Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Kusadasi Basilica of St. John Excursion Reviews

Kusadasi Basilica of St. John cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Though in ruins, many columns and frescos of the Basilica of St. John still stand. One of six individual domes is thought to lie directly above St. John's grave.
Member Image tdelpinal
1 review
Jul 2015
This was one of the best tours. We had a great guide, super sense of humor and well versed on the history. Our tour included a great lunch under the shade of trees with local cuisine. We also saw the carpet weaving and the collecting of silk threads from the cocoons.
Read tdelpinal's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mgoudoras
1 review
Jun 2015
The massive amount of ruins left me speechless. Amazing how much history was in that part of the world.
Read mgoudoras's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Shoreexcursions.com
Member Image saletvak
1 review
Jun 2015
Excellent tour with a private company (same price for a private tour as with the ship). Be careful to say you don't want "side stops" (rug dealers, leather dealers, ceramic dealers) which we weren't aware of. Still an excellent tour and we learned a lot from a local tour guide. Got to all the top sites BEFORE the buses with a private tour.
Read saletvak's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Tours
Member Image Marcia Priske
1 review
Jun 2015
Interesting1
Read Marcia Priske's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hyker1
7 reviews
Jun 2015
The Basilica was fascinating, but our guide gave some serious misinformation regarding some of the surrounding area. He seemed to pride himself on his knowledge of ancient history, but he was not as intelligent as he wanted to come across. The Basilica is actually more of a Forum type space surrounding what was once the ancient Church. Definitely worth a visit, especially for Christians interested in the Apostles.
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image history professor
1 review
Jun 2015
I was not interested to visit it,but it was included in the tour
Read history professor's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MonaLisa:)
1 review
May 2015
The area was much larger than I expected and enjoyed both the site and the view. I wish I had bought more of the evil eye bracelets for 3TL. Turkish delight 10TL (didn't bargain) is heavily pushed on you as you board the tour bus, but beware that when you open the colorful boxes, there is a very small pack of candy inside. And since I had no room in luggage, I had to toss all 3 boxes.
Read MonaLisa:)'s full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jolgah
1 review
May 2015
Interesting as an ancient site.
Read jolgah's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image seasoned60
1 review
May 2015
If you are into the gospel this is an especially great religious site. It is well preserved in parts and your guide can fill you in as to what happened in this area.
Read seasoned60's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image frealan
1 review
May 2015
Great tour, with a small group of people. Lovely lunch provided at a carpet factory. Great until the VERY hard sell for the carpets. Could have done without that.
Read frealan's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image CondorX2
1 review
Sep 2013

We did enjoy the promenade and the view, it was good.

Read CondorX2's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CarolinaCruiser85
2 reviews
Member Image HickoryShampoo
1 review
Nov 2012
Might have been nicer had it not been raining.
Read HickoryShampoo's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Kellie Poodle
6 reviews
Oct 2012
Quite an interesting place.
Read Kellie Poodle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Deluxe
Member Image Annalise
8 reviews
Sep 2012

A grouping of ruins that had no rhyme or reason. To me, it was a waste of time.

Read Annalise's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image wismergirl
4 reviews
Jul 2012
It's believed that Jesus' disciple, John, spent his last years in the region around Ephesus and was buried in the southern slope of Ayosolug Hill where the basilica was located. Nothing much special to see.
Read wismergirl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image baillie
1 review
May 2012
Church of St John insteresting...seeking funding for resortation
Read baillie's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.