Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Madeira (Funchal) Toboggan Rides Excursion Reviews

Madeira (Funchal) Toboggan Rides cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Originally a fast means of transportation for locals down to Funchal from Monte, Madeira toboggan rides have been around since 1850 -- give it a try!
Member Image sam4881
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

A very unique and enjoyable experience!

Read sam4881's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Newfoundseeker
1 review
Dec 2013

Would be excellent but our guide was abrupt and rather hostile at time. This is also the only tour I've ever been on where it was essential to keep track of the guide. She walked without regard to ability (we are fit and could easily keep up) but many were left to be picked up "on the way back". She would always as the obligatory, "Are there any questions. (note the period and not a question mark)" and would immediately say "Good" and turn away. One passenger said, " I don't think we are allowed any questions." which prompted a round of laughter. If it had not been for the caring interest by tour members, people would have been lost along the way and left alone on the bus. Very hard to understand. The content of the tour was fun and beautiful. The toboggan ride was a blast and we highly recommend.

Read Newfoundseeker's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image critics0001
10 reviews
Apr 2013
Fine tour but guides could have been better. We found the toboggan personnel to be unprofessional and pushing for tips and selling you photos.
Read critics0001's full Seabourn Sojourn cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image gkpots
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2013
The tobagggan was great. You could do this on your own or by cab from the ship side.
Read gkpots's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sycamoregirl
1 review
Feb 2013
We felt like cattle being herded around, and, should we go there again, will certainly travel independently. The toboggan ride is very over-rated and we were pestered to buy photographs.
Read Sycamoregirl's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image mammamia1
1 review
Jan 2013
fun
Read mammamia1's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image polarman1952
1 review
Dec 2012
Really enjoyed the cable car and Toboggan ride back down!
Read polarman1952's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Jo and Rob
9 reviews
Apr 2012
Madeira We did the cable car and Toboggan trip which was superb. A great trip for families and we ended the tour with a Madeira tasting which was great fun. Unlike other cruise lines you are able to bring back alcohol from the ports and enjoy them in your cabin. Bar staff were always very obliging providing fresh glasses for our wine and Madeira and there are also large glasses provided in the cabin.
Read Jo and Rob's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image love of cruising
1 review
Apr 2012
A Fabulous port with beautiful beaches, botanical gardens, cable car ride is fantastic with magnificent views. The toboggan rides are exhilarating. The markets are well worth a visit for great souenir shopping and fresh fruit.It is a very pretty place. From where the ships dock it is an easy walk into the city, past many restaurants and cafes and a oceanside park.
Read love of cruising's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Pobinr
2 reviews
Mar 2012
Beautiful island. The ski lift & toboggan was great fun.
Read Pobinr's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Pobinr
2 reviews
Mar 2012
Beautiful island. The ski lift & toboggan was fun. Had a coffee on the boat the Beatles once owned.
Read Pobinr's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Alba Dia
1 review
Feb 2012
This should have been fun but the toboggan directly in front of us hit the wall of a house and one of the passengers panicked and jumped out. As the toboggan had not quite come to a standstill she sprawled over the road, breaking her camera, gashing and bruising her leg, and we later discovered she had broken her wrist. The toboggan operators took her to hospital and replaced the camera. If you are a little unsteady on your feet or elderly, consider doing this ride very carefully before you embark on it.
Read Alba Dia's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.