Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Istanbul Underground Cistern Excursion Reviews

Istanbul Underground Cistern cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Also known as the “sunken palace,” the Underground Cistern is an erie, ancient architectural enclave filled with shimmering water. It was forgotten after the conquest of the city by the Ottoman Turks and wasn’t re-discovered until 1545.
Member Image podo59
1 review
Jul 2015
Our tour guide, Yousef, met us at the dock. We were then picked up and taken to the Hippodrome where we began our tour which included the Sultan Ahmed Mosque (Blue Mosque), the Basilica Cistern (fantastic), and the Hagia Sophia. Yousef spoke English very well and was informative, but was not the most enthusiastic tour guide I have ever had. We were satisfied with the experience, however, and would recommend this company.
Read podo59's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Effendi Travel
Member Image Tigs2015
1 review
Jun 2015
First watch the James Bond film 'From Russia with Love' then visit the Underground Cistern! It's brilliant, atmospheric, unexpected, quiet and COOL (no it's really cool which is great after a hot day in the city). This was a highlight of the day.
Read Tigs2015's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: nazli zobranli
Member Image Colonel Vatutin
3 reviews
Jun 2015
Magical!
Read Colonel Vatutin's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image hyker1
7 reviews
Jun 2015
This was actually my favorite thing about the Istanbul tour. It's mysterious and unique. Really a fascinating site.
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hoopmd
1 review
May 2015
Had no idea the history in Turkey we loved this city and glad we skipped the spice market to be able to see the Underground Cisterns
Read hoopmd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Daily Istanbul Tours
Member Image seasoned60
1 review
May 2015
All sight seeing was on the two day complete tour and you saw a lot and really had to walk fast to see it all and it is worth it. Dan Brown fans will love it.
Read seasoned60's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image garywarry
1 review
May 2015
Very interesting but part of a very long 2 day trip and exhausting
Read garywarry's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cruise-vacation2015
1 review
May 2015
Pretty cool to see it was a wow but you don't need long here not much to see other than the actual cistern and two medusa carvings. Book with a tour as the line is ridiculously long.
Read Cruise-vacation2015's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JoeMama#1
1 review
Apr 2015
Loved this historical sight. My only issue, I wish we would have spent more time there. It was very interesting. One thing I am learning about traveling with a private guide, be specific about how much time you prefer to spend at certain sights and what your interest are. Of course, no reflection on guide.
Read JoeMama#1's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Meander
Member Image wherestheship
2 reviews
Apr 2015
This is a magical place to visit, ancient church columns are used to hold up the roof, one column has a wishing well where wishes do come true. There are also some colomns with large carvings of Medusa.
Read wherestheship's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Stormgirl2014
1 review
Sep 2014
Interesting tour.
Read Stormgirl2014's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions
Member Image canuck1669
1 review
Apr 2014

Interesting from a historical point of view. Not much to actually see. Size is amazing.

Read canuck1669's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image bjrose
2 reviews
Sep 2013

The Cisterns were interesting, but again, not a place I would return to. It is always interesting to see how those of the past lived.

Read bjrose's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image CK57
2 reviews
Aug 2013

We actually did this on our own. We were able able take the public rail to see the Blue Mosque first, then the Hagia Sofia, then Underground Cistern, the Grand Bazaar, and Spice Market without taking any formal tour. We walked our way back to the ship from the Blue Mosque and again saw all the sights we wanted without taking a ship tour with significant savings.

Read CK57's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Pezzy
1 review
Feb 2013
Absolutely Amazing! Best Guide during entire cruise
Read Pezzy's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image barrymx5
1 review
Nov 2012
Read barrymx5's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image sadied
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
do this on your own. only ten minutes...an easy tour.
Read sadied's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image icini
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2012
Tour was fine but rushed. Will have to return. An amazing city, much cleaner than I expected. Very easy to get lost in Bazaar.
Read icini's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ruby0512
1 review
Sep 2012
Very cool, a must see
Read ruby0512's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cloverfields
1 review
Aug 2012
Part of another trip. This place is fascinating and actually fantastic when you are so hot!!! You go down about 50 steps and the columns and the water (complete with cod) are all lit up and quite moving. Well worth a visit
Read cloverfields's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Jazzacat
1 review
Aug 2012
Quite amazing - a breath-taking feat of engineering. Look out for the huge fish and the carvings of Medusa!
Read Jazzacat's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Crui$erCT
2 reviews
Jul 2012
The underground water system in Istanbul is FASCINATING and glorious to see. There are lit columns and Medusa's head (upside down), and this site should not be missed. We loved it!
Read Crui$erCT's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: ephesustours.biz
Member Image wismergirl
4 reviews
Jul 2012
This was the place I felt we were really rushed. With lots of visitors we didn't have enough time to take decent pictures. The Underground Cistern was the largest underground water reservoir in Istanbul built by Justinian I. Special lighting made the cistern even more beautiful. I loved listening to the legends associated with the cistern.
Read wismergirl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image World Gallery
12 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2012
Our kids favorite! Loved this stop. It is unique and has a unique history. I highly recommend this.
Read World Gallery's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Artteacher
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Take your camera, dark and wondrous with live fish swimming in the water!
Read Artteacher's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.