Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Kusadasi House of the Virgin Mary Excursion Reviews

Kusadasi House of the Virgin Mary cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Believed to be the dwelling in which Mary lived out her last days, The House of the Virgin Mary has long been a popular visitation site for a variety of pilgrims, including several popes.
Member Image luhning
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

We were enlightened with the history of this site, and will cherish the ceramic bottles in which we put the holy water in.

Read luhning's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image foxtraveler
5 reviews
May 2014

This is an important place for Catholics, but for us (nondenominational Christian), it wasn't that big of a deal. It is extremely crowded and very small. You spend maybe a minute (if that long) in the house itself. The wall of prayers was reminescent of the Wailing Wall in Jerusalem

Read foxtraveler's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bluege (Best of Ephesus)
Member Image olsense1
1 review
Oct 2013

Nice and worth the ride

Read olsense1's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CondorX2
1 review
Sep 2013

The visit was great and we enjoyed it very much, next time will choose to attend the Mass..

Read CondorX2's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bjrose
2 reviews
Sep 2013

This is a place where the Virgin Mary supposedly spent her last days. It is a place of tranquility and of prayer. It is a wonderful visit and one should do it for the spiritual value.

Read bjrose's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image DDCruiseFL
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Great experience with an online tour operator. Pick-up and drop off were worry free. we saw much more than the ship tour. Went up the coast to more ancient and intact sites. Tour leader was a history major with a great sense of humor. he took delight in showing us how bad the other tour leaders were and how they made up a lot of the stuff they told their tours.

Read DDCruiseFL's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Curio Tours
Member Image CarolinaCruiser85
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Awesome site especially if you are a Christian.

Read CarolinaCruiser85's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image CARMAD65
1 review
Jun 2013

In our brochure it was called 'Mary's House' and was not what I had expected.
Outside there was a long wall covered in prayers and wishes written on pieces of paper and pinned on to each other,

Read CARMAD65's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image trexdex
1 review
Nov 2012
Interesting tour.
Read trexdex's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Darshan1
10 reviews
Oct 2012
Our tour was with Irene and Tura Tourism (booked through the ship) and went to both the Virgin's house and Ephesus. The guide was informative and friendly and she paced the tour well for the most part so as not to be exhausting but also making sure we got places on time. The House of the Virgin was more interesting for views along the way as well as the religious history Irene told us about along with the geological and ancient political history of the region. The tour company gave us complimentary flasks to fill with holy water we could gather ourselves at springs below the Virgin's house. A neat experience.
Read Darshan1's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Kellie Poodle
6 reviews
Oct 2012
Though it had no religious significance for us, we found it a charming place with an aura of reverence. We filled our water bottle at the fountain hoping to get a little "magic" from the water.
Read Kellie Poodle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Deluxe
Member Image goonergirl
1 review
Oct 2012
Our tour guide told us all about the place and the story about its discovery and we went after our visit to Ephesus. We all received a small pot to fill with water from the spring. A very interesting visit.
Read goonergirl's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Annalise
8 reviews
Sep 2012

As Catholics, this place had a certain reverence for us. Her final living place was small and simple. Takes less than 2 minutes to walk through. Outside people leave written prayers and requests in a nearby wall.

Read Annalise's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image klitz
1 review
Sep 2012
Whether it is or is not the actual House of Virgin Maqry, it is where the faithful (of which I am one) celebrate the exemplary and inspiring life of Mary. Many religious shrines may not be the actual spot of the claimed event, they are always where the events are celebrated.
Read klitz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Princessa22
1 review
Sep 2012
Great private tour with Ceyla Ergon (zeynepceyla@gmail.com through the ruins of Ephesus, house of the Virgin Mary is not to be missed. Take an empty bottle to get water from well under Mary's house. Also write a prayer for the prayer wall. Don't miss the Turkish rug making. Well worth it here.
Read Princessa22's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Shoretrips
Member Image Blighty770
1 review
Aug 2012
Very crowded site, with an unbelievably small chapel built over the site of the house which was found. Look out for the wall with the prayers written on paper and in cloth. Very moving.
Read Blighty770's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image DebsLpool
2 reviews
Aug 2012
In and out of a house in 10 seconds, nothing else I can say. Our guide had explained all about the history etc, but the actual visit is very formtic, all in a single line, don't stop, in thriugh one door out through the other, then pass the usual stalls selling tat.
Read DebsLpool's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image henrytf
1 review
Jul 2012
Fantastic tour - great tour guide (Khan) Very crowded long queues also very hot time of year to do this - might be better in spring time. Was impossible to browse the town of Kusadasi without being pestered to buy something though.
Read henrytf's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image wismergirl
4 reviews
Jul 2012
The ground was extensive but the house itself was small. It was claimed that Mary went to Ephesus with St. John in 37 A.D. and lived there until her death in 48 A.D. IMO, the "Wishing Wall" outside the House of Virgin Mary was even more striking than the house itself.
Read wismergirl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image CleoandAnthony
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2012
Was included in Ephesus Highlights tour. Interesting. Numerous stalls at which to buy souvenirs.
Read CleoandAnthony's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Summerpls
1 review
Jun 2012
Beautiful drive getting there and it was packed! Lots of tourists there that day. It was very amazing to see buildings that have been there for thousands of years. You are not allowed to take pictures inside the House of the Virgin Mary but it does have a nice feeling to it.
Read Summerpls's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image baillie
1 review
Not Rated
May 2012
The virgin Mary's house not a simple place of worship. No photos or taking please as people are there praying.
Read baillie's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Twinmum
2 reviews
May 2012
This is such a special place with so much meaning to so many people. Such beautiful country side surrounding this amazing sight makes it that much more spectacular. This was a real highlight of our trip.
Read Twinmum's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.