Marseille Avignon Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Marseille Avignon Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Walk the streets of beautiful historic Avignon, and learn of its resonant history that includes the story of why it earned the nickname "City of Popes".
Member Image Saligo
6 reviews
Sep 2016
We had been to Marseiile once before and didn't think a second visit would hold our interest so we took a tour to the Pont du Gard and Avignon. Both were well worth visiting. The tour bus parked near the famous Pont d'Avignon from where the tour guide took us on a walking tour to the Popes' Palace, Cathedral and Rocher viewpoint before leaving us with free time for lunch.
Read Saligo's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 3ssn
1 review
Aug 2016
Very beautiful city. Easy to just walk around and see the sights
Read 3ssn's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Provence Connection
Member Image Taryman
1 review
Aug 2016
Late back to ship. 2 hour free time in avignon too long. Would have liked to have seen more of marseille.
Read Taryman's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ecurbsnerha
1 review
Aug 2016
Crowded
Read ecurbsnerha's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image ThirtiesCruiser
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Pont du gard also visited, worth seeing. Avignon, nice town not too much to do there.
Read ThirtiesCruiser's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image pat kelly
1 review
Jul 2016
Avignon was lovely. would love to spend more time here. loveley walled in city.
Read pat kelly's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tkarpinski
1 review
Jun 2016
Shore excursion did not have proper description and was disappointed unable to go into Papal Palace. Tour guide was OK - not very helpful. Avignon was having a worker demonstration - very noisy. Would not recommend Avignon - not much to see.
Read tkarpinski's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image anna hutchison
1 review
Jun 2016
love the city
Read anna hutchison's full S.S. Catherine cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image Dennisschornack
1 review
Jun 2016
Palace of the popes and a market experience that were both wonderful. Get stuff at the market!!
Read Dennisschornack's full S.S. Catherine cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image AJinOhio
1 review
May 2016
Just walked around Avignon, it was a cool old city.
Read AJinOhio's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Frejoh
1 review
May 2016
Enjoyed Avgnon tremendously.
Read Frejoh's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Glittergirl12
1 review
Mar 2016
An hour or so on the coach to Avignon, we walked through to the Popes palace, this was fantastic, then to Marseille. A drive to the church, then 20 minutes in Marseille. Nice busy place. Not enough time as we needed to be back on board by 3.30pm. We were late, and had to do the walk of shame, but glad we had booked with MSC. I'd recommend taking a snack for the bus ride as no real time to stop for lunch. Avignon was def worth a visit, but would like to have walked on the Pont d' Avignon, there is a visors centre there, but we ran out of time. Nice gift shops to buy lavender. Will return to Avignon.
Read Glittergirl12's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image jeff06071961
1 review
Sep 2015
Fantastic tour
Read jeff06071961's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Keith@Telford
1 review
Aug 2015
Excellent with guide fantastic.
Read Keith@Telford's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image shrink13
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Toured Avignon and the Palace of the Popes, then went for wine tasting in Chateaneuf du Pape, the later a disappointment. Then lunch there.
Read shrink13's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image onthebalcony
3 reviews
May 2015
Tour guide started tour in the Pope's Palace. After leaving Pope's Palace we had free time to tour Avignon. Walked around the plaza and gardens and returned to bus for pictures of St. Benezet Bridge.
Read onthebalcony's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Tracey de Klerk
1 review
May 2015
Avignon was magnificent and then seeing Marceille was great. The time is short however so not much time to see as much as I would like. Travelling the distance to Avignon was nice as you also get to see some of the Provence country side. Well worth it.
Read Tracey de Klerk's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image mninem
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Continuation of the Aix-en-Provence tour. Again, the lecture during to bus ride from Aix-en-Provence was excellent. Got off the bus and walked to the Pope Palace, then a walk about to a food market and a flower market and the featured church. Lots of free time. On my own went back to the Pont. Tour does not include entry to the Pope Palace. Comments from people exiting the palace was that it is not worth it unless you are a civil engineer interested in old structures. Tour does not include the fee to walk on the Pont. Does not include a tour of the Palace gardens. There is a public access tower (250 steps?) which connects to a terrace which offers views of the Pont. Also can walk along the street or the river for photo ops.
Read mninem's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image connellsville
6 reviews
Nov 2013

Great tour to Avignon and Les Baux.

Read connellsville's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Lilley
1 review
Oct 2013

A delight tour. Avignon is best place to buy Lavender products. Popes Palace has many steps up to it but well worth the effort. A delightful town easy to explore with many easy eating options

Read Lilley's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Balcony12152
1 review
Sep 2013

We would visit again, after we've read more of the Papal history. Avignon is a beautiful place.

Read Balcony12152's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lostg8rinva
1 review
Aug 2013

It was ok, but not great. Informative

Read lostg8rinva's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AllawahPark
2 reviews
Jul 2013

Was the best excursion that we did. Included a tour of Marseille and Notre Dame before we went to Avignon. Most enjoyable, good guide.

Read AllawahPark's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image MJ from PA
3 reviews
Sep 2012
We booked Avignon & Aix En Provence and loved it. Our tour guide was excellent, and we stopped first in Aix for a short walking tour of historical sites and then had plenty of free time to visit the open air markets and shops in this beautiful town. There weren't thousands of other tourists, so it was an authentic experience. We then boarded the bus for Avignon, where we had another short introduction and time for lunch and shopping on our own. The palace of the popes is here, a very impressive building. A great day.
Read MJ from PA's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Devilaw
5 reviews
May 2012
Our primary tour was of the Palace of the Popes. An amazing building, well worth the trip.
Read Devilaw's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?