Marseille Les Baux de Provence Excursion Reviews

Marseille Les Baux de Provence cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Spend an afternoon in the picturesque village of Les Baux-de-Provence, high atop the Alpilles mountains.
Member Image Barefoot&Brit
3 reviews
Apr 2017
4.5 hours, level 2. We went to Les Baux, which is a charming little town that was nearly devoid of tourists due to the cold, windy, rainy March day. The tour guide assured us that in summer this place is overrun with tourists, meaning you can barely move through the narrow, steep streets. The town is pretty with lovely scenic views. There are few shops but the guide told us this was the best place for local textiles. We bought a couple of things for the toddlers in our family. The tour operator offered us bottles of water as we boarded the bus, which was nice. I think I would have been annoyed had I bought the ship’s bottled water. Reboarding after the tour was a mess. The ship’s instructions are adamant that you cannot debark with ANY beverages or food, even packaged food, and then had bottles of water for sale. I bought some confections and no one batted an eye at those or the bottled water I brought back from the tour. However, it was a raw, windy, rainy and cold day. The line to reboard moved very slowly with frequent stops. The issue seemed to be that everyone funneled through one metal detector where everything stopped every time someone had to empty all pockets of coins, etc. The guy in front of me had a zillion pockets filled with coins. And he still set off the detector. Fortunately one crew member told another to simply search him and not send him back through as the line was backing up. Overall, not well organized. Side note: our tour guide said to take the free shuttle into the city center, then walk less than 10 minutes to the “train on wheels” that would take you to several sites including the Notre Dame de la Garda. Cost about 7€. She said the city has been cleaning up its crime and this is a safe thing to do, not in the higher crime area. No shopping at port.
Read Barefoot&Brit's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ptcruzer
1 review
Dec 2016
Excursion was needlessly short. Beautiful and mysterious city but not really enough time to thoroughly enjoy.
Read ptcruzer's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nprovod
1 review
Sep 2016
This was probably my favorite stop/tour of the cruise. Les Baux ended up having a ton to do! I wish we had more time there. We went up to the fortress and there was so much to explore and climb, we spent most of our time there. We only got to stop in 2 stores quickly in the village and I definitely wish we had more time to explore the stores and restaurants.
Read nprovod's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sheminway
1 review
Sep 2016
Only 2 hours allotted at Baux, then back to ship only to have 3 hours til sailing. The tour leader was very good.
Read sheminway's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image traveling journalist
1 review
Sep 2016
I would give this only one star, expect the guide the cruise provided was really good. She wasn't the problem, the design of the excursion was. Even though Les-Baux is only about 40 minutes by bus from the port, we only got two hours in the town. What's the point?
Read traveling journalist's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 3ssn
1 review
Aug 2016
Nice town and great views
Read 3ssn's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Provence Connection
Member Image Dennisschornack
1 review
Jun 2016
Beautiful, be sure to get stuff here!
Read Dennisschornack's full S.S. Catherine cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image sinbad2uk
1 review
Aug 2015
Very good tour with good guide
Read sinbad2uk's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AmyNC
1 review
Jul 2015
Two of us took the Villages of Provence tour, which we thought wonderful. Only one busload went so we did not overpower the small towns. And it included an amazing art/light show in a converted limestone quarry... truly amazing. Two lovely small towns, St. Remy and Beaux-de-Provence.
Read AmyNC's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image christyl
1 review
Jun 2015
We did not care for this tour. Lots of driving.
Read christyl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image onthebalcony
4 reviews
May 2015
Old village was very crowded and commercialized. Hard to walk around with so many people on the narrow streets. Views from the top of the village were amazing.
Read onthebalcony's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image travelbug1025
5 reviews
Apr 2015
Absolutely gorgeous, eerie and beautiful. Lovely boutiques, excellent buys. Not to be missed. Small alleys that lead nowhere, you can get lost in this tiny village, we did.
Read travelbug1025's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image connellsville
6 reviews
Nov 2013

Went to Avignon for walking tour. Got over an hour of free time to sightsee after the tour. Continued to les Baux. Absolutely beautiful. Great tour.

Read connellsville's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Devilaw
6 reviews
May 2012
A wonderful village, we wish we had more time there. Also had an enjoyable lunch.
Read Devilaw's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?