Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Palermo City Tour Excursion Reviews

Palermo City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The ancient city of Palermo has much to offer—take a tour of the city and be sure to see it all!
Member Image Finshell
1 review
Jun 2016
Not much to see, was a lot of poverty
Read Finshell's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image stacysgal1974
1 review
Jun 2016
Saw the main parts of the city and beach area.
Read stacysgal1974's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Mimmie1807
1 review
May 2016
Hop on Hop off bus
Read Mimmie1807's full Costa Fascinosa cruise review
Provider: Isango. On line
Member Image rexdillinger
2 reviews
May 2016
the communication on the bus was poor at best. Did not tell you what stop number you were at or even that you were at a stop vs being stoped in traffic. Very confusing!
Read rexdillinger's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Hop on, hop off
Member Image marti4
1 review
Mar 2016
We saw the center of Palermo, the cathedral, some squares, fountains, the old town. Palermo is an interesting city.
Read marti4's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lorial1989
1 review
Jan 2016
Palermo itself did not seem all that interesting, but we enjoyed seeing the varied architecture which resulted from the island having been ruled by so many different cultures. The four hour Easy Palermo bus tour of the highlights of Palermo was one of the less expensive ship excursions and turned out to be very good. It was mainly spent on a large bus which we don't usually like but didn't mind since it was so cold out. The drive up to Mt. Pellegrino was an event in itself since the road is very narrow and winding and there were also buses coming the opposite direction. Sometimes one or the other had to back up a little way to make room to get by. On the way up, there are lovely views of Palermo and the coastline. At the top are a couple of small places to get cappucino or cannoli or the orange juice that they are famous for there. We had fresh orange mixed with pomegranate juice and a cannoli and both were really delicious. Our tour guide, Virginia was extremely knowledgeable and her commentary was informative as well as interesting. The tour didnt allow for time to go inside any of the buildings but we did see all the main landmarks and got out and walked around at some of them such as the opera house. We ate lunch at a place about a block from the cruise terminal called La Posada Where we had pizza and hot tea so we could warm up. The service was friendly and the pizza was good.
Read Lorial1989's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tourisk
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Most tours not available as port stay was very short. Tour of city, beach and mountain was quite well done but tight as traffic meant tours got back quite late and all at once with long lines to get back on ship
Read Tourisk's full Costa Fascinosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image KAARON
1 review
Sep 2015
Saw most of the city from the bus. Stopped at a Cathedral which had a combination of architectures from different centuries.
Read KAARON's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image Miloslav Zyka
1 review
Jun 2015
Nice but bit dirty and full of people
Read Miloslav Zyka's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image christyl
1 review
Jun 2015
Private tour through the city. We had very limited time in Palermo so we wanted to be able to control when we got back. There were two group tours that were late and required us to leave over 1 hour later than expected.
Read christyl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image IntrepidExplorers
1 review
Apr 2015
In advance, we had arranged for a 4-hour walking tour. Probably could have done as well on our own, or better with something more special at the port.
Read IntrepidExplorers's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image glogodschild
1 review
Mar 2015
The driver/guide was very knowledgeable and talked the whole time. He took us through the most important stops: Mondello beach that is called Caribbean Italy, the Opera House, Monte pellegrino statue, Piazza Pretoria and more stops for 6 hours...but the driver went over because of our tour of the opera house
Read glogodschild's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Palermo Taxi
Member Image Topcatvalerie
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

We did our own walking tour of Palermo. I printed off a walking tour from the internet which included the Cathedral and Normandi Palace with the Palatin Chapel. This was outstanding and definitely worth visiting. It is not included in the ship tours. It costs 5 Euros each to go in if you are over 65 and can prove it. Well worth it, really remarkable. The Town Hall is also worth a visit. It is free and has beautiful rooms, paintings and treasures. I had been to Palermo once before and done a city tour but this was better and a lot cheaper.

Read Topcatvalerie's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image auntiehub
1 review
Jul 2012
We visited the Catacombs of the monks and had a very good tour guide explain what it was all about. Then onto the Cathedral and spent little time inside and grabbed a cold drink as it was extremely hot. Then onto the Royal Palace which was amazing, got some great photos. Then lastly onto he Opera house which was very grand. The we were left to do our own thing so we strolled around and managed to see some more sights.
Read auntiehub's full Black Watch cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines
Member Image wgb7428
10 reviews
Jun 2012
Got only a drive by tour of Palermo, no photo stops. Most of the time was traveling to and from Monreale. By this time into the cruise one church pretty much looked like another.
Read wgb7428's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.