Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Retrace the footsteps of Ancient Romans as you explore the Roman Forum, Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and other must-sees in Rome.
Member Image a.verapuerto@hotmail.com
1 review
Feb 2016
perfect but a little tireding
Read a.verapuerto@hotmail.com's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: http://www.shoreexcursionsforcruisers.com/en/
Member Image dacwpark
9 reviews
Nov 2015
We were so impressed with CBM tours that we used them again in Rome. Previously my wife and I booked Rome through NCL, paying about $100 each just to be transported to and from the port. Once in Rome we were then on our own. With CBM, however, they took us by train from the port to the Coliseum, and got us tickets to get inside without delay, then they took us to Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, the Spanish steps and finally to the Vatican and St. Peters again all without delays. Valentina with CBM was EXCELLENT! You are given a headset the entire journey as she speaks. A lot of walking but what better way to see the city? Cost for CBM was about 80 Euros each, plus Colosseum tickets 14 euros each, Vatican tickets adults 21 euros each.
Read dacwpark's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: CBM
Member Image stgunby
1 review
Nov 2015
Walking Tour - Excellent
Read stgunby's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Can't Be Missed Tours
Member Image sharonfensome
1 review
Nov 2015
Incredible and plan to return for longer stay
Read sharonfensome's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ForumStops
1 review
Oct 2015
We had anticipated a smaller bus or van. Instead a full size bus came and took about 16 passengers on the tour. The tour was wonderful especially Valldemossa and the guide was professional and even took us to an off the beaten tracks place for lunch to eat with the "locals".
Read ForumStops's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Spain Tours, EU
Member Image KS_Meadowlark
2 reviews
Oct 2015
We were escorted from our hotel to a bus tour of the city. It was a gorgeous day to see Rome. Our tour guide was very informative and spoke very good English. We were also escorted by an employee of Go Next (Branka) who assisted our tour guide to keep track of the 23 or 24 people in the tour through all of the locations. We had several people on our tour who were disabled and either had canes or Rollators to assist with walking. Our tour guide had made arrangements in advance for our large tour group to entire the sites so that we had very little waiting in lines of tourists.
Read KS_Meadowlark's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Go Next
Member Image joste64
1 review
Oct 2015
Fantastic
Read joste64's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AWW3
1 review
Oct 2015
Tour of city was excellent even with the hoards of people and other buses. Sure glad this is the off season!
Read AWW3's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image ECB43512
1 review
Sep 2015
Just did a bus tour. One lap around city. Not great. Had audio, but rarely linked up to where you were. Views ok, but over an hour in a bus in start and stop traffic not my idea of fun. Very big city!
Read ECB43512's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lelocher
1 review
Sep 2015
We had been to Rome befor and decided to take the included tour of Rome. We saw many highlights of the city including the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, the Spanish steps and many other places. The city was very crowded but it was still an enjoyable day to see these sights again.
Read lelocher's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image bifocalpear
1 review
Sep 2015
An awesome day. Long but worth it. Mixture of ancient ruins and city sights.
Read bifocalpear's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Cbraff
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Rome was crowded, many sites being redone, did not get into colosseum. Vatican city very impressive but much closed on Sunday.
Read Cbraff's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image djdemerling
2 reviews
Sep 2015
First time in Rome. Saw all the expected sites. Trevi Fountain was disappointing. St Peter's was outstanding. Good introduction to Rome. Not enough time to spend any detailed viewing.
Read djdemerling's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image MiriamO8
1 review
Sep 2015
Somewhat disappointing. Spent 3/4 of an hour outside the colliseum but did not go in (not included). Some driving around and a lot of walking. Let off at the Vatican and very disappointed to find that the museum was closed. For me it was my fourth visit so had an idea where I was and where to go. Would have been totally lost otherwise.
Read MiriamO8's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image merwench
1 review
Sep 2015
This tour took in all the sights but 3 welsh women did not keep to times to meet so we did a lot of waiting for them. hence too little time to lunch. But saw loads of sights and helped having the headsets as the tour guide could go ahead and we could still hear. Would not do the Vatican again but spend more time in Rome. We saw the colosseum from outside, the trevi fountain, Pantheon and spent the afternoon in the Vatican.
Read merwench's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Cruise Excursions
Member Image Mel Isherwood
1 review
Sep 2015
We booked Accessible Emotions a social enterprise company who run tours in Rome. Both my friend and I are wheelchair users and we travelled together with our family. Once in the van, we were asked what we wanted to see, then planned our City Tour around our preferences. We visited Vatican - the guide came inside, spoke with the ticket operators, and ensured we were in quickly and efficiently, no queueing! The guide chose a fabulous restaurant for lunch, with choices that met even the fussiest of our family members, we visited Colosseum, and much more, each again our guide walking with us ensuring safe access. In honesty both driver and guide humble, honest, and made our trip a pleasure! Highly recommend!!
Read Mel Isherwood's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Accessible Emotions
Member Image Michaelangelo1
1 review
Sep 2015
We booked on board the bus into Rome for $69 return. On the bus we then booked a (YELLOW LINE) open bus city tour for another $20. Big Mistake. If you do go to Rome, pay the $109 approx and you'll stay on the SAME BUS throughout.
Read Michaelangelo1's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tm81663
1 review
Aug 2015
We joined New Rome Free walking tour on our first day. We had the normal stops at Tevi Fountain (under construction), Spanish Steps, Pantheon, and various other churches. Our guide, though knowledgeable, was not as friendly as as charismatic as other walking tours we've been on. It was a good intro to Rome.
Read tm81663's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: New Rome Free Walking Tour
Member Image Ianrobert
1 review
Aug 2015
Brilliant tour and lunch
Read Ianrobert's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image scifimonkey
3 reviews
Aug 2015
Not a fan of ships tours but we wanted to visit the Sistine Chapel and the tour was the method of skipping the ridiculous queues. It worked and actually the tour was not bad overall. Even the lunch was ok!!?
Read scifimonkey's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Saxier1
1 review
Aug 2015
Great fun driver with a knowledge of local area. Pickup from wharf was disorganised, we didn't know if it was to be a bus or private car (turned out to be the latter), and the pickup points are a couple of kilometers apart. Called the number listed on the voucher and the office girl didn't know what vehicle was picking us up! (How are we to know if they don't?) Great relief to see our driver holding up a sign with our names on it, tour itself was good, tour company not so much!
Read Saxier1's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Smart Cruise Tours
Member Image Fiona Robinson
1 review
Aug 2015
This was a brief tour before we returned to the airport. We did not expect this so it was a nice surprise. We visitedthe vatican.
Read Fiona Robinson's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image lhogarth
1 review
Aug 2015
Outstanding tour. Forum, Vatican, Colisseum and more. Loved it.
Read lhogarth's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Legesy
1 review
Jul 2015
The trip was ok, it was basically just a bus to take us there & back. Unfortunately there was 7 other cruise ships in port that day so it was really busy.
Read Legesy's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Family 408 cruiser
1 review
Jul 2015
Booked a car for the 4 of us - air con, wifi, water and knowledge driver who was like a tour guide and guide books all provided. Price was still cheaper for 4 than doing a RC excusion. Collected directly from off the ship and whisked straight to Rome - no waiting for others. Had all the time we wanted at all of the main sites and also time to relax with a coffee mid morning... and still back to the ship with plenty of time to spare. Would certainly recommend.
Read Family 408 cruiser's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore excusions in Italy

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.