Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cozumel Stingray Swim Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Stingray Swim cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Encounter one of Cozumel's most popular marine animals – the stingray. Interact, feed and touch the stingrays as you swim side by side with them in this unforgettable experience.
Member Image JennSTX
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

All about Rays was a VERY VERY fun excursion. You get to snorkel and see some huge fish, rays and colorful little fish, you get to also spend time in the shallows with the rays that move around your feet and you get to hold them. It's so awesome. Also they do hermit crab races, there are parrots, iguana, snacks & drinks. Also, when you are done with the formal snorkel and shallow part you can swim and jump off of a really fun water trampoline. The staff was very knowledgeable and attentive and the excursion felt very safe and very fun. We had a BLAST at this excursion!

Read JennSTX's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image lynne15
1 review
Mar 2013
In Cozumel we did the Everybody Loves Rays! excursion and loved it. The Rays experience was really fun, although I felt that there were too many people in each of the groups. The snorkeling experience was a great for the kids (who don't have much snorkeling experience) and we had a blast. We stayed for a while afterwards to play on the water trampoline. We opted to take a free taxi downtown when we were done and spent some time wandering around the shops. From the cruise terminal it is an $8 taxi ride to downtown Cozumel and there is a great strip of shops and restaurants to check out. There were free taxi passes available on the ship (to the Emporium Shops) so you just need to pay for a cab on the way back. We aren't really into shopping but there were lots of cool things to check out. We found the cab drivers to be exceptionally friendly and helpful with advice.
Read lynne15's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cruiser Lou
1 review
Mar 2013
Fun, informative and worth the money. Very professional and funny staff.
Read Cruiser Lou's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Nascar21n8
3 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2013

loved it was great kids loved it would do it again.

Read Nascar21n8's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jennyasteele
1 review
Jan 2013
We signed up for this excursion but due to the choppy ocean and windy weather, we were forced to cancel. The staff member was not particularly helpful throughout this process. We were set to do the excursion at 8:30 a.m. and she had us come back twice to check in to see if we could do the event. It was a pain.
Read jennyasteele's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RMSugarfoot
1 review
Nov 2012
The Stingray adventure in Cozumel was fun, but the water was rough and the rocks are very, very slippery. The staff were great and so friendly. The DVD is $50, but there were 84 pictures on it. We ate a couple of sampler platters and they were very good, but don't order the nachos. They are NASTY. The gaucamole was amazingly good. There is a guy that makes the bracelets for $4 each. He made four of them in the time it took for us to eat lunch. He's fast and did a great job.
Read RMSugarfoot's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image pantherlady
1 review
Sep 2012
We were a small group of 13 and were delivered by air conditioned bus to the business, 10 minutes away. Promptly greeted, set up with mask, snorkel and fins, we listened to a short lesson regarding the rays, what we would be doing in the water, etc. The experience was wonderful. You will be swimming in deep water, over 20 feet, but have a live vest.
Read pantherlady's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image CleveRocks
1 review
Aug 2012
Fantastic. Doesn't look like much when you pull up in the taxi, but it was both informative and fun. If you like wildlife and like getting wet, then this is great for the whole family.
Read CleveRocks's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GablesandGreen
2 reviews
Aug 2012
I can't say anything bad about this excursion so I rated it as a 5. It was clean, oraganized and lots of fun. The staff were great and there was no high sell to buy the photos they take. In fact, we would have bought them, but no one reminded us and we forgot all about it. We would do this one again. It was good value for the money and our five year old was free.
Read GablesandGreen's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Medtech2
4 reviews
Apr 2012
We did the Everybody Loves Rays excursion in Cozumel and I heartily recommend it. You meet at the pier and take a very short taxi ride to the place. Since we were a large group they split us up into two groups. One group snorkeled while the other learned about the rays and vice versa. The reason I prefer this excursion over the one in Grand Cayman was the fact that the area was sheltered from much wave action. The guides took great care of the Rays. I have seen pictures where people in Grand Cayman are holding the rays up and out of the water and this is very stressful for them, akin to someone holding your head under the water. The guides were knowledgeable and had us first pet the rays, then feed them, then hold them (at the surface with their gills still under water). They took a variety of pictures of everyone and these were available as single prints for $10 or all the pictures on a CD for $25. The fellow who prepared the CD corrected for under or over exposure on the shots and the CD contained some very good professionally done underwater pics of the Rays. BTW the barbs are clipped here as these rays are captive. One of the families had previously done the Stingray City tour in Grand Cayman and they said they much preferred this tour. When they did Grand Cayman it was very crowded with not so many rays and very unorganized. Especially for kids or the elderly this excursion in Cozumel was educational, fun, and very much controlled, safety wise. The snorkeling part was fun as a guide periodically fed the fish and rays so they would swarm around him. You are allowed to use your own camera in this part. After both groups were finished, which took about an hour, anyone who wanted to could go out on a water trampoline. There were hammocks available to lounge in, hermit crab races for the kids, a free soda, and snacks for purchase. There was a fellow weaving personalized wrist bands and massages were available. There were freshwater showers and clean bathrooms. Your wrist band also got you a free (very small) margarita in Margaritaville on the way back to the ship. I had the Fish Tacos there and they were quite tasty. They have a roped off swim and play area you can use, with various trampolines.
Read Medtech2's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image chloe kitty
2 reviews
Feb 2012
Cozumel is a great port. Lots of tours and lots of shopping. We took the Stingray swim tour. It was a lot of fun. We loved holding the Stingray and receiving the education about them. After that, we went shopping in one of the best areas in the Caribbean.
Read chloe kitty's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.