Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Malta (Valletta) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Malta (Valletta) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Boasting an impressive history, Malta has at various points been ruled by the Phoenicians, Greeks, Romans, Arabs, Normans, Aragonese, Habsburg Spain, the Knights of St John, France, and England. A city tour is a great way to see the old walled capital of Mdina, center of the oft-disputed isle.
Member Image CATHERINECLYNES
1 review
Nov 2014

Whistlestop tour running behind a guide on a mission.
Tour not long enough.

Read CATHERINECLYNES's full Costa Favolosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image postrain
1 review
Oct 2014

Rain and an arrogant guide made for a dull trip. We enjoyed the beauty of Valletta, but wish we had more time and better weather.

Read postrain's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dado
5 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Nice open top bus gives a look around.
Easy walk off ship into Vlletta

Read dado's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Blue Aspect
1 review
Aug 2013
Read Blue Aspect's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image BigLil
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Good bus tour which ended in a boat tour of the harbour. For once I felt this tour was good value for money

Read BigLil's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image usc76
1 review
May 2013

Enjoyed going on the bus tour and had a great guide who informed us of the history of the area. Toured the City center on our own.

Read usc76's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ginka123
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2013

I think this was the name of the tour we took. It involved a bus ride around the city and other parts of the island with a variety of stops to get off and explore briefly. It was a great way to get a good idea of what Malta is like.

Read ginka123's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Bid147
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2013
Valletta not for me, hated the place
Read Bid147's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image little acorn
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2012
Hop on Hop off bus tour---the worst HOHO we'veeverused! we were told to get on, get off three times and the commentary was worse than useless, being mainly adverts for shopping and little to do with the places we were passing. However Malta is lovely, especially the wonderful harbour area.
Read little acorn's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Benny and Jetsetter
1 review
Sep 2012
Did not like our tour guide - left behind at the start & was told it was our fault
Read Benny and Jetsetter's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image euroman1995
1 review
Jul 2012
Mdina was a beautiful walled city with narrow, cobblestone streets, horse-drawn carriages, and beautiful old architecture that is well kept. We went through the Mdina Cathedral, which was beautiful. There was a panoramic view of Malta and we were given time for pictures. There was about a half hour given for shopping in the quaint boutiques with reasonably priced silver jewelry and souveneirs. Valetta was almost as beautiful as Mdina with a visit to St. John's Cathedral and another half an hour for shopping. We visited a lovely terrace & gardens which offered a lovely view of the Mediterrean Sea. At noon, a soldier ceremoniously fires a cannon off. We were told this by a resident and not the tour guide. I would have rated this excursion higher but the tour guide seemed in a hurry and did not wait for the entire group to assemble before moving on. Some of our group missed St. John's completely because they were left in the dust by the tour guide and he took them back there during our free time.
Read euroman1995's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image barcafan
1 review
Jun 2012
Guzzi was a guide recommended to our friends who live in Barcelona. He showed us an amazing number of places on Malta, including a boat tour of the Blue Grotto and M'dina, but we never felt rushed.
Read barcafan's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Guzi Garage
Member Image WichitaCruiser
1 review
Jun 2012
Pre-booked Hypogeum on-line before leaving home. (They only allow 80 people in a day) Took the city bus there and back. Amazing! Also did a HOHO bus we found as soon as we got off of the ship.
Read WichitaCruiser's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Seacucumber
13 reviews
May 2012
Valetta Malta Ship tour and visited Blue Grotto and the fishing village of Marsaxlokk. Tour was excellent.
Read Seacucumber's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Superior-Shores
2 reviews
May 2012
Malta is a small yet powerful and important island in the center of the Mediterranean Sea. Situated 50 miles south of Sicily and 207 miles north of Libya, Malta has been an integral part of the "Middle Sea" history. The island is no more than 122 square miles making it one of the world's smallest states and yet is known as one of the most densely populated countries in the world. The list of invaders and occupiers reads like this: Phoenicians, Greeks, Romans, Arabs, Normans, Aragonese, Habsburg Spain, Knights of St. John, French and the British all share a part of Maltese history. In reading The Middle Sea and The Holy Wars this small island played such a pivotal role in shaping histories of every country bordering the Mediterranean Sea. The name Malta appears to be a derivative of the Greek word "melti" which means "land of honey". Another potential name "Maleth" comes from the Phoenicians which means "haven" due to the many bays and coves on the island. Prehistoric fossils are also being found including pygmy hippos and elephants. The island dotted with megalithic temples of a design dating back between 4,000 -- 2,500 B.C. The island was soon occupied by many foreign interests, often resulting in massacres and bloody battles up until 870 A.D. in which the Byzantines invaded the island and held on to it for nearly 200 years when the Normans ousted the Arabs in 1091, returning the island to Christianity. For the next 700+ years the island was conquered and re-conquered by multiple forces and left nearly devastated by one plague in 1675. With the Treaty of Paris in 1814, the island officially became a part of the British Empire. During World War II, the British heavily defended the island from heavy Italian bombardments. Often called the "second siege of Malta", the British recognized the important strategic location of the island in thwarting Axis nation shipping in the Mediterranean. Due to the bravery of the residents of Malta during WWII, the King of England awarded the "George Cross" to the citizens for their acts of bravery heroism. This was only the second time in British history that this honor was bestowed. The George Cross remains a part of Malta's flag to this day. Now a part of the European Union, Malta gained its independence from Britain on September 21, 1964 and has vowed to remain a neutral country. For Malta we took a very expensive but very private tour to multiple locations on the island. If you've not read, The Siege of Malta, The Middle Sea, or The Holy Wars, The significance of these sites may be insignificant. The Bible also tells of the Apostle Paul's shipwreck on this island and his subsequent incarceration in the catacombs on the island. The actual catacombs are open for public viewing. I think we were both moved as to what we had seen. We've also decided that the is no way to describe the majesty of this island or how nice people were everywhere we went. When people ask us our favorite cruise port it will now be Valletta, Malta.
Read Superior-Shores's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image love of cruising
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2012
We also visited several other ports that are not listed on the port options. Salvador de Bahia - Brazil - Very boring and not much to see Recife - Brazil - Dirty and a bit boring unless you visit the markets in the olde gaol cells (very interesting - good prices) Malaga - Spain - very nice, great seafood paella right near where the ships dock. The cathedral is beautiful. Hop on hop off bus is a good way to see lots. Alicante - Spain - also very nice. Hop on hop off bus is also the best way to go. Disembarkation port of Venice was fabulous. Must do a gondola ride, walk on the bridge of sighs, visit the street vendors at come out at night. Venice is expensive but savour the moment.
Read love of cruising's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.