Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Retrace the footsteps of Ancient Romans as you explore the Roman Forum, Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and other must-sees in Rome.
Member Image Mefedup
1 review
Nov 2016
Ok, our guide was good although he had to translate in 3 languages which held us up.
Read Mefedup's full Zenith cruise review
Provider: Pullmantur
Member Image John.urie
1 review
Oct 2016
Lovely city and an excellent guide in Simone
Read John.urie's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Ms. Mariner
2 reviews
Oct 2016
There were about 15 of us on a comfortable bus. Our tour guide was very efficient, but seemed a bit harried. Of course, we only had 4 hours to see the highlights of Rome, visit Vatican City, and leave for the cruise port. In the beginning, she left a couple of our tour group "in the dust" as she rushed to the bus, but when this was called to her attention, she apologized and was very attentive. On this particular tour, the visit to Vatican City might have been skipped. There was really no time to do anything there except visit the restrooms and gift shop. I think all the highlights of historic Rome were covered in this somewhat frantic trip. I have good photos even if I don't know what they are!
Read Ms. Mariner's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Nalacalli
2 reviews
Oct 2016
We had a group of 8 people and drove down to Rome. Had skip the line tickets for the Colosseum. A few had a private guide for the Vatican while the rest did their own thing. It cost me 80 euros for a private tour. Can't beat the price. We were back to the ship by 5 pm.
Read Nalacalli's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Aldo Monti
Member Image amharris829
2 reviews
Oct 2016
We got to tour inside of the Colosseum, St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican, and Sistine Chapel. Busy busy day but we got to see these wonderful historical sites and didn't have to wait in the normal lines we would have if we went on our own. Long day of walking but a must do for anyone going to Rome.
Read amharris829's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Dsatnick
1 review
Oct 2016
Rome is Spectacular
Read Dsatnick's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Viatour
Member Image Roma 16
1 review
Oct 2016
A very intense day with much walking. Our guides were excellent. Got to see the Colosseum,the Forum,Trevi Fountain. Drove by the Spanish steps, had a very tasty lunch of salad,lasagna,wine and dessert. Line up and waiting time too long ,so was not able to get inside the Vatican. This was most disappointing. However ,they do warn you that this could happen. The crowds were overwhelming. Ride from port to Rome over an hour,so adds to the day. It is a very good tour,but exhausting. Glad to get back to ship and relax with a glass of wine.
Read Roma 16's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Conway Becky
1 review
Oct 2016
Too much crammed into one day
Read Conway Becky's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Simes123
1 review
Oct 2016
Overall we really enjoyed Rome, but the tour from Civita had a very grumpy tour guide, and the group was too large in the busy capital. We covered a lot of ground but it did feel like we were a human snake wending through the crowds. It was a good taster, beautiful city and we are going back to do it properly ourselves over a longer duration.
Read Simes123's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Civita Tours
Member Image winter.escapee
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Great tour: St Peter's, Colosseum, Trevi with enough free time to also get to the Pantheon
Read winter.escapee's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image magaudet30
1 review
Sep 2016
Strongly recommend taking a food tour of Rome! "Skip the line" passes for Vatican and Colosseum were very helpful.
Read magaudet30's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image honest john
1 review
Sep 2016
Quite expensive
Read honest john's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Nwercruiser
1 review
Sep 2016
Rome... Top Ten with Lunch Taking this excursion we saw just about everything we wanted to see in Rome even though most times from a distance on the bus, however it was a perfect sampling of everything the city has to offer after going on a tiring excursion the day before. I can still say I saw Rome in a day! For a day tour so much was squeezed in to also make time for lunch which was in a cute boutique style restaurant. We had a bit of trouble hearing and understanding the tour guide during the walking portions but otherwise was a good experience. We enjoyed the free time at the Trevi Fountain and were able to get right up to it, take pictures and toss in our coins... even having time to shop and enjoy a cappuccino. Had hoped to have more time to explore around the coliseum on our own, think lunch really ate into the opportunity for more free time... otherwise was pleased with the experience.
Read Nwercruiser's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sheminway
1 review
Sep 2016
Did not realize the coliseum stop was just going to be a photo op, very disappointing
Read sheminway's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image traveling journalist
1 review
Sep 2016
Rome is great, but the cruise line's excursion isn't.
Read traveling journalist's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LowPas1186
1 review
Sep 2016
Excellent tour. This location was part of the Best of Rome package.
Read LowPas1186's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Italytours.EU
Member Image zacharias23
1 review
Sep 2016
Taking the $69pp RCCL tour that includes a 1.5 bus shuttle to/from Vatican City with 5 hours on-your-own. This tour is perfect for those that have experienced Rome on a prior trip. Set your own 5-hour itinerary finishing with a 30 minute city tour from the shuttle bus of Rome's most famous sites near the Colosseum.
Read zacharias23's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image raeburn_smith
1 review
Sep 2016
Booked a full day visit of Rome's main sites, picked up at the ship's pier, with a visit to the Vatican, St. Peter's Basilica then the Circus Maximus and Palatine Hill, thenColosseum and Roman Forum, onto Piazza di Spagna then to Fontana di Trevi followed by the Pantheon and Piazza Navona before returning to Civitavecchia for dinner in the Britannia
Read raeburn_smith's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image pbrn55
1 review
Sep 2016
Celebrity's City Stay included a walking/riding city tour which included all of the major highlights and also included a St. Peters Basilica tour. There was a lot of walking on both tours but the guides were excellent and made provisions for those having a rough time keeping up. The lunch/dinner provided with the tours were very good as well. We did our own Vatican museum/Sistine chapel tour through a private company. It was hot the week we were there (the week of 9/12/16) and all sights were VERY crowded. Rome isn't a very clean city and I can't believe in the 4 days we were there we didn't witness someone being critically injured riding a Vespa-type scooter (thank goodness), it was craziness!
Read pbrn55's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image online2780998
1 review
Sep 2016
Have done this tour with other cruise lines This tour did not stop for photo shoot near Vatican disappointing for first time to Rome passengers Trevi and Colosseum good however
Read online2780998's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Sha1111
1 review
Sep 2016
Very good well worth the money, excellent guides.
Read Sha1111's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Kiwicruisers2016
1 review
Sep 2016
AMAZING! Another excellent day with Italy Limousine. The port is quite a distance from the city centre so you need to be on the ball with timings to be able to fit everything in. We did old Rome in the morning (Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Roman Forum, Pantheon and Coloseum) then St Peters and Vatican city Musuem and the Sistine Chapel in the afternoon. This was perfect for a Wednesday tour as the Pope holds an audience on Wednesday morning and others who had organised a tour through the Ship missed out on visiting the Vatican in the morning as there was too many people and they ran out of time. Another bonus of a private tour was that a private car can get much closer to the main sites cutting down on walking time and allows you to fit more in the day.
Read Kiwicruisers2016's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Italy Limousine
Member Image WizGnome
1 review
Sep 2016
The mini bus driver spent a lot of the time on his phone whilst driving into Rome in the rain - very scary at times. no toilet breaks and had to wait when we got off until we arrived at Colosseum (€1 for toilet). Not informed that liquids had to be disposed off before entering Colosseum. Guide was very informative and we thoroughly enjoyed the sights but not much time to take photographs. We would need more time and will visit again - we did not go in Vatican museum but enjoyed the time looking around St. Peters Basilica and having some refreshment.
Read WizGnome's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Can't be missed tours
Member Image morten.robyn
1 review
Sep 2016
Less than impressed with guide and not a good choice to see anything in detail
Read morten.robyn's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image angelbear911
1 review
Sep 2016
We had a private tour with Rudy's Touring Service. His driver picked us up a the port right at 8 am and whisked us off to Rome where Rudy joined us for an amazing day in Rome. We saw the Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Vatican Museum, St. Peters Square, Colosseum, and so much more. One of the best days ever!
Read angelbear911's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Rudy's Touring Service

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?