Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Istanbul Underground Cistern Excursion Reviews

Istanbul Underground Cistern cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Also known as the “sunken palace,” the Underground Cistern is an erie, ancient architectural enclave filled with shimmering water. It was forgotten after the conquest of the city by the Ottoman Turks and wasn’t re-discovered until 1545.
Member Image canuck1669
1 review
Apr 2014

Interesting from a historical point of view. Not much to actually see. Size is amazing.

Read canuck1669's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image bjrose
2 reviews
Sep 2013

The Cisterns were interesting, but again, not a place I would return to. It is always interesting to see how those of the past lived.

Read bjrose's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image CK57
2 reviews
Aug 2013

We actually did this on our own. We were able able take the public rail to see the Blue Mosque first, then the Hagia Sofia, then Underground Cistern, the Grand Bazaar, and Spice Market without taking any formal tour. We walked our way back to the ship from the Blue Mosque and again saw all the sights we wanted without taking a ship tour with significant savings.

Read CK57's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Pezzy
1 review
Feb 2013
Absolutely Amazing! Best Guide during entire cruise
Read Pezzy's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sadied
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
do this on your own. only ten minutes...an easy tour.
Read sadied's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image icini
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2012
Tour was fine but rushed. Will have to return. An amazing city, much cleaner than I expected. Very easy to get lost in Bazaar.
Read icini's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ruby0512
1 review
Sep 2012
Very cool, a must see
Read ruby0512's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cloverfields
1 review
Aug 2012
Part of another trip. This place is fascinating and actually fantastic when you are so hot!!! You go down about 50 steps and the columns and the water (complete with cod) are all lit up and quite moving. Well worth a visit
Read cloverfields's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Jazzacat
1 review
Aug 2012
Quite amazing - a breath-taking feat of engineering. Look out for the huge fish and the carvings of Medusa!
Read Jazzacat's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Crui$erCT
2 reviews
Jul 2012
The underground water system in Istanbul is FASCINATING and glorious to see. There are lit columns and Medusa's head (upside down), and this site should not be missed. We loved it!
Read Crui$erCT's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: ephesustours.biz
Member Image wismergirl
4 reviews
Jul 2012
This was the place I felt we were really rushed. With lots of visitors we didn't have enough time to take decent pictures. The Underground Cistern was the largest underground water reservoir in Istanbul built by Justinian I. Special lighting made the cistern even more beautiful. I loved listening to the legends associated with the cistern.
Read wismergirl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image World Gallery
12 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2012
Our kids favorite! Loved this stop. It is unique and has a unique history. I highly recommend this.
Read World Gallery's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Artteacher
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Take your camera, dark and wondrous with live fish swimming in the water!
Read Artteacher's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.