Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Retrace the footsteps of Ancient Romans as you explore the Roman Forum, Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and other must-sees in Rome.
Member Image JaniceTillmans
1 review
Mar 2017
The general tour was okay. Tour guid was great. Expected to see more sights. Believe Viking should include much much more in their inclusive tours. And include going through the sites, not just a drive-by.
Read JaniceTillmans's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image CarolMcE
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Coliseum and Circus Maximus were pretty cool; especially the coliseum. Fountain was way too crowded to throw a coin in. Vatican lines to see museum and chapel were longer than the time allowed.
Read CarolMcE's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image sdevoe
1 review
Feb 2017
Again the bus was uncomfortable because the seating was too close together. In the description it said that we would have some time to meander on our own. (We were allowed to go into one shop where the trip leader got a kick back from the sales.) This did not happen. However, this did provide an all be it brief view of the city.
Read sdevoe's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image 1stimecruiser
4 reviews
Jan 2017
Great tour with so much to see - you won't be able to see it all in only a day or two.
Read 1stimecruiser's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Rickand Jan
1 review
Jan 2017
A short tour of the ancient city. Amazing place. Around each corner there appeared to be another site. As our tour was delayed by late docking of our ship due to bad weather it was fine but I think if we were there earlier in the day we would have liked a lot more time to explore.
Read Rickand Jan's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image n.brackley
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Great organisation on this tour. 38 partaking with 3 guides. Great to bypass the que's
Read n.brackley's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image ELBOSS
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Rome do it on your own, far cheaper , less walking, see everything in half the time with Civitachechia Cabs.
Read ELBOSS's full Costa Diadema cruise review
Provider: Civitivecchia Cabs
Member Image Lady amelia
1 review
Dec 2016
Very good, even had a little time to go into St. Peter's.
Read Lady amelia's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image BabaSue2
1 review
Nov 2016
We also booked a tour of the Sistine Chapel and the Vatican Museum with an independent tour provider. Did St. Peter's on our own. The Snapshots of Rome tour was good.
Read BabaSue2's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image SLydon
1 review
Nov 2016
Our tour guide (Maximo?) was good. It was effectively a 'Rome' refresher course and we loved the time. No matter how many times you've been to Rome, its always a good idea.
Read SLydon's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Tuscany Bus / Civita Tours
Member Image RuthPeters
1 review
Nov 2016
We took a bus tour of Rome through Viking and stopped at Vatican City for quite a while. It took 1.5 hours to get to Rome from the ship. The drive was nice going to and from the ship.
Read RuthPeters's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Mefedup
1 review
Nov 2016
Ok, our guide was good although he had to translate in 3 languages which held us up.
Read Mefedup's full Zenith cruise review
Provider: Pullmantur
Member Image John.urie
1 review
Oct 2016
Lovely city and an excellent guide in Simone
Read John.urie's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Ms. Mariner
2 reviews
Oct 2016
There were about 15 of us on a comfortable bus. Our tour guide was very efficient, but seemed a bit harried. Of course, we only had 4 hours to see the highlights of Rome, visit Vatican City, and leave for the cruise port. In the beginning, she left a couple of our tour group "in the dust" as she rushed to the bus, but when this was called to her attention, she apologized and was very attentive. On this particular tour, the visit to Vatican City might have been skipped. There was really no time to do anything there except visit the restrooms and gift shop. I think all the highlights of historic Rome were covered in this somewhat frantic trip. I have good photos even if I don't know what they are!
Read Ms. Mariner's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Nalacalli
2 reviews
Oct 2016
We had a group of 8 people and drove down to Rome. Had skip the line tickets for the Colosseum. A few had a private guide for the Vatican while the rest did their own thing. It cost me 80 euros for a private tour. Can't beat the price. We were back to the ship by 5 pm.
Read Nalacalli's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Aldo Monti
Member Image amharris829
2 reviews
Oct 2016
We got to tour inside of the Colosseum, St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican, and Sistine Chapel. Busy busy day but we got to see these wonderful historical sites and didn't have to wait in the normal lines we would have if we went on our own. Long day of walking but a must do for anyone going to Rome.
Read amharris829's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Dsatnick
1 review
Oct 2016
Rome is Spectacular
Read Dsatnick's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Viatour
Member Image Roma 16
1 review
Oct 2016
A very intense day with much walking. Our guides were excellent. Got to see the Colosseum,the Forum,Trevi Fountain. Drove by the Spanish steps, had a very tasty lunch of salad,lasagna,wine and dessert. Line up and waiting time too long ,so was not able to get inside the Vatican. This was most disappointing. However ,they do warn you that this could happen. The crowds were overwhelming. Ride from port to Rome over an hour,so adds to the day. It is a very good tour,but exhausting. Glad to get back to ship and relax with a glass of wine.
Read Roma 16's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Conway Becky
1 review
Oct 2016
Too much crammed into one day
Read Conway Becky's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Simes123
1 review
Oct 2016
Overall we really enjoyed Rome, but the tour from Civita had a very grumpy tour guide, and the group was too large in the busy capital. We covered a lot of ground but it did feel like we were a human snake wending through the crowds. It was a good taster, beautiful city and we are going back to do it properly ourselves over a longer duration.
Read Simes123's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Civita Tours
Member Image winter.escapee
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Great tour: St Peter's, Colosseum, Trevi with enough free time to also get to the Pantheon
Read winter.escapee's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image magaudet30
1 review
Sep 2016
Strongly recommend taking a food tour of Rome! "Skip the line" passes for Vatican and Colosseum were very helpful.
Read magaudet30's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image honest john
1 review
Sep 2016
Quite expensive
Read honest john's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image BLACKBURNROVERS
1 review
Sep 2016
Wednesday morning docked at 6.00am in Civitavecchia on pier 12 Bis (N) and I was first off the ship and decided to walk all the way to the railway station and was on the train at 6.45am which was in the station. There was no sign of any shuttle at that time in the morning. My Wife decided not to bother with Rome, so I went alone. Off the train at Roma Ostiense and took the subway to Piramade for the 2 stops to the Colosseum. I had pre-booked my ticket and was there when the gates opened at 8.30am and straight inside. Took a few photographs and then headed for the Trevi fountain which were being cleaned and the fountains were not working. Walked then to Spanish steps and then to the Pantheon which was lovely inside. Quick walk to Piazza Navona and then headed across the river to Castel Sant 'Angelo and climbed to the top for a few more pics. Proceeded up the main street to the Vatican which was busy to say the least as it had been the weekly audience with the Pope. Past the security check but never made it into St Peters Square as at 11.15am, everybody was leaving and the police were blocking entry until 1.00pm. Headed to the station at Roma S. Pietro and back on the train at 12 Noon to Civitavecchia. No shuttle bus around at the station and so walked it all the way back to the ship.
Read BLACKBURNROVERS's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Self
Member Image Nwercruiser
1 review
Sep 2016
Rome... Top Ten with Lunch Taking this excursion we saw just about everything we wanted to see in Rome even though most times from a distance on the bus, however it was a perfect sampling of everything the city has to offer after going on a tiring excursion the day before. I can still say I saw Rome in a day! For a day tour so much was squeezed in to also make time for lunch which was in a cute boutique style restaurant. We had a bit of trouble hearing and understanding the tour guide during the walking portions but otherwise was a good experience. We enjoyed the free time at the Trevi Fountain and were able to get right up to it, take pictures and toss in our coins... even having time to shop and enjoy a cappuccino. Had hoped to have more time to explore around the coliseum on our own, think lunch really ate into the opportunity for more free time... otherwise was pleased with the experience.
Read Nwercruiser's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?