Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Retrace the footsteps of Ancient Romans as you explore the Roman Forum, Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and other must-sees in Rome.
Member Image HOTCATPM
1 review
Apr 2017
Ultimate Rome included everything we wanted to see and lots of walking. Excellent guides on bus and City portion, Busy city with more than can be seen in a day. But they sure tried. Will need to go back someday and see the rest.
Read HOTCATPM's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gmcduck
1 review
Apr 2017
Again large crowds due to Easter week, Vatican area was interesting despite crowds. Disappointed at number of beggers and pushy junk sellers.
Read gmcduck's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image terry.hickle
1 review
Apr 2017
We were recently on a Viking Ocean Cruise, but could not get a Viking excursion that we wanted. So one of the people in our party found a private tour with DGS Tours, There were ten people in our group. We were divided between two Mercedes Benz vans. Our drivers were Georgio and Pedro. We chose our agenda and were reminded that we could be as flexible as we wished. Basically, they would drop us off near the entrance to a site and pick us up as we exited. There was very little walking. At the Colosseum, one of them walked us to the entrance to make certain that we were in the correct line to avoid the crowds. We visited the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, The Forum, Colosseum, and more. Our driver also gave us history lessons as we drove through the streets. We asked to eat at a local establishment rather that a tourist stop. They took us to Trattoria Pizzeri with owners Dino and Toni. This alone would have made the trip worthwhile. Our waiter, Amadeus, kept bringing course after course, kept the wine flowing. Finally, several desserts appeared along with baglio Baiata Alagna Zibibbo, a dessert wine that I never got to try. Because they also brought out a bottle of limoncello that I couldn't get enough of. We continued our tour with the sites of the Vatican. I would highly recommend DGS Tours.
Read terry.hickle's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: DGS Tours
Member Image ray13255
1 review
Apr 2017
VERY expensive for a walk around the city
Read ray13255's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image JaniceTillmans
1 review
Mar 2017
The general tour was okay. Tour guid was great. Expected to see more sights. Believe Viking should include much much more in their inclusive tours. And include going through the sites, not just a drive-by.
Read JaniceTillmans's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image CarolMcE
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Coliseum and Circus Maximus were pretty cool; especially the coliseum. Fountain was way too crowded to throw a coin in. Vatican lines to see museum and chapel were longer than the time allowed.
Read CarolMcE's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image zuume19
1 review
Feb 2017
More than 2500 years of history live in the streets of Rome. Most of our first excursion was strictly sightseeing on a bus with limited amount of time where we actually got off the bus. Many of my pictures were reflected on the glass window or involved people's heads and therefore, are not snapshots of Rome. There will be better pictures in the next album of Rome. 2nd day -- Ancient Rome: Colosseum, Forum, National Roman Museum, and Baths
Read zuume19's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image sdevoe
1 review
Feb 2017
Again the bus was uncomfortable because the seating was too close together. In the description it said that we would have some time to meander on our own. (We were allowed to go into one shop where the trip leader got a kick back from the sales.) This did not happen. However, this did provide an all be it brief view of the city.
Read sdevoe's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image 1stimecruiser
4 reviews
Jan 2017
Great tour with so much to see - you won't be able to see it all in only a day or two.
Read 1stimecruiser's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Rickand Jan
1 review
Jan 2017
A short tour of the ancient city. Amazing place. Around each corner there appeared to be another site. As our tour was delayed by late docking of our ship due to bad weather it was fine but I think if we were there earlier in the day we would have liked a lot more time to explore.
Read Rickand Jan's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image n.brackley
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Great organisation on this tour. 38 partaking with 3 guides. Great to bypass the que's
Read n.brackley's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image ELBOSS
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Rome do it on your own, far cheaper , less walking, see everything in half the time with Civitachechia Cabs.
Read ELBOSS's full Costa Diadema cruise review
Provider: Civitivecchia Cabs
Member Image Lady amelia
1 review
Dec 2016
Very good, even had a little time to go into St. Peter's.
Read Lady amelia's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image BabaSue2
1 review
Nov 2016
We also booked a tour of the Sistine Chapel and the Vatican Museum with an independent tour provider. Did St. Peter's on our own. The Snapshots of Rome tour was good.
Read BabaSue2's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image SLydon
1 review
Nov 2016
Our tour guide (Maximo?) was good. It was effectively a 'Rome' refresher course and we loved the time. No matter how many times you've been to Rome, its always a good idea.
Read SLydon's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Tuscany Bus / Civita Tours
Member Image RuthPeters
1 review
Nov 2016
We took a bus tour of Rome through Viking and stopped at Vatican City for quite a while. It took 1.5 hours to get to Rome from the ship. The drive was nice going to and from the ship.
Read RuthPeters's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Mefedup
1 review
Nov 2016
Ok, our guide was good although he had to translate in 3 languages which held us up.
Read Mefedup's full Zenith cruise review
Provider: Pullmantur
Member Image John.urie
1 review
Oct 2016
Lovely city and an excellent guide in Simone
Read John.urie's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Ms. Mariner
2 reviews
Oct 2016
There were about 15 of us on a comfortable bus. Our tour guide was very efficient, but seemed a bit harried. Of course, we only had 4 hours to see the highlights of Rome, visit Vatican City, and leave for the cruise port. In the beginning, she left a couple of our tour group "in the dust" as she rushed to the bus, but when this was called to her attention, she apologized and was very attentive. On this particular tour, the visit to Vatican City might have been skipped. There was really no time to do anything there except visit the restrooms and gift shop. I think all the highlights of historic Rome were covered in this somewhat frantic trip. I have good photos even if I don't know what they are!
Read Ms. Mariner's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Nalacalli
2 reviews
Oct 2016
We had a group of 8 people and drove down to Rome. Had skip the line tickets for the Colosseum. A few had a private guide for the Vatican while the rest did their own thing. It cost me 80 euros for a private tour. Can't beat the price. We were back to the ship by 5 pm.
Read Nalacalli's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Aldo Monti
Member Image amharris829
2 reviews
Oct 2016
We got to tour inside of the Colosseum, St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican, and Sistine Chapel. Busy busy day but we got to see these wonderful historical sites and didn't have to wait in the normal lines we would have if we went on our own. Long day of walking but a must do for anyone going to Rome.
Read amharris829's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Dsatnick
1 review
Oct 2016
Rome is Spectacular
Read Dsatnick's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Viatour
Member Image mrbjab
1 review
Oct 2016
You got to see a lot but spent all day in a bus. One stop at Vatican City but not enough time to see anything.
Read mrbjab's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Roma 16
1 review
Oct 2016
A very intense day with much walking. Our guides were excellent. Got to see the Colosseum,the Forum,Trevi Fountain. Drove by the Spanish steps, had a very tasty lunch of salad,lasagna,wine and dessert. Line up and waiting time too long ,so was not able to get inside the Vatican. This was most disappointing. However ,they do warn you that this could happen. The crowds were overwhelming. Ride from port to Rome over an hour,so adds to the day. It is a very good tour,but exhausting. Glad to get back to ship and relax with a glass of wine.
Read Roma 16's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Conway Becky
1 review
Oct 2016
Too much crammed into one day
Read Conway Becky's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?