Puerto Limon The Tortuguero Canals Excursion Reviews

Puerto Limon The Tortuguero Canals cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Immerse yourself in the Costa Rican rainforest on a tour of the canals of Tortuguero.
Member Image plannertogo
1 review
Jan 2017
Toured city, went to rainforest, and did the Toruguero that despite rain seen all kinds of animals. Was not able to do the hike but had a very nice driver who caught the animals (green and red frogs) for us. we had nice place to rest.
Read plannertogo's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Lucky Tours Eduardo Humphreys
Member Image Workinless
9 reviews
Nov 2016
Very nice combination tour of the area around Limon plus a short Torguguero Canal Tour. We were about 30 min. late leaving because a group from another ship was a no show. Tour companies often do not require deposits and they get stiffed by groups like this. Irritating to all parties. Our guide, Fabiana, was pretty, personable and an excellent guide. She did a great job explaining the history and culture of Costa Rica. After a short drive and a couple of stops to see some Howler monkeys, we stopped by a family owned fruit stand. You can sample the fruit for for voluntary tips, pus Fabiana got everyone a small box of fruit to eat. They had coconuts for $1 and the milk was delicious. A short stop at the edge of a banana plantation (it was closed on Sunday) and Fabiana talked about the growing and harvesting of the crop. The canal ride was very nice, but don't expect a jungle cruise teeming with animals. There were quite a few birds and we saw a couple of sloths and the snout of a small caiman. Lunch was on our own at a nice restaurant overlooking the beach before returning to the ship after a brief stop at a souvenir shop in town.
Read Workinless's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Syltravel
Member Image mninem
3 reviews
Nov 2016
After 2 days of heat and humidity in Cartagena and Panama, this short, slow paced boat ride was just enough.
Read mninem's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gbp10
1 review
Nov 2016
Saw sloths, howler monkey and toucans from a covered pontoon boat.
Read gbp10's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ralbert92
1 review
Nov 2016
Information, guide was very knowledgeable, got to see sloths and howler monkeys in the wild along with many species of birds.
Read ralbert92's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mysterygal
4 reviews
Nov 2016
Excellent tour with knowledgeable tour guide. We saw lots of wildlife.
Read mysterygal's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image WanderingTheWorld
4 reviews
Dec 2015
Saw a bit of wildlife. Somewhat scenic.
Read WanderingTheWorld's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GWSUBARU
1 review
Nov 2015
Saw several sloths, birds and lizards.
Read GWSUBARU's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RobertaV
1 review
Apr 2015
Ok after a real problem with the company who didn't want to give us the private tour and wanted us to join another group even though I had confirmation e mails. It took about an hour for them to sort it out,
Read RobertaV's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oscar Brown
Member Image Mother Mucker
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Boat a bit rickety however the guide was very good and was intent on pleasings us. We were able to find iguanas, crocodiles, sloths, monkeys and a variety of birds. Very enjoyable
Read Mother Mucker's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image chip60
1 review
Mar 2015
Took a trip on the canal, on a small boat with other Costa Ricans. The trip was very good. Saw howler monkey, colourful lizards, birds and baby croc. The guide was very good at pointing out the various birds and animals.
Read chip60's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image BerkCruiser
3 reviews
Mar 2015
A good guide, raised locally, attuned to the rainforest so well that he could spot wildlife that was hidden to the rest of us. Enriched the experience. Pleasant and interesting ride up and down the canal.
Read BerkCruiser's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image JanandBill
1 review
Mar 2015
Very short trip on a very unattractive commercial stretch of a canal, seeing practically nothing. Guides more interested in humorous patter than in providing interesting information.
Read JanandBill's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Straightlinespeed
1 review
Feb 2015
Jumped aboard a small boat and got to go down the canals looking for wildlife. We saw a lot of birds, bats, sloths, and monkeys. Also saw a lot of locals, fishing and making there living on the canal. There is no guarantee what you will see while on the canal.
Read Straightlinespeed's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image italian stallion
5 reviews
Feb 2015

Great variety in bus,boat and train tour. Boat tour was very lazy and peaceful with many fauna and flora to see. Howler monkeys and some species of birds, with the green lizards, iguana style reptile were there for the photo taking. Interesting facts about Costa Rica was part of the bus tour explained by a well versed tour guide with good English speech.

Read italian stallion's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image yellow09jeep
1 review
Jan 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. The guide was very knowledgeable. The boat driver went out of his way to turn the boat so everyone could see.

Read yellow09jeep's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cruiserolina
3 reviews
Oct 2013

We took a boat ride on the canal where we saw assorted vegetation and wildlife.

Read cruiserolina's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image VAWCB
1 review
Jan 2013
Saw a lot of wildlife. The boat captain did a good job finding and pointing out animals.
Read VAWCB's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image teachman
1 review
Dec 2012
Charlie did what he could, but the fauna did not co-operate.
Read teachman's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Okey-Dokey Tours
Member Image jeffnjan
1 review
Dec 2012
This tour was nice but very long with a lot of driving, our least favorite of our trip.
Read jeffnjan's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image server
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2012
Nothing other than absolutely wonderful
Read server's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image dusty1117
1 review
Nov 2012
We were met on time by our tour operator. We were 4 people so a private tour. I had to refresh his memory of what our tour was suppose to be and he did follow through. On our way to Jaguar Rescue Center, we stopped at a beach to take pictures. Jaguar Rescue Center, is a rescue center for animals that will be rehabilitated and sent back into the wild. There is one Jaguar who will not be sent to the wild. We got to see sloths, lizards, snakes, birds, and monkeys. We went into a monkey facility and I was holding a monkey who came to me. This was fun. Donations are absolutely accepted. Next we went to eat lunch (Princess goes to this place for the beach) which was rice beans, chicken. Food was good and the mooching cat ate well also. Next was Del Monte banana plantation (same one Princess goes to). Very interesting and recommended. Off to the canal tour (same one Princess goes to) and saw alligator, wild sloth, lizards, and birds. Stopped off at a supermarket but no one wanted any coffee. Back to ship after going to top of Limon but since it was raining, we did not stop. Got back to ship on time.
Read dusty1117's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Oscar Brown
Member Image molly2kit
3 reviews
Nov 2012
If you take this tour be sure to sit on the side of the boat that the driver is on because he seems to spot the most wildlife and the boat is turned to that side most of the time. We were lucky enough to see sloths, howler monkeys and lots of birds. After the boat ride we had about 10 minutes to shop, eat fruit and drink beer. Then we went to see a banana plantation. Our guide was obviously very proud of his country and provided great information. For shopping, there is quite a large shopping area right at the port - a market with free wifi, cheap beer and you can have a massage or manicure or pedicure. The shopping is more reasonable than we found after the boat ride.
Read molly2kit's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Woodinville
3 reviews
Nov 2012
Excellent - if you do nothing else - visit this canal the Sloth is worth the trip
Read Woodinville's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image KittyMeowit
7 reviews
Apr 2012
Booked independently with Your Lucky Tours. Eduardo from the tour company was waiting for us outside of the cruise terminal as promised. Our tour was $45 a person which was very reasonable and there were only six of us on the tour. We had stopped at a local fruit stand where we got to try fingerling bananas which are smaller than average and sweeter than normal. Our next stop was at the Del Monte banana plantation which was really fascinating. We got to learn the process of harvesting bananas and were amazed with the enormous amount of manual labor involved. We then stopped for a boat tour at the Tortuguero Canals where we got to see quite a few animal varieties: sloths, iguanas and birds. Finally we stopped at Playa Bonita for pictures on the beach as well as an overlook of the city. The wonderful thing about booking through an independent company, besides the small tour sizes, was the fact that we made a couple of impromptu stops when they noticed howler monkeys in the trees or when we passed ylang ylang trees to smell the blossoms. In addition, Eduardo took us to a grocery store in the city where we stopped for coffee, candy and salsa shopping. He advised us of all of the best brands to purchase before bringing us back to the ship. Absolutely great value and highly recommended!
Read KittyMeowit's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Your Lucky Tours

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?