Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Kusadasi Terrace Houses Excursion Reviews

Kusadasi Terrace Houses cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Travel from Kusadasi to Ephesus for a tour of its majestic Terrace Houses, also called "the houses of the rich", which are a reflection of family life during the Roman period.
Member Image barberapatel1
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Absolutely brilliant couldn't do this before as the excavations hadn't been done!!!!!!

Read barberapatel1's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image foxtraveler
5 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

This is a must-see part of Ephesus. The paintings, mosaics, engineering (central cooling in 500 BC!) were phenomenal! Our tour guide really helped us imagine what life was like living in these homes 2000 years ago.

Read foxtraveler's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bluege (Best of Ephesus)
Member Image olsense1
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

Wonderful guide great price would recommend Yigit and this tour company to all.

Read olsense1's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celsus
Member Image bjrose
2 reviews
Sep 2013

We had a group of 8 people booked privately. The tour covered everything we wanted to see again. We had been there 17 yrs ago, so this was a different experience. Ephesus is a must-see for everyone. And "Mary's House" is a place to visit for spiritual value. We had been to the Basilica of St John on our last visit which is why we by-passed it this time. Our tourguide was a sweet, young lady with great hopes for Turkey.

Read bjrose's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image Aussievicki
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Fantastic day out with CC companions. Great tour of ruins followed by Turkish feast, belly dancing and music. LOVED this day. We helped fellow CC member celebrate a birthday and the whole day was one of our favourite.

Read Aussievicki's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image asmody
1 review
Aug 2013

The terraced Houses were amazing and the evening concert also. The ship's crew lined up on the dock to greet us when we returned, which was a nice touch.

Read asmody's full Seabourn Quest cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image FunCouple13
1 review
Aug 2013

Turkey-Kusadasi- we did the cruise 1/2 day tour Ultimate Ephasus. RECOMMEND HIGHLY! This tour includes the Terrace Houses- and the entire tour was very informative and mind blowing to think 45 years ago the majority of these terrace houses were under dirt! Our guide in the Terrace houses worked there 45 years- and co-authored a book EPHASUS that we purchased. Great memento. Enjoyed this very much! Had to do a carpet presentation but it was informative. Vendors are aggressive on walk back to ship... so we returned to ship for a nap. Too tired for sun/ people!!

Read FunCouple13's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CK57
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Again we had a private tour, this time with only four of us and guide, and driver. Our guide was very knowleged on the history and we enjoyed this tour as well seeing everything we wanted. This was called the Ephesus Tour and Terrace Houses with Private Ephesus.

Read CK57's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Surfari1
1 review
Aug 2013

All part of the same excursion

Read Surfari1's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image vcr_traveler515
5 reviews
Jul 2013

I took the Ephesus tour with Terrace House. It was well-organized and we saw the inside of the terrace houses (under a big tent). One got a good understanding of the life back in ancient Greece.

Read vcr_traveler515's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image DrJamba
2 reviews
Jun 2013

As part of our tour of Ephesus we visited the terrace houses which were wonderful restorations of the homes in which the ruling class lived.

Read DrJamba's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ingreece
9 reviews
Nov 2012
Very interesting because of the gorgeous wall decorations. Were rushed through by another tour group behind us and didn't like that. Worth seeing.
Read ingreece's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HickoryShampoo
1 review
Nov 2012
Absolute DO NOT MISS.
Read HickoryShampoo's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image philyerboots
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Excellent and fairy priced tour ($39 pp) - informative plus giving you time to yourself.
Read philyerboots's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ephasus Shuttle
Member Image Kellie Poodle
6 reviews
Oct 2012
Our guide told us that large groups are not yet permitted to see the Terrace Houses. We were amazed at how well they were preserved. There are a lot of stairs, but having a private guide, we took them at our own pace.
Read Kellie Poodle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Deluxe
Member Image klitz
1 review
Sep 2012
Extraordinary and very impressive
Read klitz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Blighty770
1 review
Aug 2012
Very good tour, despite a slight snafu with the last day of Ramadan being observed on the day we docked. This meant that the site of Ephesus was not open until 1.30pm, and our trip was booked to begin at 10.30am. Thanks to our guide, Melissa, who managed to get us to the House of the Virgin Mary for an impromptu visit, and then was a terrific guide through the ruins at Ephesus and the Terrace Houses, which are impressive.
Read Blighty770's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image wismergirl
4 reviews
Jul 2012
Compare to the rest of Ancient Ephesus, these houses were way better preserved and the excavation only started in 1960's. The Terrace Houses were located on the hill opposite the Temple of Hadrian and were also called "The Houses of the Rich". There were 6 residential units on three terraces and now they're covered with protective roofing. The mosaics on the floor were clearly visible and the frescos have been consolidated. We visited 2 of those 6 houses. It's incredible to see what was excavated but it was very dusty and stuffy inside the enclosed space.
Read wismergirl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image DonRobertoSanJuan
2 reviews
May 2012
Very interesting!
Read DonRobertoSanJuan's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Peter Wise
1 review
Apr 2012
Remarkable. You'll have to be fit though. There are lots of steps to climb
Read Peter Wise's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image explore4ever
8 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2012
ANCIENT EPHESUS AND TERRACE HOUSES are MUST-SEE! This was a highlight of our cruise.
Read explore4ever's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.