Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Naples Herculaneum Excursion Reviews

Naples Herculaneum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Discover the ancient lifestyles and the ongoing explorations of Herculaneum. The town was lost, along with Pompeii, in the eruption of Mount Vesuvius.
Member Image marybethhuebner
1 review
May 2014

Small and cozy. Really got a feel for the detruction

Read marybethhuebner's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lilley
1 review
Oct 2013

Having visited the Sorrento and Pompeii twice we were interested to see Herculaneum. Extremely interesting, more complete than Pompeii although much smaller. Excellent and knowledgeable guide. Highly recommended

Read Lilley's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image trb7777
1 review
Oct 2013

this it was described as a 3.5hr tour ( inc the 20 min there and back ) so we should have had at least 2 and a half hours ( which having been before would have been possible) however we had a trip to a cameo factory included which said ' time permitting' on the excursion details. We left the ship and went straight to the factory where we wasted 25 minutes - no one wanted to buy anything. We ended up with 1 hr and 15 minutes in Herculaneum. Our guide was nice enough with good English but we had no ear pieces unlike other tours so it was nearly impossible to hear what she said and our group was over 50 people. Many of them were elderly and couldn't keep up with her anyway. I had been before but my husband hadn't and he never got to see the Mens Baths with undulating floor created by the pressure of volcanic mud or the boat sheds with the skeletons in down on the old sea front site or any of the main villas, so we were extremely disappointed. We sat around on the ship until 2 pm when NCL could have started this tour much earlier and given us a decent amount of time to visit the site properly. It was billed in the pre tour talk in the theatre as ' better preserved than Pompeii' and a ' must see ' site but they didn't actually allow us the time needed to do it justice.

Read trb7777's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ecogranny
1 review
Aug 2013

Easy to get to by taxi $50 per taxi. $10 enterance fee & well worth a visit but good to include a trip to the museum where many of the items from the site are stored - but closed on a Tuesday!

Read ecogranny's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image joanieg1
3 reviews
Jun 2013

Our guide was a older gentleman who obviously loved doing the tour. Herculaneum is a smaller site than Pompeii and really worth seeing. One of the cruisers commented to me they'd gone to Pompeii and almost everything was closed off! Not the case here. Lots of terrific pictures of well maintained site.

Read joanieg1's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Darshan1
10 reviews
Oct 2012
First, the city of Naples is beautiful from the port. Only Piraeus (Athens) was unpleasant and that because of diesel fumes from other vessels. I would love to go back and do a city tour of Naples instead of Herculaneum as Herculaneum seemed lackluster after Ephesus and the Acropolis. Our guide Fabio did a great job providing knowledge of the history of Herculaneum, but it was a bit rushed and there were more uneven and slippery surfaces. Overall, I would say Herculaneum is not visually impressive compared to Ephesus, but entertaining if viewed as a puzzle being unraveled that continues to teach us about life (especially that of the wealthy) of Ancient Rome. The tour also stopped at a cameo factory - nothing special, but a pretty store and interesting (if environmentally disappointing) that they make high end cameos from seashell there instead of onyx or carnelian. Overall, I liked this tour, but unless you're a history buff, I might recommend something else.
Read Darshan1's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Supplyman
5 reviews
Oct 2012
Great guide. Much better preserved than Pompeii. Need to do both to get an understanding of Roman life.
Read Supplyman's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sammygoose
1 review
Oct 2012
Herculaneum is amazing, a pompeii on a more manageable scale. Truly, Naples is a dump. It's just a port to go somewhere else- except I have never had a better pizza/meal anywhere.ever.
Read sammygoose's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image klitz
1 review
Sep 2012
We skipped Naples city and went directly to Pempeii, then Ravello (Amalfi Coast), and Herculaneum (Ercolano). Busy day, but well worth it. Not many tourists go to Herculaneum, but the houses and other buildings are much better preserved than Pompeii.
Read klitz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Eurolimo
Member Image robertsamsun
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Naples; here we did a private tour with APT tours, it was very good we went to Herculeum, Positano and Sorrento the guide was very good and I would have no problems working with this company again. A couple of negative points traffic but no one can control that and we were unable to catch the ferry back so that meant we had only a short time in Sorrento. We all had lunch there and maybe that was a mistake because we could have just bought a sandwich and saw more of Sorrento but no one was to blame for that it was our choice.
Read robertsamsun's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: APTours
Member Image TnTravel
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Been to Pompeii so chose Herculaneum. Fascinating place. Really wished we could have stayed longer and explored more on our own.
Read TnTravel's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image auntiehub
1 review
Jul 2012
We had visited Pompei on a previous cruise and I thought that this would be much the same. Pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed visiting this site. The tour guide was very good and funny. He showed us lots of interesting parts that we would not have seen on our own. We managed to go into Naples and found a lovely restaurant, were we had a fantastic lunch of pizza.
Read auntiehub's full Black Watch cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines
Member Image Spot On
1 review
Jul 2012
Was excellent and informative. Good value for money
Read Spot On's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Wallis7219
4 reviews
Jun 2012
A great alternative to Pompeii The houses are must more intact. There are some steep slopes to get up, so not recommended if you have trouble walking
Read Wallis7219's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image missminx7
1 review
Jun 2012
Excellent. Though very hot, our guide kept us in as much shade as possible and explained the ancient lifestyle and ongoing explorations.
Read missminx7's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image WichitaCruiser
1 review
Jun 2012
Herculaneum was a 5, but the tour guide a 2--we couldn't hear him, the crowd was too big, and his English was difficult to understand. It was also VERY hot. We've done Pompeii and Amalfi Coast before--both outstanding trips.
Read WichitaCruiser's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Artteacher
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2012
We hired a car to take us to Pompeii and then to Herculaneum because we did not see a tour offered through the cruise that went to both places. It cost about $400 for the whole day - split four ways, so not too bad. The driver navigated traffic and was attentive to our questions. He did take us to a hugely expensive restaurant (at our request), and joined us for lunch with out an invitation. The bill for five of us was $300! We were never advised of the cost in advance, but assumed it would be somewhat less. In hindsight, I think we should have been more clear as to what we were willing to pay - however the view was spectacular and the restaurant was opened exclusively for us (something that we were unaware of until we arrived) and enjoyed wine and local fish. Be careful if money is an issue, try to get costs up front.
Read Artteacher's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image honeybee100
1 review
May 2012
An excellent guide, interesting ruins. Different than Pompeii, as our guide told us, we've never been.
Read honeybee100's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image J&J PDX Cruisers
2 reviews
May 2012
Excellent tour. Great driver, superb guide in Herculaneum. Probably took on too much to see with the time we had, but no one to blame but ourselves for that. Had lunch at an amazing restaurant above Positano. Dropped us in Sorrento to take the ferry back to the Naples port. Really, this tour was one of the real highlights of our entire vacation.
Read J&J PDX Cruisers's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: AP Tours
Member Image Magnolia53
1 review
Mar 2012
AMAZING
Read Magnolia53's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.