Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Mykonos Island of Delos Excursion Reviews

Mykonos Island of Delos cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Perfect for visitors interested in Greek history, mythology and archaeology, the Island of Delos is the spiritual and geographic center of the Cyclades island chain, and the birthplace of Apollo and Artemis, the offspring of Zeus.
Member Image martinLG
1 review
Jun 2015
brilliant tour but was very busy however could have spent longer wandering the actual ruins and only had 10 minutes to look in museum
Read martinLG's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MoniCz
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Our guide was great. And we had time to walk around and have lunch in Mykonos.
Read MoniCz's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Michael Dodd
1 review
Jun 2015
Very pretty country!
Read Michael Dodd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LMM1801
4 reviews
Jun 2015
I loved Delos. The island was super hot and no shade at all, but it is amazing. The best part are the lions, which they keep the real ones in the Museum. I did not care for our guide. She kept us out in the hot sun, droning on and on and did not take us to the best parts. I wandered around on my own and found better things than she pointed out. Our time at the Museum was too short, as she spoke too long. I always want to say to these guides, less is more.
Read LMM1801's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image socalcruizing200804
1 review
May 2015
My favorite tour. Very historical with lots to see. May get sea sick taking the smaller boat to the island. Bring snacks and sunscreen. Got 1-2 hours of free time to hike around. Loved the sights and history
Read socalcruizing200804's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dsayers
1 review
May 2015
Nice outing. Enjoyed the history of the area. Guide was knowledgeable and moved the tour along at a good pace. had a little free time to look around at the end which was nice.
Read dsayers's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image seasoned60
1 review
May 2015
This is a very well preserved area that allow you to see and marvel at just how advanced ancient people were. There are nice restrooms available and in many other sites this is not the case.
Read seasoned60's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SoCal Cruise Critic User
3 reviews
May 2015
After arriving at the Mikonos port, we then had to board one of the local ferries to the island of Delos. This UNESCO world heritage site is uninhabited today, but it was once a hub of Greek activity and an important site of religious significance - the birthplace of Apollo. Our two-hour walking tour covered the Agora of the Competialists, the Sacred Way, which leads to the Sanctuary of Apollo (the heart of Delos) and the Lion District. The site contains many marble ruins of temples, statues and sanctuaries. At the end of the tour, we visited the Delos Museum, which contained more artifacts, mosaics, and statues. Enjoy Mykonos town. There is a reason that “it is considered by many as one of the top tourist destinations in the world” - memorable landscapes, charming streets, houses and churches, as well as beautiful sandy beaches. Delos is worth visiting if you are an ancient history buff but it is not as impressive as some of the other famous sites. The Princess tour was good, but you can also arrange a Delos tour and/or take the ferry on your own.
Read SoCal Cruise Critic User's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JoeMama#1
1 review
Apr 2015
Lovely guide. She gave us a lot of history and moved throughout the sight at a good pace. We were fortunate that we had great weather. A wonderful historical sight to see.
Read JoeMama#1's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image usateg
2 reviews
Nov 2014

Mykonos was definitely one of my favorite islands & this is what I was expecting Greece to look like. It is a small island with whitewashed buildings (some with a slight color). Went to the Island of Delos & was taken aback by the ruins & just how big the area was. Had a wonderful lunch overlooking the sea & would definitely love to go back to Mykonos for a stay.

Read usateg's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image adkirk25
1 review
May 2014

We planned a kayaking trip but it was cancelled due to the storm from the day before. We didn’t find out about the cancellation until after we were already wandering around our meeting point looking for everyone. Instead we took a ferry to Ancient Delos and got stuck there for 3 hours due to the schedule difference between the first trip out and the first trip back. 3 hours is way too long to spend on Delos and its as only semi interesting after spending days looking at ancient ruins in Rome, Athens, and Kusadasi. After we made it back to Mykonos we walked around the BEAUTIFUL small town and had lunch before tendering back to the ship.

Read adkirk25's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Ferry
Member Image ingreece
9 reviews
Nov 2012
I loved Delos very much and the guide was knowledgable however I was really sad that we did not get to go inside the museum on the island because it was closed. Fantastic place and you should see it sometime. Delos was a very sacred place to the Ancient Greeks and was once a great city.
Read ingreece's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HickoryShampoo
1 review
Nov 2012
A must see at Mykonos. Only thing, if you don't like shopping.
Read HickoryShampoo's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sadied
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
terrific guide...she had to be because it was so hot and so much walking that one would drop out if she weren't. Of high interest. Boat trip enjoyable. Never would go in Summer months. Take an umbrella!
Read sadied's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Lawyer1982
1 review
Oct 2012
Love Mykonos. Its a fab place and if your like ephesus and pompei you will love delos.
Read Lawyer1982's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kellie Poodle
6 reviews
Oct 2012
It was Monday, the day all museums close, so the only way to get to Delos was via the ship's tour. We took a ferry to the island and then had a fabulous tour of the ruins. I was astounded to learn of the different cultures that inhabited the island at the same time.
Read Kellie Poodle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Swice
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Our ship-sponsored tour took us to Delos on the afternoon we arrived. We all enjoyed the boat ride over to Delos. There were a lot of ruins on the ground on Delos. According to Greek mythology, this is the place where Apollo was born. During roman times, it was an important trading port. Very little has been reconstructed here. I wish there had been drawings to help visualize what used to be here. With few trees and no shade and difficulty visualizing, our boys got tired of this. Honestly, we were starting to get mentally tired as well. After dinner on the ship, we went to Mykonos and walked over to the windmills and saw the most wonderful sunset! We got some terrific pictures!
Read Swice's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.