Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Madeira (Funchal) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Madeira (Funchal) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a tour through Madeira to properly experience the city in its full variety -- and be prepared to take amazing pictures!
Member Image Noelville
1 review
Oct 2014

Really enjoyed this port. It is very impressive, people very nice and the drive is magnificent with beautiful views.

Read Noelville's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JemIB66
5 reviews
Feb 2014

The bus took us through Funchal to a couple of viewpoints, where we were able to get out and take photographs. We also stopped at the highest sheer cliff in Europe and for some local wine tasting. Finally we stopped in a picturesque fishing port North of Funchal, where we had about an hour and a half to roam around. The local tour guide was knowledgeable and very informative. The only real gripe I have with cruise excursions booked through the cruise line is the price - they tend to be expensive.

Read JemIB66's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Cruciverbalist
1 review
Dec 2012
Not to be missed, available worldwide, flexible, informed, convenient, comfortable and VERY good value for money - but the bus was a bit noisy, the commentary a bit too quiet and interspersed with depressing folk music
Read Cruciverbalist's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: As Above
Member Image vcr_traveler515
5 reviews
Sep 2012
We were driven by bus to a few view point for photo opportunities. Then we were taken to a restaurant to try some of the local red and white wine and cheese. It was an inexpensive way to get a taste of the island. We were dropped off at the city centre and went on our own to buy some souvenirs. We went for lunch in the old town and tried the local fish (Espada).
Read vcr_traveler515's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tony Edwards
1 review
May 2012
We had a $10, 10 minute scheduled bus which dropped us near the centre of town. Which was value for money.
Read Tony Edwards's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ajb1605
2 reviews
Apr 2012
I loved Madeira - so much more than I was expecting; such variety, such beauty, and SPECTACULAR! Four of us hired a taxi for 4 or so hours, 95 euros, and saw the Botanical gardens, eirra do serrado, cabo girao, and much more. I have to say, (and NCL won't thank me) this is the way to go, organi9sing your own trips with reputable taxi firms.
Read ajb1605's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image betsy23
4 reviews
Apr 2012
Our driver was EXCELLENT. Timely, polite, knowledgeable, safe driver, and thoughtful. Highly recommend this company. I learned of it through reviews on Cruise Critic. SO thank you!
Read betsy23's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: JD's Taxis
Member Image Kasuta
1 review
Mar 2012
Great guide, beautiful views from the top of the mountain, also from the cable car. Watched the toboggan rides, but did not take one, chose instead to walk through the incredible Botanical Garden. The guide also took us to see an embroidery place where we watched the women create marvels of design and handwork. After the tour, we stayed in Funchal for a few more hours, as the ship was moored at walking distance. We experienced the local cuisine, as well as chatted with friendly locals. The view from the island, as we departed in the evening, was breathtaking.
Read Kasuta's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.