Naples Herculaneum Excursion Reviews

Naples Herculaneum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Discover the ancient lifestyles and the ongoing explorations of Herculaneum. The town was lost, along with Pompeii, in the eruption of Mount Vesuvius.
Member Image dianezw
3 reviews
Nov 2016
Liked Herculaneum. Hard to hear and understand the guide. Wished we could have visited the bones.
Read dianezw's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Shewie403
1 review
Oct 2016
We were unable to walk to Mt. Vesuvius crater, as there was heavy fog. Our driver took us to this site instead. It was interesting but so far from the port. It was unguided and I feel that I missed a lot of the information.
Read Shewie403's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Angel Tour
Member Image Waterfronteye
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Good visit to site and Cameo factory
Read Waterfronteye's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image liam.dasey
1 review
Sep 2016
Just 8 or us with a Driver. Although it was a good day and the driver was knowledgeable and entertaining, I think we all wished we had a guide in Herculaneum.
Read liam.dasey's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: AP Tours
Member Image Tac Aviator
1 review
Sep 2016
Very interesting. Not as vast as Pompeii but well worth a visit. The tour itself was expensive
Read Tac Aviator's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image mpbowyer
2 reviews
Sep 2016
A good trip if you have already been to Pompeii.
Read mpbowyer's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Terilsarkar
1 review
Sep 2016
We decided to visit Herculneum instead of Pompeii because it is smaller and less crowded. We were not disappointed. It was a highlight of the trip.
Read Terilsarkar's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dpmason
1 review
Sep 2016
Cool and not as overwhelming as Pompeii. People do need to be able to walk down to the site, and back out.
Read dpmason's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image jessicamoss1209@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2016
Herculaneum was amazing. Lots to see and do. I have heard that is is better than Pompeii as it was covered in mud rather than ash. A lot of the buldings are 2 stories still.
Read jessicamoss1209@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 2pretty
2 reviews
Aug 2016
We had been to Pompei before and wanted to get to Herculaneum this time. Very good and knowledgeable tour guide and comfortable transportation. perfect 1/2 day tour. The couple we travelled with did Pompei 4 hr trip and were pleased. The cameo stop was interesting and had good bathroom facilities.
Read 2pretty's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Presto2
6 reviews
Aug 2016
We have stayed in this area in the past so chose to visit Herculaneum. It was an excellent afternoon tour and the guide was very knowledgeable. The site is incredible well preserved and much smaller than Pompeii. Personally I would prefer to return again on our own to have more time to potter around on our own
Read Presto2's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Traveling redhead
1 review
Jul 2016
We booked a private tour as there were no tours that did what we wanted to in one day. We climbed Mt. Vesuvius, went to Herculaneum then Pompeii. It was excruciatingly hot that day. By the time we got part of the way through Pompeii, I had heat exhaustion. Had to call the driver to take us back to the ship. His dash has a temperature/humidex gauge. It was the equivalent of 53C factoring in the Humidity. Glad we had a private driver.
Read Traveling redhead's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Bienvenutodriver
Member Image happyonaship
3 reviews
Jul 2016
We had seen Pompeii five years ago, and wanted very much to see Herculaneum. We had a good, knowledgeable guide who didn't waste much time with silly jokes and found the place incredibly interesting. Again, as with many other ports, we didn't spend the whole day here and were able to have a nap before dinner.
Read happyonaship's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image PaulDonohue
1 review
Jul 2016
Herculaneum is around 10% of the size of Pompeii and is very different. The ash that fell in this area was not as hot as Pompeii and so there was not as much damage to the wood used in the buildings. See both Pompeii and Herculaneum as they are very different
Read PaulDonohue's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image WobblyUK@aol.com
1 review
Jul 2016
We booked a private tour and it was the best decision. It cost about the same as the cruise tour at €125 each with a private taxi to Herculaneum, it almost felt like a private tour for the first hour as there was barely half a dozen other people there and then the coaches arrived. Then the coaches left before we did. Our guide had excellent knowledge in history and future plans. Then we got back in our taxi to Napoli centre where we continued with a walking tour of local churches, had lunch at the Sorbillo pizza restaurant (claims to be the first pizza restaurant amongst many with the same claim) which was excellent and then onto the museum and back to the port. Fantastic value, full of information and different sites.
Read WobblyUK@aol.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image SteveS
1 review
Jun 2016
It was very hot but interesting.
Read SteveS's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Follow me
Member Image Ally_LM64
1 review
Jun 2016
Very interesting place and different to Pompei but just as good
Read Ally_LM64's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image grinchychick
3 reviews
Jun 2016
great alternative to Pompeii
Read grinchychick's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image caribesun
1 review
Jun 2016
Very well preserved ruins. Could have done without stop at Cameo factory
Read caribesun's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image magic.cat
1 review
May 2016
Very amazing to see the ancient ruins, very good condition.
Read magic.cat's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bonmarche
4 reviews
Jan 2016
Not as grand as Pompey obviously, but it was way smaller than I expected. The ticket office is a little run down. The bathrooms were dirty and the toilets had no seats. The ruins were much like Pompey with colored frescos and lots of beautiful tiles, but much of the site was ruined by scratches of graffiti on the fresco walls. We saw kids running around jumping and climbing on things that should just be looked at. If conditions continue, the site will be covered with graffiti like the rest of Naples. The ship's tour also included a stop at the cameo factory. A big waste of time. Half of the people on the bus stayed in the bus. One person bought something. Cost was a wapping $109 per person. Hold out for Pompey instead.
Read bonmarche's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lorial1989
1 review
Jan 2016
Herculaneum was fascinating and impressive. We got there kind of late in the day and had been on a long walking tour of Pompei so opted not to get the guided tour. I'm sure it would have been more interesting if we had had a guide and were not already tired. Well worth seeing.
Read Lorial1989's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ucanown2
1 review
Nov 2015
bad weather
Read ucanown2's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Thane1010
1 review
Oct 2015
This was an excellent excursion and the guide was very knowledgable. I have wanted to see this site for sometime and the 2 hours we spent there was enough time as it is small. I was worried though as Cunard let someone in a wheelchair book this excursion and it is no way suitable for people with that level of mobility problems
Read Thane1010's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image KAARON
1 review
Sep 2015
Awesome place to visit. Smaller than Pompeii, but also buried in the eruption of Vesuvius. The guide was very thorough and was able to point out the similarities and differences of the two sites. Naples was built on top of it, so only 50% of the town has been excavated.
Read KAARON's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?