Naples Mt. Vesuvius Excursion Reviews

Naples Mt. Vesuvius cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore Naples' legendary Mt. Vesuvius, the only active volcano left in Europe. A bus ride up the side offers a chance to hike a slippery cinder track.
Member Image gwmort@comcast.net
1 review
Aug 2016
Strenuous hike to the crater of Mt. Vesuvius. Glad we did it, views were amazing, wouldn't do it again.
Read gwmort@comcast.net's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image richmal123
1 review
Aug 2016
Took the Vesuvius followed by Pompeii tour. Brilliant. Up the volcano in the morning - great views, not too hot - quiet strenuous though... take water. Pompeii was really hot but we had a brilliant guide who took us to some great spots we wouldn't have found on our own.
Read richmal123's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image scowat
1 review
Jul 2016
Expensive for what it was. Misinformation on ship about distance to climb. 1,000ft and 1,000m are two very different distances. Felt all we payed for was the coach up to the top of Vesuvius
Read scowat's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Traveling redhead
1 review
Jul 2016
Worth the Climb
Read Traveling redhead's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Bienvenutodriver
Member Image Jackglobaltraveler
1 review
Jul 2016
Fun tour-must do. Some walking (about 30-45 min each way). Folks wearing flipflops suffer,
Read Jackglobaltraveler's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image YumPo
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Marco, our guide was very informative. We hiked up but once at the top, a terrible thunder and lightning storm hit. We had to wait a 1/2 hour in the little store at the top before heading back down in the driving rain. the guys who ran the store were fun. Being drenched coming down the trail was not pleasant.
Read YumPo's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Fontanman2016
1 review
Jul 2016
pretty cool going up Mt Vesuvius. Some unnecessary stop at a cameo store along the way to buy stuff- a set up I am sure. Pompei was a bit too long and hot. a very good guide though.
Read Fontanman2016's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bdelahanty
1 review
Jul 2016
This was a great tour. We climbed Mt. Vesuvius which took us about an hour. Great views of the area and inside the volcano. Coming down took about 20 minutes. Some didn't go all the way up, and some didn't have good time management which held us up a bit to leave for Pompeii. Our tour guide was excellent. Would recommend.
Read bdelahanty's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image netrodini
2 reviews
May 2016
!!!
Read netrodini's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Private Day Tours
Member Image DeMarco1948
1 review
Apr 2016
Enjoyed but wish we had more free time on the top. Had to hustle back down in time to leave. Very exhausting and would not recommend unless you are in good shape. No lunch included and did the walking tour of Pompeii and didn't finish until around 2 pm and we were starving. Should have had free time for lunch in between Vesuvius and Pompeii.
Read DeMarco1948's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image welsh89
1 review
Oct 2015
We walked to the top of mt vesuvius,although it was a bit of a hike when we got to the top the views around the volcano where breath taking and the view inside the volcano was even more impressive.
Read welsh89's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hawkshoe
2 reviews
Sep 2015
I felt that if I was going to see Pompeii, I should see Mt. Vesuvius. Mistake. The mountain isn't really much and I would have preferred to skip it to have more time in Pompeii.
Read hawkshoe's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cetera
1 review
Jul 2015
Would have been perfect if 20 min longer.
Read Cetera's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cinasoraya
1 review
Jul 2015
Climbing up on loose, sandy volvanic gravel under the blazing sun with time constraints did not spell F-U-N.
Read cinasoraya's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CNJMILTZ
2 reviews
Jun 2015
a bit hit and miss on the collection location but the trip up to the volcano and subsequent view over the bay of Naples was excellent.
Read CNJMILTZ's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image drytoastfan
1 review
Jun 2015
Must be very physically fit to complete the hike to the top. Bring a euro coin to "rent" a hiking stick. The toilette options were unacceptable. The cafe owner was rude, telling passengers that the facilities were for paying customers only. Toilette had no running water and no toilet paper. Tour guide was not helpful at helping those who had just downed bottles of water in the scorching heat seeking a toilette.
Read drytoastfan's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Michael Dodd
1 review
Jun 2015
Be prepared for a strenuous walk up Mt Vesuvius!
Read Michael Dodd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image justluv2cruisewithhubby
6 reviews
May 2015
Booked all day Mt.Vesuvius where we hiked up the mountain (hard work) and got to see the crater at the top and take amazing photos of the sea in the back drop then we went to Pompeii and spent the afternoon so much to see there which was fabulous.
Read justluv2cruisewithhubby's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PuggleLover
2 reviews
May 2015
Be sure to wear comfortable hiking or tennis shoes. The walk is a bit challenging for those with breathing conditions such as asthma. Good hike but be prepared for a couple of 30 percent grades. The views are nice though.
Read PuggleLover's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image catharsis_vc
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

We were so happy to take the vesuvius and pompeii tour, we had not idea we would be allowed to climb the volcano up the very side of the crater and we did!! Smoke was coming out of volcano and its the most spectacular thing we ever saw. The climb is hard on the legs though, they hurt for a few days afterwards. Also if you have heart or breathing issues this might not be for you. The scenery is spectacular though and Worth the effort! Pompeii was majestic as we expected and nothing less. Guide gave a LOT of info, but honstely we could have spent an entire day in pompeii because there is sooo much to see.

Read catharsis_vc's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sue555
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

This excursion was wonderful but I have to say.....what the hell happened to Naples. I was there a couple of decades ago and it was nice but now is full of garbage on many streets! Lots of plastic water bottles and garbage strewn on the side of the streets going up the mountain and throughout the bush. Then we went downtown after to Brandy's Pizza and some sidestreets were littered with garbage also and I don't know why!! The city needs to get volunteers to clean up if it is not in the budget for them to have city workers do it.

Read Sue555's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image shapatack0
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

The views from the top of Vesuvius were extraordinary. This really is not to be missed, and the walk is not that hard if you are in any kind of reasonable physical shape. If you walk with a cane or similar this is probably not for you.

Read shapatack0's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ladyolivia
2 reviews
Jul 2013

Thrilled I was able to get to the top of Vesuvius, hard work at my age 69. Hubby went ahead and I along with two other ladies from the ship set out together. First the 50 year old turned back then the 40 year old stopped, think they were really fed up of my moaning that I had to get to the top! But I did it, it's just a hole in the ground but has good views over Naples.

Read ladyolivia's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Rileydog29
1 review
Jul 2013

Worth visiting but a strenuous climb. Does not suit less abled. Again, very busy - would be better out of season.

Read Rileydog29's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image neverlaysup
1 review
May 2013

Not enough time for both visits especially with the 1 hour detour to attempt to sell you overpriced crap. Group was too big in Pompeii for the guide to communicate with. I would recommend doing this one on your own and at your own pace.

Read neverlaysup's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?