Marseille City Tour Excursion Reviews

Marseille City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A city tour is the perfect introduction to Marseille. Enjoy seeing the city's top attractions, including Notre Dame de la Garde, the Marseille Old Port, and Fort Saint Jean.
Member Image happyonaship
3 reviews
Jul 2016
This was the City Drive and Notre Dame de la Garde. It was a half day tour which I felt exposed us to the best sites in Marseille and left us some time to relax. On a cruise such as the one we took, which had only two sea days in two weeks, it is easy to get exhausted trying to see EVERYTHING. But we have cruised in the Mediterranean before and hopefully will do so again and so we can leave some sites unseen. Truth is, though, we have been to Aix-en-Provence and Avignon before. Also, if you are in the area, Carcassonne is well worth a visit.
Read happyonaship's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vk3307
1 review
Jul 2016
So glad we did this! It's only 45 minutes and the views and sites are just awesome.
Read vk3307's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Calanque Tour Boats
Member Image WilliamsF1
1 review
Jul 2016
A good tour, but with Euros in full swing, the traffic was chaotic. Not much free time due to this.
Read WilliamsF1's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Vernon William
1 review
Jul 2016
Breathtaking in its unique beauty. Loved its rich culture and history
Read Vernon William's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Beach Traveler
1 review
Jun 2016
We walked all around Marseille to get to the Notre Dame on top of the hill. It was a nice view of the city, but we would take the tourist train to the top next time. We just could never find the train. The train originates by the harbor on the right side.
Read Beach Traveler's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image HYE6
1 review
Jun 2016
Good.
Read HYE6's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Dennisschornack
1 review
Jun 2016
Buy stuff!
Read Dennisschornack's full S.S. Catherine cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image Maggott
1 review
May 2016
Pleasant walking tour of Marseille, with free time at end of tour...
Read Maggott's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sunny Kochhar
1 review
May 2016
A good introduction to the city. The highlight was the Notre Dame
Read Sunny Kochhar's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image hook120
1 review
Apr 2016
took little train around city and up to the Notre Dame Grande. stunning views
Read hook120's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image FlyingSolo73
1 review
Dec 2015
Same as Barcelona was in 2 languages and not enough in English, so ditched the tour and explored the city on my own.
Read FlyingSolo73's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image cruiserpm5
1 review
Jul 2015
Take a taxi to 'Le Petit Train' which runs 3 tours- take the Notre Dame one which has incredible views! The trains take a break from 12.30-1.30 so if you wanted you could take a picnic lunch, visit the church and eat at the top of the city before catching the next train doen.
Read cruiserpm5's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Le Petit Train
Member Image Georgia_Peaches
3 reviews
Jul 2015
We took an electric bike tour of the city. Excellent and very beautiful.
Read Georgia_Peaches's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator.com
Member Image Cetera
1 review
Jul 2015
Disappointing. Notre Dame de la Garde was a good sight, but that was about it. Free time downtown could have included a walking tour.
Read Cetera's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kennyf
1 review
Jul 2015
Average city tour
Read kennyf's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Saligo
5 reviews
May 2015
The tour was quite good but did not cover all that many sights in the city. Perhaps the city doesn't have many sights worth covering, but we'll never know. We visited the hilltop Basilica of Notre Dame de la Garde, an extravagant edifice well worth a visit, though on the day of our visit the Mistral was blowing particularly strongly and it was difficult to keep your feet up there. We took a scenic drive with short photo stop along the Corniche Kennedy with views out to the Chateau d'If of Count of Monte Cristo fame, and had free time in the Old Port (Vieux Port) where there are many bars, restaurants and shops to visit as well as the photogenic harbour scene.
Read Saligo's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ms resetnaka
1 review
Nov 2014
Beautiful city, visited many places. Although I wish the tour was a bit shorter so we had more time to explore the city on our own. But it's still a great excursion for a first time visit.
Read ms resetnaka's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Cruisedog123
1 review
Jul 2013

Private tour which took us to small towns in Provence and Aix-en Provence. We also had lunch at a winery.

Read Cruisedog123's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image momcat
2 reviews
Dec 2012
The port was actually Toulon, but Marseille was one of the stops on the tour, which also included Sanary-sur-Mer and Cassis. It was a pleasant bus tour that gave us a general idea of Provence.
Read momcat's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wannaberetired
3 reviews
Sep 2012
Too rushed in LeBaux. They didn't give us enough time to go to the top of the town. No time to wander around in either town. The port of Marseille is very industrial and smelly!
Read wannaberetired's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image rwandmw
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Dirty town, not good on a Sunday when everything in town is closed.
Read rwandmw's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image ohionana26
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Basilica of Notre Dame de la Gorde What a wonderful old church with an amazing view. The guide, Paco, was a true joy. One time when we were stuck in a traffic jam he got out and personally directed traffic (said he had to go show them how to drive). I am in awe of the ability of the bus drivers to manipulate the huge buses through VERY narrow streets!
Read ohionana26's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Travel_Grande
1 review
Jun 2012

Went to the Norte Dame by the train. The train ride covers the old town and street and that is what we wanted to see. Overall great fun!!!

Read Travel_Grande's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image tvirgil1012
reviews
Jun 2012
Marseille was not that great of a city. It was definitely probably the worst out of all our stops. The train ride throughout town was just okay. Pretty sights, but it was just an easy way to get to the top of the hill. Not much to do in Marseille.
Read tvirgil1012's full cruise review
Provider: Le Petit Train
Member Image EATPRAYTRAVEL
2 reviews
May 2012
Traffic so bad, we were only able to do 2 of the 3 tour points - namely the city tour covering Basilica of Notre Dame/Fish market, plus Cassis. On the way to Cassis, we stopped briefly at the Calanques for a visit - nothing exciting. Cassis was beautiful, but we spent the entire time waiting for our food in a restaurant recommended by our driver, thus didn't have time to explore a little bit more. Didn't make it to Aix-en-Provence due to time limitation.
Read EATPRAYTRAVEL's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?