Rome (Civitavecchia) Colosseum Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Colosseum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Rome's Colosseum, once home to brutal gladiatorial combat, is the largest amphitheater ever built in the Roman Empire. One of the new seven wonders of the world, this famous feat of architecture is not to be missed.
Member Image TomBrem
1 review
Sep 2016
I just walked through. I was saving my feet to the Vatican.
Read TomBrem's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cruisefan182
1 review
Aug 2016
Even with a fast track ticket the queues were very long, you cannot take any drinking water inside with you but keep your bottle as you can fill up at the taps inside. Beautiful and atmospheric place. Need to pre book tours of the underground parts of the Colosseum
Read cruisefan182's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: Colosseum directly
Member Image Islaverde
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Did Vatican/Colosseum tour with Joe Bananas
Read Islaverde's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Joe Banananas
Member Image Mrmemor7
1 review
Aug 2016
historical place
Read Mrmemor7's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: myself
Member Image Catherinec30
1 review
Aug 2016
Booked the glories of the gladiators tour via royal carribean. Very well organised, the Guide was brilliant and knew his stuff, there was hardly any queuing as we had been prebooked in and it wasn't too hot thanks to the early morning start. The Colosseum was amazing and well worth the trip. We had free time to have some lunch and look around ourselves before getting back on the ship.
Read Catherinec30's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chars3011
1 review
Aug 2016
Beautiful but we didn't go in because the line was soooooooooooooo long
Read Chars3011's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image yummymummy11
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Beautiful place highlight of my day in Rome
Read yummymummy11's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Kate S
1 review
Jul 2016
It was expensive, but worth it. We saw the Colosseum, St. Peter’s, Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. The Colosseum tour included the underground and it was excellent. We didn’t wait in line and had access to areas that general admission guests did not have. It is a 10-hour day as Rome is about 1.5 hours from the pier. Wear comfortable shoes! It was very, very, hot. Be sure to read all tour requirements. There are clothing requirements for St. Peter’s and there are no exceptions. I forgot to bring a scarf, but thankfully another tour guest had a scarf I could use (to cover my shoulders). There was some free time to wander and shop but you MUST be back at the meeting point on time – the tour continues with or without you. One guest on another tour in Rome got separated from his group and lost the emergency number everyone gets…just in case. It cost him $200 Euro to get back to the ship via taxi as he did not know how to access the public transportation (train) system that was much cheaper. We did not find this excursion overly taxing in terms of physical exertion (we are both 50 and in relatively good shape). We had plenty of time at all locations to take photos.
Read Kate S's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image picketfences101
1 review
Jul 2016
We booked front of the line passes through DriverinRome. I wish we had booked a guide also, We ended up winding through the Roman Forum and getting probably walking way too much because it was like a maze. This left us with little time to go through the Colosseum.
Read picketfences101's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: DriverinRome
Member Image MNloonies
1 review
Jul 2016
Didn't go into the Colosseum which was fine with me. The line to get in was super long and it was very hot that day. Tour guide gave us interesting info on the Colosseum so walking on the outside of it was enough.
Read MNloonies's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Gailey11
1 review
Jul 2016
We booked the coach trip with Thomsons but the actual trip in the colloseum was booked with Viator who were brilliant! It is a long day though, you are off the ship for 10 hours and Rome is very, very hot!!
Read Gailey11's full TUI Discovery cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image nickyhobbs20@sky.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Spent a while outside the colosseum whilst some parents had to show proof their children were under 18 for the child tickets, however the price RB charged for the shore excursion was adult prices - who benefited here ?
Read nickyhobbs20@sky.com's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vk3307
1 review
Jul 2016
Everything we'd learned in school and more! It's not one of the more fascinating things to see in Rome but well worth the visit. We booked it directly thru the Coloseum on line.
Read vk3307's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PaulDonohue
1 review
Jul 2016
The ship tour was very expensive and so we took our own taxi to Rome. We booked the colosseum tour on line and it was very good. Cost of a pre-booked Mercedes was $120 each way and entry into Colosseum and tour around $50 per person. With three travellers this was much cheaper than that offered by the ship.
Read PaulDonohue's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Viva Las VegasBruiser1
1 review
Jul 2016
great
Read Viva Las VegasBruiser1's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Aquarius115
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Great to see, Very Historic. Gift shop was disappointing, just books a gifts. NO WATER or Drinks for purchase.
Read Aquarius115's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Mchelle2470
1 review
Jul 2016
Absolutely amazing and we were given plenty of time on our own to tour The inside
Read Mchelle2470's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Jlonomore
1 review
Jul 2016
Audio guide didn't work but was replaced quickly. The building and history are always impressive.
Read Jlonomore's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bazzaazzab
3 reviews
May 2016
Go onto the internet and view stadiums which empty the quickest under an evacuation and a big surprise is, the Colosseum comes in first, considering when it was build the architects were very advanced. One major problem here is the waiting time to get into the Colosseum, we did not make it because we did not have enough time even though our tour was 9 1/2 hours.
Read bazzaazzab's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tahoebabe23
1 review
May 2016
Touring at the Colosseum a must. Jumping the line with your tour together with information on the rich history is priceless. Highly recommend.
Read Tahoebabe23's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Ciao Italy/I love Rome
Member Image Miss Nomer
1 review
May 2016
You have to use your imagination.
Read Miss Nomer's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image janetgusterson
1 review
May 2016
The tour was good but hurried.
Read janetgusterson's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image iana4417
4 reviews
May 2016
Excellent tour
Read iana4417's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Kgirl67
1 review
Apr 2016
Very informative tour which covered the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palentine Hill. We selected this particular tour in order to bypass the line and see the underground area of the Colosseum. It was well worth the money as it provided additional context that previous visits to these sites did not offer.
Read Kgirl67's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Dark Rome (AKA City Wonders)
Member Image rogerdas
1 review
Apr 2016
Wow, this is a really big structure. It will amaze you
Read rogerdas's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?