Kusadasi Carpet Weaving Excursion Reviews

Kusadasi Carpet Weaving cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit a rug maker or a hub of markets and bazaars to find out about the meticulous, local craft for which Kusadasi is famous: carpet weaving.
Member Image Shewie403
1 review
Oct 2016
The sites were fascinating but the carpet shop was a high pressure sale situation.
Read Shewie403's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image urbanite1985
1 review
Oct 2016
It was really cool and we may have bought a rug if they didn't go into the hard sales pitch.
Read urbanite1985's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gordosordo
1 review
Aug 2016
Very interesting but just a well orchestrated sales pitch.
Read Gordosordo's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bob FirstTimer
1 review
Aug 2016
This was the only thing I didn't care for although I learned a lot. The sales people were not at all pushy but I just wasn't going to spend over $1,000 for a carpet.
Read Bob FirstTimer's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Costco Travel
Member Image cruze4kats
1 review
Jul 2016
informative
Read cruze4kats's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image HuddyPuddy
1 review
Jun 2016
Interesting to see how the carpets are made.
Read HuddyPuddy's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image purplesun
1 review
Jun 2016
We did not book this but our tour made a stop here. It was a great experience to see the carpet making but then there were the salesmen.
Read purplesun's full Celestyal Crystal cruise review
Provider: Celestyal Cruises
Member Image PirateGirl150
1 review
May 2016
We loved the turkish rug school; the lunch we were served; and the lessons about rug-making. We also bought a beautiful rug there!
Read PirateGirl150's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Nazim
Member Image liv789
1 review
May 2016
Informative with lunch
Read liv789's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Fortun8
4 reviews
May 2016
Watching demonstration, learned about silk worms and wove some fibers, and had refreshment and watched carpets displayed with different patterns.
Read Fortun8's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Istanbul Ephesus tours
Member Image DeMarco1948
1 review
Apr 2016
Excellent tour and would strongly recommend. Again, there was a lot of walking and strenuous tour. Ephesus was great. Had a nice buffet lunch that was included in the tour but do not remember the name of the restaurant.
Read DeMarco1948's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image philw1776
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Informative. Great carpets. We own several so not in the market. :)
Read philw1776's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image MsCarmel
1 review
Sep 2015
Loved the carpet weaving--bought one and jewelry too.
Read MsCarmel's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Gamut
1 review
Jul 2015
I enjoyed the day and the stop at the carpet place. They explained and demonstrated carpet weaving exceptionally well.
Read Gamut's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tdelpinal
1 review
Jul 2015
We were told that this is a dying art, as the young people are not interested in being weavers so the government is trying to provide incentives so that it can be carried on by the younger generations.
Read tdelpinal's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cockneyrebel
1 review
Jul 2015
lovely carpets. Worth bargaining...
Read cockneyrebel's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cathswart@tiscali.co.za
1 review
Jul 2015
We had a wonderful experience at the Carpet Weavers Centre outside Ephesus. We were shown how the different types of carpets are made and then shown examples of exquisite rugs. Mustafa, our host, was friendly and highly entertaining. I'm so glad we went there!
Read cathswart@tiscali.co.za's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ertunga Tours
Member Image Winves
1 review
Jun 2015
Very educational & both a rug there
Read Winves's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image saletvak
1 review
Jun 2015
Did not want to buy a rug- hard press sales
Read saletvak's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image history professor
1 review
Jun 2015
In stead of visiting Ephesus we were taken to a top of the hill far away from Ephesus the see some bronze sculpture of Virgin Mary.
Read history professor's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jolgah
1 review
May 2015
The carpets are beautiful and learning about the carpet designs and weaving was very interesting.
Read jolgah's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image frealan
1 review
May 2015
Great tour, with a small group of people. Lovely lunch provided at a carpet factory. Great until the VERY hard sell for the carpets. Could have done without that.
Read frealan's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image jimnhil
3 reviews
Mar 2015
Quite interesting, showing the process of carpet weaving in some detail. But the focus was quite clearly on making sales of very expensive carpets. They were quite beautiful, all hand made.
Read jimnhil's full Aegean Odyssey cruise review
Provider: Voyages to Antiquity
Member Image barberapatel1
1 review
Oct 2014

Not happy with this, we really wanted to buy a rug but found the prices were aimed at Americans and therefore a ripoff.

Read barberapatel1's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image redbrickbarbie
3 reviews
Aug 2014
Interesting brief visit. We saw a lady actually weaving the carpets. They are very beautiful & can be shipped to the UK. I'd only go if you seriously want to buy a rug.
Read redbrickbarbie's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?