Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) Colosseum Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Colosseum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Rome's Colosseum, once home to brutal gladiatorial combat, is the largest amphitheater ever built in the Roman Empire. One of the new seven wonders of the world, this famous feat of architecture is not to be missed.
Member Image CATHERINECLYNES
1 review
Nov 2014

Only had a fleeting glimpse from the bus.
Not enough to make a comment. Disapointing.

Read CATHERINECLYNES's full Costa Favolosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image bhturtle
1 review
Sep 2014

There are lots of steps and it is not an easy one for those of us who are older.

Read bhturtle's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image FLCRUISER007
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Massive and impressive. Well worth seeing. There is a bathroom there, but the tour doesn't stop so you may want to skip the coffee on the way to Rome.

Read FLCRUISER007's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rnbal
2 reviews
Jun 2014

This was a good tour, but P&O need to put the Vatican museum and Sistine chapel on to their tour excursion's list.

Read rnbal's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image jonasaa
2 reviews
Jun 2014

Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, St Peter's Basilica and Colosseum (Adult Only Departure)

If anything pulled down the impression of this tour, it was other tourists. There are just so many of them. The tour of the Colosseum was fantastic, it's hard to imagine this has been a living and active place for 2000 years.

Read jonasaa's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image UberShopper
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Shore Excursions in Italy pre ordered the tickets for us so there was no waiting in line. Amazing experience.

Read UberShopper's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions in Italy
Member Image harveyanger
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

The guided tour was great we saw lots of the sights of Rome in one day. This was a very active day with lots of walking but plenty to see - i would love to do it all again to capture the sights a second time.

Read harveyanger's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Cateye18
1 review
May 2014

We did two shore excursions and would highly recommend both. Rome and the Coliseum included a tour guide, shuttle, audio guide, water bottle, a visit to the Trevi Fountain and Coliseum, a nice lunch (3 course with wine) and a visit to St. Peters Basilica. Luca our guide was great. Since Rome is quite a ways from the port, we decided to book through the cruise because then they have to wait for you if your shuttle is running late. The excursion is quite pricey ($200 each) but we felt that it was worth it.

Read Cateye18's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image marybethhuebner
1 review
May 2014

It was nice

Read marybethhuebner's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image J-T-Travellers
1 review
Dec 2013

Rome is gorgeous. But then you knew that already. Our guide smoked nonstop from the moment he disembarked the bus so this was a bit of a problem because we were all handed ear piece devices with which to hear the guide prattle on ... er inform us about the wonderful history of all the places we visited. And in order to stay far enough away from the cloud of pre-breathed punguency it was necessary to forgo most of the historical anecdotes.

Inside the Colosseum itself (we had reserved "jump the queue" entry YAY!) we were treated to the story of how the ancient Romans enjoyed betting on the animals in the arena.

To make the betting more unpredictable animals from different regions of the world, who were not natural enemies, would be chained together and then aggravated so that they would fight to the death.

Shortly after that we were treated to the story of how in the movie Gladiator, women and children were shown enjoying the mortal wounding of man and animal. Whereas in truth the women were only allowed to sit in the very top rows. And thereby, according to our guide, the ancient Romans were not as barbaric as the movie made out.

Shortly after that we were shown a huge marble step which was considerably worn down. Our guide made a joke that to smooth down a large marble slab you just drag a few thousand dead hippos across it. No. Not barbaric at all ...

We did see the Fountain of Trevi. Great!

We enjoyed lunch in an underground restaurant. Great!

We visited various sites of inner-city Roman ruins. Great!

We missed out on seeing the inside of St Peter's Basilica because a political rally held up the city traffic and we couldn't get there in time. Rats!

So if your primary reason for visiting Rome is to see Michelangelo's La Pieta and the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel you might want to go straight there and get in the queue.

But overall I really, really enjoyed our tour of Rome and would love to go back again, particularly to St. Peter's Basilica ...

Read J-T-Travellers's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image k8ti
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Very interesting.

Read k8ti's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image HEYS
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Absolutely amazing, the size and very construction of it never to be forgotten.

Read HEYS's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Nicky0802
1 review
Aug 2013

This was part of our 'Gladiators Excursion' but with the tour guide. It was a bit rushed and would have liked to have spent more time looking around. The guide was informative but a bit too speedy so we felt like we had to run to keep up as opposed to taking in our surroundings. Quite a long coach journey about 1 hour 20 minutes, hardly any toilets around Rome and not enough time to stop anyway, so not ideal for little ones.

Read Nicky0802's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 4ever@cruiseline
1 review
Aug 2013

Only external view hence 1 rating

Read 4ever@cruiseline's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image strummer
2 reviews
Aug 2013

With 6 others from our roll call we booked a tour with "Rome in limo" and it was the highlight of all our port excursions!
We had arranged to see the underground tour of the Colosseum but opted not to go to the Vatican.
We saw all the major sights but I stress if you can pre-book to go on the underground tour of the Colosseum it is truly amazing!!

Read strummer's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Daretodream
2 reviews
Jul 2013

Didnt see much

Read Daretodream's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image sunshinefl221
2 reviews
Jul 2013

Buy or bring a guidebook with you

Read sunshinefl221's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Limousinrome
Member Image Cruise XYZ
4 reviews
Jul 2013

Guide provided good historical information

Read Cruise XYZ's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Dan111
1 review
May 2013

Vary impressive but very busy at entrance gates.

Read Dan111's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image steve in avon
1 review
May 2013

Much better to be inside the colosseum than to just ride by it.

Read steve in avon's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Speechtchr
1 review
Dec 2012
I definitely recommend arriving in Rome a few days before the cruise starts. If there's a problem with the flight you won't worry about missing the ship. It also gives you a day or two to get over jet-lag. We arrived Wed. morning from Atlanta. We had plenty of Marriott reward points, so we stayed there for free. There's a shuttle that takes you to the center of town (10 Euro). We were lazy on Wednesday. Thursday was dreary so we stayed at the hotel. Friday we took the shuttle in with a couple we met on the transfer to the hotel. We went on a city bus tour (open top). We arranged for a tour of the catacombs where the early Christians buried their saints, popes and martyrs. Then we just did some exploring. We had seen the major attractions on a previous trip. We went to the port Saturday morning clean and refreshed and ready.
Read Speechtchr's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Aging Aquarian
1 review
Oct 2012
This tour was interesting and the value was there. We were taken by a walking guide to the 'Colosseum' as well as the 'Trevi Fountain, the 'Forum' and 'St.Peter's' square.
Read Aging Aquarian's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Geogh3
1 review
Oct 2012
If I dont get back to Rome thats ok with me. The tour guides are in a hurry and we could only hear 50% of what they were saying. The streets are beyond full with tourest like me. We really couldnt enjoy the city as there were just tooooooooooo many people ... so I have seen the highlights and checked Rome off my list
Read Geogh3's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image retired2012
1 review
Oct 2012
WOW - it is breathtaking.
Read retired2012's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: RomeInLimo
Member Image CommuterBob
1 review
Oct 2012
The Colosseum was impressive, but we only had 45 min. to walk in (with pre-purchased tickets so we didn't have to wait in line) and through the place. Basically enough time to see the ground floor, walk up to the second level, then back down and out the exit.
Read CommuterBob's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image la bon
1 review
Sep 2012
my favourite stop in Rome, I couldn't believe I was actually standing amongst the ghosts of the past.
Read la bon's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Neet New Jersey
1 review
Sep 2012
Brought the movie "Gladiator" to life. Worth the money to get skip the line tickets otherwise you will spend a couple of hours just trying to get in.
Read Neet New Jersey's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions.com
Member Image montys a cruiser
1 review
Sep 2012
Not enough time to enter the colosseum, queues were huge.
Read montys a cruiser's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Princessa22
1 review
Sep 2012
Inspiring. Don't miss it. Would have like to spend more time there. We took the connesiur tour and saw so much. Intensive day with lots of walking.
Read Princessa22's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Fleurtrvl
1 review
Aug 2012
The ancient wonders are worth sitting through a biased long winded tour guided talk!!? Our guide talked wy to much sometimes I wonder if she saved money on the audio phones for herself and tried to give a "better narration" by herself.
Read Fleurtrvl's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Stephen James
1 review
Jun 2012
well worth the visit
Read Stephen James's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image CyberTag
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Our tickets for the Vatican were for 9:30 am, so that was our first stop. It was at this time that I realized the major benefits of touring with Rome-in-Limo. Not only did we have our own private driver to get us to and from everything but our driver also has VIP access for everything! We had booked a private tour guide to take us through the Vatican, which was 150 euros for our group of 8. Our guide was Cecelia and she was amazing and provided a wealth of information! She took us right inside! The line at the Vatican was very long for people who had previously purchased a ticket! I can't even imagine how long the line was for people without one. Cecelia escorted us everywhere, answered questions for us, and explained things to us so that they were very interesting (even for those not interested in art!). We were able to see the entire museum, the Sistine chapel and St. Peter's Basilica just as scheduled. The Vatican is very strict and does not allow anyone to wear shorts inside (knees can't show nor shoulders). They do take this rule very seriously! Photos are NOT allowed to be taken inside the Sistine Chapel and talking is not allowed either. They are VERY strict about this and all you hear is "shhhhhhh..... QUIET! No photos!" And lots of whispering.
Read CyberTag's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image glpondo
1 review
Jun 2012
Too, too crowded!
Read glpondo's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ellay864
1 review
Jun 2012
We arrived in Rome early morning and as our flight home wasn't until the evening we booked a ship's excursion that took us into Rome and then onto the airport. We did try to find a private tour for this but were unable to get people to join us to make it viable. While we're often happy to DIY things, with having our baggage to take care of we felt we couldn't do that. The city centre is about 45 mins from the airport, and also about an hour from the port We had a guide on the coach who talked us through our journey into Rome itself. The Coliseum was our second stop having earlier visitied St Peter's Basilica at the Vatican. We bypassed the queues and firstly had a talk about the place itself before being taken up to the 2nd tier. We had quite a bit of time to take plenty of photos, though as with the Vatican, it would have been easy to spend twice the time there. After leaving the Coliseum we did a bit more driving tour round the city though we had no free sightseeing time, the only disappointment. We were back at the airport at about 1pm, though I don't think anybody had a flight until around 5 or 6pm. On the basis of what we saw, we are planning to pop back to Rome for a long weekend if not more. There is so much to see and I'd recommend anyone doing a cruise that starts or ends in Rome to make sure you get some time to spend in the city
Read ellay864's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Nanagoes
1 review
Jun 2012
Excellent tour with fantastic guide! This was the Imperial Rome tour through Celebrity. Colosseum is very, very, very crowded.
Read Nanagoes's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dbmm
2 reviews
Jun 2012
We didn't have the chance to climb the colosseum. We only stayed at ground level. That was a major disappointment for us. We also had to wait before entering the colosseum because of someone hadn't bought the tickets in advance.
Read dbmm's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Stephen Tompkins
1 review
May 2012
Too many people selling fake designer goods, too many beggars.
Read Stephen Tompkins's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image 2212tillman
1 review
May 2012
Just saw it from the outside and no photo opportunities
Read 2212tillman's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Miamitraveler007
1 review
May 2012
only saw the outside of the Colosseum, Basilica was incredible, i thought more impressive than the Sistine chapel.
Read Miamitraveler007's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Linda Swanson
1 review
May 2012
Our tour guide was phenomenal. Her knowledge was amazing. Everything about Rome was fantastic, can't wait to go back.
Read Linda Swanson's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Brian Tolley
1 review
May 2012
A port used as access to Rome very busy but more than adequate, you really need to take a tour from this point, the town is busy but only an hour or so from Rome.
Read Brian Tolley's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image honeybee100
1 review
May 2012
A brief 45 minute stop to walk around and take pictures.
Read honeybee100's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Californiasure
1 review
May 2012
Tons and tons of people! Our guide was realy good and kept us all together while telling us all about the Colosseum
Read Californiasure's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DIW
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2012
Superb but very very crowded
Read DIW's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image HRISGirl
1 review
Sep 2011
The Colosseum was awesome. The view of the ruins around the Colosseum was breathtaking. That was the highlight of our day.
Read HRISGirl's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Spitfire8
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2011
This was the trip of a lifetime for my husband, my daughter and myself. I just loved it. It was first class the whole way, and I mean that in every way. The ship was stunningly made & well appointed. The cabins were tasteful & comfortable, with unbeatable views of the world's most scenic vistas. The food was GOURMET all the way, and the service was wildly great. I learned so much and saw so much. Truly I could not have dreamed of a better trip.
Read Spitfire8's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.