Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Reykjavik Golden Circle Excursion Reviews

Reykjavik Golden Circle cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This popular route into the heart of Iceland includes among its circuit the beautiful Þingvellir national park, Gullfoss waterfall, and the geysers of Haukadalur, all essential trips for any visitor to Reykjavik.
Member Image Munchkinstutu
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

If you have just one day in Reykjvick, this is the tour you will want to do. We got an excellent overview of the country's geothermal activity and could see many steam vents all over as we drove through the countryside. Our first stop was Haukadalur a site with over 80 active geysers, hot springs, steam vents and mud pots. Then it was off to Gulfass Waterfall which is similar to America and Canada's Niagara Falls (smaller than Niagara, but still very big). A highlight of the day was straddling the American and Eurasian tectonic plates at Pingvellir -- very interesting!

Read Munchkinstutu's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Dooley Tour Guide
Member Image wheelchairtraveler
3 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Wonderful driver-knowledgeable about history and geology. He was on time at the dock, gave us ample time at the Blue Lagoon. Driving tour of the Golden Circle is a wonderful experience.

Read wheelchairtraveler's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Nordic visitor/Iceland Taxi
Member Image irene2012
1 review
Jun 2014

Port slightly out of town necessitating shuttle bus (expensive) but so is everything in Iceland! Lovely port and well worth a walk around on your own.

Read irene2012's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Love to travel 54
5 reviews
Aug 2013

Great things to see and wonderful scenery in between. I would strongly recommend this tour if you only have a day in this area as we did

Read Love to travel 54's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RKF
1 review
Jul 2013

Although we usually arrange for private tours, we booked a six tour package through the cruise line. And in general were not disappointed. The Golden Circle is a must when in Reykjavik. Waterfall is so awesome.

Read RKF's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ComputerTravelGuy
3 reviews
Sep 2012
Stunning scenic drive through a very rugged environment. Enjoyed seeing the glaciers, geysers and countryside on our golden circle tour.
Read ComputerTravelGuy's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Iceland Horizon
Member Image scousersue
1 review
Aug 2012
Good tour worth doing but guide, once again was not an 'expert ' so could only provide lightweight information and a lot of personal opinion.
Read scousersue's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bailey59
3 reviews
Aug 2012
Informative guide and comfortable minibus. Learned a lot about the life in Iceland.
Read bailey59's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: IG Tours
Member Image Naomi2
3 reviews
Aug 2012
A fascinating look at Iceland and its geothermal phenomenon. We did it with Bragi of brtours and had a wonderful time.
Read Naomi2's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Starlaker
1 review
Aug 2012
Reykjavik was my favorite stop. The geological features in Iceland are incredible. We had a wonderful tour with Iceland Horizon that took us around the Golden Circle with stops at Gullfoss waterfall, the Geyser basin, Thingvellir National Park, Kerio crater, and another waterfall. Our guide gave us wonderful background material and thoroughly enhanced the visit. Iceland is amazing and is not to be missed.
Read Starlaker's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Iceland Horizon
Member Image Jammu2
4 reviews
Aug 2012
We overnighted there so were in port two nearly full days. We did both the Ancient Ring of Fire and the Golden Circle plus Horse Show. If you do the GC then make sure you get the one that adds the horse show because this really made the day. You get to learn about the Icelandic horses and see them up close. There is some overlap of two locations on the two excursions but I did not mind that much.
Read Jammu2's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image geogal
3 reviews
Aug 2012
Very knowledgeable guide who went out of his way to show us lesser-known areas away from the large bus tours. Particularly enjoyed the "earthquake exhibit" at the post office/library building. Visited a volcanic crater, a smaller waterfall, the famous Gullfoss Falls, and the National Park. At the end of our tour, we stopped to photograph 40 Icelandic horses, who came trotting over when they saw I had an apple to share!
Read geogal's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Iceland Guided Tours
Member Image robbob1833
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Both tours we took in this port were amazing. The Golden Circle was quite long but great. No regrets. We enjoyed the Gullfoss Waterfalls, just beautiful but it does NOT rival Niagra Falls as they say it does. We visited the beautiful Thingvillir National Park, very fun walk. Very cold, dress warm! The Geyser area was very pretty but did not rival any geyser we have in CA. We had a nice lunch (seafood) and met some nice folks at lunch. Fantastic tour guide!
Read robbob1833's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MANX TRAVELLER
1 review
Jul 2012
Most enjoyable and we are glad we did it but it was a long excursion with not that all much to see at each stop and the refreshments were sub standard in our view
Read MANX TRAVELLER's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rivahrat
1 review
Jul 2012
Private vehicle was only slightly more than HAL tour. Excellent overview of Iceland and we could take as much or little time at each place. Maasdam spent two nights and this was the highlight of the trip.
Read rivahrat's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Firecomm
1 review
Jul 2012
The Blue Lagoon swimming tour of $100 was twice what one could find on shore, Other than showering with 20 nude men and swimming in a warm pool, it is my opinion that this specific trip is a tourist trap! The Golden Circle was an excellent tour, saw Gullfoss Falls in the rain, the Thermal plant, and Thingvellir National Park, also the Geysir fields. Many photo ops.
Read Firecomm's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.