Malta (Valletta) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Malta (Valletta) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Boasting an impressive history, Malta has at various points been ruled by the Phoenicians, Greeks, Romans, Arabs, Normans, Aragonese, Habsburg Spain, the Knights of St John, France, and England. A city tour is a great way to see the old walled capital of Mdina, center of the oft-disputed isle.
Member Image alpacino123
1 review
Aug 2016
This is a beautiful place, so much history, loads of really old buildings, decided to take the open top bus tour, it is only €10 but was discounted to €7.50' for this you could take in all 3 tours but would probably need more than a day to do so. We chose the red route, which we were advised was leaving in 10 mins but over 30 mins later we were still waiting, be aware that they do NOT run to any timetable. Malta is really historic, it looks quite drab and dusty in places with loads of areas that seem derelict and quite run down. Once away from the main areas you are in countryside, again though not very scenic. The commentary was good if a little out of sync. Including the boat trip we were on the bus for over 4 hours so be careful of timings. The sail away from the harbour was wonderful, stunning views in every direction. You really need more than a day to appreciate Malta.
Read alpacino123's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Maz636
1 review
Aug 2016
Did the city tour and harbor cruise-both were real good. Guide was quite disinterested-spent much more time conversing with the bus driver in their native tongue than he did describing spots along the way. First boat had mechanical issues so we all ended up walking a long way to get the second one and were delayed a while. Several older folks who struggled with that but even with those issues it's a great place to see.
Read Maz636's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vrf1
2 reviews
Jul 2016
It was a good tour but due to traffic it was not as good as it should have been . We got dropped off in the town and it was a lovely city and enjoyed our own exploring. It was 35+ deg on the day
Read vrf1's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image dougie12
1 review
Jul 2016
enjoyed the scenic tour but wish we had done the city tour ourslves
Read dougie12's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image mhedge
4 reviews
Jul 2016
This was a very naturally beautiful place. In a first for the ship, a couple on the ship got engaged here.
Read mhedge's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Vernon William
1 review
Jul 2016
What a gem - its such a modern city with an ancient look. Was my favourite
Read Vernon William's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image ce_cruise
1 review
Jun 2016
Hop on Hop off only cost 10 Euros each and you could cover whole island if you wanted.
Read ce_cruise's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Emerald66
1 review
Jun 2016
Knowledgeable interesting guide, comfortable coach, enjoyable trip.
Read Emerald66's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image quartelycruiser
3 reviews
May 2016
Tour of the island by bus, they bring you to the blue grotto, Plenty of free time to walk in the old town.
Read quartelycruiser's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mighty Joe
2 reviews
May 2016
Part of the same tour; Interesting place to visit. Ship was given colour guard in costume and 7 gun salute on leaving port
Read Mighty Joe's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bradykenadee
1 review
Apr 2016
This tour gave us NO time at all to even see Valletta, which was a very big disappointment. We couldn't do the grotto tour because of the weather, so went to Mdina instead. It was fine, but didn't have much time, and would rather have seen Valletta.
Read bradykenadee's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ucanown2
1 review
Nov 2015
lots of fun
Read ucanown2's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image GINA P
1 review
Sep 2015
We enjoyed this very interesting tour. The tour guide was very helpful and knowledgable. We had some free time too which was nice and we were able to buy some gifts.
Read GINA P's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Skeeterbox
1 review
Sep 2015
we wish we had booked the ship excursion offer! The earplugs in the HOHO bus were useless and there was hardly any commentary. Very hot upstairs with no roof and long waiting times at the stops.
Read Skeeterbox's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Hop on Hop Off bus
Member Image RFCraig1
2 reviews
Jul 2015
The main reason I give this tour an average rating is because the tour guide gave us very little directions upon returning to the port and how to get back to our ship! We spent over an hour walking in the wrong direction based on our tour directors advice to get back on our ship however, that being said Malta is a must do tour. The Knights of Malta are infamous and indeed a must see for historical relevance alone. I enjoyed the tour but the end was a big mess-up!
Read RFCraig1's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tartana
1 review
Jun 2015
We did the 3 Cities Tour in Valletta - We enjoyed visiting the different areas; however, there was quite a bit of history and talking in this tour - and with quite a few people, it was hard to take it all in. I would have preferred to see more of the area rather than listen to so much history by a guide that was just so-so in my opinion. The water portion of this tour just stayed in the harbour basically and described the different areas around the harbour.
Read tartana's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image christyl
1 review
Jun 2015
Nice but if you get car sick, take medication beforehand as it's very windy roads.
Read christyl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Shoretrips
Member Image Kf3229
1 review
May 2015
Such a good guide who managed group well. Very informative and some one who loved her island and promoted it very positively. Will certainly visit Malta again, a clean and beautiful island. Good retail stop.
Read Kf3229's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image CATHERINECLYNES
1 review
Nov 2014

Whistlestop tour running behind a guide on a mission.
Tour not long enough.

Read CATHERINECLYNES's full Costa Favolosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image postrain
1 review
Oct 2014

Rain and an arrogant guide made for a dull trip. We enjoyed the beauty of Valletta, but wish we had more time and better weather.

Read postrain's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dado
6 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Nice open top bus gives a look around.
Easy walk off ship into Vlletta

Read dado's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Blue Aspect
1 review
Aug 2013
Read Blue Aspect's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image BigLil
4 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Good bus tour which ended in a boat tour of the harbour. For once I felt this tour was good value for money

Read BigLil's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image usc76
1 review
May 2013

Enjoyed going on the bus tour and had a great guide who informed us of the history of the area. Toured the City center on our own.

Read usc76's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ginka123
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2013

I think this was the name of the tour we took. It involved a bus ride around the city and other parts of the island with a variety of stops to get off and explore briefly. It was a great way to get a good idea of what Malta is like.

Read ginka123's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?