Izmir Archaeological Site of Ephesus Excursion Reviews

Izmir Archaeological Site of Ephesus cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Izmir is home to the ruins of the ancient Greek city of Ephesus, the best preserved in the Eastern Mediterranean. Famous for the Temple of Artemis, one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, Ephesus was a major regional power through much of antiquity.
Member Image trvlgirlmq
2 reviews
Jun 2016
We booked independently a group tour however, it was only my family of 4 and one solo person so it really felt like a private tour. It was oppressively hot with the heatwave but we managed to find a few shady spots and also had our umbrella to help. I am so glad my family got to experience this ancient wonder before all of the chaos began.
Read trvlgirlmq's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image AJinOhio
1 review
May 2016
The marble that they've excavated and restored is incredible. (As an aside this port was changed at the last minute to Kusadasi and it was very neat!
Read AJinOhio's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Kmptamale72
1 review
May 2016
Ephesus looked really cool but it was pouring down rain so we didn't get to enjoy it. Not the tour guides fault. I felt bad for her since this older couple kept complaining about the rain and refused to walk around in the rain.
Read Kmptamale72's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cruisergambi
1 review
May 2016
Great Guide and experience
Read cruisergambi's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image maryewoods1@gmail.com
1 review
May 2016
Tour of ruins was outstanding and very impressive. Guide was excellent.
Read maryewoods1@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Mbo1955
1 review
Nov 2015
Fantastic archeological site.
Read Mbo1955's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image C Laidlaw
1 review
Sep 2015
The trip to Ephesus was fantastic although the tour guide was not brilliant and hustled us through the site which really required much more time to get the complete experience. The reason for the quick visit became apparent when the guide announced we would be visiting a leather factory, This was not a factory visit we were shown into a show room and given a short talk about the leather from a spivvy manager who then hustled us into a dark room which suddenly burst into music and flashing lights and models began to parade along a catwalk. The clothes were aimed at bright young things and the average age of our party was around 70, Very inappropriate. We were then ushered back into the showroom where the manager clapped his hands and we were set upon buy a dozen male shop assistants urging us to try on and buy the merchandise. The prices were astronomic (starting at £1200 for a jacket up to several thousand pounds). We all beat a hasty retreat back to the bus without buying anything and were not pleased with the guide. This is what you call being bushwhacked!!
Read C Laidlaw's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image wherestheship
3 reviews
Apr 2015
Wow I never knew a place like Ephesus existed. We booked a private tour guide named Fatma who was very knowledgeable on the history of Turkey and Ephesus and also cheeky and funny and made for interesting trip. We stopped at a local leather shop and ate kebabs while we had our own private fashion show with the latest fashions and cute models. Would definitely recommend a trip to Ephesus.
Read wherestheship's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: Fatma
Member Image *angel*
2 reviews
Sep 2014

Interesting Ruins very busy and crowded with people. Tour with guide

Read *angel*'s full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image canuck1669
1 review
Apr 2014

Great historical site. Restorations are amazing.

Read canuck1669's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Seaoates
1 review
Nov 2013

An impressive archaeological site.

Read Seaoates's full Costa Fascinosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image kennbrandt
2 reviews
Sep 2013

Too expensive and crowded for me. It was interesting and nice not to worry about transportation to and from the site. The crowds were so thick it was hard to keep up with the tour group. They took us to some mosque for some reason and to a carpet manufacturing place. This carpet place is a rip off. It is basically a sales picth for the company and the carpets are expensive. Carnival must get some sort of kick back from this vendor. Just stay on the bus.

Read kennbrandt's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image prinsjh
2 reviews
Sep 2013

The tour of Ephesus was good (not great). NCL, like other cruise lines, arrange for tours through the local or national tour agencies. This was the Turkish tourism tour (Tura Turizm). The guide was OK but had a thick accent and was difficult to understand. The site itself was interesting but didn't hold some of the significance and mystery of some other ancient ruins.

Read prinsjh's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cltraveler
1 review
Jul 2013

The highlight of our trip. Our tour guide, Oz, was EXCELLENT! He was very knowledgeable and entertaining. We even learned a few important words in Turkish! Oz was very good about the pace for the walk through the ruins. Not too fast or too slow! His umbrella made it very easy to follow him.

Read cltraveler's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Vorcom
1 review
Jul 2013

Hakan was our excellent guide Great meal at a beautiful resort

Read Vorcom's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bebbyanne
2 reviews
Jun 2013

We used OTTI travel for a private tour to Ephesus which included a visit to the Terrace Houses, an included lunch, a carpet demonstration, souvenir shop and visit to the Temple of Artemis. We were a small group of 5 and had a wonderful guide and the best of tours. This was far better value than any of the cruise tours.

Read Bebbyanne's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: OTTI Travel
Member Image mje419
2 reviews
May 2013
ok. Audio phones were so distorted, they could not be used.
Read mje419's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rongoldner
1 review
May 2013

Ephesus was magnificent. Being made to go to a leather factory wasn't. Rather spend more time at the ruins.

Read rongoldner's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image JLU917
1 review
Mar 2013
Ephesus may have been the highlight of our trip! Great tour guide (Serdar), great tour, great site.
Read JLU917's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: cruisingexcursions.com
Member Image EIslander
1 review
Mar 2013
I found Ephesus to be incredible. It's amazing to walk through these ruins and see how great this city used to be.
Read EIslander's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Pezzy
1 review
Feb 2013
Better ruins than Greece. Amazing site. Just unbelievable! Great Guide. Must do this if nothing else! Also if buying souvenirs for the gang back home do it here. Prices are right. Also visited a rug factory. Very good
Read Pezzy's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Babaganush
1 review
Jan 2013
We took a package tour that took us to Ephesus. It is a worthwhile excursion where they even reenact a scene from Cleopatra's life. The tour guide took us to a carpet store and also to a specialty turkish delight store. It is better to do shopping for both here rather than in the hustle and bustle of Istanbul.
Read Babaganush's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vtgumby
2 reviews
Nov 2012
excellent site and worth the visit!
Read vtgumby's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image barrymx5
1 review
Nov 2012
Read barrymx5's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image house_elf
3 reviews
Oct 2012
Turkey was the reason we picked this particular itinerary -- we've always wanted to see Ephesus. We docked in Izmir, which over an hour away from Ephesus, so decided to do a ship-sponsored shore excursion. We did the "Magnificent Ephesus" shore excursion which provided a comfortable bus, an excellent tour guide, admission to Ephesus (which includes the Library of Celsus), and a stop at a traditional hand-made Turkish carpet shop; there was plenty of time to shop on this excursion. Ephesus is beautiful and it is a must see if you're going to Turkey for the first time!
Read house_elf's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?