Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) Colosseum Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Colosseum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Rome's Colosseum, once home to brutal gladiatorial combat, is the largest amphitheater ever built in the Roman Empire. One of the new seven wonders of the world, this famous feat of architecture is not to be missed.
Member Image Beh Soo seng
1 review
Nov 2015
Embarkation & disembarkation was a breeze!
Read Beh Soo seng's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sharonfensome
1 review
Nov 2015
Very impressive, restoration is very sympathetic
Read sharonfensome's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ForumStops
1 review
Oct 2015
Astounding site.
Read ForumStops's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image welsh89
1 review
Oct 2015
Well worth a visit although it is very busy.
Read welsh89's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mklaiber
1 review
Oct 2015
Amazing!!!!!! Angelica and Alessandro were so enchanting and gracious. They made sure we were informed about every piece of statue , every rock and every building. We loved the experience, the Vatican was so beautiful and awe inspiring. The colosseum was massive and just out of this world. St. Peter's square was beautiful as well as Trevi Fountain.
Read mklaiber's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cindycakes
1 review
Sep 2015
Booked Ancient Rome & Hypogeum Half-Day Tour with Real Rome Tours, skip the line. Amazing tour and could not ask for a more informative guide. Absolutely loved getting to tour the lower areas and learning so much about the way of life in ancient Roman times. Climbing up Palentine Hill gave a great overview of the Forum. Just to note, this tour involves a lot of walking and climbing, very tiring for individuals with knee/foot/back problems
Read Cindycakes's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Real Rome Tours
Member Image Tewai
1 review
Sep 2015
Enjoyable
Read Tewai's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image S_MN_Warmth_Seekers
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Very informative older gentleman guided us after we arrived on bus, to Colosseum, Forum, other sites then lunch. St Peters after lunch. LOTS OF TOURISTS EVERYWHERE on gorgeous day. Wear your money belt!
Read S_MN_Warmth_Seekers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Skeeterbox
1 review
Sep 2015
Amazing to see this building up close.
Read Skeeterbox's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hawkshoe
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Get tickets ahead or prepare to wait in long lines. We did main and upper levels. Very nice.
Read hawkshoe's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carlosuru74
1 review
Aug 2015
Good
Read carlosuru74's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tm81663
1 review
Aug 2015
We did the Colosseum by Night event through the main company that runs tours for the Colosseum CoopCulture. It was GREAT. Going at night made things much more comfortable than going in the day, and seeing it at night was very beautiful as its well lighted. As I've been to the Colosseum both at night and in the day, i preferred the night tour as its more relaxed, less crowded, more comfortable. BUT, it is dark in spots, so if you only have once chance to see the Colosseum, I would suggest day.
Read tm81663's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: CoopCulture
Member Image igrsod
1 review
Aug 2015
Our guide here was excellent. She knew her stuff and was easy to understand. She even brought visual representations of what parts of Rome would have looked like originally compared to how they appear now as excavated ruins. Very interesting. Perfect amount of time spent at each location. We did the Vatican first, which was the right call, as things fill up quickly there and you would not get inside St. Peter's if you came later in the day. We had lunch in a very nice Italian restaurant. Three course meal with water, wine and coffee provided. That was lovely. Our tour was called Imperial Rome. There was a lot of walking, but well worth it.
Read igrsod's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ianrobert
1 review
Aug 2015
Coach trip to the city with lunch very nice trip would recommend this one to be booked with the ship as its a hour away
Read Ianrobert's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Toucanman
1 review
Aug 2015
had trouble getting to the meeting point and missed the tour and there were 3 other couples who were left stranded as well 8 people left out is in my opinion poor customer relations.
Read Toucanman's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image BucketList57
1 review
Aug 2015
The tour guide was excellent. Use the elevators that are available if you need them.
Read BucketList57's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Boxie_boy
1 review
Aug 2015
Fantastic tour operator, got to be done!
Read Boxie_boy's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Real Rome tours
Member Image Nani25
1 review
Jul 2015
Tour guide was ok but he missed the fountain and the steps.
Read Nani25's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Rome in limo
Member Image Georgia_Peaches
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Wow! What a great tour in Rome. Viator gave us directions on how to get to the meeting point for the tour from the train station. The tour included tickets to the inside without having to wait in the lines.
Read Georgia_Peaches's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator.com
Member Image mgoudoras
1 review
Jun 2015
Enjoyed this very much, but tiring walking up the stairs.
Read mgoudoras's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image crosby09
1 review
Jun 2015
Crowded as expected but everything excellent
Read crosby09's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Myfanwy3
1 review
Jun 2015
Would love to have gone inside
Read Myfanwy3's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cruise Excursions
Member Image Marbles,-12
1 review
Jun 2015
Great trip well worth it Rome is amazing
Read Marbles,-12's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image judypalm
1 review
May 2015
Included in the tour.
Read judypalm's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hoopmd
1 review
May 2015
we missed the lines having pre bought our tickets.
Read hoopmd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Laura with Private Tours of Rome

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.