review
Jul 2016
The artwork is outstanding and a must see.
Read mallysmith's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jlonomore
1 review
Jul 2016
Booked fast track ticket at St Peter's. Walk to Vatican City is about 20-30 mins. Queuing time was only about 15 mins but once inside we were herded through the museums for around 1.5 hrs before finally reaching the Sictine Chapel. The Chapel itself wasn't impressive and our time inside was spent being herded around and shouted at to be silent. Had I known I wouldn't have bothered.
Read Jlonomore's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: N/A
Member Image yogini06
1 review
Jun 2016
Great early morning tour before they opened for the day. I highly recommend this tour!
Read yogini06's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: City Wonders
Member Image EuropeanWanderer
1 review
Jun 2016
Great English speaking guide. Skipped the lines, guide had portfolio of museum pictures to use as highlights to what we were going to see.
Read EuropeanWanderer's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image tkarpinski
1 review
Jun 2016
Museum very crowded and we lost our tour guide after one hour (out of a three hour tour)
Read tkarpinski's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image bazzaazzab
2 reviews
May 2016
Worth visiting.
Read bazzaazzab's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tahoebabe23
1 review
May 2016
Sistine Chapel was part of our Vatican Museums tour. The tour afforded us to jump the line.
Read Tahoebabe23's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Ciao Italy/ I love Rome
Member Image Miss Nomer
1 review
May 2016
Noise levels too high, crowded. Not a good experience.
Read Miss Nomer's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Kmptamale72
1 review
May 2016
Way to crowded. We couldn't enjoy looking at anything because we had to keep the tour guide in sight so we wouldn't lose her. Glad I can say I saw it but WAY too many people for me. It was deifinitely a benefit having the tour si ce we bypassed the line.
Read Kmptamale72's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image maryewoods1@gmail.com
1 review
May 2016
Fantastic, but very crowded. City guide was great and worked well with the guide on the bus to keep the group together and help those who needed special assistance.
Read maryewoods1@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image rogerdas
1 review
Apr 2016
No pictures allowed unfortunately as they had guards to check.
Read rogerdas's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ucanown2
1 review
Nov 2015
interesting
Read ucanown2's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Thane1010
1 review
Oct 2015
We did a new excursion that included the Pope's Summer Residence Gardens, the Vatican Museum and the Sistene Chapel. It was a full day and felt like it. We went on a Wednesday and the Pope had given an address in St Peters Sq that morning so it was particularly busy. I was also told later that 800 coaches from cruise ships had gone to Rome that day. The Vatican and the Sistene Chapel were unbelievably crowded, they do not run on a timed ticket basis and basically let everyone in who has paid, there were places were you could barely move your arms you were so tightly packed in. The Sistene Chapel is meant to be the most holy place as it is the Pope's private chapel but they packed so many people in that is was almost unbearable. I would recommend this excursion but be careful about choosing when you go.
Read Thane1010's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Dallas411
1 review
Sep 2015
Very glad to have been part of the tour. The Vatican was insanely crowded and the line to buy tickets to the Museum was wrapped around the building. Our tour guide, Paolo, was knowledgeable and we had a lovely 3 course lunch at a local restaurant
Read Dallas411's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cindycakes
1 review
Sep 2015
Loved seeing the Sistine Chapel, but the Vatican only allows a short stay in the room, so you don't really feel like you can look and enjoy it. Very rushed through the room, through no fault of the tour operators.
Read Cindycakes's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: When In Rome Tours
Member Image Skeeterbox
1 review
Sep 2015
Very well organised from the ship to shore and back. The bus had two guides, who talked and took us through ancient Rome. Our official guide spoke excellent english and was very knowledgable about every sight we visitited. He guided us via non-busy routes and we were never trapped in any crowds. People who got lost had just not listened to his instructions. This was an excellent excursion and worth the money. We had a lovely Italian lunch including wine. It was a perfect day!
Read Skeeterbox's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hawkshoe
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Amazing. Very crowded. No photos allowed.
Read hawkshoe's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carlosuru74
1 review
Aug 2015
Good
Read carlosuru74's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tm81663
1 review
Aug 2015
LOVED this experience. I took my Rick Steve's audio guide, waited for spot to open up to sit down, and just listened and stared at the ceiling in amazement. My neck was sore at the end, but it was a great time seeing what achievements Michelangelo accomplished.
Read tm81663's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?