Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Retrace the footsteps of Ancient Romans as you explore the Roman Forum, Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and other must-sees in Rome.
Member Image reflex1973
1 review
Aug 2016
No aircon in train was delayed paid more but coach was Cheever and quicker the guide was good but all other was poor
Read reflex1973's full Costa Diadema cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image Amartlay
2 reviews
Aug 2016
We booked Rome/Private Train but it got cancelled. This was the closest substitute. We were supposed to be on our own, but our guide took pity on about 10 of us and gave us a tour. We tipped her heavily because of this, otherwise, this would have been bad.
Read Amartlay's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Chars3011
1 review
Aug 2016
Are your guide was brilliant
Read Chars3011's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bob FirstTimer
1 review
Aug 2016
Can't Be Missed was just excellent. We learned of them through a book written by Rick Steves. They met us in port, shephered us on a public train to Rome. Got us on the Rome Metro and to the Coliseum, stayed with us through the walk through the ruins and the trip to Vatican City. They then turned us over to another guide for the Vatican Museum tour and he was also excellent. I can't recommend Can't Be Missed Tours any more highly. They were superb.
Read Bob FirstTimer's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Can't Be Missed Tours
Member Image ecurbsnerha
1 review
Aug 2016
Crowded
Read ecurbsnerha's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image glenec@hotmail.co.uk
1 review
Jul 2016
Highlight of our cruise, managed to get round and see everything, one day here is not enough to get into the galleries and monuments, ques are extraordinary.
Read glenec@hotmail.co.uk's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Gailee
1 review
Jul 2016
Haeadphones provided but with noise of city it was really difficult to hear what the guide was saying- most gave up.
Read Gailee's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions
Member Image BAKAT
2 reviews
Jul 2016
We booked an "Inside the Colosseum and the Vatican" tour, which not only included a tour of the Colosseum, but also a quick tour of the Vatican Museums (including the Sixtine Chapel, together with an estimate of four million other tourists :-) ...), completed by a visit to St. Peter's Cathedral. We had an excellent tour guide who really did a great job and kept calm despite the huge masses pushing from all sides.
Read BAKAT's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Runija
1 review
Jul 2016
Outside of the port there are always tour companies selling you the same trips for a lot less. We had a return trip to Rome for 19 euro,they can sell you priority access tickets into the Vatican church for 5 euro onboard. We used the HOHO in Rome. In hindsight, I wish we had got a very early train into Rome and had more spare time.
Read Runija's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Civit travel
Member Image Cheyshecruiser
1 review
Jul 2016
Our driver Marco was the best guide we had the whole cruise and we had a guide in every port. He took us to a fantastic restaurant for lunch and was genuinely interested in what we wanted to see. He gave us as much time as we needed and was very friendly and funny. All 4 teenagers loved him. Very laid back and accommodating.
Read Cheyshecruiser's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Miles and Miles
Member Image arkansas travelers
1 review
Jul 2016
best guide we have ever had on an excursion -
Read arkansas travelers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: CBM Tours
Member Image johnj54321
1 review
Jul 2016
The tour with RC was very short. They made us get on the bus to return by 3 pm when boarding time for the ship was 8 pm. This made our visit to Rome very short. Next time I will take a private tour company.
Read johnj54321's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Hssweetheart
1 review
Jul 2016
The drivers were great! They knowledgeable and fun! They new a lot of short cuts around the city, which saved us time.
Read Hssweetheart's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Joe Banana Limos
Member Image Stinging Pig
1 review
Jul 2016
We had a very good tour guide who took us to various places of interest around the city.
Read Stinging Pig's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sweethome71
1 review
Jul 2016
Very nice. Tour guide for Vatican was very knowledgeable but I found he lost his crowd - no entertainment, just info overload. The guide was VERY knowledgeable and fantastic when it came to directing us to less crowded bathrooms, lunch places and keeping us in the shade as it was very hot, very crowded. We weren't waiting in line as MANY others were and that was very good. Overall the close to $300US per person price prompted us to not book any other excursions through the cruise and to limit our excursions to two due to cost.
Read Sweethome71's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image wazza99
1 review
Jul 2016
Again Rome was very interesting but soooo hot.....although the tour was 9 hours, it was a rush and hard work to fit everything in. Entrances are not included so there is no time to go in the Colosseum, our guide thankfully got us "pilgrim" tickets so we could walk straight into St Peters. As most know shoulders and knees must be covered men and women. You can buy "wraps" in the main square, haggle tho one lady paid 8 euro for one, we got 3 for 7 !
Read wazza99's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Viva Las VegasBruiser1
1 review
Jul 2016
very informative, a must
Read Viva Las VegasBruiser1's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kaf1sh
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Our second visit to the Eternal City -and still no water in the Trevi Fountain! We did the Top Ten Sights of Rome. Very hectic- including a 2 hour walking tour. A great guide though - who was expert in her knowledge. We were rewarded with lunch at an old Roman baths. Credit to the staff for feeding approx 500 people!
Read kaf1sh's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image gk1972
1 review
Jul 2016
Great tour and guide
Read gk1972's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Kdbrown85
1 review
Jun 2016
Loved city the city sites and loved the tour guide but Rome was not what I was expecting. Wayyy too crowded. Not enough transportation systems for everyone and no pedestrian walkways. You almost get run over several times and the tour guide said that this is normal in rome. No thanks. My least favorite excursion!
Read Kdbrown85's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image HYE6
1 review
Jun 2016
EXCELLENT
Read HYE6's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: RomeInLimos
Member Image radar65
3 reviews
Jun 2016
The excursions were at best a bit uneven depending on the port. Our excursion in Rome I would rate a 1 out of 5. The bus was overcrowded with every seat including the rear bench seat taken, the air conditioning did not work in the rear of the bus and the bus was dirty. The tour guide did not speak English well enough or slow enough for anyone to understand. When I asked her to slow down she gave me the Italian shrug of the shoulders. When she spoke about local places she pronounced them in the proper (Italian) way but as fast as she would to a native speaker so as to be completely un-understandable to a non-native speaker. The tour was supposed to be an overview Panoramic tour and turned into a tour of Rome’s traffic. We did see the Coliseum ( the only reason I would give this 1 star instead of 0) which was good but our drive past the Vatican did not occur because of traffic. The guide claimed that the street was closed but I could clearly see other vehicles going up to the square all we got was a half second fleeting glance at the Dome some 5 blocks away.
Read radar65's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Neill
1 review
Jun 2016
Very good guide interesting commentary very knowledgable
Read Neill's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image kingoswing70
1 review
Jun 2016
Private Tours is worth the extra money
Read kingoswing70's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: easitalytours
Member Image Mitchell F
1 review
Jun 2016
Off the ship no issues but early 07:30 start then a 90/120 minute coach trip to Rome Tout around the city then stops at the tourist spots to look round
Read Mitchell F's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?