Mykonos Island of Delos Excursion Reviews

Mykonos Island of Delos cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Perfect for visitors interested in Greek history, mythology and archaeology, the Island of Delos is the spiritual and geographic center of the Cyclades island chain, and the birthplace of Apollo and Artemis, the offspring of Zeus.
Member Image Espire
3 reviews
Jun 2017
Princess tried to get us to pre book places on their shuttle bus into town by sending a circular to our cabin (the only port they did this). The Sea Bus into town, however, is much cheaper at 2 Euros single and far more convenient landing at the pier where the trips to Delos depart. Price of ferry to Delos is 20 Euro and admission 12 Euros. We paid 50 Euros to include a guided tour and it was well worth it because she was informative, engaging and humorous and we saw just the right amount of key sights with a brief time independently in three hours. Be aware that the cafe on the island is very expensive with a bottle of water 3 Euros and a fresh orange juice 5 Euros. Mykonos town is very pretty, the most attractive of all ports, with lots to explore but very expensive as well.
Read Espire's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Destination Tours
Member Image sheilashy603
1 review
Jun 2017
Ancient Delos was a nice place to visit. If I would go back to Mykonos try going to the Beach instead. And wear a lot of sunscreen and a hat.
Read sheilashy603's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image StreakedBlonde
2 reviews
May 2017
Great tour of Delos Island and Mykonsos town with Antonis Pothitos. There is not way to see this town without a local guide! He was fantastic www.delosguide.com
Read StreakedBlonde's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Antonis Pothitos
Member Image A10 Snake
1 review
May 2017
Interesting history of Delos and knowledgeable tour guide.
Read A10 Snake's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sleepless2017
1 review
May 2017
Georgia was lively and real. She was flexible when the many tour buses caused our itinerary to be rearranged, and was graceful when some passengers got irate.
Read Sleepless2017's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image BabaSue2
1 review
Nov 2016
Really an amazing tour. Guide was excellent. Delos was very impressive.
Read BabaSue2's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image mgounaris
1 review
Nov 2016
Was amazed at Delos, and so grateful that Viking had our tour led by a retired archaeologist who was knowledgeable and personable.
Read mgounaris's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Kate 123
1 review
Oct 2016
Tour guide was very knowledgable and had written a book on the history and archeology of Delos.
Read Kate 123's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sharons424
1 review
Sep 2016
Toured the island ruins and museum with an excellent tour guide. Well worth it.
Read sharons424's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Huntingdon1701
2 reviews
Sep 2016
This was an NCL tour to the Island of Delos. For me, the ruins here are on a par with Pompeii and give an image of a truly classical landscape. Although I wouldn't want to run the others down, I actually felt Delos was more inspiring than either the Acropolis in Athens or the ruins at Olympia, both of which we saw that week. Be aware, it is very exposed and can get hot, and there are limited facilities available. The tour ship drops you back off in Mykonos port so you can have a wander around and see the windmills before you return to the tenders to get back to the Cruise ship.
Read Huntingdon1701's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MiamiCruiser1214
1 review
Aug 2016
Delos is fascinating and much larger than I anticipated. The guide was an anthropologist who was incredibly knowledgeable. Grab lunch in Mykonos and walk the city on your own.
Read MiamiCruiser1214's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image happyonaship
3 reviews
Jul 2016
We had been to Delos before and wanted to see more of it. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and gave a lot of information, but there was a little too much information and too little travelling around the site to see it. We had very little time on the island and feel that in order to really experience Delos we should perhaps go when we can stay overnight in Mykonos and spend the day on Delos. We would like to hike to the other side and see the ancient synagogue there.
Read happyonaship's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image AmNotRay
1 review
Jul 2016
Great hike, amazing historical site but a ROUGH ride over when choppy
Read AmNotRay's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image yorky602
1 review
Jul 2016
Excellent - be warned though there is little shade.
Read yorky602's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image PaulDonohue
1 review
Jul 2016
Very interesting worth a trip there. If you suffer from sea sickness take care as the water can be rough.
Read PaulDonohue's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dalehskier
1 review
Jul 2016
Excellent !! The highlight of our trip!! Loved the ancient ruins!!
Read Dalehskier's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PelicanNorth
1 review
Jun 2016
What an experience! Artifacts sit right where they were found. We had a wonderful guide who taught gave us a wonderful history lesson while bringing the site to life.
Read PelicanNorth's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image jmcohen
3 reviews
Jun 2016
Really enjoyed the tour of the Greek ruins on Delos, though definitely wear sunscreen and wear a hat since there is little or no shade.
Read jmcohen's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kingoswing70
1 review
Jun 2016
Guide was boring and totally did not want to be there but then we were dropped off in a Shopping precinct recommended by Celebity
Read kingoswing70's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image slederman
1 review
Jun 2016
Go early, it gets hot. Well worth it. Climb the hill for a fantastic view. See the small museum. Get a local guide and try to imagine this place at its peak.
Read slederman's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image yanan31359
1 review
May 2016
Very informative.
Read yanan31359's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Phantom1231
1 review
May 2016
Excellent historical site not to be missed. You get on boat to Delos, a lot of walking, explanations okay but read ahead to get better understanding, get the written guide brochure as you enter the gate, museum is not too big, but it is a fabulous site.
Read Phantom1231's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tfalsky2
1 review
May 2016
One of the best tours. It was a nice boat ride to Delos. We were one of the first group to arrive. I suggest if there's an option..take the earliest tour. It was still cool and not as crowded even tho we were packe in that boat.
Read tfalsky2's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Jantheman132
4 reviews
Apr 2016
Delos tour was great, but for Mykonos you really don't need a tour. There is a water bus to the town for 2 euro or a public bus for 1.60 euro both leaving on the half hour right from the dock.
Read Jantheman132's full Costa neoRiviera cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image Ahennessy
1 review
Oct 2015
Due to an outstanding guide, this was one of the best days!
Read Ahennessy's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?