Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Retrace the footsteps of Ancient Romans as you explore the Roman Forum, Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and other must-sees in Rome.
Member Image wazza99
1 review
Jul 2016
Again Rome was very interesting but soooo hot.....although the tour was 9 hours, it was a rush and hard work to fit everything in. Entrances are not included so there is no time to go in the Colosseum, our guide thankfully got us "pilgrim" tickets so we could walk straight into St Peters. As most know shoulders and knees must be covered men and women. You can buy "wraps" in the main square, haggle tho one lady paid 8 euro for one, we got 3 for 7 !
Read wazza99's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Viva Las VegasBruiser1
1 review
Jul 2016
very informative, a must
Read Viva Las VegasBruiser1's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kaf1sh
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Our second visit to the Eternal City -and still no water in the Trevi Fountain! We did the Top Ten Sights of Rome. Very hectic- including a 2 hour walking tour. A great guide though - who was expert in her knowledge. We were rewarded with lunch at an old Roman baths. Credit to the staff for feeding approx 500 people!
Read kaf1sh's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image gk1972
1 review
Jul 2016
Great tour and guide
Read gk1972's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Kdbrown85
1 review
Jun 2016
Loved city the city sites and loved the tour guide but Rome was not what I was expecting. Wayyy too crowded. Not enough transportation systems for everyone and no pedestrian walkways. You almost get run over several times and the tour guide said that this is normal in rome. No thanks. My least favorite excursion!
Read Kdbrown85's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image HYE6
1 review
Jun 2016
EXCELLENT
Read HYE6's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: RomeInLimos
Member Image Neill
1 review
Jun 2016
Very good guide interesting commentary very knowledgable
Read Neill's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image kingoswing70
1 review
Jun 2016
Private Tours is worth the extra money
Read kingoswing70's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: easitalytours
Member Image Mitchell F
1 review
Jun 2016
Off the ship no issues but early 07:30 start then a 90/120 minute coach trip to Rome Tout around the city then stops at the tourist spots to look round
Read Mitchell F's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rvstarLIZ
1 review
Jun 2016
best guide ever!
Read rvstarLIZ's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Joe Banana
Member Image bazzaazzab
2 reviews
May 2016
Generally Rome needs a good clean and a shame there is so much graffiti on building, only idiots do that. However the small group tour was worth taking as we spent time at the above mentioned places. It is a 9 1/2 tour but well worth it. There is a café above the Colosseum worth visiting, reasonable prices and very tasty food with good red wine.
Read bazzaazzab's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AJinOhio
1 review
May 2016
We saw the Colosseum, the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, a brief tour around the city and then a tour of the Vatican. Wonderful tour!
Read AJinOhio's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image maryewoods1@gmail.com
1 review
May 2016
Stayed on the bus for most of tour. When we got out to walk around the guide was very helpful in giving directions. She also gave us her cell phone number in case anyone got lost which happened.
Read maryewoods1@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ccsclean21
2 reviews
May 2016
Didn't stop at the Vatican coach drove past it and we couldn't even get a decent picture. flew 22 hours and didn't get to wander around the Vatican. Very disappointed.
Read ccsclean21's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rexdillinger
2 reviews
May 2016
Did private city tour with Rome in Limo. Great company to use. Saw lots of the main sights but it was a whirlwind tour.
Read rexdillinger's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Rome in limo
Member Image Lv2bmovin
1 review
May 2016
must see this place,, had great lunch, their style pizza at St Peters square, saw Trevi fountain and the Vatican,,amazing building and architecture,, plus many, many churches,,, beautiful
Read Lv2bmovin's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image RobLally
1 review
Apr 2016
Booking with Iteritaly and having Vincenzo as our guide was one of the best decisions of my life. Lovely clean Mercedes van to drive us around, a local who knew the streets like the back of his hand, historical knowledge which was just brilliant, knew where the best pizza was and took us there. They also organised for us the express tickets for the Vatican and the Colesseum which is a must as even in the spring the queues were long!!!!. Could not recommend this tour company more highly and you will not be disappointed.
Read RobLally's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Iteritaly
Member Image a.verapuerto@hotmail.com
1 review
Feb 2016
perfect but a little tireding
Read a.verapuerto@hotmail.com's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: http://www.shoreexcursionsforcruisers.com/en/
Member Image RaiderTech
1 review
Feb 2016
We had done a 5 day tour in Rome a few years back so it was simply fun to go back and see some of the sites. Tour was free. We could have gone back again the next day for a half day tour and chose to stay on the ship.
Read RaiderTech's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image dacwpark
10 reviews
Nov 2015
We were so impressed with CBM tours that we used them again in Rome. Previously my wife and I booked Rome through NCL, paying about $100 each just to be transported to and from the port. Once in Rome we were then on our own. With CBM, however, they took us by train from the port to the Coliseum, and got us tickets to get inside without delay, then they took us to Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, the Spanish steps and finally to the Vatican and St. Peters again all without delays. Valentina with CBM was EXCELLENT! You are given a headset the entire journey as she speaks. A lot of walking but what better way to see the city? Cost for CBM was about 80 Euros each, plus Colosseum tickets 14 euros each, Vatican tickets adults 21 euros each.
Read dacwpark's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: CBM
Member Image stgunby
1 review
Nov 2015
Walking Tour - Excellent
Read stgunby's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Can't Be Missed Tours
Member Image sharonfensome
1 review
Nov 2015
Incredible and plan to return for longer stay
Read sharonfensome's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ForumStops
1 review
Oct 2015
We had anticipated a smaller bus or van. Instead a full size bus came and took about 16 passengers on the tour. The tour was wonderful especially Valldemossa and the guide was professional and even took us to an off the beaten tracks place for lunch to eat with the "locals".
Read ForumStops's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Spain Tours, EU
Member Image KS_Meadowlark
2 reviews
Oct 2015
We were escorted from our hotel to a bus tour of the city. It was a gorgeous day to see Rome. Our tour guide was very informative and spoke very good English. We were also escorted by an employee of Go Next (Branka) who assisted our tour guide to keep track of the 23 or 24 people in the tour through all of the locations. We had several people on our tour who were disabled and either had canes or Rollators to assist with walking. Our tour guide had made arrangements in advance for our large tour group to entire the sites so that we had very little waiting in lines of tourists.
Read KS_Meadowlark's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Go Next
Member Image joste64
1 review
Oct 2015
Fantastic
Read joste64's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.