Kusadasi Basilica of St. John Excursion Reviews

Kusadasi Basilica of St. John cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Though in ruins, many columns and frescos of the Basilica of St. John still stand. One of six individual domes is thought to lie directly above St. John's grave.
Member Image Gordosordo
1 review
Aug 2016
We opted for the cruise offered tour because of concerns with safety. The locals were beautiful but I felt rushed by the guide. She would give us five minutes to explore and take pictures in incredible ruins and then rush us to the next stop. However there was ample time built into the retail outlets which we had no interest in.
Read Gordosordo's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tearhead
1 review
Jun 2016
Awe inspiring
Read tearhead's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Auwaiku
1 review
May 2016
Basically ... ruins.
Read Auwaiku's full Silver Cloud cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image PirateGirl150
1 review
May 2016
Extremely interesting, but extremely hot and crowded with cruise ship passengers.
Read PirateGirl150's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Nazim
Member Image Judgeo19
1 review
May 2016
not much left but special to be there
Read Judgeo19's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image nicola78
3 reviews
Sep 2015
I'm lucky, I've been to Ephesus before. Good job as the tour guide marched us through the site at a quick pace, told us more about the cost of iphones in China then left us 20 mins to wander on our own with no further information. We visited the House of the Virgin Mary and had about an hour there when in truth 20 mins there would have been about right. It's like both places were round the wrong way. Great lunch included but the combination of a terrible tour guide and a faulty listenign device meant this tour was a hugh waste of money.
Read nicola78's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tjd59
1 review
Sep 2015
The guide was very knowledgeable and the pace appropriate.
Read tjd59's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Daily Istanbul Tours-Ephesus
Member Image tdelpinal
1 review
Jul 2015
This was one of the best tours. We had a great guide, super sense of humor and well versed on the history. Our tour included a great lunch under the shade of trees with local cuisine. We also saw the carpet weaving and the collecting of silk threads from the cocoons.
Read tdelpinal's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mgoudoras
1 review
Jun 2015
The massive amount of ruins left me speechless. Amazing how much history was in that part of the world.
Read mgoudoras's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Shoreexcursions.com
Member Image saletvak
1 review
Jun 2015
Excellent tour with a private company (same price for a private tour as with the ship). Be careful to say you don't want "side stops" (rug dealers, leather dealers, ceramic dealers) which we weren't aware of. Still an excellent tour and we learned a lot from a local tour guide. Got to all the top sites BEFORE the buses with a private tour.
Read saletvak's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Tours
Member Image Marcia Priske
1 review
Jun 2015
Interesting1
Read Marcia Priske's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hyker1
8 reviews
Jun 2015
The Basilica was fascinating, but our guide gave some serious misinformation regarding some of the surrounding area. He seemed to pride himself on his knowledge of ancient history, but he was not as intelligent as he wanted to come across. The Basilica is actually more of a Forum type space surrounding what was once the ancient Church. Definitely worth a visit, especially for Christians interested in the Apostles.
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image history professor
1 review
Jun 2015
I was not interested to visit it,but it was included in the tour
Read history professor's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MonaLisa:)
1 review
May 2015
The area was much larger than I expected and enjoyed both the site and the view. I wish I had bought more of the evil eye bracelets for 3TL. Turkish delight 10TL (didn't bargain) is heavily pushed on you as you board the tour bus, but beware that when you open the colorful boxes, there is a very small pack of candy inside. And since I had no room in luggage, I had to toss all 3 boxes.
Read MonaLisa:)'s full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jolgah
1 review
May 2015
Interesting as an ancient site.
Read jolgah's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image seasoned60
1 review
May 2015
If you are into the gospel this is an especially great religious site. It is well preserved in parts and your guide can fill you in as to what happened in this area.
Read seasoned60's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image frealan
1 review
May 2015
Great tour, with a small group of people. Lovely lunch provided at a carpet factory. Great until the VERY hard sell for the carpets. Could have done without that.
Read frealan's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image CondorX2
1 review
Sep 2013

We did enjoy the promenade and the view, it was good.

Read CondorX2's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CarolinaCruiser85
2 reviews
Member Image HickoryShampoo
reviews
Nov 2012
Might have been nicer had it not been raining.
Read HickoryShampoo's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Kellie Poodle
6 reviews
Oct 2012
Quite an interesting place.
Read Kellie Poodle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Deluxe
Member Image Annalise
9 reviews
Sep 2012

A grouping of ruins that had no rhyme or reason. To me, it was a waste of time.

Read Annalise's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image wismergirl
4 reviews
Jul 2012
It's believed that Jesus' disciple, John, spent his last years in the region around Ephesus and was buried in the southern slope of Ayosolug Hill where the basilica was located. Nothing much special to see.
Read wismergirl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image baillie
1 review
May 2012
Church of St John insteresting...seeking funding for resortation
Read baillie's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?