Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Retrace the footsteps of Ancient Romans as you explore the Roman Forum, Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and other must-sees in Rome.
Member Image pbrn55
1 review
Sep 2016
Celebrity's City Stay included a walking/riding city tour which included all of the major highlights and also included a St. Peters Basilica tour. There was a lot of walking on both tours but the guides were excellent and made provisions for those having a rough time keeping up. The lunch/dinner provided with the tours were very good as well. We did our own Vatican museum/Sistine chapel tour through a private company. It was hot the week we were there (the week of 9/12/16) and all sights were VERY crowded. Rome isn't a very clean city and I can't believe in the 4 days we were there we didn't witness someone being critically injured riding a Vespa-type scooter (thank goodness), it was craziness!
Read pbrn55's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image online2780998
1 review
Sep 2016
Have done this tour with other cruise lines This tour did not stop for photo shoot near Vatican disappointing for first time to Rome passengers Trevi and Colosseum good however
Read online2780998's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image WizGnome
1 review
Sep 2016
The mini bus driver spent a lot of the time on his phone whilst driving into Rome in the rain - very scary at times. no toilet breaks and had to wait when we got off until we arrived at Colosseum (€1 for toilet). Not informed that liquids had to be disposed off before entering Colosseum. Guide was very informative and we thoroughly enjoyed the sights but not much time to take photographs. We would need more time and will visit again - we did not go in Vatican museum but enjoyed the time looking around St. Peters Basilica and having some refreshment.
Read WizGnome's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Can't be missed tours
Member Image angelbear911
1 review
Sep 2016
We had a private tour with Rudy's Touring Service. His driver picked us up a the port right at 8 am and whisked us off to Rome where Rudy joined us for an amazing day in Rome. We saw the Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Vatican Museum, St. Peters Square, Colosseum, and so much more. One of the best days ever!
Read angelbear911's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Rudy's Touring Service
Member Image Loopyloo12
1 review
Sep 2016
We booked a luxury small group tour and were picked up at the drop off point just outside the port. 8 of us in total were whisked off into Rome and dropped at various locations and given time to look round, including the Colosseum, Trevi fountain and Spanish Steps. We also had tickets into the Vatican. It was a great way to see a huge amount without exhausting yourself and it included a super lunch in a local pizza and pasta restaurant. My only small grumble was that there was no tour guide as our driver had to stick with the mini bus. He gave us small snippets of information but I would have liked more and to know what I was looking at as we went round the city seeing such amazing sights. However we had a superb time, met some lovely people who accompanied us from the ship and I thought it was great value for money.
Read Loopyloo12's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Cruise Excursions
Member Image Mrs Hall16
1 review
Sep 2016
Whistle stop tour of the sights.
Read Mrs Hall16's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image yosi
1 review
Sep 2016
very good
Read yosi's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image gayechristiansen
1 review
Sep 2016
Our tour guide was not the greatest but we would never have been able to get into these sites and pass all the lines without taking the shore excursion. The Colosseum, St. Peter's Basillica and Sistine Chapel really do have to be done with a excursion or a private, pre-purchased tour. The cost was good with the excursion though and other buses had interesting tour guides so I probably would sign up for the tour again. Just take your own downloads or information just in case you have a poor guide.
Read gayechristiansen's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Bluewater21
1 review
Sep 2016
A bus tour overview of the important sights in Rome. Can't recommend, because the audio on this particular bus tour is not especially helpful. The only bus tour I ever look where the audio did not point out where to look -- didn't say "Ahead of you is..." or "To your right you'll see...." Confusing.
Read Bluewater21's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: I Love Rome Hop on/Hop off Panoramic
Member Image jobfox
1 review
Sep 2016
Due to my mobility problems this was a great way to see the main sites with a stop off at St Peter's for the Vatican
Read jobfox's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ssamson
1 review
Aug 2016
We visited the Coliseum, the Vatican and Sistine Chapel. We were able to walk right into each and had lots of time to visit. Again our tour guide made arrangements for us to sit down and have a wonderful lunch in a restaurant not far from the Vatican.
Read ssamson's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image Mrmemor7
1 review
Aug 2016
Italian food and shooping
Read Mrmemor7's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: myself
Member Image eburke1
1 review
Aug 2016
fascinating city and want to go back but the tour arranger itself was slightly lacking
Read eburke1's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ES5331
1 review
Aug 2016
Rome for Families - did key sites we wanted - St Peters - Vatican museum and sistine chapel and inside Colosseum & 30 mins shopping. Great lunch in lovely resturant. Got in via VIP entrance in Colosseum - so actual got into areana area. Main problem was that we didn't get enough time in Vatican Museum or St Peter. Tourist spots - usual rip off for drinks - 4 euros for coke.
Read ES5331's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rmsimcoc
1 review
Aug 2016
Guide was good
Read rmsimcoc's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 2pretty
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Our escort was great and the 'specialist guide' was the best I've ever had! We entered the Colosseum through a alternate entrance as did the king and gladiators back in the day; Trevi fountain has been cleaned beautifully, and the Vatican such great works of art. A full day worth the price and the exhaustion.
Read 2pretty's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image reflex1973
1 review
Aug 2016
No aircon in train was delayed paid more but coach was Cheever and quicker the guide was good but all other was poor
Read reflex1973's full Costa Diadema cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image Amartlay
2 reviews
Aug 2016
We booked Rome/Private Train but it got cancelled. This was the closest substitute. We were supposed to be on our own, but our guide took pity on about 10 of us and gave us a tour. We tipped her heavily because of this, otherwise, this would have been bad.
Read Amartlay's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Chars3011
1 review
Aug 2016
Are your guide was brilliant
Read Chars3011's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Alia150270
1 review
Aug 2016
Did panoramic Rome tour. Very quick round Rome and then 45 minutes in St. Peter's square. Didn't stop to see Spanish steps or trevi fountain at all. Shame we didn't have more time for collie swum instead of quick drive past, but only tour available for wheelchair. Will def go back and look into alternatives
Read Alia150270's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bob FirstTimer
1 review
Aug 2016
Can't Be Missed was just excellent. We learned of them through a book written by Rick Steves. They met us in port, shephered us on a public train to Rome. Got us on the Rome Metro and to the Coliseum, stayed with us through the walk through the ruins and the trip to Vatican City. They then turned us over to another guide for the Vatican Museum tour and he was also excellent. I can't recommend Can't Be Missed Tours any more highly. They were superb.
Read Bob FirstTimer's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Can't Be Missed Tours
Member Image ecurbsnerha
1 review
Aug 2016
Crowded
Read ecurbsnerha's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image SweetCruiser39
2 reviews
Aug 2016
We first started off slow with a trip to a little cafe, scenic views for picture taking, and a stop for gelato. We went to the Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, and the Vatican. Everything was very crowded. I would have skipped the inside of the Colosseum.
Read SweetCruiser39's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: ItalyTours.EU
Member Image glenec@hotmail.co.uk
1 review
Jul 2016
Highlight of our cruise, managed to get round and see everything, one day here is not enough to get into the galleries and monuments, ques are extraordinary.
Read glenec@hotmail.co.uk's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Gailee
1 review
Jul 2016
Haeadphones provided but with noise of city it was really difficult to hear what the guide was saying- most gave up.
Read Gailee's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?