Naples Private Tour Excursion Reviews

Naples Private Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Spend the day exploring the western coastline of Italy and beautiful city of Naples at your own pace.
Member Image formerhusker71
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Foodie Walking Tour. Also went into the underground cistern built by the Greeks and Romans. Was later used in WWII for a safe haven when Naples was being bombed. Need to take a cab back to port. It was a long walk.
Read formerhusker71's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Beautifulnorth
1 review
Oct 2016
We hired a private guide to take our family to Pompeii, Herculaneum and Mount Vesuvius in a Mercedes van. Our driver, Gino, was a fun colourful character who liked to sing Italian music and doted on our kids. The company provided an English speaking private tour guide solely for our family to help us interpret the Pompeii and Herculaneum sites. Benedicto is an actual archaeologist who studies and works on the excavations at both sites when not giving tours for extra cash. Even our young children were transfixed for the 4 hours of archaeological guiding. Gino then took us for lunch and up to hike Mount Vesuvius before taking us back to port. Again, this private tour cost the same as a Carnival bus tour with 80 people and walkie-talkies. This was the highlight of our trip.
Read Beautifulnorth's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: A Drive into the Blue
Member Image magaudet30
1 review
Sep 2016
Excellent experience with Rome in Limo for Positano, Sorrento, and Pompeii tour. Amalfi Coast is a must-see.
Read magaudet30's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image darlenec
3 reviews
Sep 2016
Excellent tour of winery near Mt. Vesuvius with tasting and lunch. Again, set up by Rome In Limo. Wonderful wine, excellent food. Great job Rome In Limo!
Read darlenec's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Wine tasting and lunch
Member Image lucypatrick
2 reviews
Sep 2016
We took a taxi to Pompeii to meet our pre-organised tour guide. Go to the taxi rank rather than any of the drivers that approach you as they are cheaper (our taxi driver charged us 80euro return trip - he came back at allocated time to drive us back and he didn't require payment until we returned to the ship so we knew he would return for us). Naples looked quite ordinary and run down, we were happy we weren't staying there.
Read lucypatrick's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Aurora1525
2 reviews
Sep 2016
We took a private tour of the Amalfi Coast. We had a private driver who took us to Positano, Amalfi, and Ravello. We splurged on this tour and it was truly the highlight of our cruise! All the sights, our informative driver, and even a lunch on the water was beyond any expectations we had! I really like the Naples port because you can do things in Naples, go out to Pompeii, take a tour of the Amalfi Coast, or go out to Capri. It's a port that's the gateway to so many adventures!
Read Aurora1525's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Lovely Amalfi Tours
Member Image hueylynntay
1 review
Aug 2016
It was good. We wish we had more time. Will go back again :)
Read hueylynntay's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TheBird83
5 reviews
Aug 2016
We made stops in Postiano, Sorrento, and Pompeii. Because we were in a smaller van, we were able to make stops in areas that the larger cruise excursion busses could not. Our driver Ciro was extremely knowledgable and friendly - his cheerful personality truly made this a great trip.
Read TheBird83's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: See Almafi Coast
Member Image Shazzamataz
1 review
Aug 2016
Beautiful scenery
Read Shazzamataz's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SharonL01
1 review
Jul 2016
Another great day! Fulvio picked us up and brought us to Pompeii (about 30 minutes). Met Antonio who spent the day with us. He was incredibly knowledgeable about Pompeii. Spent about 2 hours there. Then Fulvio drove us and Antonio to Sorrento. Beautiful city, but not there long enough to really explore. The traffic from Pompeii to Sorrento on a Friday at 11:30 am was TERRIBLE! Took us well over an hour. We did salvage the day though and had lunch at a nice restaurant at the harbor before getting on 1:20 pm ferry. I had bought those tickets ahead of time. Went to Capri and LOVED it there as well. Antonio could not have been more helpful in helping us navigate the day and sharing his knowledge. Took 5:10 Ferry back to Naples (50 minutes). Was back on the ship by 6:15 pm. Ferry docs at same location as the ship.
Read SharonL01's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: ItalyLimosouine
Member Image French Gal
1 review
Jul 2016
Took a tour to Sorrento and Positano and then to Pompei. Was very good but very hot and physically taxing.
Read French Gal's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image snlcbcruising
1 review
Jul 2016
Great tour. Comfortable, air conditioned vans. Was perfect for our party of 7.
Read snlcbcruising's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image AmNotRay
1 review
Jul 2016
I can't eat pizza again until I'm back in Sorrento! Nice taste of Amalfi, Sorrento, Positano. Pompeii was a bit underwhelming. The olive oil and limoncello -amazing
Read AmNotRay's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Packlist
1 review
Jun 2016
We used Umberto from italydriver.com- referred from other reviews on this site. Umberto was great and we had an amazing day. We emailed an itinerary for him and he fulfilled it to the last item. We saw Positano and Sorrento with Umberto giving us the excellent information about the area. A great day and a great guide. Thanks!
Read Packlist's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Italydriver
Member Image Pepzee
1 review
Jun 2016
Booked Pompei, Sorrento and Posianto. We had a good trip and I would recommend this company.
Read Pepzee's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KatKay
1 review
May 2016
We have been to Naples several times in the past and enjoyed Sorrento and Amalfi, Pompeii and Herculaneum, All were wonderful tours but we wanted to try something new. I contacted Share a Shore and set up an excursion to Grotte di Pertosa and Paestum. We had a wonderful day with our driver Franco. We were in a very high-end, late model Mercedes sedan which made the driving comfortable and easy. The ancient Greek ruins at Paestum were beautiful and it was easy to be immersed in the history. Our trip to the caves of Grotte di Pertosa was also wonderful. The caves are lovely and we enjoyed both the walk and the boat ride. All-in-All, we had a superb day and are so glad we arranged this excursion.
Read KatKay's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Share a Shore Excursion
Member Image Fortun8
4 reviews
May 2016
A private Mecedes car trip through the mountains and down the coast to 3 towns and lookouts along the way for photos.
Read Fortun8's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image seek49
1 review
May 2016
This was a 3-hour tour around the island complete with a stop at the Blue Grotto. It was wonderful.
Read seek49's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Blue Sea Capri
Member Image boattonowhere
1 review
May 2016
Private tour to Pompeii, Sorrento and Positano. Another great day. Don't miss Sorrento and Positano they are so beautiful! Travelling down the Amalfi coast is the best drive you will ever experience. This is a must do!
Read boattonowhere's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Italy Tours.EU
Member Image netrodini
2 reviews
May 2016
Paulo took care of the of our small group. great gob!
Read netrodini's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Paul Private Day Tours
Member Image AdventureAmigos
1 review
May 2016
Naples was a real disappointment. After researching all the great sites to see, many of which were listed by the city Hop-on-Hop-off, we found that everything was run down and closed. Even a museum with great works of art was not open. Churches could only be seen from the outside, were poorly maintained and sometimes gated. The city is an eyesore. Nothing is maintained. What a loss. I would definitely go on one of the excursions next time and see something worthwhile.
Read AdventureAmigos's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Hop-on-hop-off
Member Image Pilot Fish
1 review
Apr 2016
Best excursion
Read Pilot Fish's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Beautiful Day Tours
Member Image hook120
1 review
Apr 2016
great service highly recommend.
Read hook120's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: rome in limo
Member Image lovetogobyebye
1 review
Nov 2015
The perfect start to our family vacation! On time pick up and drop off, very clean vehicles, excellent drivers and historians. Carmine set the bar very high for all other tours.
Read lovetogobyebye's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: See Amalfi Coast-Carmine
Member Image Sam_cruiser
1 review
Nov 2015
We traveled on a van where they offered us refreshments. On this trip, we discovered the ruins of Pompeii, part of an ancient Roman city destroyed and buried by the eruption of the volcano Vesuvius and its archeological excavations. Then we went to the Herculaneum and the mont Vesuvius.
Read Sam_cruiser's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Naples Port Shore Excursion

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?