Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Naples Herculaneum Excursion Reviews

Naples Herculaneum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Discover the ancient lifestyles and the ongoing explorations of Herculaneum. The town was lost, along with Pompeii, in the eruption of Mount Vesuvius.
Member Image Thane1010
1 review
Oct 2015
This was an excellent excursion and the guide was very knowledgable. I have wanted to see this site for sometime and the 2 hours we spent there was enough time as it is small. I was worried though as Cunard let someone in a wheelchair book this excursion and it is no way suitable for people with that level of mobility problems
Read Thane1010's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image KAARON
1 review
Sep 2015
Awesome place to visit. Smaller than Pompeii, but also buried in the eruption of Vesuvius. The guide was very thorough and was able to point out the similarities and differences of the two sites. Naples was built on top of it, so only 50% of the town has been excavated.
Read KAARON's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image Hazel Marr
3 reviews
Aug 2015
Wow, wow, wow! We had seen Herculaneum on television just a couple of weeks prior to sailing but it took our breath away. Here you see real skeletons in situ, just as the eruption had left them, buildings still with frescoes, pavements, streets. Ancient scenes brought to life. Highly recommended. Our guide was most knowledgeable!
Read Hazel Marr's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image windsor26
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Much better than Pompei
Read windsor26's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image LMM1801
4 reviews
Jun 2015
Loved Herculaneum. I was a bit disappointed in the skeletal remains, which you can only see from very far away. I heard they have been moved to a private museum. Our guide was terrible so I just wandered off by myself to see the sites.
Read LMM1801's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image hyker1
7 reviews
Jun 2015
Our guide was AWESOME! He knew Herculaneum's history and obviously spent time studying recent developments of the site. Herculaneum is a smaller site than Pompeii, so in my opinion, it's the best one to visit in one day, when there are only half-day tours of each place. Definitely got our money's worth. My husband thought it was great and we got blessed with cooler weather, too!
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image garywarry
1 review
May 2015
Overall very good but no need to go to see shell carvers, waste of time
Read garywarry's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image paradisemerton
1 review
May 2015
Very clear and informative guide showed us the highlights of this fascinating place and it was a well organised tour. Very well worth doing. There is so much to see here.
Read paradisemerton's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Fear-the-turtle
6 reviews
May 2015
We had our Amalfi Coast driver drop us off here and pick us up 2 hours later. Entry is 11 euros; ask for free map; nice free WC in ticket building). We would have liked an additional hour there. I had received an excellent, thorough guide to Herculaneum from a Cruise Critic member
Read Fear-the-turtle's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image marybethhuebner
1 review
May 2014

Small and cozy. Really got a feel for the detruction

Read marybethhuebner's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lilley
1 review
Oct 2013

Having visited the Sorrento and Pompeii twice we were interested to see Herculaneum. Extremely interesting, more complete than Pompeii although much smaller. Excellent and knowledgeable guide. Highly recommended

Read Lilley's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image trb7777
1 review
Oct 2013

this it was described as a 3.5hr tour ( inc the 20 min there and back ) so we should have had at least 2 and a half hours ( which having been before would have been possible) however we had a trip to a cameo factory included which said ' time permitting' on the excursion details. We left the ship and went straight to the factory where we wasted 25 minutes - no one wanted to buy anything. We ended up with 1 hr and 15 minutes in Herculaneum. Our guide was nice enough with good English but we had no ear pieces unlike other tours so it was nearly impossible to hear what she said and our group was over 50 people. Many of them were elderly and couldn't keep up with her anyway. I had been before but my husband hadn't and he never got to see the Mens Baths with undulating floor created by the pressure of volcanic mud or the boat sheds with the skeletons in down on the old sea front site or any of the main villas, so we were extremely disappointed. We sat around on the ship until 2 pm when NCL could have started this tour much earlier and given us a decent amount of time to visit the site properly. It was billed in the pre tour talk in the theatre as ' better preserved than Pompeii' and a ' must see ' site but they didn't actually allow us the time needed to do it justice.

Read trb7777's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ecogranny
1 review
Aug 2013

Easy to get to by taxi $50 per taxi. $10 enterance fee & well worth a visit but good to include a trip to the museum where many of the items from the site are stored - but closed on a Tuesday!

Read ecogranny's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image joanieg1
3 reviews
Jun 2013

Our guide was a older gentleman who obviously loved doing the tour. Herculaneum is a smaller site than Pompeii and really worth seeing. One of the cruisers commented to me they'd gone to Pompeii and almost everything was closed off! Not the case here. Lots of terrific pictures of well maintained site.

Read joanieg1's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Darshan1
11 reviews
Oct 2012
First, the city of Naples is beautiful from the port. Only Piraeus (Athens) was unpleasant and that because of diesel fumes from other vessels. I would love to go back and do a city tour of Naples instead of Herculaneum as Herculaneum seemed lackluster after Ephesus and the Acropolis. Our guide Fabio did a great job providing knowledge of the history of Herculaneum, but it was a bit rushed and there were more uneven and slippery surfaces. Overall, I would say Herculaneum is not visually impressive compared to Ephesus, but entertaining if viewed as a puzzle being unraveled that continues to teach us about life (especially that of the wealthy) of Ancient Rome. The tour also stopped at a cameo factory - nothing special, but a pretty store and interesting (if environmentally disappointing) that they make high end cameos from seashell there instead of onyx or carnelian. Overall, I liked this tour, but unless you're a history buff, I might recommend something else.
Read Darshan1's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Supplyman
6 reviews
Oct 2012
Great guide. Much better preserved than Pompeii. Need to do both to get an understanding of Roman life.
Read Supplyman's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sammygoose
1 review
Oct 2012
Herculaneum is amazing, a pompeii on a more manageable scale. Truly, Naples is a dump. It's just a port to go somewhere else- except I have never had a better pizza/meal anywhere.ever.
Read sammygoose's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image klitz
1 review
Sep 2012
We skipped Naples city and went directly to Pempeii, then Ravello (Amalfi Coast), and Herculaneum (Ercolano). Busy day, but well worth it. Not many tourists go to Herculaneum, but the houses and other buildings are much better preserved than Pompeii.
Read klitz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Eurolimo
Member Image robertsamsun
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Naples; here we did a private tour with APT tours, it was very good we went to Herculeum, Positano and Sorrento the guide was very good and I would have no problems working with this company again. A couple of negative points traffic but no one can control that and we were unable to catch the ferry back so that meant we had only a short time in Sorrento. We all had lunch there and maybe that was a mistake because we could have just bought a sandwich and saw more of Sorrento but no one was to blame for that it was our choice.
Read robertsamsun's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: APTours
Member Image TnTravel
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Been to Pompeii so chose Herculaneum. Fascinating place. Really wished we could have stayed longer and explored more on our own.
Read TnTravel's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image auntiehub
1 review
Jul 2012
We had visited Pompei on a previous cruise and I thought that this would be much the same. Pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed visiting this site. The tour guide was very good and funny. He showed us lots of interesting parts that we would not have seen on our own. We managed to go into Naples and found a lovely restaurant, were we had a fantastic lunch of pizza.
Read auntiehub's full Black Watch cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines
Member Image Spot On
1 review
Jul 2012
Was excellent and informative. Good value for money
Read Spot On's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Wallis7219
reviews
Jun 2012
A great alternative to Pompeii The houses are must more intact. There are some steep slopes to get up, so not recommended if you have trouble walking
Read Wallis7219's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image missminx7
1 review
Jun 2012
Excellent. Though very hot, our guide kept us in as much shade as possible and explained the ancient lifestyle and ongoing explorations.
Read missminx7's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image WichitaCruiser
1 review
Jun 2012
Herculaneum was a 5, but the tour guide a 2--we couldn't hear him, the crowd was too big, and his English was difficult to understand. It was also VERY hot. We've done Pompeii and Amalfi Coast before--both outstanding trips.
Read WichitaCruiser's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.