Cozumel Stingray Swim Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Stingray Swim cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Encounter one of Cozumel's most popular marine animals is the stingray. Interact, feed and touch the stingrays as you swim side by side with them in this unforgettable experience.
Member Image Woody22368
1 review
Feb 2017
Amazing day. Got to hold and feed the Rays.
Read Woody22368's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image M_J_Wright
1 review
Feb 2017
A lot of fun, worth the money for us. too bad their pictures were so expensive Loved the hermit crab race
Read M_J_Wright's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MamaCat67
1 review
Feb 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed our day with the stingrays, feed them, played with them, snorkeled and just generally had a great time.
Read MamaCat67's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image alansdale
1 review
Jan 2017
Stingray beach was amazing! The staff was very friendly. The encounter was so much fun and then the snorkel experience was so cool! So many giant stingrays! So much information. Pictures were very affordable. We were also able to get a picture holding the blue macaws they had! The hermit crab race was pretty fun too!! Highly recommend!!
Read alansdale's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Yatsailor
1 review
Jan 2017
Experience in the shallow area was limited to touching/holding rays and dodging large waves. Unable to feed the rays, usually part of the experience. Snorkeling in the deeper water with an abundance of rays and other fish, including a nurse shark, was very good. Would have liked to get pictures, but after the cost of the excursion, it was not worth the excessive expense for a party of 4. Recommend adding 5-10 dollars to the fee, and including the pictures.
Read Yatsailor's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dei3Nascar8
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Fantastic! Got to touch some stingrays, snorkel with about 40 of them and some beautiful coral arrangements, an excellent excursion.
Read Dei3Nascar8's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image green2u
4 reviews
Dec 2016
Get up close and personal! Intimidating at first because some of the females are 6 ft wide! Feeding them was very interesting. And later you snorkel in an enclosed ocean pen with more plus a nurse shark. Took a bit long for everyone to have their photo taken with a ray and of course they are for sale after. No cameras allowed during your 1-1 time with them but okay on the snorkeling time. Nice knowledgeable staff and they have released 300+ stingrays to the wild since 2008.
Read green2u's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Dfreme
1 review
Nov 2016
It was a good encounter although the groups were a little large causing a lot of down time although over all it was a good encounter.
Read Dfreme's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image John from PSL, Fl.
1 review
Oct 2016
Wasn't my idea to swim with the fishes..was my wifes idea. She had a good time
Read John from PSL, Fl.'s full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image llnole
1 review
Sep 2016
The guides were great! The stingrays were fascinating. Swimming with them was terrific!
Read llnole's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Melinda Palmer
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Great informative experience with the stingrays. they take pictures then you buy the CD for a nominal cost.
Read Melinda Palmer's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image garardo
6 reviews
May 2016
Great
Read garardo's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sls030992
1 review
Mar 2016
After a 20 minute car ride and 35 minute boat ride the water is crystal clear and filled with stingrays and sadly tons of other boats. It was super crowded causing the waves to be huge and you had to constantly tread water without the lfievest. Stingrays themselves were so soft and sweet. (very scary at first though!)
Read sls030992's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image P-3-Cruiser
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Fenced in area right on shore. They raise stingrays for release to the wild. Tour guides very knowledgeable and have excellent sense of humor. Sting ray encounter group fairly small (20 or so) so lots of interaction with rays. Also a short snorkel in an area where they're trying to grow a coral reef. Not there yet but you've got to appreciate the effort. Very good tour.
Read P-3-Cruiser's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tinkangel54
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Pedro gave a very informed lesson on stingrays and habitat. He and Alexandro were professional and very funny. Our entire group enjoyed the Rays a lot. I will definitely do again.
Read tinkangel54's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image crusinmomma5
1 review
Mar 2015
3 hour excursion turned into a 30 min touch experience. Most rays were too deep for the younger kids to see and after they let you touch a ray you are encouraged to spend your time sitting at their beach. No pictures unless you purchase them from the place.
Read crusinmomma5's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mechlingfamily
1 review
Mar 2015
Everybody Loves Rays! Stingray Encounter - We met our guide and took the brief bus ride to Stingray Beach. We got to enjoy the educational portion of the excursion first. We got to safely feed, pet, touch, hold, and kiss stingrays while we learned about them. Next we moved on to the snorkeling portion of the excursion. Our guide fed the fish and rays and we got to enjoy seeing this all up close. We were able to relax at the beach as long as we wanted. It is a small establishment and it's a pretty quick excursion but since it was our shortest port day that was okay with us. We are glad we did it.
Read mechlingfamily's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image slbjax9000
1 review
Mar 2015

We booked through NCL to Stingray Beach in Cozumel. It was a GREAT time!! My kids love animals and it was a nice short excursion and gave us lots of time in Cozumel port area to shop and eat after our excursion. Highly recommend Stingray Beach.

Read slbjax9000's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JennSTX
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

All about Rays was a VERY VERY fun excursion. You get to snorkel and see some huge fish, rays and colorful little fish, you get to also spend time in the shallows with the rays that move around your feet and you get to hold them. It's so awesome. Also they do hermit crab races, there are parrots, iguana, snacks & drinks. Also, when you are done with the formal snorkel and shallow part you can swim and jump off of a really fun water trampoline. The staff was very knowledgeable and attentive and the excursion felt very safe and very fun. We had a BLAST at this excursion!

Read JennSTX's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lynne15
1 review
Mar 2013
In Cozumel we did the Everybody Loves Rays! excursion and loved it. The Rays experience was really fun, although I felt that there were too many people in each of the groups. The snorkeling experience was a great for the kids (who don't have much snorkeling experience) and we had a blast. We stayed for a while afterwards to play on the water trampoline. We opted to take a free taxi downtown when we were done and spent some time wandering around the shops. From the cruise terminal it is an $8 taxi ride to downtown Cozumel and there is a great strip of shops and restaurants to check out. There were free taxi passes available on the ship (to the Emporium Shops) so you just need to pay for a cab on the way back. We aren't really into shopping but there were lots of cool things to check out. We found the cab drivers to be exceptionally friendly and helpful with advice.
Read lynne15's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cruiser Lou
1 review
Mar 2013
Fun, informative and worth the money. Very professional and funny staff.
Read Cruiser Lou's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Nascar21n8
3 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2013

loved it was great kids loved it would do it again.

Read Nascar21n8's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jennyasteele
1 review
Jan 2013
We signed up for this excursion but due to the choppy ocean and windy weather, we were forced to cancel. The staff member was not particularly helpful throughout this process. We were set to do the excursion at 8:30 a.m. and she had us come back twice to check in to see if we could do the event. It was a pain.
Read jennyasteele's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RMSugarfoot
1 review
Nov 2012
The Stingray adventure in Cozumel was fun, but the water was rough and the rocks are very, very slippery. The staff were great and so friendly. The DVD is $50, but there were 84 pictures on it. We ate a couple of sampler platters and they were very good, but don't order the nachos. They are NASTY. The gaucamole was amazingly good. There is a guy that makes the bracelets for $4 each. He made four of them in the time it took for us to eat lunch. He's fast and did a great job.
Read RMSugarfoot's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image pantherlady
3 reviews
Sep 2012

We were a small group of 13 and were delivered by air conditioned bus to the business, 10 minutes away. Promptly greeted, set up with mask, snorkel and fins, we listened to a short lesson regarding the rays, what we would be doing in the water, etc. The experience was wonderful. You will be swimming in deep water, over 20 feet, but have a live vest.

Read pantherlady's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?