Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) St. Peter's Basilica Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) St. Peter's Basilica cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The greatest feat of Renaissance architecture, and constructed in part by Michelangelo himself, the sheer scale of St. Peter's Basilica is nothing short of astounding. This is known to be the burial site of Saint Peter, 91 popes, a Holy Roman Emperor, and more.
Member Image PK Fox
1 review
Dec 2015
St. Peter's is grand and inspiring. The Pieta is there and amazing to see. Security has been increased since the terrorist activities and we waited an hour to get through the screening. It was well worth the wait to be able to see the beautiful statues and glorious ceilings. The tour director was cute and encouraged everyone to climb the tower of St. Peter's which I don't recommend unless you are in great shape. It's something like 320 very narrow, winding, steep steps.
Read PK Fox's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image sharonfensome
1 review
Nov 2015
Beautiful, the Pope was there speaking to the crowd
Read sharonfensome's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cindycakes
1 review
Sep 2015
Tour guide covered a lot, but there is so much to see that we went back inside after the tour to have plenty of time to enjoy the artwork and sense of Peace.
Read Cindycakes's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: When In Rome Tours
Member Image S_MN_Warmth_Seekers
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Very informative older gentleman guided us after we arrived on bus, to Colosseum where we had LOTS of time, Forum, other sites then lunch. St Peters after lunch, no sistine chapel and talking to those on boat who went there it was so busy it was hard to see much. LOTS OF TOURISTS EVERYWHERE on gorgeous day. Wear your money belt!
Read S_MN_Warmth_Seekers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Skeeterbox
1 review
Sep 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed the guide's knowledgable commentary on all the things we saw including the place where St. Peter is thought to be buried.
Read Skeeterbox's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hawkshoe
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Beautiful. Would never have gotten in here without the help of our guide.
Read hawkshoe's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carlosuru74
1 review
Aug 2015
Good
Read carlosuru74's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tm81663
1 review
Aug 2015
We booked the Scavvi tour directly through the Vatican, which is a small tour available on a first come / first serve basis. It allows you to go under St. Peter's and see the burial sites under the church, the bones of St. Peter (probably maybe), and the crypt where popes are laid. This was great, because afterwards we didn't have to wait in line to see the Basilica at ground level. The church is amazing, huge, and just mind blowing. A must see for a visit to Rome
Read tm81663's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: On our own
Member Image igrsod
1 review
Aug 2015
Beautiful. Glad we went here first thing. The line fills up quickly.
Read igrsod's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BucketList57
1 review
Aug 2015
Not crowded. Unbelievably beautiful. I remembered how large it was from my visit 31 years ago, but I forgot how beautiful it was.
Read BucketList57's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image canadasmiles
1 review
Jul 2015
Waiting and waiting
Read canadasmiles's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image GrandmotherCruiser
1 review
Jul 2015
Amazing and beautiful. Guide not very helpful.
Read GrandmotherCruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image mikiddo123
1 review
Jul 2015
ok
Read mikiddo123's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cruisin50th65
1 review
Jun 2015
Beautiful, so much history, must see michaelangelos Pieta
Read Cruisin50th65's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Myfanwy3
1 review
Jun 2015
Unmissable
Read Myfanwy3's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cruise Excursions
Member Image judypalm
1 review
May 2015
The excursion included tickets to St. Peter's Basilica and it was awesome!!
Read judypalm's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hoopmd
1 review
May 2015
Prebook the Vatican and all it has to offer before you go. You will skip the lines and be able to enjoy it
Read hoopmd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Laura with Private Tours of Rome
Member Image Mermaid2013
2 reviews
May 2015
Again Fabulous Guide
Read Mermaid2013's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sciare
1 review
May 2015
Gorgeous
Read Sciare's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Trough Eternity
Member Image Debs57
1 review
May 2015
Wonderful very busy and very hot.
Read Debs57's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image sophiemarigold
1 review
May 2015
We had a great embarkation tour through Princess. Our guide was passionate about art history and although this was our second time visiting both of these sites, we got a lot out of it.
Read sophiemarigold's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image justluv2cruisewithhubby
6 reviews
May 2015
We booked the Vatican breakfast tour where there is only two small groups of 15 people that eat in the pine cone courtyard at 7am then have a quite tour of the Vatican; Sistine Chapel and museum .
Read justluv2cruisewithhubby's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: City Wonders
Member Image LCJones629
1 review
May 2015
Same as above. We were suppose to go up into the tower, but it was closed because of the Pope speaking. It was a good tour overall and we were glad we had booked it.
Read LCJones629's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Travel Bound through AAA
Member Image MDDermanelian
2 reviews
May 2015
Wish we would of had more time, but there is so much to see that one day is just not enough. We would need a week for Rome all by itself to see everything we wanted.
Read MDDermanelian's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MSunshine
1 review
Apr 2015
You could spend hours looking over all the detail and artwork. Michelangelo's work is simply astonishing. His story telling through his paintings is wonderful.
Read MSunshine's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.