Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Kusadasi Terrace Houses Excursion Reviews

Kusadasi Terrace Houses cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Travel from Kusadasi to Ephesus for a tour of its majestic Terrace Houses, also called "the houses of the rich", which are a reflection of family life during the Roman period.
Member Image tensport
1 review
May 2016
Very interesting
Read tensport's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image swsf99a
2 reviews
Apr 2016
When here, you have to do Ephesus...nice tour on bus through kusadesi then to Ephesus. You start at the top and walk down. Must see it, amazing history. Shops at the end and as you get closer to the bus, the prices get lower. If you look at an item they will bargain
Read swsf99a's full Celestyal Olympia cruise review
Provider: Celestyal Cruises
Member Image lifeh2o4all
1 review
Oct 2015
Worth the extra cost.
Read lifeh2o4all's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: OTTI Travel
Member Image tring
6 reviews
Sep 2015
Well worth seeing these as they are by far the best part of the Ephesus site. Even the other guides were getting frustrated with our guide here as she kept us in a group in a number of places and talked at length, so they had to get their group to squeeze past us. They complained to our guide, but she was undeterred!
Read tring's full Voyager cruise review
Provider: Voyages of Discovery
Member Image tjd59
1 review
Sep 2015
The guide was very knowledgeable and the pace appropriate. This portion of the excursion is well worth it.
Read tjd59's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Daily Istanbul Tours-Ephesus
Member Image S_MN_Warmth_Seekers
3 reviews
Sep 2015
This was really a surprise, very well restored. Terrace houses better preserved than Herculaneaum, Italy. Excellent guides, visible history with earthquakes and silt moving former port area miles to the west over past 2000 years.
Read S_MN_Warmth_Seekers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image valbob89
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Very very glad we took the tour which included the terrace houses. Covered, stairs but even walk. A lot has been done to document the ongoing work here.
Read valbob89's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Dianne O.
1 review
Aug 2015
Awesome.
Read Dianne O.'s full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JessMama
1 review
Jul 2015
Ephesus was one of my favorite tours, ever. The guide was well versed, handled an annoying passenger very well, and gave us the right amount of free time. The terrace houses were well worth the extra fee. This was a dream come true for a girl who wanted to be an archaeologist.
Read JessMama's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MoniCz
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Great guide. Didn't mind when tour members opted out of the rug demonstration.
Read MoniCz's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hyker1
8 reviews
Jun 2015
Best part of my day in Ephesus. Fortunately, there were well-placed placards describing the site and they were in English, since our guide was truly clueless and by that time, most of the people on the tour KNEW that! If you go to Ephesus, don't miss these Terrace Houses. The wall-paintings and mosaics are phenomenal. There appears to be an extra charge/ticket required to enter the Terrace House area. Since it's pretty far into the site, be sure to inquire about the necessary admission if you choose to do Ephesus on your own... which I'd urge you to do! I think they have the hand-held units for self-guided tours.
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hfbjr
1 review
May 2015
Excellent tour. Much more interesting than we anticipated. They are still working on uncovering more antiquities and beautiful terra cotta tile work.
Read hfbjr's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image seasoned60
1 review
May 2015
This is still being developed and it is a real look into the past and just how advanced ancient cultures were. You must walk up several flights of steps and again it is worth it.
Read seasoned60's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SFO-F/A
9 reviews
May 2015
A quiet respite from the crowds at Ephesus. Amazing find, homes of wealthy people, beautiful tiles. Don't miss this addition to the tour. Again be sure you have a guide to tell you the stories.
Read SFO-F/A's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mandala
1 review
May 2015
We took a tour of the Terrace Houses, which were truly amazing! Hard to imagine that all that sumptuousness and wealth was held by just a handful of families!
Read Mandala's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HimAndMeGoCruising
2 reviews
Apr 2015
You must see the Terrace Houses when visiting Ephesus! It would be such a loss to miss out on seeing the excavated homes, frescos and mosaics. Unbelievable to experience.
Read HimAndMeGoCruising's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image barberapatel1
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Absolutely brilliant couldn't do this before as the excavations hadn't been done!!!!!!

Read barberapatel1's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image foxtraveler
7 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

This is a must-see part of Ephesus. The paintings, mosaics, engineering (central cooling in 500 BC!) were phenomenal! Our tour guide really helped us imagine what life was like living in these homes 2000 years ago.

Read foxtraveler's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bluege (Best of Ephesus)
Member Image kb0000
2 reviews
Nov 2013
The Terrace Houses, protected from the elements by being roofed over, are the best preserved ancient roman residences in Ephesus. The mosaic floors and painted walls of the rooms of the houses are striking.
Read kb0000's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image olsense1
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

Wonderful guide great price would recommend Yigit and this tour company to all.

Read olsense1's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celsus
Member Image bjrose
2 reviews
Sep 2013

We had a group of 8 people booked privately. The tour covered everything we wanted to see again. We had been there 17 yrs ago, so this was a different experience. Ephesus is a must-see for everyone. And "Mary's House" is a place to visit for spiritual value. We had been to the Basilica of St John on our last visit which is why we by-passed it this time. Our tourguide was a sweet, young lady with great hopes for Turkey.

Read bjrose's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image Aussievicki
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Fantastic day out with CC companions. Great tour of ruins followed by Turkish feast, belly dancing and music. LOVED this day. We helped fellow CC member celebrate a birthday and the whole day was one of our favourite.

Read Aussievicki's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image asmody
1 review
Aug 2013

The terraced Houses were amazing and the evening concert also. The ship's crew lined up on the dock to greet us when we returned, which was a nice touch.

Read asmody's full Seabourn Quest cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image FunCouple13
1 review
Aug 2013

Turkey-Kusadasi- we did the cruise 1/2 day tour Ultimate Ephasus. RECOMMEND HIGHLY! This tour includes the Terrace Houses- and the entire tour was very informative and mind blowing to think 45 years ago the majority of these terrace houses were under dirt! Our guide in the Terrace houses worked there 45 years- and co-authored a book EPHASUS that we purchased. Great memento. Enjoyed this very much! Had to do a carpet presentation but it was informative. Vendors are aggressive on walk back to ship... so we returned to ship for a nap. Too tired for sun/ people!!

Read FunCouple13's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CK57
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Again we had a private tour, this time with only four of us and guide, and driver. Our guide was very knowleged on the history and we enjoyed this tour as well seeing everything we wanted. This was called the Ephesus Tour and Terrace Houses with Private Ephesus.

Read CK57's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.