Rome (Civitavecchia) St. Peter's Basilica Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) St. Peter's Basilica cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The greatest feat of Renaissance architecture, and constructed in part by Michelangelo himself, the sheer scale of St. Peter's Basilica is nothing short of astounding. This is known to be the burial site of Saint Peter, 91 popes, a Holy Roman Emperor, and more.
Member Image vk3307
1 review
Jul 2016
The Basilica is just amazing. The paintings, the sculpture and the history. Wish we'd had more time.
Read vk3307's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: rome in limo, Romina
Member Image Viva Las VegasBruiser1
1 review
Jul 2016
great
Read Viva Las VegasBruiser1's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Aquarius115
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Awesome to see.
Read Aquarius115's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Mchelle2470
1 review
Jul 2016
Breathtaking !!! We were given plenty of time on our own to tour the inside. SHOULDERS AND KNEES HAVE TO BE COVERED TO GET IN BOTH MEN AND WOMEN.
Read Mchelle2470's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Jlonomore
1 review
Jul 2016
Took train directly to St. Peter's and arrived around 9.00. Queuing time was only about 15 mins. Entry is free and you can spend as long as you like in the Catedral
Read Jlonomore's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Independent travel
Member Image PrincessLady
1 review
Jun 2016
This was beyond words. Noemi was our guide from Miles and Miles, she was fantastic.
Read PrincessLady's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Miles and Miles
Member Image Dissapointed Aussie
1 review
Jun 2016
Great tour informative and lines not too long
Read Dissapointed Aussie's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image EuropeanWanderer
1 review
Jun 2016
Great English speaking guide. Skipped the lines, guide had portfolio of museum pictures to use as highlights to what we were going to see.
Read EuropeanWanderer's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Sunny Kochhar
1 review
May 2016
Over crowded still enjoyable. Last time there many years back do not recollect the crowd
Read Sunny Kochhar's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bazzaazzab
2 reviews
May 2016
Great place, history unbelievable for an Aussie.
Read bazzaazzab's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rustyharpoon
1 review
May 2016
Too much time spent outside with the tour guide talking about pictures inside the Basillica and not enough time spent inside.
Read Rustyharpoon's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Miss Nomer
1 review
May 2016
Very impressive.
Read Miss Nomer's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Us.
Member Image Kmptamale72
1 review
May 2016
St. Peter's was incredible. Just again felt very herded and couldn't look around on our own for fear of being separated from our group.
Read Kmptamale72's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image maryewoods1@gmail.com
1 review
May 2016
Beautiful!
Read maryewoods1@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Kristine Y
1 review
May 2016
Rome Highlights - good excursion if you are pressed for time.
Read Kristine Y's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rogerdas
1 review
Apr 2016
Gorgeous artwork and a good place to pray
Read rogerdas's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image PK Fox
1 review
Dec 2015
St. Peter's is grand and inspiring. The Pieta is there and amazing to see. Security has been increased since the terrorist activities and we waited an hour to get through the screening. It was well worth the wait to be able to see the beautiful statues and glorious ceilings. The tour director was cute and encouraged everyone to climb the tower of St. Peter's which I don't recommend unless you are in great shape. It's something like 320 very narrow, winding, steep steps.
Read PK Fox's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image ucanown2
1 review
Nov 2015
grand
Read ucanown2's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image sharonfensome
1 review
Nov 2015
Beautiful, the Pope was there speaking to the crowd
Read sharonfensome's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cindycakes
1 review
Sep 2015
Tour guide covered a lot, but there is so much to see that we went back inside after the tour to have plenty of time to enjoy the artwork and sense of Peace.
Read Cindycakes's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: When In Rome Tours
Member Image S_MN_Warmth_Seekers
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Very informative older gentleman guided us after we arrived on bus, to Colosseum where we had LOTS of time, Forum, other sites then lunch. St Peters after lunch, no sistine chapel and talking to those on boat who went there it was so busy it was hard to see much. LOTS OF TOURISTS EVERYWHERE on gorgeous day. Wear your money belt!
Read S_MN_Warmth_Seekers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Skeeterbox
1 review
Sep 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed the guide's knowledgable commentary on all the things we saw including the place where St. Peter is thought to be buried.
Read Skeeterbox's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hawkshoe
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Beautiful. Would never have gotten in here without the help of our guide.
Read hawkshoe's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carlosuru74
1 review
Aug 2015
Good
Read carlosuru74's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tm81663
1 review
Aug 2015
We booked the Scavvi tour directly through the Vatican, which is a small tour available on a first come / first serve basis. It allows you to go under St. Peter's and see the burial sites under the church, the bones of St. Peter (probably maybe), and the crypt where popes are laid. This was great, because afterwards we didn't have to wait in line to see the Basilica at ground level. The church is amazing, huge, and just mind blowing. A must see for a visit to Rome
Read tm81663's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: On our own

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.