Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Izmir House of Virgin Mary Excursion Reviews

Izmir House of Virgin Mary cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the most sacred place in Izmir, the House of Virgin Mary in the ancient city of Ephesus. The humble, one-story brick house, according to myth, is where the Virgin spent her last years.
Member Image canuck1669
1 review
Apr 2014

Interesting from a historical and religious perspective.

Read canuck1669's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cltraveler
1 review
Jul 2013

Again, Oz, was FANTASTIC! Even though there were a lot of people, everyone was very respectful of the site.

Read cltraveler's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AllawahPark
2 reviews
Jul 2013

Excellent guide, interesting sites.

Read AllawahPark's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image rongoldner
1 review
May 2013

Not much to see

Read rongoldner's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image JLU917
1 review
Mar 2013
A little crowded, but very inspirational for Catholics.
Read JLU917's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: cruisingexcursions.com
Member Image EIslander
1 review
Mar 2013
Mary's house was pretty neat, and for some, that is the highlight of their experience, but I highly recommend seeing Ephesus.
Read EIslander's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Pezzy
1 review
Feb 2013
Long bus ride way up in the mountains. Beautiful make this part of your trip
Read Pezzy's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vtgumby
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Izmir is a big port and House of Mary was no biggie unless you're religious
Read vtgumby's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image retired2012
1 review
Oct 2012
A very touching experience. Unlike the Sistine chapel, this was a well respected holy place. Very moving experience.
Read retired2012's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TTT Traveler
1 review
Sep 2012
The tour of Mary's House and St. John's Monastery was the main reason for us to take this cruise. It exceeded our expectations. Very informative tour guide.
Read TTT Traveler's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Ironman56
1 review
Sep 2012
We only did this because it was included in the tour of Ephesus for little extra charge. If you are of a religious persuasion, this house may have more significance for you. I found it interesting from an historical perspective but you may question the validity of some of the claims. Additionally, the area was extremely crowded and the line through the house was very long.
Read Ironman56's full Costa Favolosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image Katie Starlight
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2012
The house of the Virgin Mary is quite moving. I did feel a little rushed but there were several buses there. My sister and niece actually went back through and took their time. Bring a Water bottle to fill with holy water. We pinned a prayer to the wish wall too. The tour guide was quite interesting. Some people were annoyed that they had to stop at the Leather factory but I liked the show. Expensive though but very beautiful clothing.
Read Katie Starlight's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jazzacat
1 review
Aug 2012
Incredible experience, the house and the prayer wall are really worth visiting,
Read Jazzacat's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image stagetek23
3 reviews
Aug 2012
wonderful tour through the ship. Small group of 8 people to House of Virgin Mary and Ephesus.
Read stagetek23's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Anne C
1 review
Jun 2012
When we arrived there, it was quiet and very calm.
Read Anne C's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image spookyload
1 review
Apr 2012
Very nice attraction.
Read spookyload's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.