Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Puntarenas (Puerto Caldera) Tarcoles River Excursion Reviews

Puntarenas (Puerto Caldera) Tarcoles River cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a trip down the Tarcoles River for a fun and relaxing day of immersion in the Costa Rican wilderness.
Member Image happyyaya
2 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2014

Costa Rica's Favorites. Started with a Pacific Rain Forest aerial tram ride : beautiful, lush, waterfalls, quiet view of the rain forest. Amazing. Most amazing part of excursion was the boat ride in the Tarcoles River with a naturalist/ecologist and a boat driver who could make birds sounds and sounds of howler monkeys to attract the animals and he maneuvered us up close. We saw 32 species of birds, crocs, and a family of howler monkeys. This is a protected reserve area and so quiet and peaceful you could hear the birds before you saw them. Just amazing and HIGHLY recommended. Bring mosquito repellant and sunscreen. Just fabulous!

Read happyyaya's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ingreece
9 reviews
Apr 2014

We went on a crocodile river safari on the Tarcoles River.
The best thing about this tour was seeing many exotic birds. The fruit at the end of the tour was excellent. There was shopping at the site too. You could save money and join a guide right at the port.
We enjoyed the tour very much but if you want to save money this is an option.

Read ingreece's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruiserchad
1 review
Feb 2013
Open sided boats take around 30 passengers slowly along the river, stopping alongside basking crocodiles, allowing for clear, close photos. Many types of wading birds were also seen. The boat trip lasts two hours and is fascinating. Fruit and soft drinks were given out at the end.
Read cruiserchad's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image packrats
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Puntarenas...Free shuttle on the dock. Park at end of the dock not so great...watch for sand carvers on the beach and surfers. Information & wi-fi/coffee cafe at end of the dock. TARCOLES RIVER CRUISE ADVENTURE...5 hours. This was an EXCELLENT tour. Travel by bus for about 1 hour to the river. You will do your tour on open air boats to see crocs, crabs and birds (they give you a colored pamphlet of the birds you might see -- birdlovers...take a pen so you can mark them off...we added 10 new birds to our list thanx to our tour guide). The boat driver gets out of the boat and onto the bank to feed the huge crocs. Amazing! Fruit, coffee and drinks afterwards. Great garden & butterflies. Some nice souvenirs available here and they take credit cards. Bus back to the ship. Bus stopped for us to see White-faced Cappucine monkeys along the road. Suggest morning tour...no bugs. Rained but not that hard. "Tent" shops all along the beach area...many have the same exact items as their neighbor and they are all ready to make you a great deal.
Read packrats's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image 4skeeter
1 review
Oct 2012
We saw LOTS of crocks up close and personal! One was 18ft next to boat. Idiot pilot got out and fed four of them on the shore. Lots of great shore birds to see. NOT a place to swim! Bring water and binoculars hat sunscreen camera! Had bug spray and didn't need it..don't count on that! Guides were terrific! Do not try to touch crocs!!!(even when they are touching your boat!) Lunch was great! I think it was a family affair, as boat guide later helped his mom serve us at nearby resturant. People very nice! Went into mangroves.
Read 4skeeter's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Odessy 6 in 1
Member Image LJ Pia
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2012
Aerial Tram was very good; naturalist very knowledgeable. Recommend seeing the Rain Forest from this level. River ride was somewhat boring and long. Lunch was so-so. One has to like this kind of food.
Read LJ Pia's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image BCranger
2 reviews
Sep 2012
Tour Guide was a self-satisfying blowhard. Seat belts broken in vehicle. Tour Guide would not take us to a beach we wanted to stop at, even though the tour wad supposed to be flexible. Instead, he took us to a crappy tourist trap "restaurant" and I am sure he got a commission in return.
Read BCranger's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: ShorevExcursions Group
Member Image Duckgirl
1 review
Apr 2012
Wonderful! Great cruise with two informed guides. We saw lots of wildlife, including crocodiles, different types of birds and reptiles.
Read Duckgirl's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image julenow
1 review
Mar 2012
Enjoyed the mangrove swamp tour. Our tou guide made it lots of fun. Nice treat with the fruit and beverage snack.
Read julenow's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.