Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Puerto Limon The Tortuguero Canals Excursion Reviews

Puerto Limon The Tortuguero Canals cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Immerse yourself in the Costa Rican rainforest on a tour of the canals of Tortuguero.
Member Image yellow09jeep
1 review
Jan 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. The guide was very knowledgeable. The boat driver went out of his way to turn the boat so everyone could see.

Read yellow09jeep's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cruiserolina
3 reviews
Oct 2013

We took a boat ride on the canal where we saw assorted vegetation and wildlife.

Read cruiserolina's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image VAWCB
1 review
Jan 2013
Saw a lot of wildlife. The boat captain did a good job finding and pointing out animals.
Read VAWCB's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image teachman
1 review
Dec 2012
Charlie did what he could, but the fauna did not co-operate.
Read teachman's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Okey-Dokey Tours
Member Image jeffnjan
1 review
Dec 2012
This tour was nice but very long with a lot of driving, our least favorite of our trip.
Read jeffnjan's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image server
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2012
Nothing other than absolutely wonderful
Read server's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image dusty1117
1 review
Nov 2012
We were met on time by our tour operator. We were 4 people so a private tour. I had to refresh his memory of what our tour was suppose to be and he did follow through. On our way to Jaguar Rescue Center, we stopped at a beach to take pictures. Jaguar Rescue Center, is a rescue center for animals that will be rehabilitated and sent back into the wild. There is one Jaguar who will not be sent to the wild. We got to see sloths, lizards, snakes, birds, and monkeys. We went into a monkey facility and I was holding a monkey who came to me. This was fun. Donations are absolutely accepted. Next we went to eat lunch (Princess goes to this place for the beach) which was rice beans, chicken. Food was good and the mooching cat ate well also. Next was Del Monte banana plantation (same one Princess goes to). Very interesting and recommended. Off to the canal tour (same one Princess goes to) and saw alligator, wild sloth, lizards, and birds. Stopped off at a supermarket but no one wanted any coffee. Back to ship after going to top of Limon but since it was raining, we did not stop. Got back to ship on time.
Read dusty1117's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Oscar Brown
Member Image molly2kit
2 reviews
Nov 2012
If you take this tour be sure to sit on the side of the boat that the driver is on because he seems to spot the most wildlife and the boat is turned to that side most of the time. We were lucky enough to see sloths, howler monkeys and lots of birds. After the boat ride we had about 10 minutes to shop, eat fruit and drink beer. Then we went to see a banana plantation. Our guide was obviously very proud of his country and provided great information. For shopping, there is quite a large shopping area right at the port - a market with free wifi, cheap beer and you can have a massage or manicure or pedicure. The shopping is more reasonable than we found after the boat ride.
Read molly2kit's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Woodinville
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Excellent - if you do nothing else - visit this canal the Sloth is worth the trip
Read Woodinville's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image KittyMeowit
6 reviews
Apr 2012
Booked independently with Your Lucky Tours. Eduardo from the tour company was waiting for us outside of the cruise terminal as promised. Our tour was $45 a person which was very reasonable and there were only six of us on the tour. We had stopped at a local fruit stand where we got to try fingerling bananas which are smaller than average and sweeter than normal. Our next stop was at the Del Monte banana plantation which was really fascinating. We got to learn the process of harvesting bananas and were amazed with the enormous amount of manual labor involved. We then stopped for a boat tour at the Tortuguero Canals where we got to see quite a few animal varieties: sloths, iguanas and birds. Finally we stopped at Playa Bonita for pictures on the beach as well as an overlook of the city. The wonderful thing about booking through an independent company, besides the small tour sizes, was the fact that we made a couple of impromptu stops when they noticed howler monkeys in the trees or when we passed ylang ylang trees to smell the blossoms. In addition, Eduardo took us to a grocery store in the city where we stopped for coffee, candy and salsa shopping. He advised us of all of the best brands to purchase before bringing us back to the ship. Absolutely great value and highly recommended!
Read KittyMeowit's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Your Lucky Tours
Member Image mman
8 reviews
Apr 2012
Very good tour guide. Learned a lot about Cost Rica. Nice stop at banana plantation. Canal was okay.
Read mman's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Melanie
4 reviews
Mar 2012
This was our best trip (apart from Half Moon Cay) - it was just as you imagine a rain forest trip to be, didn't see any strange animals, but they can't perform to order! All wonderfully arranged, we had a very early start but with hindsight that was better (another trip went mid-morning) as by the time we left it was becoming packed and too busy - we experienced quiet and peace on the canal - you would not regret booking this one
Read Melanie's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rosegrower
2 reviews
Feb 2012
Bus was well air conditioned and seats comfy. Our guide Anna Maria was very knowledgeable and spoke English very well. She talked to us on the way to the canals about the country and what we would see. There are restrooms to use before getting on the boat. The boat ride itself was fun, it was covered and the boat driver and Anna Maria went out of their way to help us see birds, sloths. monkeys. After the boat, you got about 20 minutes or so to listen to the band , eat fresh fruit and have a drink. There was a small gift area and I bought a necklace and bracelet made out of the local woods. I was sorry that I did not purchase more since the same items were being sold at the pier for $3 and $4 more. The stop at the banana plantation was short but interesting. On the way back, the driver stopped and purchased some small ladyfinger bananas at a roadside stand which we all got to sample. We enjoyed this excursion. We were a little concerned when we saw that we had to leave at 6:45 am, but it was not bad, the LIDO opened early and our guide told us the morning was the best time to see wildlife, etc.
Read rosegrower's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Panamacruise
1 review
Feb 2012
Saw lots of animals and really enjoyed the cruise through the canal and Rain forest. Very good guide. No place near the cruise ship for shopping.
Read Panamacruise's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Fenix Newman
1 review
Dec 2011
Absolutely brilliant. 3 of us in a bout with lots & lots of wildlife up close and personal in spite of torrential rain
Read Fenix Newman's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Tortugero Wildlife Tour (William)

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.