Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Naples Pompeii Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Naples Pompeii Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Tour the winding roads, ruins and architecture of Pompeii, the ancient town within modern day Naples that was lost in the eruption of Mount Vesuvius.
Member Image Jsmall
1 review
Jul 2015
Were supposed to leave ship at 9.15 yet we were still onboard at 10,30 the bus was old and the A.C did not work
Read Jsmall's full Costa Diadema cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image Cetera
1 review
Jul 2015
Amazing! A must see!
Read Cetera's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cinasoraya
1 review
Jul 2015
Lots of walking, historical data: amazing.
Read cinasoraya's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image PaulB
2 reviews
Jul 2015
We had never been here and were worn out from the past three stops so only signed up for the 2pm Pompeii tour. In the morning we walked into Naples. Our ship was the smallest there and had the worst docking which put you out in poor area. Most people seemed put off by this and did not find the good part of town. Walk to the castle and then up and you will find a really nice area. I ended up liking Naples a great deal and the shopping there was good with very cheap prices. My wife bought clothing and I bought two fantastic shirts for my son for 60 euro which would have been triple that at every other stop. Fantastic flowery party shorts. Pompeii was great to see. We took the tour but ditched them as soon as we went in. The pace was too slow for us so we made arraignments to meet up.
Read PaulB's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gettinold
6 reviews
Jul 2015
If you want to see Pompeii, don't take this tour. All you will do is stand in a very long line for two hours trying to buy entry tickets. And Royal Caribbean think it's OK to submit their guests to that
Read gettinold's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TravelingActuary
1 review
Jul 2015
I'm glad we went to Pompeii so we could say we've seen it. However, the tour was longer than necessary, especially considering how hot it was. As expected, Pompeii is very crowded. It was in the 90s that day, and we had to stand in the sun for 2 hours while touring the ruins. I think it could have been faster, but our tour guide was very long-winded. I knew it would be hot, so I really can't complain about the weather. They were nice and gave us a free bottle of water, so that was greatly appreciated. Pompeii is fascinating to see, just be aware that if you go in the summer it will be very crowded and very hot.
Read TravelingActuary's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image harrisonwcr
1 review
Jun 2015
Enjoyed the excursion, the guide was brilliant and Pompeii was amazing. Didn't get to see much of Naples and from the port it didn't look great so it would be nice to go back and actually visit Naples one day.
Read harrisonwcr's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image markmdye
1 review
Jun 2015
Again a private tour booked through AAA. One guide one driver for the four of us. Really nice to have one person talking to you in Pompeii and Herculaneum instead of one on 30. Pompeii is really interesting and ever expanding as more excavation in underway every day. Herculaneum is a bit land locked and cannot expand much. Second best tour on trip
Read markmdye's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: AAA
Member Image Fritzie
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Fascinating tour--though HOT. Book morning tour! Guide was knowledgeable and friendly. We all enjoyed this one.
Read Fritzie's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mgoudoras
1 review
Jun 2015
A lot of walking. But only a 4 hour tour, short and sweet.
Read mgoudoras's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cindyatsea
1 review
Jun 2015
Greta tour with a great guide. Loved it!
Read Cindyatsea's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image brd1121
1 review
Jun 2015
CBM tours was wonderful! Save some money and go with them
Read brd1121's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: CBM
Member Image discerningedinburgh
3 reviews
Jun 2015
We did Pompeii transfer. 2 hours without guide to explore Pompeii. You can buy an 'Audio Guide'. It's easy to navigate and plenty time to see everything. The ship is docked within minutes of Naples Centre. Spend the afternoon exploring Naples.
Read discerningedinburgh's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image drytoastfan
1 review
Jun 2015
Destination was good, tour way too short, tour guide was unintelligible and rushed through it. Tour guide would not stop for toilette breaks, actually told passengers to "hold it until we return to the ship", despite toilettes being available and plenty of time (we returned to the ship with 3 hours to spare). Very frustrating experience. The tour guide ruined it.
Read drytoastfan's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Caribbean PR Princess
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Read Caribbean PR Princess's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image malg1
4 reviews
Jun 2015
Our guide was extremely informative so even though this was our 3rd visit to Pompeii, we learned a lot. Our granddaughter was enthralled with the site and information.
Read malg1's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Limo in Rome
Member Image hyker1
7 reviews
Jun 2015
Granted, I knew it would only be a half day. We did the "Pompeii On Your Own" tour. I'd been to the site previously several times and knew my way around. Turns out, we were only given TWO HOURS at a site that really requires several days of exploring. Sure, it was supposed to be a half day, but only TWO HOURS? Then, we find out we have to purchase tickets. This means that the money we paid at the get-go was basically just for our transport to/from the dock. I was furious! We had to spend 30 minutes waiting in line for tickets. And... yep. The site was so packed it was absolutely ridiculous. Crawling with people. Well, by the time we got in, my husband just wanted out of the crowd, so I took him to Villa of the Mysteries, which is so removed from the rest of Pompeii, no tour groups bother to go there. Too bad for them! It's the coolest thing in Pompeii. So instead of giving this tour a "terrible", I'm giving it a "Poor", since we redeemed the experience somewhat ourselves by using our very little time there so well. My advice... go to Herculaneum. And I still question why the Archaeological Museum wasn't even an option on our cruise. I found that VERY disappointing.
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cberger46
1 review
Jun 2015
the 12 of us with our guide made for an intimate experience among the incredible ruins. Well done!
Read cberger46's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Stan1112
1 review
Jun 2015
Good to see but beware it is a lot of walking over uneven ground. Really 2 hours here is plenty to avoid repetition.
Read Stan1112's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: CBM
Member Image Puffin68
1 review
Jun 2015
A fascinating insight to life in the Roman times. With the number of tourists visiting the site, I would not be surprised if they reduce access and limit the number of people in future for such a historic site. We went with the ship's shore excursion so there were about 8 coaches full of people. Add the other 2 cruise ships in port at the same time and the Pompeii historic site was really jammed packed with people. There was a fair amount of walking on cobblestones so I would not recommend it for those with mobility issues.
Read Puffin68's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image aautomo884
2 reviews
Jun 2015
This was a tour of under 20 to the almafi coast drive with stops in Positano, Sorrento and then Pompeii. It was magnificent, and the lunch was spectacular.
Read aautomo884's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jersey platypus
1 review
Jun 2015
We had been to Herculaneum last year and as much as I enjoyed Pompeii I was more impressed with Herculaneum. Also less busy so you could imagine the city as it was more easily.
Read Jersey platypus's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image welshy74
1 review
May 2015
RCL cancelled our original tour departure so we had to get up really early to be on the morning departure. This only gave us 1h40 in Pompeii. You really need at least 3 hours to see it. Pointless going for so little time. Pompeii is an amazing site with an amazing story. There is lots to do from Naples but Pompeii is a must see.
Read welshy74's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image judypalm
1 review
May 2015
A wonderful and informative tour with a great guide that was very knowledgeable. There was a lot of walking, though, and it was very tiring. I would recommend this tour if you have an interest in Pompeii, which I do.
Read judypalm's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hoopmd
1 review
May 2015
Carmine was arranged thru Lucia she did a great job finding him and he had an excellent knowledgebase of the area. He also did some of the archeological work
Read hoopmd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carmine
Member Image worltravellingguy
1 review
May 2015
Not enough time in Pompeii
Read worltravellingguy's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jalbetski@cox.net
1 review
May 2015
Capri was so crowded, but we enjoyed it. We only ate lunch in Sorrento, did not see much. Pompeii awesome, a must see. We were so impressed and the guide was great.
Read jalbetski@cox.net's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tertel13
1 review
May 2015
Great tour guide! Very knowledgeable and funny! Our bus driver was a rock star! If you only do one excursion, splurge for this one. It's worth it.
Read Tertel13's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ansky
2 reviews
May 2015
Booked an English speaking tour through MSC for Capri, Sorrento and Pompeii. It was a mess, they added a Spanish speaking group from another bus, they over booked that group, made us miss half of the sites. The tour guide didn't have the tickets for the two ferries needed nor the cable car on Capri. It took an hour just get on the cable car. The lunch in Sorrento was good, but that was all we saw of Sorrento. Same problem in Pompeii, the tour guide spent half her time doing two interpretations.
Read Ansky's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image justluv2cruisewithhubby
6 reviews
May 2015
Booked all day Mt.Vesuvius where we hiked up the mountain (hard work) and got to see the crater at the top and take amazing photos of the sea in the back drop then we went to Pompeii and spent the afternoon so much to see there which was fabulous.
Read justluv2cruisewithhubby's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lady travel
1 review
May 2015
Pompeii is such an emotional tour, you think of all these people who led a normal life, with shops, baths, beautiful decorated houses, and see what is left after the volcano covered it
Read lady travel's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image seasoned60
1 review
May 2015
Many highlights are shown and you gain a good prospective of the past. Be prepared to walk over rough rocks but again the sights are worth it. The Forum is very impressive.
Read seasoned60's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image LisaandDaveheenan
1 review
May 2015
Amazing history on this tour - a lot of walking though so wear comfy shoes- we had a great guide who really knew her stuff so we learnt a lot of information! Lots of little stores set up in a market there that sold some very interesting things.
Read LisaandDaveheenan's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image PuggleLover
1 review
May 2015
Tour hurried. Not enough time to take pictures and look around. We were told at the end of the tour that we had 5 minutes to take pictures. That wasn't enough time to walk to the end of the facility to take overall pictures. Since the Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii tours are together, spend less time at Mt Vesuvius and more at Pompeii
Read PuggleLover's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MDDermanelian
1 review
May 2015
Disorganized but still an enjoyable time. Make sure you have good walking shoes and maybe some water. It was warm and muggy while we were there the first week of May
Read MDDermanelian's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image S Dakota
9 reviews
Apr 2015
Pompeii is an amazing place. It is quite large and you could spend hours there. We had about 90 minutes and it seemed a little rushed at times. The guide had a speaker systems and we had earphones to listen to her commentary, but the sound wasn't that great and I had some trouble hearing and/or understanding everything she said. But it was still a very interesting tour and a fascinating place. Total excursion time was 9 hours.
Read S Dakota's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image speedlady
6 reviews
Apr 2015
This was the best part of our day and they saved it for last. Very crowded, lots of tourist groups. Interesting and I'm glad we did it but now we've seen it and don't need to go back.
Read speedlady's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tmartin6@mac.com
1 review
Apr 2015
It should be advertised by the excursion folks that Pompeii is of course just ruins and while interesting to a degree you see a series of empty rooms about which is said in every instance that they know what was in this room because of the artifacts found and that reside in the museum. One tour without the other is a waste.
Read tmartin6@mac.com's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jimbo3
1 review
Apr 2015
the guide was knowledgeable but hard to understand. Tour was too expansive for what we got... we found out that we could have saved a lot of money if we had waited to book after we got there.
Read jimbo3's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Stinsy23
1 review
Mar 2015
We stopped at a Cameo Factory before we went into Pompeii. It was interesting, but kind of just an add on. There is so much more of Pompeii to see than what we saw, but it was an okay overview.
Read Stinsy23's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kdhelms
1 review
Jan 2015

I think Pompeii was our favorite excursion, although we enjoyed all of them. It was simply amazing to walk around and see all of the history. We underestimated just how big Pompeii is and the 2ish hours that we had were simply not enough. If you want to see Pompeii, I'd highly recommend arranging your own tour and spend the day there.

Read kdhelms's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ms resetnaka
1 review
Nov 2014
Our tour guide was just fantastic, super interesting and fun! The day was spent so well you could feel it in your muscles the next morning. Would definitely recommend!
Read ms resetnaka's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Stormgirl2014
1 review
Sep 2014
My older children really enjoyed this tour, definately worth seeing!
Read Stormgirl2014's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions
Member Image hsmcruise
13 reviews
Sep 2014

Crowded, but were shown the highlights. Wear sneakers surfaces are uneven and walking difficult.

Read hsmcruise's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: cbm
Member Image merphile
1 review
Jul 2014

Good duration for doing it with children but one only visits a part of it. Too bad it was pouring.

Read merphile's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image laqueviaja
1 review
Jul 2014

Although visiting Pompeii was a wonderful learning experience, the port itself, is not nice and it's close surroundings are not visually pretty. I am sure there are probably nicer areas, but what we saw travelling from the port to Pompeii was not pretty. Be vary wary of the cab drivers. They are plain and simple thieves and liars. We were told that the train to and from Pompeii was really expensive and unsafe. He told us that he would take us for less money. We believed him, despite the fact that my research said otherwise. Follow your gut - and do not be out 120 Euro like we were.

Read laqueviaja's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Self
Member Image FLCRUISER007
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Pompeii was really incredible, but the hardest walking of all of the places we went on this cruise. The ground is uneven so if you have walking difficulties be prepared. It's well worth seeing.

Read FLCRUISER007's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jonasaa
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Value Package: Sorrento & Pompeii – Adult Only Departure

I was surprised by the sheer magnitude of this old city! Could easily have spent 2-3 more hours to get the scope of everything that happened in an ancient Roman city like this. Make sure you walk through the tiny bordello and see the painted tiles...

Read jonasaa's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image jacsdan
2 reviews
Jun 2014

Part of Capri, and Sorrento excursion

Read jacsdan's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image groryjm
1 review
Jun 2014

Salerno The actual port in which we docked was Catania

Pompeii is one of those places you really feel you have to go and see. Think about resisting. Or go independently. We were one of about 20 coaches leaving the ship for Pompeii -with other variations tucked in. The entry and obligatory cameo factory was very crowded and over priced. Because we were in such a large group our guide spent most of her time explaining that we couldn't go and see the main bits of Pompeii because the group was too big and the site was too crowded. What we were able to see was fascinating. But we would have got a lot more out of it on our own.

Read groryjm's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sonvoltken6
7 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

OK actually this was Sorrento and Pompeii both. And it was Salerno not Naples. Sorrento was on my list since we live in Sorrento Florida. We loved going to the farm outside Sorrento, then exploring Sorrento on our own in the morning. And our tour of Pompeii was different than what we had done before. Yeah, this was probably my favorite port day of them all!

Read sonvoltken6's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image marybethhuebner
1 review
May 2014

Nice and large. Very historical. Go see the Brothel

Read marybethhuebner's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image canuck1669
1 review
Apr 2014

This was one of the ports we visited twice. We did the Amalfi Coast and Pompeii tours on our first stop and Capri Island tour on the second. For a great view of Capri and surrounding islands take the chair lift to the top and relax with a cappuccino and enjoy the view. Almalfi coast is spectacular but the bus ride is nothing compared to going up the mountain in Kotor.Pompeii is great for history buffs

Read canuck1669's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dvanlang
2 reviews
Oct 2013

Saw most of what we wanted to see.

Read dvanlang's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image shapatack0
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

We booked a combined Vesuvius/Pompeii tour through the cruiseline. This was one of the highlights of the trip and the honeymoon for me. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and had a sense of humor. I got the sense that he was a teacher or professor and did the tour-guiding on the side. Pompeii is one of a kind and not to be missed.

Read shapatack0's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Balcony12152
1 review
Sep 2013

This tour makes you hungry to go back to school and learn all about the eruption of Mt. Vesuvius and what was going on in 79 A.D. in other parts of the world. The incredible artwork, mosaic tile floors, magnificent statuary, etc. really gives you an appreciation for how long our culture has existed. (And also makes you wonder if anything we are creating today will have the staying power that Pompeii does?)

Read Balcony12152's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dado
5 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Well worth a look at nice day out

Read dado's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Mrs.JSparrow
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Excellent tour however you need more then the time alloted to see the ruins. A lot of walking definately dress in very comfortable walking shoes. Definately worth the hike and heat.

Read Mrs.JSparrow's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image prinsjh
2 reviews
Sep 2013

The was a fabulous tour. Guide was very informative. Pompeii is a huge archeological site. You only cover a small section. Very interesting and well worth the visit.

Read prinsjh's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image FunCouple13
1 review
Aug 2013
Naples- at the last minute we decided to do the cruise Transfer (NO TOUR) to Pompeii. We wandered the ruins on our own, and 'overheard' some of the English speaking tours whenever we could. It is HUGE!!!! Amazing to see Mount Vesuvius overhead and think of these people. Upon return to ship to wandered the town, and had PIZZA (of course) took in the city sites, people laying on the 'large course-sand' by the water. Actually very large ROCKS, people laid their towels and swam-- not a 'beach' that we know of but interesting and it looked refreshing.
Read FunCouple13's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lostg8rinva
1 review
Aug 2013

Great experience with Elisa our guide. The farm visit in Sorrento was great and the Limoncello was amazing. We had a wonderful time even though time was cut short in Pompeii.

Read lostg8rinva's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rdubesq
1 review
Jul 2013

Far far too rushed and superficial.

Read Rdubesq's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image benjuju
2 reviews
Jul 2013

Very easy by train or bus. Tram/train tickets are sold in front of ship, next to tram top. Leave the tram after the left corner; this is the station. Pompei Scavi is stop 18. Guides are available and useful. We were back before lunch.

Read benjuju's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ladyolivia
2 reviews
Jul 2013

From Versuvius we did Pompei. It was a hard walking day but worth it. When you leave Pompei the guide will take you to a restaurant where you will be charged 14 euros per person for a pizza, small ice cream and a drink. You will then be led back to the coach and onto the ship. It was my mistake I misunderstood and assumed we would be going back in Pompei. Had I realised ice cream sat in the sun would have been cheaper and more enjoyable.

Read ladyolivia's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image loveandcruises
14 reviews
Jul 2013

Pompeii was amazing and our guide, Jose, was very knowledgeable.

Read loveandcruises's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rileydog29
1 review
Jul 2013

Excellent guide. Very interesting. Lots of walking so not good for less abled. Definitely worth a visit. Would have liked more time to wander around but on a tight timescale.

Read Rileydog29's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image 24nascar48
1 review
Jul 2013

Make sure you bring their currency as you cannot buy a ticket with a credit card or any other currency. We didn't find that out until we arrived at the gate and had to find a post office to exchange money then wait on a long line again.

Read 24nascar48's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CARMAD65
1 review
Jun 2013

We had a superb knowledgeable guide who kept us interested all the time. I have been before but found it just as fascinating.

Read CARMAD65's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image Quem_Fala
4 reviews
Jun 2013

When we booked our tour with Rome in Limo Tours, they suggested that we hire a Pompeii-specific guide to walk us through the ruins and explain what we were seeing. While not absolutely necessary, it was a good decision to do it that way. Armed with the proper guide books, I think doing it yourself is possible, but certainly would take more time than we'd allocated.

Our guide was waiting for us when we arrived at the parking area just outside of the entry gates to the Pompeii ruins. He rounded us all up, explained how we were going to progress through the venue and off we went. We saved a couple of Euros on entry tickets as he took our Grand-children ahead of us and through a different gate where they didn't have to pay. As the day progressed I realized the guide was worth every Euro cent that he cost. Very knowledgeable, sincere and patient with our questions, he made the experience pleasant, fun and educational. I'm sure he'd done the same dance hundreds of times before, but he never seemed to be bored with our incessant questioning. Also, knowing our limited time frame he steered us to the most important of the sites and those with the most interesting stories.

It's amazing how vast these digs are! I think the size of the original town was somewhere around 150 acres. The idea is to envision what it must have been like 2000 year ago! You are walking the same cobble-stoned streets and walking into the shops and homes of the people who lived there, all those many years ago. The House of Lucius Caecillus Jucundus, the House of the Faun, the Forum Baths, or the Temple of Jupiter. There's the Theatre, the Municipal Office, the Market Place, and the Gladiator's barracks. And, so many more. It's a bit eerie but fascinating at the same time.

Read Quem_Fala's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image Heilanman
3 reviews
Jun 2013

Well worth the visit. The architecture and artifects were almost as if they were constructed yesterday.

Read Heilanman's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image xlucim
1 review
May 2013

great but we ran through it. It takes about a whole day at least not 2 hours.

Read xlucim's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image neverlaysup
1 review
May 2013

Not enough time for both visits especially with the 1 hour detour to attempt to sell you overpriced crap. Group was too big in Pompeii for the guide to communicate with. I would recommend doing this one on your own and at your own pace.

Read neverlaysup's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image suzeecruzee
1 review
May 2013

The port itself is the most depressing dirty and intimidating port ever... dreadful. Also lots of warnings about embarking into the city. We decided on Pompeii as somewhere I have always wanted to go to.The journey through Naples was equally depressing despite the guides efforts to convince us otherwise. I loved Pompeii, and would of preferred not being on the tour, as the guide took us round far too slowly for my liking , she was very knowledgeable, but some of her details were not necessary. I just wanted to know about Pompeii itself, not the history of Italy and its dynasties and what the emperor said to the empress on their night out...We wandered off keeping her within radio distance, and I did enjoy the trip, and glad I booked with the ship as I don t think I would of got off to travel through Naples otherwise.

Read suzeecruzee's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image raylor1
1 review
Apr 2013
Excellent.
Read raylor1's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image UniCruiser
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2013

Happy we took an excursion vs public bus or train.

Read UniCruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image JLU917
1 review
Mar 2013
Tour guide was too fast -- not enough time to see or take photos. We could have and should have stayed several hours longer, particularly since Mt. Vesuvius portion had been cancelled.
Read JLU917's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pezzy
1 review
Feb 2013
Amazing site. Going back in time. A wonderful tour. Lots of walking
Read Pezzy's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kernelman
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Very good tour with a knowledgeable guide who made the visit to the ruins of Pompei "come alive".
Read Kernelman's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image little acorn
1 review
Nov 2012
Wonderful trip,picked up by mini-bus at the exit of the port with an excellent guide, Andreas. he made the trip funny and really interesting, and did not push us around Pompeii, but allowed us to really enjoy our experience. Good time to go, as it was pleasantly warm without being too hot, and the sun was shining. Then we had fresh Pizza and a drink(included) and then were driven up Mount Vesuvius to the area from where those who wish can walk to the craters edge. Quite chilly up there, but wonderful views, we did not do the final trek, but had a coffee instead! Then back in good time to the ship. Excellent trip.
Read little acorn's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Viators
Member Image HickoryShampoo
1 review
Nov 2012
Very knowledgeable guide and a great experience.
Read HickoryShampoo's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image retired2012
1 review
Oct 2012
Carmine 2 as we called him was our tour guide through Pompeii. He was excellent. Very knowledgeable and really is everything you want in a tour guide. "Take your time but Hurry" was his motto and that was perfect for us as we walked through Pompeii. Through Carmine's explanations he was able to give us a fantastic picture of what life was like in Pompeii.
Read retired2012's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: RomeInLimo
Member Image spikedshoe
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Excellent guide who was really informative. Without her we would simply have been looking at ruins. Could have done without the visit to the factory beforehand. An extra half hour in Pompeii would have been much better,
Read spikedshoe's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Calshot
1 review
Oct 2012
Well worth a visit, but you do need a guide to allow you to understand what the buildings were and how the disaster occurred
Read Calshot's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CommuterBob
1 review
Oct 2012
Had a great guide!! We only got to see about 20% of Pompeii, but it was very informative and very cool. We were glad that we did Pompeii at the end of the day, because if we had done it first, we would have spent the whole day there and would not have seen Positano or Sorrento.
Read CommuterBob's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Smile Limo
Member Image respotrichie
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Entering through the SEA GATE and walking down the streets of the Agora and the surrounding Temples and homes was breathtaking to say the least.
Read respotrichie's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: portprootions.com
Member Image Denvermarge
1 review
Oct 2012
Pompeii is definitely a must to see. Our tour guide was very informative, fun and held our attention. Also had a great view of Mt. Vesuvius.
Read Denvermarge's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image GtrJim
2 reviews
Oct 2012
The walking tour of Pompeii was extremely interesting, with a great tour guide. We did not spend any time in the city of Naples.
Read GtrJim's full Seabourn Quest cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image cubaly
1 review
Sep 2012
Loved this, the on board commentator and guide was excellent and rather funny with it. The ruins were amazing and it was very well organised
Read cubaly's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image la bon
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2012
our guide was found at the entrance, a group was formed as we arrived, the tour was extremely interesting.
Read la bon's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Neet New Jersey
1 review
Sep 2012
A lot of walking around cobblestones and rocks but well worth it to see the history revealed. Had a wonderful tour guide.
Read Neet New Jersey's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excusions.com
Member Image tenby50
1 review
Sep 2012
Walking tour of Pompeii was excellent but the driver was very erratic
Read tenby50's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Budlight2012
1 review
Sep 2012
could have done this on our own.
Read Budlight2012's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vs8864
4 reviews
Sep 2012
Very interesting. Not to be missed. Everynody has heard about at some stage during their school years. But seeing it is an experience not be missed.
Read vs8864's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kingrodney
1 review
Sep 2012
We did Pompeii and Sorrento on our own. Our tour of Pompeii was a little rushed and we didn't get to soak it all in as we would have liked but overall it was okay. Our tour guide was a female clone of Newman from the Seinfeld series and she was quite aggressive which took away from the tour a little. Sorrento on our own was nice and very relaxing.
Read kingrodney's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image klitz
1 review
Sep 2012
The audio self-tour was very good. We could go at our own pace (probably faster than most). Don't miss the directional marker on the main street pointing down the alley to the Lupanare (brothel). Loved the ancient fast-food stalls serving take-out. NOTE: By booking our own transportation from ship, we arrived 15 min before opening and could experience Pompeii for an hour or more before the massive hordes of buses arrived. Quite a different experience before the tourists ruin the atmosphere.
Read klitz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Katie Starlight
1 review
Sep 2012
This was our last tour with Shoreexcursionsinitaly.net. Again we were not dissapointed. The tour was Pompeii and Positano Sorrento. Pompeii so interesting and impressive with Mt. Vesuvius in the background. You can join a tour or hire headphones. We wandered around on our own with Rick Steves guide. It was very hot in the afternoon.
Read Katie Starlight's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image goldilocks40
1 review
Aug 2012
Pompeii is amazing and definitely has to be done with a guide as otherwise it is just ruins...our guide really made it come to life and even our 13 year old son was enthralled. Definitely worth every penny. We did this as part of the Mt Versuvius hike which was first, fab day.
Read goldilocks40's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image artist5320
3 reviews
Aug 2012
After lunch, we toured Pompeii and it is just hard to comprehend that way it was destroyed by the volcano ash and hot gas. Plenty to see and very interesting
Read artist5320's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image EmmyLaBlonde
3 reviews
Aug 2012
Best excursion of the trip!! Take the boat tour NOT the bus. The boat tour gives you a beautiful boat ride to the town of Amalfi, where you have time to get off and wander the town, shop and have some gelato. Then back on the back where a bus take you on a short ride to a castle on a cliff where you dine in the courtyard to a beautiful authentic Italian lunch with proseco and wine included. Then off to Pompeii bring a hat, umbrella, water and comfortable shoes, this is hot and a lot of walking, but well worth it! There is also a quick stop at a cameo making shop that is charming and interesting.
Read EmmyLaBlonde's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tanimmo
1 review
Aug 2012
Bus to hotel for "tour" of "Cameo Museum"; bathroom stop and pick up water before Pompeii guided walking tour started. The Cameo Museum "tour" was just a thinly veiled push to get folks to buy something. Very hot and very crowded during tour. Guided tours take a lot of time because some one is always lagging behind. Guide was knowledgeable and entertaining. Long walk to bus parking lot for return trip.
Read tanimmo's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image colbuck
6 reviews
Aug 2012
We took the NCL arranged tour to Vesuvius and Pompeii was good. The guide spoke a terrible English and was not very knowlegdeable but I had my guide books and did not need to listen to her. The hike up the crater was heavier than expected: it is very steep and it was extremely hot. So it took us 1 hour to reach the top instead of the 25 minutes anticipated by my guide book. The view of the crater is impressive and also the view of the gulf of Naples was nice, although it was hazy. We reached Pompeii at 1 pm: it was breezy and not overcrowded so we had an excellent visit. Obvioulsy you can't see Pompeii in 2 hours but we had the opportunity to go inside a house, see the basilica, some shops. By 3.30 pm we were back to the port and had time to visit the central square of Naples, the galleria, via Toledo on our own.
Read colbuck's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Blighty770
1 review
Aug 2012
Friendly guide, Guido, very hot site. Obligatory cameo shop visit and limoncello tasting. Site itself is massive and we could have used 2-3 hours to wander the site and explore, but only had about 90 minutes. Would love to return on our own and explore properly.
Read Blighty770's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image maddersmcmonkey14
1 review
Aug 2012
Again, our tour guide was fantastic. We went to Pompeii, but other options were Capri and Naples etc. It was a fascinating place for all ages with moving stories, and the theater and mosaics are rather in tact and are fascinating, as are the bodies preserved in ash from the eruption. Not too much walking from where we parked to the ruins, and was thoroughly worth it. Such an amazing lost civilization.
Read maddersmcmonkey14's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kct76
1 review
Jul 2012
Naples itself looks pretty sketchy, but there are tons of interesting daytrips from there.
Read kct76's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Arelny
1 review
Jul 2012
Another must see attraction. The tour was definitely a plus because you could more fully appreciate what you were seeing, and the tour expedited your entry into the site.
Read Arelny's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Buckeye90
1 review
Jul 2012
This was nearly 4 1/2 hours from the time we assembled on the ship. Had sufficient time to view the ruins. Guide was knowledgeable and kept us in the shade when possible. I would highly recommend seeing Pompeii. It was very hot in Naples. The bus air conditioning was not functioning, the ride back to the ship was very uncomfortable. There seemed to be lack of communication for Naples port security. They had us go through security twice, once in port and once on the boat. Made for slow boarding.
Read Buckeye90's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Daisy4235
2 reviews
Jul 2012
Excellent, would have liked longer at Pompeii instead of the obligatory cameo factory
Read Daisy4235's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image fabnfortysomething
8 reviews
Jul 2012
a must-surprisingly easier to negotiate with walking difficulties tha the acropolis
Read fabnfortysomething's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: rome-car-tours Rudy
Member Image Avoid MSC Fantasia
1 review
Jul 2012
Bad interpretor filthy town
Read Avoid MSC Fantasia's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image ArrrEnnn
1 review
Jul 2012
Pompeii was wonderful! It was hot, but loaded with history. We enjoyed the private tour and tour guide because we could go at our own pace. We wanted to see it, but not spend eternity there. Once again.. once you see it, you're all set. A magical city! More preserved than any of the other ruins. Absolutely amazing.
Read ArrrEnnn's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Stephen James
1 review
Jun 2012
A long day but well worth it. It is very busy and there is queing
Read Stephen James's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image ohionana26
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Again, MANY tours were there at same time, which made for a lot of congestion in the main sites. It was a very hot day, and there is not much shade to be found inside the site. At the entrance there were lots of seats, but there were stern waiters who would not allow anyone to sit in a chair unless they placed an order. The sight could definitely add benches for visitors in many locations. The streets were also hard to walk on and you had to keep a close eye out for toe stubbers. However, it was truly an amazing place and worth all the sun and pushy people.
Read ohionana26's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image NCruiser2012
2 reviews
Jun 2012
We took the ship's excursion to Pompeii since it was only half a day. We went on a cooler day which was overcast and Pompeii was still hot. Bring your water, hat, and sunscreen. There is not a lot of shade. We did not spend any time in the city of Naples. We were just too tired. Naples is really beautiful from the ship. I did not expect that.
Read NCruiser2012's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image World Gallery
12 reviews
Jun 2012
Naples - We used All Around Italy and had the owner Fabrizio, as our driver. He was absolutely amazing. He was funny from the start and immediately connected to all of us. My kids will always remember him. He probably knew as much as a licensed tour guide but he did hire a licensed tour guide for us for Pompeii, and this was necessary in my opinion. We went to Positano first and stopped along the way for pictures on the Amalfi Coast. We had about 2 hours in Positano then lunch at a restaurant he suggested with the most beautiful view. Then we went to Pompeii for 2:30 and by then, the crowds were very thin. This was a great day! If the weather is good and sunny, I recommend Positano because you get to see the Amalfi coast but you are not driving as far to get all the way to the town of Amalfi. It was a good compromise and not as long in the car. They also have a beach in Positano, which is a great break for kids.
Read World Gallery's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wgb7428
8 reviews
Jun 2012
Because of union issues in Pompeii we were given an additional driving tour of Naples to burn some time prior to their opening. Be prepared for crowds at Pompeii. Very interesting history. Was very hot that day and had planned to walk Naples when tour was over, but just returned to the ship. This was one of those four hour excursions where they could have offered afternoon tours as well.
Read wgb7428's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image CyberTag
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Pompeii -- Pompeii was EXTREMELY hot and crowded. The terrain is cobblestone rocks so we were glad we wore comfortable shoes. It was a very informative tour and lots to see. The only disappointment as that we did not get to see the brothel where all of the artwork is displayed (we did not realize this until after we returned to the ship). We had a quick pizza lunch here, which was mediocre. The cruise paperwork about the tour says "you will visit a cameo factory, time permitting, where you will have the opportunity to observe the local artisans at work." Ironically, this was the first stop while in Pompeii and there definitely was time permitting. Leave it to RCCL to try and get you to spend money!
Read CyberTag's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image missminx7
1 review
Jun 2012
Unfortunately, we missed out on some of the same in the morning in Pompei, because we were not happy with our guide. It was also hot, and crowded, but we had trouble getting our bus, and could not keep up her pace, so missed descriptions on the whisper radios. Several people dropped out because they felt they could do better on their own. For the price, we should have a guide willing to consider our questions, and if she can't do the tour in the allotted time, the tour should be longer.
Read missminx7's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Moyzie
1 review
Jun 2012
Our port was actually Salerno, an industrial port south of Naples. Doing anything on your own here still requires you to be bussed out as we were told you couldn't just walk out the port for security reasons. Our ship charged 8 euros to bus you to Salerno. We did the Pompeii tour. We left the boat at 0900 and got back at 1400. The coach journey was fairly quick from Salerno, about 30-40 mins. Our guide took us on a 2 hour walking tour. It was great as a 'taster' but you could spend so much more time there. We would have liked a wee bit more time to wander around ourselves but it was still worth the visit.
Read Moyzie's full Horizon cruise review
Provider: Pullmantur
Member Image Crazymama2
1 review
Jun 2012

Great service. Customizes tour and small very informative pompeii tour was the highlight of trip.

Read Crazymama2's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image silversurfer
1 review
Jun 2012
Reasonable value. Good coach transfer and very knowledgeable guide made it a memorable experience
Read silversurfer's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ellay864
1 review
Jun 2012
After a second day at sea our final port of call was Naples. From here it's possible to visit Pompeii, Amalfi Coast or Capri. I had always wanted to go to Pompeii so through CC we booked a tour with 5 others. This cost us 80 euros each to visit Pompeii with a guided tour, and then have a drive down the Amalfi coast with stops at Positano and Sorrento. Pompeii is just brilliant and if you were to do a DIY trip I could easily imagine you could spend a whole day there. We had to pay extra to enter but at just 11 euros each it is great value. There's a lot said about the merits of Pompeii v Herculaneum; from what we were told it seems that Herculaneum does have better preserved artefacts but Pompeii is a much bigger site. Now size may not be everything but in the case of Pompeii the sheer scale of it brings home just the huge area of devastation. Visitors get to tread on old cobbled streets that still bear marks from where the carts would have left town. And to use the stepping stones across the streets that were the way to dodge the sewage as it would wash down the streets! Many of the old buildings are shops and it was easy to picture full streets; especially memorable was the site of an early fast food outlet..right outside the entrance to the theatre. Some things never change! We saw the old baths buildings, many of which still retain a lot of the old frescos and mosaic tiling. And of course we got to see some of the brothels, the most notable being one where pictures are still not only visible but also clear enough to see what was on 'the menu' at the establishment! All in all I had finally visited a place I'd wanted to for years and am so glad I did it at last
Read ellay864's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: AP tours
Member Image Nanagoes
1 review
Jun 2012
Wear sturdy shoes, wear a hat and take water. Very interesting but strenuous in hot weather.
Read Nanagoes's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Artteacher
2 reviews
Jun 2012
We hired a car to take us to Pompeii and then to Herculaneum because we did not see a tour offered through the cruise that went to both places. It cost about $400 for the whole day - split four ways, so not too bad. The driver navigated traffic and was attentive to our questions. He did take us to a hugely expensive restaurant (at our request), and joined us for lunch with out an invitation. The bill for five of us was $300! We were never advised of the cost in advance, but assumed it would be somewhat less. In hindsight, I think we should have been more clear as to what we were willing to pay - however the view was spectacular and the restaurant was opened exclusively for us (something that we were unaware of until we arrived) and enjoyed wine and local fish. Be careful if money is an issue, try to get costs up front.
Read Artteacher's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Sorrento Top Car
Member Image dbmm
2 reviews
Jun 2012
We went to Pompeii after the Amalfi Coast tour and after lunch. We didn't spend a lot of time there but we could see plenty of remains. I would say we stayed 2-3 hours max. The temperature was quite hot and I was happy to get back on the bus for some freshness.
Read dbmm's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image puablo
3 reviews
Jun 2012
In Naples the first thing you want to do is... get out of Naples. With the Amalfi Coast and Pompeii to the south, you probably wanted to do that anyways. Supposedly it's pretty easy to go to Pompeii and Sorrento by train, but we opted for the NCL trip that did the same. We took the Flavors Of Sorrento & Pompeii tour. It gave us about 90 minutes in Sorrento, then a great lunch at a farm, and then on to Pompeii -- which is a must see!
Read puablo's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mmeachm
5 reviews
Jun 2012
Informative, with a great guide.
Read mmeachm's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Linda Swanson
1 review
May 2012
Very interesting. Guide informative and personable. Involves a fairly good level of fitness.
Read Linda Swanson's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Still Dreaming
3 reviews
May 2012
We had arraigned with RomeInLimo for a private guide in Pompeii. Great decision!!! Then off to the Amalfi coast, absolutely amazing. Wish RIL had Mic's in their vans. This guide did talk louder but still missed some explanations .
Read Still Dreaming's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: RIL
Member Image Devilaw
4 reviews
May 2012
Amazing, but we only had two and half hours which was far from sufficient. We were not aware Pompeii was so large, you need at least half a day.
Read Devilaw's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: SAA
Member Image Helen Pask
1 review
May 2012
This was amazing, we never realized just how much destruction there was when the volcano errupted, earthquake and Tsunami, all at once, poor people didnt stand a chance. The ruins have been unearhted and were amazing to see. Our guide was lovely and explaine deverything in great detail. She also made surte we didnt get lost in the crowds of people visiting that day. Well worth a look.
Read Helen Pask's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image msupovitz
1 review
Not Rated
May 2012

a

Read msupovitz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lulusinta
1 review
Apr 2012
An excellent walking tour of the ruins. The guide had lots of facts and trivia to share.
Read lulusinta's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Boyds_TSB
1 review
Apr 2012
Should have stayed on the boat. Guide couldnt speak English, rained the whole time, massive shanty towns on the way to Pompeii, most of Pompeii is roped off so you can only see from a distance.
Read Boyds_TSB's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Magnolia53
1 review
Mar 2012
Pompeii - was a very well run tour with an amazing guide
Read Magnolia53's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image NCcruiser30
1 review
Mar 2012
This was a great tour! I felt like I was travelling in time getting to see this city that was destroyed in 79AD. They were quite an advanced civilization and it was interesting to see how they did things. I pretty much think you could go to one port several times and still have a good time. Another option that sounded cool was hiking Mt. Vesuvius and peeking into it to see the lava.
Read NCcruiser30's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image HRISGirl
1 review
Sep 2011
Great excursion. A lot of walking but worth it. We had a chance to shop at the end of the tour. There are a lot of vendors outside Pompeii as well as shops. There was an optional cameo factory tour. It was really impressive but the cameo's are very expensive.
Read HRISGirl's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image joemac_cruiser
1 review
Aug 2011
half day tour, guide was excellent, very informative and stayed away from crowds!
Read joemac_cruiser's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image VEGAS-CRUISER
1 review
Aug 2011
Tour guide walked very fast - tired us out
Read VEGAS-CRUISER's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image DisasterGuy
1 review
May 2011
Did the combo Capri and Pompeii since we didn't trust that we could do it ourselves without mistakes -- mistakes far enough from port that we could wind up watching the ship sail over the horizon from the dock. Great tour guide kept us together and informed. Only disappointment was that he was too good. Being the most senior and experienced, he kept holding us while we waiting for the other groups to catch up. We sat on the boat back from Capri for fifty minutes. Result was his having to hurry us through Pompeii with the guard locking gates behind us as the sun began to set, we were the very last and he made skipping some features seamless.
Read DisasterGuy's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.