Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Rome (Civitavecchia) St. Peter's Basilica Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) St. Peter's Basilica cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The greatest feat of Renaissance architecture, and constructed in part by Michelangelo himself, the sheer scale of St. Peter's Basilica is nothing short of astounding. This is known to be the burial site of Saint Peter, 91 popes, a Holy Roman Emperor, and more.
Member Image bhturtle
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

It was thrilling to see The Pieta.

Read bhturtle's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image FLCRUISER007
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

A MUST SEE. The most incredible building I have ever been inside of in my lifetime. No attention to detail was missed. The place took my breath away. I also saw The Pieta, my favorite sculpture in the entire world. I could have spent the entire day in this building. Flash photography IS allowed. Awesome, it will amaze you.

Read FLCRUISER007's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rnbal
2 reviews
Jun 2014

As above

Read rnbal's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image jonasaa
2 reviews
Jun 2014

Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, St Peter's Basilica and Colosseum (Adult Only Departure)

St. Peter's Basilica is beautiful inside and outside. Size, gold, vastness - hard to leave unimpressed.

Read jonasaa's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image UberShopper
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Beautiful!

Read UberShopper's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions in Italy
Member Image marybethhuebner
1 review
May 2014

Still to packed. However the Pieta was magnificent.

Read marybethhuebner's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Dark Rome
Member Image Cardiff Owl
1 review
Sep 2013

Amazing place in terms of its scale and decoration / adornments. It's a bit of a procession given the need to direct all the many tourists (of course that's ourselves) in a one way scheme around the Basillica. Again all the explanations were given ahead of going to the entrance and we had about 1 hour free before our final meeting point to head for our return coach to the ship.

Read Cardiff Owl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image k8ti
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

WOW

Read k8ti's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image HEYS
1 review
Sep 2013

Had to see it, though half the World were there.

Read HEYS's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Tuney
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

The all day visit to the Vatican is an absolute must. Photos, and Video's cannot do justice to the scope and beauty of all these historic facilities. Similar to visiting sites like the Grand Canyon of the Colorado, there is no way to describe it unless you have been there in person.

we recommend booking the tour with the cruise line in order to see the most in the limited time available. The Vatican is very crowded (estimates are 30,000+ visitors per day). The tour operators are able to bypass most of the lines waiting to gain entrance to the various venues as well a providing a great deal of interesting information about all the artifacts that you are seeing.

One detail, in the literature this tour is rated as moderately strenuous but we feel that because of the amount of walking and the number of steps to be climbed as well as the length of the tour, it should be rated as strenuous. My wife was exausted and sore by the end of the day but, she would not have missed it for the world.

Read Tuney's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image 4ever@cruiseline
1 review
Aug 2013

Rushed tour without time to see important sites.

Read 4ever@cruiseline's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Cruise XYZ
4 reviews
Jul 2013

Awe inspiring

Read Cruise XYZ's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Quem_Fala
3 reviews
Jun 2013

Too much to see in one day. We booked a private tour with driver and English speaking guide for the Vatican and several noted landmarks, such as the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain. Because we insisted upon having a good Italian lunch, we did cut short on our sight-seeing schedule, but lunch was such fun we didn't think we'd missed much. Kidding aside, pick one of two things to see and "see" them well. There are many more knowledgeable people who could give you better "tips" about Rome. Mine would only be to have a good guide and if you're going to the Vatican get the pre-paid admissions.Oh, and come back and spend a week there!
Our tour company was O.K., although I expected a full-time English speaking guide. Ours only joined us once we were at the Vatican and left us at the Spanish Steps. He knew his stuff, but we were looking for more. a fun fact, our driver looked just like Marcello Mastroianni, so we never did remember his name, it was always "Marcello". I asked him to get into the Trevi Fountain but my Italian wasn't good enough for him to get the "joke".

Read Quem_Fala's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Exclusively Italy - L Ali Sul Mondo
Member Image steve in avon
1 review
May 2013

Good trip just long ride from port.

Read steve in avon's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Supplyman
5 reviews
Oct 2012
This tour was a walking tour with many stops. Guide did a great job. Lunch inclued.
Read Supplyman's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image spikedshoe
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Amazingly beautiful esp. the Michelangelo sculptures.
Read spikedshoe's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tanimmo
1 review
Aug 2012
Long hot wait for security line to get in. People need to be sure to have arms and knees covered; they will stop you. Some folks had scarves wrapped around their knees--funny!!
Read tanimmo's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image Stephen James
1 review
Jun 2012
very long queues
Read Stephen James's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image CyberTag
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Absolutely beautiful!
Read CyberTag's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image ellay864
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2012
The Vatican was our first stop in Rome, and it was great to walk on past the massive queue for tickets and go straight in to St Peter's Basilica. We had a guided tour inside the Basilica (though the audio did fail a couple of times!). To be honest we hadn't been looking forward to being part of a large group, especially as we like to take time to go off taking photos, and also zoom around with the camcorder. We did manage to get ourselves separated from the group at one point but found them before having to resort to the emergency numbers we were given! The Vatican is just superb, and even as someone with no particular religious inclination it is still quite awe-inspiring. Be warned...you will take loads of pictures! We had about an hour touring round and just a short break afterwards before heading into the city centre to the Coliseum
Read ellay864's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dbmm
2 reviews
Jun 2012
We followed our guide in the basilica and here again she was going too fast for photos. We didn't go everywhere we could have but we saw a lot of nice things.
Read dbmm's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 2212tillman
1 review
May 2012
Too short
Read 2212tillman's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Linda Swanson
1 review
May 2012
Our tour guide was phenomenal. Her knowledge was amazing. Everything about Rome was fantastic, can't wait to go back.
Read Linda Swanson's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lynn and John Plant
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2012
I think this would have been much more enjoyable on a less busy weekend...I'm sure that on a quieter day the tour would have been lovely.
Read Lynn and John Plant's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image HRISGirl
1 review
Sep 2011
The Basilica is beautiful. They do allow you to take pictures inside but it was so crowded it was hard to take pictures. We had a meeting time so we could move around on our own.
Read HRISGirl's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.