Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Kusadasi Carpet Weaving Excursion Reviews

Kusadasi Carpet Weaving cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit a rug maker or a hub of markets and bazaars to find out about the meticulous, local craft for which Kusadasi is famous: carpet weaving.
Member Image barberapatel1
1 review
Oct 2014

Not happy with this, we really wanted to buy a rug but found the prices were aimed at Americans and therefore a ripoff.

Read barberapatel1's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bjrivers
1 review
Jul 2014

Interesting but at about £3K a carpet not for most.

Read bjrivers's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image olsense1
1 review
Oct 2013

Educational and great people.

Read olsense1's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celsus Travel
Member Image CondorX2
1 review
Sep 2013

we found the timing a bit long, because then we did not have enough time to shop and bargain in the Bazaar. Everything was expensive.

Read CondorX2's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CarolinaCruiser85
2 reviews
Aug 2013

I enjoyed learning about silk weaving and carpet weaving. I am in sales but I still thought the owner was too pushy with the carpets. They are beautiful but I would have like more time at the ruins.

Read CarolinaCruiser85's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image cocomoe18
1 review
Aug 2013

very interesting actually - they obviously have tourists all the time but I did learn abit too. No wonder these carpets are so expensive as they are very labour intensive .. and we had a nice snack of fruit and pasties with apple cider. Needless to say they were wanting to sell sell sell - so if you arent in the market - they go to the next person.

Read cocomoe18's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Surfari1
1 review
Aug 2013

Very interesting

Read Surfari1's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image HickoryShampoo
1 review
Nov 2012
Carpets are nice, but not worth the thinly-veiled sales pitch. Utter waste.
Read HickoryShampoo's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Kellie Poodle
6 reviews
Oct 2012
We had a lovely lunch here that was included in our tour price. We very much enjoyed learning about the weaving process and materials used. The method of making silk was fascinating. The carpets were lovely and the hospitality was gracious, but we were not in the market to purchase. Still, it was a treat to see the carpets and how the colors changed in the light.
Read Kellie Poodle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Deluxe
Member Image Budlight2012
1 review
Sep 2012
Great tour but would have skipped the carpet weaving demonstration at the end to venture out to the town before heading back to boat. Still had time afterwards to have a drink on the pier though.
Read Budlight2012's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vs8864
4 reviews
Sep 2012
Not that interesting. Very sales-oiented with very pushy and persuasive sales people.
Read vs8864's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mokopuna2
2 reviews
May 2012

This was something very new to me and I found it fascinating. The owner of the business was great allowing my wife to try tying the knots and when the weaver had done a few more rows it was obvious which knots my wife had done. It is a lot more difficult then it looks. We were shown many examples of the carpets which were lovely but we were no in the market to but any. The owner was not pushy trying to make a sale and even gave us a coffee before we left.

Read mokopuna2's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Fez Travel
Member Image DonRobertoSanJuan
2 reviews
May 2012
Was setup to sell you carpets. Weaving demonstration interesting.
Read DonRobertoSanJuan's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image explore4ever
8 reviews
Apr 2012
The beginning was interesting. As the demonstration progresses, it became an elaborate sales pitch. We found that anti-climatic after such a fabulous visit to the Terrace Houses.
Read explore4ever's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.