Reykjavik Blue Lagoon Excursion Reviews

Reykjavik Blue Lagoon cruise excursion
Overall Rating
With water temperatures averaging 39 degrees Celcius (102 degrees Fahrenheit), Reykjavik's Blue Lagoon geothermal spa makes a great relaxing treat. The steamy volcanic waters are said to have healing properties.
Member Image Noemi Simaki
1 review
Jun 2016
Nice thermal pools but very busy
Read Noemi Simaki's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ThelmLou
15 reviews
May 2016
Both tours were great and good value given how expensive everything is in iceladn as well as the distances covered. Would do both again - the Blue Laggon tour was in the evening which we liked as it appeared to be less crowded
Read ThelmLou's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image viewcruisejune
1 review
May 2016
Really enjoyed although still a lot of work going on there
Read viewcruisejune's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jbevans12345
1 review
Sep 2015
We rented a car and drove to Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik. It was about 40 minutes away and a very easy drive. We had an excellent lunch in the dining room then went into the geothermal waters. Very relaxing.
Read jbevans12345's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rented a car and drove to Blue Lagoon
Member Image Sliver2907
1 review
Sep 2015
You MUST, I repeat MUST do this with the ship. It is required to have advanced booking to get in and other passengers on the ship arrived only to be told that all the tickets were sold out for the day.
Read Sliver2907's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wuppis
8 reviews
Aug 2015
Some of our group booked the entrance to the Blue Lagoon for a lot of money: 40 € when bringing your own towels and they had only 2 hours time to use the Lagoon and to change clothes. For my opinion it was not worth the money. You get more expensive packages, if you wanna have towels, bathrobe and sandals and also masks with this special water.
Read wuppis's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: online directly Blue Lagoon
Member Image Cruise for Enjoyment
1 review
Jul 2015
fun to do
Read Cruise for Enjoyment's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Lizziewistaria
1 review
Jun 2015
Just Ok
Read Lizziewistaria's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mekydro
4 reviews
Jun 2015
Superb, well worth the price
Read mekydro's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Navydavey
1 review
May 2015
What a great experience. This trip is well worth the money and the time getting there. There are only 700 people in the lagoon at any time, since that is all the locker space they have. It feels great going from a high of 108 degrees next to the vents to 83 degrees in the middle. It's also quite comical seeing all the people walking around looking like zombies from applying the silica to their faces and body. They also have viewing areas, massage areas, and dining. Make sure you make the trip, you won't be sorry.
Read Navydavey's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image pfuller2
1 review
Mar 2015
We enjoyed the Blue Lagoon very much although the changing rooms and lockers were insufficient because it was very busy.The water was really warm and relaxing
Read pfuller2's full Marco Polo cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image dado
6 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2014

nice day out

Read dado's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image wheelchairtraveler
5 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Not to miss. Wheelchair accessible, helpful staff, excellent wheelchair accessible changing/shower room.
Take some good shampoo, as the water is hard on the hair!

Read wheelchairtraveler's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Nordic visitor/Iceland Taxi
Member Image MACHIN
1 review
Jul 2014

The blue lagoon was very good but wet and windy. The hot springs were interesting but not exceptional. The viking ship & museum was interesting but would have preferred a conducted tour.

Read MACHIN's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image oxfordexplorer
1 review
Jun 2014

Bathing in the blue lagoon - DO IT - ! Really enjoyed this experience but very expensive trip - really suprised at the drinks - cheap ! The only downside is it does not leave you any time for anything else.

Read oxfordexplorer's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Mediaplacement1
3 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Beautiful. A Great Experience. A real highlight. Loved it!

Read Mediaplacement1's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LA Cruise Lover
3 reviews
Aug 2013

Interesting ride to the remote Blue Lagoon. Looks like travelling across the moon to get there as there is nothing but barren lava rocks. The place is amazing and interesting. The only bad side is my wife and daughter complained about what the minerals did to their hair and weren't happy about that. I'm sure a taxi or Grey Line bus would have been cheaper, but it was fun to be there.

Read LA Cruise Lover's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Honor
1 review
Aug 2013

Booked directly with Blue Lagoon and just had to arrange transport in advance. Take a towel from the ship (remember to bring it back).

Read Honor's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image RKF
2 reviews
Jul 2013

The ship's tour was only transportation to the Lagoon and back. We purchased tickets online to gain admittance and use the facilities. This saved us a lot of time from standing in line. Expensive ( $170 for the two of us that included towel, robes, algae scrub and drink) but it was a once in a lifetime experience. Really unique.

Read RKF's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image artnuvo
4 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

see the review. we spent several hours in the city after our private Reyjkavik Excursions blue lagoon tour,which included admission and swimming at 30% less than the similiar ship tour and then spent a few hours waling the city center. There is about a 5 square block of shops and cafes. There is no need to take a ship city tour.Took a 8E taxi back to the cruise dock from the cultural center which had no offerings while we were there.

Read artnuvo's full Ocean Princess cruise review
Provider: Reyjkavik Excursions
Member Image Bahija
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Interesting Blue Lagoon trip.
1) Panoramic Reykjavik trip was uneventful and boring.
2) Akureyri, Iceland was pretty. I caught the flu so I had to cancel the Godafoss Waterfall trip.
3) Trondheim, Norway nothing to see. No excursion.
4) Alesund, Norway would have been pretty if it was not raining. No excursion.
5) Molde, Norway nothing to see. No excursion.
6) Olden, Norway was beautiful and I went on the Scenic Lake Stryn trip which was great.
7) Stavanger, Norway was nothing special. Weather was poor so I did not go on the trip.

Read Bahija's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image paul reynolds
2 reviews
Aug 2012
There is a Hop on hop off bus in Reykjavik but this is not mentioned until attending a port lecture. The tour to the Blue Lagoon was good. a shuttle bus was provided but $12 per person and as we were there fore two dyas the second day was charged $12 again. Many passengers were able to take two tours as the ship was overnight in Reykjavik. The ship then went on to Aykrueri to visit the waterfalls and very interesting.The third port was Klaksvik in Faroe Islands. We took a tour round the area and through the tunnels. A beautiful day and this island isa deligthfully unspoilt. The next call was at Geiranger Fjord and a breathtaking trip up the Fjord with waterfalls and beautiful scenery. Various trips were available and we decided to take a trip through the mountains to see the views of the Fjord from various points. The next port was Olden - very unspoiled but small but a walk to the village about half a mile was well worth it.
Read paul reynolds's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bailey59
3 reviews
Aug 2012
Worth doing as cheaper than the cruise tour and we got there an hour before the other buses and had the lagoon to ourselves.
Read bailey59's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Naomi2
3 reviews
Aug 2012
Bragi took us to the Blue Lagoon on the second day of his tour and we loved it,from the electronic lockers that locked and unlocked with our wrist band that we also used to order a beer from the swim up bar, to the hot blue waters that felt so good after the short walk in the cold air to the huge pool. What an amazing spa!
Read Naomi2's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image geogal
4 reviews
Aug 2012
Expensive, but worth it. Got there right as it was opening, so lines were relatively short. Really liked the electronic bracelets that control the lockers and allow you to charge beverages and stuff while out in the pool. Had a nice soak and did the "mud facial" thing. Totally relaxing!
Read geogal's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.