Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Mykonos Island of Delos Excursion Reviews

Mykonos Island of Delos cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Perfect for visitors interested in Greek history, mythology and archaeology, the Island of Delos is the spiritual and geographic center of the Cyclades island chain, and the birthplace of Apollo and Artemis, the offspring of Zeus.
Member Image usateg
2 reviews
Nov 2014

Mykonos was definitely one of my favorite islands & this is what I was expecting Greece to look like. It is a small island with whitewashed buildings (some with a slight color). Went to the Island of Delos & was taken aback by the ruins & just how big the area was. Had a wonderful lunch overlooking the sea & would definitely love to go back to Mykonos for a stay.

Read usateg's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image adkirk25
1 review
May 2014

We planned a kayaking trip but it was cancelled due to the storm from the day before. We didn’t find out about the cancellation until after we were already wandering around our meeting point looking for everyone. Instead we took a ferry to Ancient Delos and got stuck there for 3 hours due to the schedule difference between the first trip out and the first trip back. 3 hours is way too long to spend on Delos and its as only semi interesting after spending days looking at ancient ruins in Rome, Athens, and Kusadasi. After we made it back to Mykonos we walked around the BEAUTIFUL small town and had lunch before tendering back to the ship.

Read adkirk25's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Ferry
Member Image ingreece
9 reviews
Nov 2012
I loved Delos very much and the guide was knowledgable however I was really sad that we did not get to go inside the museum on the island because it was closed. Fantastic place and you should see it sometime. Delos was a very sacred place to the Ancient Greeks and was once a great city.
Read ingreece's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HickoryShampoo
1 review
Nov 2012
A must see at Mykonos. Only thing, if you don't like shopping.
Read HickoryShampoo's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sadied
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
terrific guide...she had to be because it was so hot and so much walking that one would drop out if she weren't. Of high interest. Boat trip enjoyable. Never would go in Summer months. Take an umbrella!
Read sadied's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Lawyer1982
1 review
Oct 2012
Love Mykonos. Its a fab place and if your like ephesus and pompei you will love delos.
Read Lawyer1982's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kellie Poodle
6 reviews
Oct 2012
It was Monday, the day all museums close, so the only way to get to Delos was via the ship's tour. We took a ferry to the island and then had a fabulous tour of the ruins. I was astounded to learn of the different cultures that inhabited the island at the same time.
Read Kellie Poodle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Swice
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Our ship-sponsored tour took us to Delos on the afternoon we arrived. We all enjoyed the boat ride over to Delos. There were a lot of ruins on the ground on Delos. According to Greek mythology, this is the place where Apollo was born. During roman times, it was an important trading port. Very little has been reconstructed here. I wish there had been drawings to help visualize what used to be here. With few trees and no shade and difficulty visualizing, our boys got tired of this. Honestly, we were starting to get mentally tired as well. After dinner on the ship, we went to Mykonos and walked over to the windmills and saw the most wonderful sunset! We got some terrific pictures!
Read Swice's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.