Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Malta (Valletta) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Malta (Valletta) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Boasting an impressive history, Malta has at various points been ruled by the Phoenicians, Greeks, Romans, Arabs, Normans, Aragonese, Habsburg Spain, the Knights of St John, France, and England. A city tour is a great way to see the old walled capital of Mdina, center of the oft-disputed isle.
Member Image ce_cruise
1 review
Jun 2016
Hop on Hop off only cost 10 Euros each and you could cover whole island if you wanted.
Read ce_cruise's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image quartelycruiser
3 reviews
May 2016
Tour of the island by bus, they bring you to the blue grotto, Plenty of free time to walk in the old town.
Read quartelycruiser's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mighty Joe
2 reviews
May 2016
Part of the same tour; Interesting place to visit. Ship was given colour guard in costume and 7 gun salute on leaving port
Read Mighty Joe's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bradykenadee
1 review
Apr 2016
This tour gave us NO time at all to even see Valletta, which was a very big disappointment. We couldn't do the grotto tour because of the weather, so went to Mdina instead. It was fine, but didn't have much time, and would rather have seen Valletta.
Read bradykenadee's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ucanown2
1 review
Nov 2015
lots of fun
Read ucanown2's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image GINA P
1 review
Sep 2015
We enjoyed this very interesting tour. The tour guide was very helpful and knowledgable. We had some free time too which was nice and we were able to buy some gifts.
Read GINA P's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Skeeterbox
1 review
Sep 2015
we wish we had booked the ship excursion offer! The earplugs in the HOHO bus were useless and there was hardly any commentary. Very hot upstairs with no roof and long waiting times at the stops.
Read Skeeterbox's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Hop on Hop Off bus
Member Image RFCraig1
2 reviews
Jul 2015
The main reason I give this tour an average rating is because the tour guide gave us very little directions upon returning to the port and how to get back to our ship! We spent over an hour walking in the wrong direction based on our tour directors advice to get back on our ship however, that being said Malta is a must do tour. The Knights of Malta are infamous and indeed a must see for historical relevance alone. I enjoyed the tour but the end was a big mess-up!
Read RFCraig1's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tartana
1 review
Jun 2015
We did the 3 Cities Tour in Valletta - We enjoyed visiting the different areas; however, there was quite a bit of history and talking in this tour - and with quite a few people, it was hard to take it all in. I would have preferred to see more of the area rather than listen to so much history by a guide that was just so-so in my opinion. The water portion of this tour just stayed in the harbour basically and described the different areas around the harbour.
Read tartana's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image christyl
1 review
Jun 2015
Nice but if you get car sick, take medication beforehand as it's very windy roads.
Read christyl's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Shoretrips
Member Image Kf3229
1 review
May 2015
Such a good guide who managed group well. Very informative and some one who loved her island and promoted it very positively. Will certainly visit Malta again, a clean and beautiful island. Good retail stop.
Read Kf3229's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image CATHERINECLYNES
1 review
Nov 2014

Whistlestop tour running behind a guide on a mission.
Tour not long enough.

Read CATHERINECLYNES's full Costa Favolosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image postrain
1 review
Oct 2014

Rain and an arrogant guide made for a dull trip. We enjoyed the beauty of Valletta, but wish we had more time and better weather.

Read postrain's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dado
6 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Nice open top bus gives a look around.
Easy walk off ship into Vlletta

Read dado's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Blue Aspect
1 review
Aug 2013
Read Blue Aspect's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image BigLil
4 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Good bus tour which ended in a boat tour of the harbour. For once I felt this tour was good value for money

Read BigLil's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image usc76
1 review
May 2013

Enjoyed going on the bus tour and had a great guide who informed us of the history of the area. Toured the City center on our own.

Read usc76's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ginka123
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2013

I think this was the name of the tour we took. It involved a bus ride around the city and other parts of the island with a variety of stops to get off and explore briefly. It was a great way to get a good idea of what Malta is like.

Read ginka123's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Bid147
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2013
Valletta not for me, hated the place
Read Bid147's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image little acorn
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2012
Hop on Hop off bus tour---the worst HOHO we'veeverused! we were told to get on, get off three times and the commentary was worse than useless, being mainly adverts for shopping and little to do with the places we were passing. However Malta is lovely, especially the wonderful harbour area.
Read little acorn's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Benny and Jetsetter
1 review
Sep 2012
Did not like our tour guide - left behind at the start & was told it was our fault
Read Benny and Jetsetter's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image euroman1995
1 review
Jul 2012
Mdina was a beautiful walled city with narrow, cobblestone streets, horse-drawn carriages, and beautiful old architecture that is well kept. We went through the Mdina Cathedral, which was beautiful. There was a panoramic view of Malta and we were given time for pictures. There was about a half hour given for shopping in the quaint boutiques with reasonably priced silver jewelry and souveneirs. Valetta was almost as beautiful as Mdina with a visit to St. John's Cathedral and another half an hour for shopping. We visited a lovely terrace & gardens which offered a lovely view of the Mediterrean Sea. At noon, a soldier ceremoniously fires a cannon off. We were told this by a resident and not the tour guide. I would have rated this excursion higher but the tour guide seemed in a hurry and did not wait for the entire group to assemble before moving on. Some of our group missed St. John's completely because they were left in the dust by the tour guide and he took them back there during our free time.
Read euroman1995's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image barcafan
1 review
Jun 2012
Guzzi was a guide recommended to our friends who live in Barcelona. He showed us an amazing number of places on Malta, including a boat tour of the Blue Grotto and M'dina, but we never felt rushed.
Read barcafan's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Guzi Garage
Member Image WichitaCruiser
1 review
Jun 2012
Pre-booked Hypogeum on-line before leaving home. (They only allow 80 people in a day) Took the city bus there and back. Amazing! Also did a HOHO bus we found as soon as we got off of the ship.
Read WichitaCruiser's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Seacucumber
14 reviews
May 2012
Valetta Malta Ship tour and visited Blue Grotto and the fishing village of Marsaxlokk. Tour was excellent.
Read Seacucumber's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.